Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Dempseys Hostel Kinsale

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
7.6
Very Good 166 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.1
  • Security 7.7
  • Location 7.7
  • Staff 7.8
  • Atmosphere 7.4
  • Cleanliness 7.6
  • Facilities 7.3
BOOK NOW
7.6
Very Good 166 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.1
  • Security 7.7
  • Location 7.7
  • Staff 7.8
  • Atmosphere 7.4
  • Cleanliness 7.6
  • Facilities 7.3

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Spain, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
2nd Sep 2017
4.3

The security is false. You can open the main door without addig any code, the lock just doesn't work. The rooms have a code which DOES work. Next to a gas station, supermarket near. But in the outskirts of Kinsale (15' walkig to centre). Staff not very helpful. Derek was never around. Atmosphere= weird people and not cozy. It was clean but could be cleaner. VERY MOIST and kinda old building. I have paid 10€ for much better hostels with breakfast, this hostel had no breakfast!

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
26th Jul 2017
9.4

This place was in a great location. It was a short walk to town and the bus station. There was not always an attendant at the front desk and we had to call for check in and check out.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
24th Jul 2017
9.4

Great! Guy behind counter friendly, helpful, welcoming. Peaceful, nice atmosphere,short spin to sea for morning /evening swim.Great value.I stay here every year while on a course in Cork city. Brilliant, I love it!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
12th Jul 2017
8.6

Staff were incredibly friendly and helpful!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
25th Jun 2017
6.9

Nice hostel that unfortunately lacks atmosphere. The checkin was okay, but host (guy that works the reception) could be friendlier. Nice and cozy rooms, good WiFi. I liked the winter garten sitting area.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • South Africa, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
26th May 2017
6.3

We stayed at Dempseys for 2 nights. The location is in walking distance from Kinsale. Unfortunately the carpets are old, feel damp and sticky and the maytresses well worn and cheap.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
14th May 2017
6.0

Nice location and staff, however, they seem to have a couple of long term resident type guests who act like it is their home and they aren't expected to clean up after themselves, leaving food, dirty dishes for others to wash, etc. the staff doesn't make them tow the line and it made it less than desirable for other guests. I won't stay there ever again. One day the staff didn't put out required bottled water for cooking, nor provide clean drying towels in the kitchen. old food in fridge

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
10th May 2017
9.7

Really good value nice welcome from the guy on reception which was lovely. And he wad was very helpful through my stay pitched it just right. Very close to town and everything really there's even a Lidl rounds the back..a budget travellers dream combo!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Finland, Female, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 16 reviews
8th May 2017
7.7

Really modest hostel, but I find it comfy and homey. Amazing staff and nice location!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Northern Ireland, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
7th Apr 2017
10.0

It's a basic hostel but had everything you need. They had a towel and hairdryer for me to use for free which was nice. The location is a bit out but it's a lovely walk so it doesn't matter. Only took about ten minutes to get from the hostel to the centre of the town. The guy working the desk was a cheery sorry of type, and at 15 euro a night at the weekend I thought the value was great. As far as hotels go it wasn't fancy or edgy but simple and sufficient for my needs. Will come again

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.

×