Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Derry City Independent Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Prices
map
reviews
9.1
Superb 1,365 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.2
  • Security 9.1
  • Location 8.9
  • Staff 9.6
  • Atmosphere 9.1
  • Cleanliness 8.8
  • Facilities 8.8
BOOK NOW
9.1
Superb 1,365 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.2
  • Security 9.1
  • Location 8.9
  • Staff 9.6
  • Atmosphere 9.1
  • Cleanliness 8.8
  • Facilities 8.8
Derry City Independent Hostel Located at 12 Princes Street, , Derry.
Derry City Independent Hostel
Northern Ireland
Derry BT48 7EY 12 Princes Street
91% 1365
54.9999582 -7.3258423
Derry City Independent Hostel
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
19th Jul 2016
9.7

Hostel in good location about 10 mins walk from centre. Homely type feel about the place further enhanced by the very sociable and friendly Kylie who mixed freely with the guests. Good breakfast included with tea/coffee, several cereals, yogurts, eggs, and nice bread/jam/peanut butter, Free coffee and tea all day. Three bathrooms, at least one of which doesn't have a shower-so there might be a wait for a shower in the morning, but this is a hostel.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
11th Jul 2016
9.1

It's a nice hostel to go to while your in Derry

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
10th Jul 2016
9.4

I could my rave about this hostel more- one of the best that I have been in all Ireland. The manager Sarah is fantastic and the family atmosphere that developed here made me not want to leave! They make the most delicious fresh bread for breakfast and you get eggs and yoghurt, and it's a great place to lounge and meet people. Go here!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
3rd Jul 2016
9.1

Really nice place. Reasonably priced and immaculately clean. Must have caught it at a quiet time however, as there weren't too many people there. My only issue was the door codes. Either mine was the only extremely easy one to guess, or every room was just their room number 4x, might be worth changing those because literally anyone could enter another persons room in that instance. But other than that, would highly recommend!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
1st Jul 2016
9.7

Probably the cleanest hostel Ive ever been to. Very cozy and relaxing with a home feel. Shoutout to Sarah for being a great manager!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
23rd Jun 2016
9.1

I loved my stay in the hostel! The owner and HelpX volunteers were really lovely and welcoming. We had communal meals both nights I was in the hostel, and there was lots of space for relaxing. I really recommend staying here!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
21st Jun 2016
10.0

Kylie was really lovely, the location was good, very comfortable and homely feel in the hostel. Only issue was that the curtains in the room were very thin and let in a lot of light, we had trouble sleeping from around 5am onwards. Bu still very happy!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
20th Jun 2016
9.4

I liked it so well I'm still here. The atmosphere is great. Kylie is great fun and can occasionally be persuaded to join us at the pub for trad. music. There can be a line up for the three bathrooms, but only those of us who are a bit older can find it a problem. It's nicely located just a couple blocks up the hill from the main street. I took a taxi from the bus station rather than haul a rolling suitcase uphill, but for most people it hasn't been a problem. Street parking okay.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
13th Jun 2016
10.0

I would highly recommend this hostel.Staff very engaging and chilled out.Will definitely go back there

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
13th Jun 2016
9.4

We really enjoyed staying here! No complaints. It was clean, the owner is super nice and the kitchen was great to use

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.