X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels!

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Dioskouros Reviews

6 Pittakou Street Acropolis, Plaka, Athens, Greece

Reviews & Ratings Explained

76%

Rating
1682 Total Reviews
  • 76%Value For Money
  • 77%Security
  • 94%Location
  • 83%Staff
  • 73%Atmosphere
  • 65%Cleanliness
  • 65%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

71%

The location is great, you can literally walk to acropoli, but the facilities are not very good... the bathroom was not clean and the shower room was very dark.... but it's not an expensive place, so you get what you pay for


94%

Only two bathrooms per floor, and it wasn't too clean. Everything else was ok.


71%

Staff were friendly and knowledgeable about places to visit. Air conditioning was not working, minor inconvenience since we were on the go most of the time.


69%

They need to have more places to plug things in the room and the staff was almost never at reception, which i didnt like because all the time when we need something from there, we have to wait ages :/.

  • 3rd Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Mexico
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


86%

We stayed at Dioskouros a number of times over the two weeks we were in Greece. The location is fantastic- it's about a 10 minute walk to the Acropolis. It's in a very quiet neighborhood in Athens and felt safe and secure. The staff at Dioskouros are so friendly! They were willing to chat with us, as well as lend moral support when our flight back to the States was canceled. A great, affordable place to stay if you find yourself in Athens on a shoestring budget!


49%

The staff were friendly and the location was good, but the hostel itself was extremely dirty. Bedrooms and bathrooms.


74%

The hospitality was awesome! Yet it is old and no AC which makes for long hot nights with lots of Mosquitos. Better for the younger crew. Can't say enough about their cook and staff VERY AWESOME PEOPLE.


71%

This hostel had a great location close to the action. It was pretty quiet when we stayed, there were not that many travellers at the hotel when we were there. The bathroom was shared and the water in the shower went from very hot to very cold periodically during a ~15 minute long shower. The breakfast buffet was lacklustre (it was just bread, jam, nutella, french toast, coffee and tea). The hotel had many cats running around, especially during breakfast which kind of freaked me out.

  • 3rd May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

Awesome location, 5 min from the Acropolis and nice atmosphere. Great wifi everywhere & the Free breakfast in their cosy garden was an extra bonus.

  • 3rd May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


91%

Great value for money, amazing location, good breakfast. Very helpful staff too, great tips on visiting the more unknown parts of the city.

  • 3rd May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


60%

The staff of the hotel was very nice and available to let me in even late at night/early morning, as my flight arrived after midnight. There is breakfast included, simple but nice. The quality of the rooms is rather average, the one I stayed in was very cold, so consider having an extra cover. The bathrooms are also quite simple and old-ish. But if you are not too picky, it is good enough ;) However, the location is very good and the price for stay also is quite low.

  • 30th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Poland
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


46%

I don't recommend this. The bathroom is dirty. Located at the heart of city center. The room is dusty. Poor and bad taste renovation.


94%

YES. Lovable little place.

  • 19th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


80%

This is a good, average hostel. The facilities are pretty old but it is obvious the staff has made an effort to make the hostel well maintained, decorated and more modern. The location and staff (very sweet and helpful) are the best things about the hostel. The breakfast was very basic with just a couple pieces of bread, jam and some coffee/tea. The patio was a nice place to relax in the afternoon after a walk around the acropolis.


80%

All though the facilities were basic and of a reasonable standard, some of the basic amenities could be upgraded, to cater for older travelers.

  • 14th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


80%

Its a very good place pretty close to the subway and Athen's downtown on foot you can go pretty everywhere. The only problem is that rarely there is a person at the reception and you have to search them but usually they sit at the garden . The garden is very nice and you can see Acropolis. Its recommended for 2-4 people and families but it has only 2 public toilets. The value for money is excellent for a hostel in that place

  • 14th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Greece
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


49%

At the check-in they didn't provide us with any information about the hostel or the city, nor did they offer any tourist maps etc. I don't know about the rooms upstairs, but the dorms in the ground floor are cold, humid (I mean the walls in the room were literally wet!!! The hostel is old, not very clean, no toilet paper, dirty showers and what stroke me were the towels and sheet hanging on the staircase and balcony railings to dry. Overall: you get what you pay for, if not less...


46%

When my friends and I arrived, I had informed the hostel that we would be arriving at 6 am for check-in, but we ended up waiting until 8 am to check in. However, after getting the keys, we were told that our rooms had been ready for us. This is very disappointing since my friends and I had to wait over three hours to get to our room. Also, the security is so so only because there were not many cameras.


86%

Stayed here for two nights and loved the homey feel. It was excellently located for exploring Athens on foot.


100%

The staff was so helpful! They were there to let us in 24 hours a day The rooms were clean and the place was perfect to just hang out. The rooms were clean, too. Perfect location! Close to everything we wanted to see.

  • 10th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


(50 results)


View all Athens Hostels

Please give us your feedback