Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Desert Nights Hostelling International

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
7.9
Very Good 551 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.0
  • Security 8.2
  • Location 9.5
  • Staff 8.1
  • Atmosphere 7.4
  • Cleanliness 7.2
  • Facilities 6.7
BOOK NOW
7.9
Very Good 551 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.0
  • Security 8.2
  • Location 9.5
  • Staff 8.1
  • Atmosphere 7.4
  • Cleanliness 7.2
  • Facilities 6.7
Desert Nights Hostelling International Located at Boulevard de Huacachina s/n, , Huacachina.
Desert Nights Hostelling International
Peru
Huacachina Boulevard de Huacachina s/n
79% 551
-14.0885252 -75.7630276
Desert Nights Hostelling International
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
8th Jan 2017
8.6

Cutting straight to the point, Desert is a great choice of accommodation in Huacachina. The beds were adequete and the lockers were spacious enough to fit all of your valuables and a small backpack. Was very good value for money, also considering you get a free breakfast with your booking each morning, which often costs half the price of the room. It was right on the edge of the lake and close to stalls and restaurants. My only criticism is that the water in the bathrooms turned ceptic one night

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
28th Dec 2016
6.6

It was fine, a standard dorm, but Huacachina itself was a boring, characterless tourist trap. I wouldn't recommend it.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
12th Dec 2016
7.1

Good location and they do tours from there. However no one informed that my wristband got me a food discount that the staff neglected to point out which I only found out later in paracas where someone else had stayed there and had to request this discount as they tried to cheat him out of it too. Unimpressed. Restaurant is expensive for what it is too. Clean although the bathroom has a revolting smell that is their air freshener that made me actually sick one time.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
31st Oct 2016
7.1

Excellent location on lagoon, although Huacachina is so small everything is on the lagoon, even the desert rolls right up to it on one side . The rooms have door locks which is rare for South America. You have a 10% discount in the restaurant which the staff forget to apply despite the very visible wristbands they give you so make sure to remind them. Bit pricey but the entire of Huacachina is expensive.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
15th Oct 2016
8.0

Very simple but all you need for Huacachina, clean rooms and bathroom, great restaurant, good sand boarding tours. Only negative showers aren't that powerful

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
13th Oct 2016
6.9

Basic but cheap hostel, well located next to Laguna. Room was fairly clean but there is definitely a bed bug problem. Absolutely covered in bites. This was reported to the staff who seemed aware of the problem already, nothing was done about it apart from suggesting we move beds. No kitchen. Restaurant is good with nice atmosphere, food is expensive for Peru but standard price for huacachina. Bags felts safe and lock up was available in the day we checked out.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
7th Oct 2016
9.4

We had a brilliant time at this hostel rooms were really clean and of course it was close to everything! Their sandboarding tour was really well priced and the staff were so friendly, would definitely stay again.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • eveburca7132
  • Slovakia, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 9 reviews
29th Sep 2016
7.1

My stay at this hostel was ok. Hot shower, which you appreciate after sandboarding, nice food at the restaurant. Discount of 10% for the guests but you need to ask for it like twice.. Room ok, has small lockers. Near swimming pool is worth 10 soles! Staff ok, but cannot organize taxi for you, which is not a big deal after all. Bit noisy till about midnight. Overall, good value for the money.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 11 reviews
18th Sep 2016
8.3

Whilst it is a very basic option in Huacachina,Desert Nights has everything you could possibly need. The staff were super too, being able to help with booking activities band onward travel. I would stay again.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
9th Sep 2016
8.9

Nice cheap hostel, the food's good and the staff is awesome. Couldn't get hot water nor pressure in the shower, but who really care about that when it's 30C outside? Couldn't get that much sleep in the morning because of the construction on the street right nex to the hostel right now, but it's not their fault. And finally the town is so small that it doesn't matter at all that the party is not near the hostel, everything is at 5 minutes of walk. Nice stay overall!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.