Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Derwentwater Independent Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
9.4
Superb 56 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.1
  • Security 9.3
  • Location 9.4
  • Staff 9.8
  • Atmosphere 9.6
  • Cleanliness 9.4
  • Facilities 9.0
BOOK NOW
9.4
Superb 56 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.1
  • Security 9.3
  • Location 9.4
  • Staff 9.8
  • Atmosphere 9.6
  • Cleanliness 9.4
  • Facilities 9.0
Derwentwater Independent Hostel Located at Barrow House, Borrowdale, Keswick, Lake District.
Derwentwater Independent Hostel
England
Lake District Cumbria CA12 5UR Barrow House, Borrowdale, Keswick
94% 56
54.5703326 -3.1327852
Derwentwater Independent Hostel
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland, Mixed Group, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
13th Aug 2016
9.4

Really enjoyed my stay here overlooking Derwent Water.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 11 reviews
5th Aug 2016
8.6

Couldn't get a good nights sleep. Pillows are useless and the foam mattress made my back ache the following day.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
1st Aug 2016
9.7

Beautiful location and beautiful people, thank you so much for a wonderful stay!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
23rd Jul 2016
10.0

Excellent place to stay in the lakes district. Lots of cool hikes directly from the hostel. Good food and helpful staff

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • janeknapman7004
  • England, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
7th Jun 2016
10.0

Wonderful hostel. Staff were extremely helpful and friendly. The location was perfect- two minutes walk from the lake and a short walk to Surprise View. The atmosphere was very relaxed. Facilities were great with a fully equipped kitchen and lovely lounge with comfy sofas- both with excellent views. I felt very safe and welcome here.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • India, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
23rd May 2016
9.7

Its a lovely place. My only problem was that the room was bit cold. Although I went there in late may but places around Keswick can be cold around that time. I am not sure if the heating was switched on or not but the room remained cold. That was the only bit of problem I faced. The hostel otherwise is a lovely place. Everyone is very very helpful and nice. I will definitely go back there and stay.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
30th Apr 2016
6.3

The Hostel was good looking, the staff friendly, the bathrooms clean, but the water was running cold in the morning... the kitchen was fully equipped and you could also buy breakfast, dinner & lunch packs for a reasonable price. There's a bus stopping at the Hostel, but the area is just much more accessible by car! There was a serious lack in security as the room didn't have key/card access but anyone could come into the hostel and rooms as they pleased. Would go there again though^^

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Wales, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
30th Apr 2016
10.0

Fantastic place and great atmosphere ! Xx

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Poland, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
29th Apr 2016
9.7

Can't wait to be back there!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
25th Mar 2016
10.0

Great place! Wish we had more time to enjoy it.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.