Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Destinations at The Rose & Crown

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.7
Fabulous 987 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.5
  • Security 9.2
  • Location 9.3
  • Staff 9.0
  • Atmosphere 8.2
  • Cleanliness 8.4
  • Facilities 8.0
BOOK NOW
8.7
Fabulous 987 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.5
  • Security 9.2
  • Location 9.3
  • Staff 9.0
  • Atmosphere 8.2
  • Cleanliness 8.4
  • Facilities 8.0
Destinations at The Rose & Crown Located at 65 Union Street, Borough, London.
Destinations at The Rose & Crown
England
London London SE1 1SG 65 Union Street, Borough
87% 987
51.5038742 -0.0948160
Destinations at The Rose & Crown
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
12th Jan 2017
9.4

This hostel was a perfect choice for my partner and I. Short walk to London bridge station, also other main attractions. Great how our beds had a personal light and charging port (unfortunately mine didn't work) and curtains. Room was very spacious, had boxes underneath beds which you can store and lock personal things. Computer and TV. Hanging space for coats. Showers recently renovated, although small we had no problem. Staff were excellent and the free breakfast was amazing! Def recommend!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • mhabib115
  • England, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 9 reviews
9th Jan 2017
8.3

Great location and the beds are fantastic. Overall facilties are great, except for the toilet which is a bit on the tight side with no wash basin.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
5th Jan 2017
9.7

The owner is really nice and the staff as well. The free breakfast was really nice :) The location is awesome because your are close from a lot a London's main attractions and near from the hostel there is the borough market (awesome for lunch and snacks) and the flat iron square (nice for diner and chilling there while drinking). The pub downstair is always really nice and cosy.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for choosing Destinations Hostels, we are pleased to hear you enjoyed our hostel and hope you will choose us again the next time you visit London, thank you for your comments.

  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
31st Dec 2016
9.7

Great location, great staff. Perhaps a bit pricey for a hostel... really enjoyed our stay though.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for choosing Destinations Hostels, we are happy to hear you enjoyed what our hostel had to offer the traveler, our prices are as competitive as other hostels for 4 & 6 bed dorms and what we offer in respect to room amenities and breakfast far surpass most hostels in London, thank you for your comments.

30th Dec 2016
9.4

This was a great place we found. We were able to find this place during the weekend of New Years, and we were lucky to find it! This is a small hostel with a brand new clean bathroom and clean rooms. Rooms are spacious, have TV, and are always nice and warm! The free breakfast was a nice addition! Would recommend

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for choosing Destinations Hostels, we are happy to hear you enjoyed our hostel and hope you will spread the word about us, thank you for your comments.

  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
10th Dec 2016
7.7

Pretty basic hostel. The room was fine and I liked how each bed had its own light, charger and curtain for privacy. Only two bathrooms in the hostel; they seemed pretty clean. The breakfast is basic. I didn't like how they tried to serve expired milk. The location was excellent; right in central London and 5 min from the train station.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for choosing Destinations Hostels, we are sorry to hear your experience at our hostel did not meet your expectations, we don't try to serve expired milk, we have fresh at all times and if the milk was out of date we do change it when either we notice it or it is brought to our attention, as for our breakfast, to call it basic is an understatement, we have one of the best breakfast offerings in London and pride ourselves that we do offer a full and healthy breakfast, we have 2 showers/toilets and we find this is more than sufficient to serve our guests needs, no other hostels offer a computer and free tea and coffee in the rooms so basic does not really describe our hostel either, thank you for your comments.

  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
9th Dec 2016
9.4

I had a pleasant stay at the Rose & Crown, my favourite part was the back patio which was oh so cozy. The beds are fantastic, and the room overall was great; fully kitted out fridge tv, and computer for use. I enjoyed the breakfast, but managed to miss the bar cut off (11pm when I was there) but thankfully there are plenty of other spots open late. This is a great price for the location, I will be returning!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for choosing Destinations Hostels, we are pleased to hear you enjoyed our hostel and look forward to welcoming you again one day in the future, thank you for your comments.

3rd Dec 2016
7.4

The good: the beds are great. Private with your own light & power. Long enough to a accommodate a 6'2" person. The lock boxes were on the small side, but large enough to accommodate a backpack and my valuables. The staff were also generally nice. The bad: showers were small and water didn't seem to heat up. 2 showers and 2 toilets serving 4 rooms seems like a low number. Not many additional amenities. Can be noisy outside at night, seemed to be lots of young drunks out and about.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for choosing Destinations Hostels, we are sorry to hear about what you did not like in our hostel, let me explain, our showers while on the smaller side are more than big enough to do what you must in them(they are being upgraded (Dec/16) as for the numbers, a 10/1 ratio is better than most hostels in London, the bar downstairs and the outside of it does not tolerate drunks of any age and we move them on, as for anybody around after the bar closes we cannot control that but the area is not as bad for any types of drunks at any time, we dont advertise that we have a common room or kitchen, thank you for your comments.

28th Nov 2016
7.7

Overall you can't fault this hostel really. Security however is outdated. A piece of paper with codes on for doors. Not a good system. Card entry system is surely something that should be invested in. Breakfast was mad, never seen so many unhealthy breakfast goods in one place! Boiled eggs + fruit only healthy option really. Essentially a hostel attached to a pub I wouldn't normally have gone in. But nice landlady and landlord which make a change from 'yoots' who soullessly deal with you.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for choosing Destinations Hostels, we are sorry to hear you did not enjoy your stay with us, please let me address your concerns, we have tried a card system in the past and found that the cards either get lots or loose the info on them and as we don't have a 24 hour reception and this caused many problems for guests returning late at night, our breakfast has more than boiled eggs and fruit as the healthy options, what about the low fat yogurts and cheeses, the cereals and porridge, flapjack bars and the like, we have many staff members of all ages and they are all willing to help our guests at all times with any problems, thank you for your comments.

16th Nov 2016
8.3

Very nice place. I had a good stay there and the hosts were polite and helpful. No problems at all. Breakfast was better than the average hostel.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for choosing Destinations Hostels, we are pleased to hear you enjoyed our hostel and hope you will choose us the next time you visit London, thank you for your comments.

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.