X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Dirty McNasty's Hostel Reviews

1 Crocodile St., Caye Caulker, Belize

Reviews & Ratings Explained

70%

Rating
148 Total Reviews
  • 66%Value For Money
  • 65%Security
  • 85%Location
  • 79%Staff
  • 71%Atmosphere
  • 58%Cleanliness
  • 62%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

20%

The whole room smelled of damp, the air con hardly worked. We woke to rain coming down the walls on the inside soaking everything and also coming thr the light buld, a electrical hazard waiting to happen. Left after one night even though we booked for 4 and they refused to take the deposit off the bill because we were leaving early. The one redeeming quality was the chef who makes good omelettes. Avoid the hostel at all costs so many other nicer and cheaper places to stay

  • 23rd Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Mixed Group, 25-30
  • (1 review)


66%

Dirty and nasty. But free rum punch is always a plus

  • 18th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


20%

This place is foul. Everything is broken or falling apart. The fans in my room had what looked like 10 years of dust stuck to them. Cigarette butts under the bed, broken beer bottles litter the ground and stairs. I watched the cleaner spray disenfecent onto sheets and pillows, wtf? Theres a kitchen but all the untensils are locked away. Just horrific conditions for $15/night. Any place is better.


49%

Pretty dirty, many cockroaches in our room and no comfortable atmosphere.


69%

Great location. Breakfast was made to order which was brilliant. However the facilities are pretty much non existent as all cutlery/crockery etc was locked away making it very difficult to prepare your own food. Hostel seems unfinished although met some great people there!


100%

Booked 2 nights and stayed 5, loved it! Staff are amazing and really friendly atmosphere! Can't wait to go back!


74%

Better than expected with a name like that!


77%

I recommend this hostel for every young backpackers. Lovely staff (The Chef is freaking hilarious), free breakfast every morning (it's more than just toast) and free rhum punch every night! The common area is away from the room and everybody is respectful is you just wanna relax.

  • 9th May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


54%

Rooms were quite dirty and very tired. Water pressure is appalling.

  • 8th May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Mixed Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


57%

Our shower had not been cleaned . There were hairs and soap wrappings left from previous guests. Did not give us an introduction to the property or facilities - we had to seek out this information. Staff was friendly and helpful. Rum punch was tasty.

  • 6th May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)


80%

Well, you get what you pay for. The private rooms were spartan, to say the least, but they were bugfree. Sadly no AC, but at least there were two fans. Staff was friendly, extra plus for breakfast chef. Unfortunately, the kitchen was practically useless when he wasn't there. Common area is seriously shabby, but canoes and wifi was good. Rum punch served as advertised. If you're looking to spend your days drinking and diving with friends, this isn't a bad budget option on an expensive island.


91%

So much fun! You'll meet amazing people and have a real laugh. Lovely stodgy post- night out breakfast included too.


46%

they forgot to mention that there is a mosquito infested swamp in the middle of all the dorms.

  • 3rd Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


94%

Very nice place to stay if you like party and meet nice people

  • 1st Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Guatemala
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


80%

With free breakfast, free rum punch after 7:30, WI-FI, and free canoe rentals, this place definitely made our time here SUPER enjoyable. Everyone comes out to the top bar at night and hangs out so It's great for meeting people! The beds are average, but not complaining. DON'T FLUSH ANY TOILET PAPER!

  • 1st Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)


69%

The good: breakfast was awesome. The bad: The private room we booked didn't have air con & even with 2 fans it was unacceptably stuffy & stinky + it was too far from the wifi so it didn't work in the room, so we had to move to a dorm room with A/C on the other side of the building. The ugly: The bathroom in the dorm room was like something from a horror movie. We only stayed 1 night then found a better place. This place lives up to the name.

  • 24th Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


60%

Hostel that provides the bare essentials, hot shower, bed and people to make friends with. The breakfast every morning was excellent, omelettes, toast, scrambled egg etc. However the common room was poor, so people didn't generally use it and for the facilities they provided it was expensive. Especially when Bellas over the road was cheaper and a much nicer hostel. But I enjoyed my stay and it did what it said on the tin.


80%

Really nice staff A party place, it noisy be warned Breakfast included is good, Rooms are tired and cramped Recommend the all day trip that runs from there (fish, snorkel, BBQ) Overall good value for money


57%

I heard mixed reviews about this place before deciding to stay since that's where my friends were heading. We stayed in the deluxe 6 bed mixed dorm and had air con and hot water which was amazing since the island is so hot. But the rooms were very cramped, lumpy pillows, broken shutters etc. It was quite expensive for what we got. There was a daily breakfast included. But lots of building work and I fell down the unfinished stairs, landed on a beer bottle and cut my hands open really badly :-(


60%

Very primitive, not very personal felt very much like just as a place to sleep and not hang around. Overshadowed by the hostel over the road which looked much more fun. When I was there they had had their license revoked so the bar wasn't operating in the evening.


« first « Prev 1 2 3
(42 results)


View all Caye Caulker Hostels

Please give us your feedback