Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Dijembe Backpackers Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.0
Fabulous 96 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.6
  • Security 6.9
  • Location 9.1
  • Staff 9.2
  • Atmosphere 9.2
  • Cleanliness 5.3
  • Facilities 7.6
BOOK NOW
8.0
Fabulous 96 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.6
  • Security 6.9
  • Location 9.1
  • Staff 9.2
  • Atmosphere 9.2
  • Cleanliness 5.3
  • Facilities 7.6

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
6th Apr 2017
8.6

The great staff and atmosphere more than makes up for the lack of cleanliness and unorganization. I slept like a rock the beds were some of the most comfortable hostel beds ever! Temperature was cool so nice to have the fireplace and campfire. I'd stay again.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • exabart
  • Netherlands, Couple, 31-40
  • Avid Traveller
  • 15 reviews
19th Mar 2017
8.0

Hippie place with great atmosphere, good and affordable dinner and drinks, but the dirtiest place I've ever stayed. Mould in the kitchen and refrigerator is not OK!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
9th Feb 2017
9.4

Very hip and chill place. Mellow vibe, groovy people, and musical instruments galore

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • San Marino, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
29th Jan 2017
8.3

First of all, a big shoutout to James for being the coolest person on earth! Our stay at Dijembe was amazing, and the fact that there was free pancakes every morning was a bonus. This hostel is something everybody should experience and is really something for itself, even tho it isn't the cleanest. Just be careful of the owner of the pizzeria / bar, he was a very big dork! (The pizzas there were amazing). Dijembe is also the home of lots of animals, just beware that you do not got any allergies!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Norway, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
28th Jan 2017
8.3

Perfect atmosphere! Buuut very dirty and a lot mess everywhere.. Would recomend one or two nights here! Free selfmade pancakes for brekfast, a horse in the bar and very nice staff!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
23rd Jan 2017
8.3

Great little place, super friendly staff, good value. Just needs some lockers in the room, that's all.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
26th Nov 2016
8.3

Maybe not the most chic place to stay in storm river, but the host is awesome, both times i stayed there I met some really nice people. The home made bread is delicious, free pancakes in the morning. They have puppies and animals which are really friendly. Cons are no lockers, lack of plugins and some of the bunks are really high and hard to get into.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
20th Nov 2016
9.1

Friendly and laid back as you can get. Camp fire outside and log fire inside. Free pool table. The roast chicken dinner on first night was great, the pizza on the second night less so. James, the affable and entusiastic host, could teach the managers of big hotels a thing or two about hospitality!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Female, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 15 reviews
5th Nov 2016
8.3

I really enjoyed my stay at Dijembe - the area is beautiful and the manager James was awesome dropping people off and picking them up from hiking, bungee jumping, canyoning etc. We had a delicious dinner and the fire in the main room is lovely. The place itself is a bit rundown; the kitchen facilities in particular aren't good. However it's something different, a cool experience.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.