Hostelworld.com

Derry City Independent Hostel

Prices
map
reviews
9.2
Superb 1,342 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.3
  • Security 9.2
  • Location 9.0
  • Staff 9.6
  • Atmosphere 9.3
  • Cleanliness 8.9
  • Facilities 8.9
BOOK NOW
9.2
Superb 1,342 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.3
  • Security 9.2
  • Location 9.0
  • Staff 9.6
  • Atmosphere 9.3
  • Cleanliness 8.9
  • Facilities 8.9
Derry City Independent Hostel Located at 12 Princes Street, , Derry.
Derry City Independent Hostel
Northern Ireland
Derry BT48 7EY 12 Princes Street
92% 1342
54.9999582 -7.3258423
Derry City Independent Hostel
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
21st Jun 2016
10.0

Kylie was really lovely, the location was good, very comfortable and homely feel in the hostel. Only issue was that the curtains in the room were very thin and let in a lot of light, we had trouble sleeping from around 5am onwards. Bu still very happy!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
20th Jun 2016
9.4

I liked it so well I'm still here. The atmosphere is great. Kylie is great fun and can occasionally be persuaded to join us at the pub for trad. music. There can be a line up for the three bathrooms, but only those of us who are a bit older can find it a problem. It's nicely located just a couple blocks up the hill from the main street. I took a taxi from the bus station rather than haul a rolling suitcase uphill, but for most people it hasn't been a problem. Street parking okay.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
13th Jun 2016
10.0

I would highly recommend this hostel.Staff very engaging and chilled out.Will definitely go back there

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
13th Jun 2016
9.4

We really enjoyed staying here! No complaints. It was clean, the owner is super nice and the kitchen was great to use

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • France, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
5th Jun 2016
9.4

Great hostel, feeling like home! Not many bathrooms, but the showers are worth waiting! I called in the afternoon saying I'll arrive late: the manager waited for me and even if it was late, she sat with me to talk about the region, where I was coming from, what I should visit the next day... There is no reception, it really is a home, if you need to talk to the staff, you do it in the sofas, or in the kitchen. I really liked this atmosphere! Plus, the dorms are small, mine had only 5 beds.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Hong Kong, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
25th May 2016
9.7

One of the best stays I've had in a hostel. Small and cosy, really like a home from home. Kylie the hostel manager was so helpful too. She gave all useful information about Derry. We went to a local pub with traditional Irish music too.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • meagsdeb3747
  • Ireland, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
20th May 2016
8.9

Very homey feel to the building. Great value for money and within walking distance to everything you could need. It was a little bit hard to sleep with the noise outside coming from nearby bars, but I stayed on the weekend and its so close to the centre of town that you can't really avoid some music late at night. A pair of earplugs would've sorted it out, should've brought some with me! Would definitely stay again.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, All Male Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
19th May 2016
9.4

Chilled out hostel, not a for a party but would highly recommend. Best staff I've encountered

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Italy, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
28th Apr 2016
10.0

Everything was great! I loved the free breakfast and how nice Kylie is, she is lovely!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
22nd Apr 2016
10.0

One of the best places I've been, they are very friendly, they cook an amazing bread for breakfast and be prepare for the world nicest place to visit, people are amazing here

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.