Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Dirty McNasty's Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
6.5
Good 420 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 6.2
  • Security 6.1
  • Location 8.7
  • Staff 6.8
  • Atmosphere 6.9
  • Cleanliness 4.9
  • Facilities 5.8
BOOK NOW
6.5
Good 420 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 6.2
  • Security 6.1
  • Location 8.7
  • Staff 6.8
  • Atmosphere 6.9
  • Cleanliness 4.9
  • Facilities 5.8
Dirty McNasty's Hostel Located at 1 Crocodile St., , Caye Caulker.
Dirty McNasty's Hostel
Belize
Caye Caulker Belize 1 Crocodile St.
65% 420
17.7466072 -88.0247569
Dirty McNasty's Hostel
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
15th Jan 2017
3.4

The place is filthy. The toilet paper bins weren't emptied for 3 days which added an interesting smell to the dorm room. Neither toilets or the showers were cleaned either. The staff were incredibly unhelpful and sometimes very rude. I loved this island but would probably turn up next time without bothering to book ahead and find somewhere much nicer.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
9th Jan 2017
4.0

Pretty dirty, bathroom was disgusting. Manager went around at 9 in the morning yelling "wake up!" Ended up switching to another place. Lives up to its name.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
6th Jan 2017
2.9

This was my first time staying in a Hostel and this place destroyed my experience. The bathroom was disgusting there are bugs everywhere. It looked like someone punched a hole in the wall. The place looks like it needs a lot of repairs. There is no verity in breakfast its just eggs and toast every morning. I checked out earl because the place was so bad. It truly lives up to the name Dirty McNasty.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • joannarichardson827555
  • England, Female, 31-40
  • Globetrotter
  • 40 reviews
5th Jan 2017
3.4

Honestly I would never recommend staying here. Worst hostel in a year of travelling. Nothing seemed to be cleaned while I was there so the showers were full of rubbish and hair. It felt like staying in a prison. Not secure at all as the dorm was always open at all hours. Staff seemed to go out of their way to be as rude as possible. Seems like a place that has been coasting on their Lonely Planet recommendation for so long and they've become complacent - there are much better places to stay

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
2nd Jan 2017
8.9

No bugs, great breakfast, and free rum punch after 7. Great place to stay if you're looking for a cheaper place to crash at while visiting caye caulker.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Kristianeek
  • Denmark, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
2nd Jan 2017
5.7

We stayed two nights in the dorm - more would have been too much.. In general it all seemed a bit dusty and dirty, the lockers didnt work, the breakfast was really bad - like a small portion of eggs and two pieces of fried flatbread. Friendly staff and good wifi though..

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
1st Jan 2017
3.1

After reading people's reviews on this place me and my partner thought we would give it the benefit of the doubt and give it a chance. Well I wish we hadn't. Location was good and easy to find as everyone on the island is very helpful, however staff were not really to helpful and they do not accept card if that is how you was planning on paying. Dorm rooms were always left open don't know why you bother with a key deposit we never used it once. And for a 16 bed dorm one shower was not enough.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
30th Dec 2016
6.3

Music from 19:00 to 22:30 was horribly loud every day in the reception (yes, in the reception) which is right above the rooms. So loud the receptionist couldn't hear me when I was checkin or anything else, and I couldn't hear her. Also, except for the lady who gives support to the owner, the rest of the staff were horrible, I even think they were stoned most of the time. And they even were very rude omce when I told them I wanted to leave next day at 6am and asked where to leave the key.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
29th Dec 2016
8.0

I was pretty hesitant staying here after reading all the negative reviews but it was much better than expected. Dorm was clean and I had A/C which was really good. Definitely a great place to stay if you're keen to meet other travellers. Very social spot. I think the guys working there were on their better behaviour after some of the reviews recently that were critical of them. I hope for their sake they stick to this. Not good for anyone if the girls feel uncomfortable staying there.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
29th Dec 2016
8.3

Not sure what everyone's problem with this hostel is. My dorm was spacious and pretty clean. Showers were hot and wifi was really good everywhere. It was good for meeting people in the evenings and the free rum punch was an added plus.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.