Hostelworld.com

Dirty McNasty's Hostel

Prices
map
reviews
6.8
Good 441 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 6.6
  • Security 6.3
  • Location 8.9
  • Staff 7.1
  • Atmosphere 7.3
  • Cleanliness 5.3
  • Facilities 6.2
BOOK NOW
6.8
Good 441 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 6.6
  • Security 6.3
  • Location 8.9
  • Staff 7.1
  • Atmosphere 7.3
  • Cleanliness 5.3
  • Facilities 6.2

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
17th Feb 2017
8.6

I read previous comments, many negative ones, which I don't really get now... Caulker is small, so the location can't be bad, beds are okay, wifi is strong and the free rum punch really starts your night...for that money, it's a good deal.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • thomas_macinnis1500
  • Canada, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
14th Feb 2017
8.6

I originally booked here with great reluctance owing to the poor rating. However, I ended up extending my stay four more nights. The location is great, it is very close to the split. The bar and lounge area is a good environment to meet people. Staff are helpful and they make your breakfast to order every morning. It is not some half assed continental spread. The rooms are fairly spartan, plywood floors etc. But, everything was clean and the showers had plenty of hot water all the time.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
7th Feb 2017
8.3

This place isn't deserving of the negative reviews it's been receiving. It's not the cleanest place, but I've stayed at far less clean places before. The breakfast is cooked to order every morning. Also free rum at night. The rooms are in the building across the courtyard from the bar, so it doesn't get that loud.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Mixed Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
3rd Feb 2017
5.7

You get what you sign up for, Dirty Mcnastys. We had a good time here and you get used to the place but would have chosen somewhere else if we could. Very unclean rooms, poor staff service, often felt uncomfortable. Come to this hostel if you want to drink each night. Plenty of others in good locations (it's a small island).

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • rockthevote1877
  • Germany, Female, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 17 reviews
29th Jan 2017
6.3

the island is very expensive in general, but compared to other hostels the price is just outrageous. I wouldn t call the hostel dirty (but it is true that you might get unlucky and have your toilet trashcan not emptied for a couple of days), but just very, very basic. the up side is that there is usually always a bed free / and the free rum punch of course!!! xD

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
28th Jan 2017
9.7

I really enjoyed my stay at dirty mcnastys and thought the reviews were very misleading. I was apprehensive about staying there, however, on arrival my worries disappeared. The staff were so friendly and fun. The free rum punch was great and the food was super tasty. It is a budget hostel but the rooms were clean and had lockers and it wasn't noisy late at night. If you want a cheap place on the island it's perfect!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
24th Jan 2017
9.4

Awesome place! They offer a variety of things to do. They're really inclusive and it's got a really togetherness feel. It's got the party hostel feel to it but they have accommodation in a separate building to the social room so you can get some sleep! Win win!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
16th Jan 2017
6.0

We only stayed one night and the main issues we had were with the people in our dorm. They had trashed the place. It was a complete mess, stuff everywhere. It's a party hostel so it attracts a certain type of person. Outside the dorm, we had a good time. The staff were really nice and friendly. The free rum punch is a bonus. Free use of the canoes too. Breakfast is good. Depends what you want out of your trip!

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
15th Jan 2017
3.4

The place is filthy. The toilet paper bins weren't emptied for 3 days which added an interesting smell to the dorm room. Neither toilets or the showers were cleaned either. The staff were incredibly unhelpful and sometimes very rude. I loved this island but would probably turn up next time without bothering to book ahead and find somewhere much nicer.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
13th Jan 2017
7.7

Don't be put off by the reviews! I had a good time here, travelling by myself I was dreading it because of the reviews but it was the one place I met so many people and the mattresses were much better then other places I've stayed. It's really social, the staff just like to wind you up and there showers were hot!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.