Hostelworld.com

Dirty McNasty's Hostel

Prices
map
reviews
7.2
Very Good 335 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.0
  • Security 7.0
  • Location 8.7
  • Staff 7.6
  • Atmosphere 8.0
  • Cleanliness 5.9
  • Facilities 6.4
BOOK NOW
7.2
Very Good 335 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.0
  • Security 7.0
  • Location 8.7
  • Staff 7.6
  • Atmosphere 8.0
  • Cleanliness 5.9
  • Facilities 6.4
Dirty McNasty's Hostel Located at 1 Crocodile St., , Caye Caulker.
Dirty McNasty's Hostel
Belize
Caye Caulker Belize 1 Crocodile St.
72% 335
17.7466072 -88.0247569
Dirty McNasty's Hostel
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
3rd Jun 2016
2.9

This place is a dive!

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
3rd Jun 2016
6.6

Check your bed when you check in that the under board is nailed down. Ours were not and we had money stolen from the lockers under the beds as you could get straight into them by lifting the mattress. Didn't get the money back! Free rum punch is good but make sure you drink it quickly as it does run out. It's worth paying for the aircon - it's on all day and is soooo great after a hot day on the island! It's a good hostel on an expensive island

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, All Female Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
1st Jun 2016
4.6

We gave this place the benefit of the doubt and decided to ignore the negative reviews and hoped the positive reviews were more accurate. DONT DO IT! We even got a private room and it was disgusting. Our room only had shutters, no screens and didn't even have toilet paper. Also, you have to put a deposit on a towel if you want one which they didn't tell us when we checked in. The wifi hardly worked. There are MUCH better places on Caye Caulker for the same price. There are local places to party.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • imemiahara
  • Cyprus, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
1st Jun 2016
3.1

DONT - The staff are terrible for Belize and Central American standards. The place has NO common area to sit other than the room and one bar that is very unconfortable - the whole place is currently like a construction, more expensive than much cooler hostels and i dont know what more to warn you about. Just stay here if you have nowhere else to stay

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 11 reviews
30th May 2016
6.3

Fun hostel. Great place to meet people. A little grotty and construction work going on doesn't make it the most attractive of hostels.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
27th May 2016
10.0

Fun place to stay. Love the vibes of Caye Caulker! Everyone is chill! The canoes were amazing, the location was amazing, I love this place.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
25th May 2016
2.0

DO NOT STAY HERE! I can not stress enough how unsafe & horrible this place is. There is an employee named benedict that comes around offering you overpriced drugs & demanding long/unwelcome hugs & kisses from all the females. The wifi is non existent which you can see from the other reviews & the owner Sandy called me a liar, word for word, when I brought this to her attention. Cleanliness is not in their vocabulary. The staff are rude & just flat out dont care about anything.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 2.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
25th May 2016
5.1

Dirty it is. Dorms are so overpriced for the state of the rooms. Simple maintenance tasks would improve each room in a big way. Only good thing about the hostel is the social aspect. It's a good area to meet people if travelling solo.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
16th May 2016
6.9

Never thought the combined words of 'Dirty' and 'McNasty' would ever leave my mouth ... especially in regards to a place I was willingly paying to stay at. The location was fantastic, right across from Caveman Tours (where I booked the best full-day snorkelling experience of my life). Everything else was ... meh. Facilities were on the dire side of basic. Breakfast was just dire. Just runny eggs, slapdash pancakes and watery syrup. Well what was I expecting at a joint named Dirty McNasty's?

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
13th May 2016
5.7

The name of the hostel speaks for itself. It is really dirty and old. The only good thing is the location and its a good place to meet people. The wifi is almost never working. And a nice chill out area is missing. Do not take the french toast for breakfast, it is just disgusting and everyone just east half of it. The rest of the breakfast is ok.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.