Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Dirty McNasty's Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
6.5
Good 493 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 6.4
  • Security 6.7
  • Location 8.4
  • Staff 6.6
  • Atmosphere 7.5
  • Cleanliness 4.5
  • Facilities 5.6
BOOK NOW
6.5
Good 493 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 6.4
  • Security 6.7
  • Location 8.4
  • Staff 6.6
  • Atmosphere 7.5
  • Cleanliness 4.5
  • Facilities 5.6

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Switzerland, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
14th Jul 2017
5.1

We stayed in the 16 bed room with aircon. The aircon worked the first night but it was leaking water. The second night it was completly off. We had two showers and two toilets for the room. One toilet didn't flush and the one that worked you couldn't lock. The showers were ok. The beds were very unconfortable. The breakfast you could choose between pancakes, omlett and eggs, which was good. The staff did make the impression to be high all the time and even offered us drugs, NO GO!

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
6th Jul 2017
9.4

We heard and read a lot of mixed reviews about this place but found it to be just great. There are new bathrooms in the back of the hostel that are really nice and the beds were pretty decent! The staff was awesome and full of recommendations and smiles. Great place to meet friends!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
30th Jun 2017
2.0

Upon arrival I was told even though I had a reservation they had no room. When I asked for my deposit was told no. After some conversation with another staff member we wer given a bed unmade & unchanged from the previous occupant. Had to DEMAND new linen which I changed myself. We left to town for a little bit and came back to our things moved and people in our beds saying they were told they could hav those bunks. Staff also gave anyone and everyone room codes. RIDICULOUS. NEVER STAY HERE!!!

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 2.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Mixed Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
29th Jun 2017
7.4

Not as McNasty as some people say. Dorms are fine, showers are a bit grim like any hostel and once when we were there the water didn't work so toilets didn't flush. But definitely worth it for the atmosphere, free breakfast and punch are great too.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
20th Jun 2017
8.9

Its always a party at Dirty McNastys! The free Rum Punch EVERY night gets the party started. Shane (AKA front desk supervisor, bartender, Cook) is the best asset to Dirty McNastys. He is very helpful and will help you with whatever you need. If you want to have a great time on Caye Caulker and don't really care too much about where you rest your head then this is the place for you. Great for socialization and fantastic value! Not for everyone but was just what I was looking for.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
12th Jun 2017
7.7

Yes it's a little dirty but it's a budget hostel! The free breakfast and rum punch was fantastic value for money and the location is perfect. If you want AC, get a big dorm, the fans don't keep you cool in the smaller dorm. Staff are hilarious, you just need to have a sense of humour and have a laugh. Benedict can cook a mean dinner. Security is fine there is keypad entry to rooms and lockers under the beds. If you're a princess and don't have a sense of humour don't stay here. Loved Belize !

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
27th May 2017
5.4

It's McNasty

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
25th May 2017
7.4

Cheap, basic place. We booked 2 beds in a 16 bed dorm with AC and we were the only ones in there. Beds were fairly comfortable but the showers aren't the best. After reading many reviews it was a little better than we expected. Not much going on but it's a slow time for tourists.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Male, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
  • 25 reviews
6th May 2017
4.9

This is by far the worst hostel I've stayed in. I read the reviews but decided to give it try as it was cheap for Belize. The staff aren't overly friendly. Our room had a hole in the ceiling and the insulation was falling through. Given this the room leaked badly over our heads when it rained. Nothing there was clean and the place is old and run down. I would not recommend staying here at all. You can find many great hostels (cheaper also) on the island when you arrive. The free rum is good.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, All Male Group, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 16 reviews
24th Apr 2017
5.1

As others have said, it's called Dirty McNasty's for a reason. The free rum is good and strong, and it's ok for meeting people. Other than that, it's expensive, Dirty and basic.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.