X
NOTE: 9 or more guests qualifies as a group booking, change the number of guests to return to normal search.
Enquire Now HostelBookers Logo Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Dioskouros Reviews

6 Pittakou Street Acropolis, Plaka, Athens, Greece

Reviews & Ratings Explained

78%

Rating
1652 Total Reviews
  • 79%Value For Money
  • 78%Security
  • 94%Location
  • 83%Staff
  • 75%Atmosphere
  • 68%Cleanliness
  • 66%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

80%

This is a good, average hostel. The facilities are pretty old but it is obvious the staff has made an effort to make the hostel well maintained, decorated and more modern. The location and staff (very sweet and helpful) are the best things about the hostel. The breakfast was very basic with just a couple pieces of bread, jam and some coffee/tea. The patio was a nice place to relax in the afternoon after a walk around the acropolis.


80%

All though the facilities were basic and of a reasonable standard, some of the basic amenities could be upgraded, to cater for older travelers.

  • 14th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


80%

Its a very good place pretty close to the subway and Athen's downtown on foot you can go pretty everywhere. The only problem is that rarely there is a person at the reception and you have to search them but usually they sit at the garden . The garden is very nice and you can see Acropolis. Its recommended for 2-4 people and families but it has only 2 public toilets. The value for money is excellent for a hostel in that place

  • 14th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Greece
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


49%

At the check-in they didn't provide us with any information about the hostel or the city, nor did they offer any tourist maps etc. I don't know about the rooms upstairs, but the dorms in the ground floor are cold, humid (I mean the walls in the room were literally wet!!! The hostel is old, not very clean, no toilet paper, dirty showers and what stroke me were the towels and sheet hanging on the staircase and balcony railings to dry. Overall: you get what you pay for, if not less...


46%

When my friends and I arrived, I had informed the hostel that we would be arriving at 6 am for check-in, but we ended up waiting until 8 am to check in. However, after getting the keys, we were told that our rooms had been ready for us. This is very disappointing since my friends and I had to wait over three hours to get to our room. Also, the security is so so only because there were not many cameras.


86%

Stayed here for two nights and loved the homey feel. It was excellently located for exploring Athens on foot.


100%

The staff was so helpful! They were there to let us in 24 hours a day The rooms were clean and the place was perfect to just hang out. The rooms were clean, too. Perfect location! Close to everything we wanted to see.

  • 10th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

The breakfast included was very good, the tables near the beach, the staff and the hotel room were just perfect. Thank you very much!!

  • 10th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


43%

They switch off electricity constantly (on purpose, no outlet, no AC) you have to ask for it, breakfast is really bad, old bread with some "nutella" and coffee, kitchen is just a kettle and an electric portable oven, there are cats everywhere on the tables, hallways, etc, toilet paper don't go in the toilet but in a bin (disgusting), the shower is broken, no curtain. Location is great, staff was cool but facilities were terrible.


34%

Put street lights outside your hostel or on your sign. Have beds instead of cots. Have better shower facilities. Write more clear directions to your hostel (ex. what does '38' mean?)

  • 27th Mar 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

this is a great hostel, great location, Denitsa who runs the place is very helpfull and knowledgeable


83%

good days near sites


80%

Great location near the major monuments, clean rooms and friendly staff, but can't comment on the atmosphere because it was pretty much empty when we went (not quite high season yet). Overall would recommend.

  • 13th Mar 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


66%

The hoststaff was actually very nice. After our arrival they seemed a little distant and not interested, but were later very keen on showing us interesting points on the map and made overall very good recommandations. The location of the hostel is very good. Its general a safe place to sleep, you are not far away from the Acropolis and you don't hear anything from the loud traffic. The facilities are pretty poor but you manage to bear this somehow. Shower right next to the toilett is annoying.


83%

I thought it was a wonderful place to stay for a good price. Good for tourists being located right in Plaka by the acropolis museum along with a lot of shops and restaurants. The staff was very friendly and helpful, we missed our 24 hour prior check-in and needed to extend our stay by a day, and both times they were understanding and easy-going. I would definitely recommend Dioskouros to anyone staying in Athens

  • 12th Mar 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

THIS PLACE ROCKED!!! THE STAFF WERE COOL AS HELL AND SHOWED ME TONS OF CITY INSIDER SECRETS. BIG UP

  • 11th Mar 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


77%

We had only fast one night stop, but there was nothing to complain at.


74%

The main advantage of this hostel is its location in the city centre. However, the bathrooms were dirty with no soap or paper towels. The room was cold (during the day, even colder than outdoors) and you could feel the springs in the mattresses. It was cheap, so we got pretty much what we paid for.


89%

An absolutely amazing location, right by quite a few sightseeing stops. The hostel was decent itself. It's clean enough, but the bathrooms and the quality of the linens/towels were a bit lacking.


100%

PERFECT location AMAZING atmosphere friendly staff LOVED IT!!


(47 results)


View all Athens Hostels

Please give us your feedback