Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Dirty McNasty's Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Prices
map
reviews
6.9
Good 350 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 6.6
  • Security 6.8
  • Location 8.4
  • Staff 7.2
  • Atmosphere 7.7
  • Cleanliness 5.6
  • Facilities 6.0
BOOK NOW
6.9
Good 350 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 6.6
  • Security 6.8
  • Location 8.4
  • Staff 7.2
  • Atmosphere 7.7
  • Cleanliness 5.6
  • Facilities 6.0
Dirty McNasty's Hostel Located at 1 Crocodile St., , Caye Caulker.
Dirty McNasty's Hostel
Belize
Caye Caulker Belize 1 Crocodile St.
69% 350
17.7466072 -88.0247569
Dirty McNasty's Hostel
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Afghanistan, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
18th Jul 2016
7.4

Staff was great, dorm rooms were fine, private rooms would've been better with some sort of locker. The thing I liked least about this place was the lack of a kitchen/refrigerator for guests use. They're trying to push the bar/restaurant side, and so don't allow outside food and drink, which I get. But on an expensive island, to cut off the availability of cheap food and drink options just isn't a great idea for a hostel that supposedly caters to backpackers. too loud at night for conversati

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Puerto Rico, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
17th Jul 2016
2.0

this is the worst hostel i had ever stayed at... dirty like the name... hostile employees. i order a pizza and when received i asked why so small the slice and the respond was (what do u want for 3dollars). nasty people, they charge deposit for the key that later u will lose cuz there is nobody to take the key back and refund ur money... really bad experience...

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 2.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Mixed Group, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 12 reviews
13th Jul 2016
3.1

They gave us the wrong key (incorrect labelling) to our room so when we came back at night and the room was locked we were locked out from our beds and belongings. Luckily someone let us in to another dorm with a couple of beds but no sheets, and no belongings. Staff's response in the morning was 'lucky, you got the airconditioned room instead!'. Poor water pressure in the showers. Vibe and location were good and good common area for meeting others. But Bella's across the road was much better.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, All Female Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
10th Jul 2016
3.4

Save your money and stay elsewhere for better service! We actually canceled our booking as soon as we saw the state of our room. We were assigned a room with no AC and was told that AC cost more. NOWHERE on the hostel page does it state this when we made the reservation. It just says "some dorms have AC" but does not mention anywhere which rooms have it. Way to "accidentally" leave out these details. This place requires payments in cash and does not offer refunds.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
4th Jul 2016
5.4

I have mixed feelings about McNasty's. The rooms are extremely bare, super stripped down to just bunks and fans. The bathroom was grimy. The room where people hang was *fine*, but the free rum punch was warm and way too strong for rum punch. Most of the staff was nice, but there was one guy that was creepy and very touchy, so I didn't stay another night. Breakfast is good. There wasn't always water. The doors lock, but *everyone* has to remember to lock it, or your stuff isn't secure.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
1st Jul 2016
8.0

Honestly I think this place has really unfair reviews that can only be from people who have never stayed in a hostel before.. I was worried upon arriving last weekend for Lobsterfest, but honestly it's just your typical colourful beach side travellers hostel with semi-shabby bunkbeds, lockers and bathrooms (get one w/AC). The owner was extremely friendly, free rum punch at night/omelettes or French toast for breakfast were great. Met so many people from around the world and had a lot of fun!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Couple, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
26th Jun 2016
4.9

We left after one night. There are way nicer options for the same price or cheaper.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Mixed Group, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 10 reviews
21st Jun 2016
6.9

Was an ok place to stay

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
15th Jun 2016
7.1

This place was quiet but in a good way. Nice and relaxing. Staff not really present at times to help out and breakfast offered not correct to the time advertised. Nice, clean, secure but actually a little hard to find on such a small island.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
3rd Jun 2016
2.9

This place is a dive!

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.