Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Discovery Cafe & Guest House

Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Prices
map
reviews
8.1
Fabulous 330 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.2
  • Security 8.8
  • Location 9.0
  • Staff 9.3
  • Atmosphere 7.1
  • Cleanliness 7.3
  • Facilities 7.0
BOOK NOW
8.1
Fabulous 330 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.2
  • Security 8.8
  • Location 9.0
  • Staff 9.3
  • Atmosphere 7.1
  • Cleanliness 7.3
  • Facilities 7.0
Discovery Cafe & Guest House Located at No. 3 Jalan Bunga Raya, Malacca, Melaka.
Discovery Cafe & Guest House
Malaysia
Melaka Malacca 75100 No. 3 Jalan Bunga Raya, Malacca
81% 330
2.1963198 102.2508502
Discovery Cafe & Guest House
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, All Male Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 9 reviews
26th Jul 2016
3.1

Not a very inviting place. It looks unchanged from the 90s and isn't well maintained. No air-conditioning in some of the rooms, thin walls, the beds are not good quality either. A lot of the bathroom facilities are rundown or broken. The rooms themselves are across the street and not near the cafe either. The negatives outweigh the benefits even for the price. I moved to the Rooftop Garden Lodge after one night.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Hungary, Female, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 13 reviews
9th Jul 2016
9.4

Very good place to stay, the owner is a super nice person who solves everything for you. If you need something, he is there with full heart :)

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Singapore, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
30th Apr 2016
9.7

Thank you, John, for the hospitality! Great location, great facilities, great place to meet other travellers. Two thumbs up! (:

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
29th Apr 2016
7.1

Discovery totally great, I booking for 7 person and John truly helpful for all we need & to know while we stay back in Discovery. Please be remember Discovery only provide basic needs, don't expect too much for toiletries such as towel, etc. Please bring your own, but you can communicate to John, he'll try the best to help you. ask for cheap beer & special discount for food, taxi or others. Location is quite strategic, we definitely will come back. thanks & cheers

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Philippines, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
23rd Apr 2016
9.7

We really enjoyed the stay there. The receptionist is very accommodating and speaks fluent in English that's why we don't have a hard time listening to his instructions. He even upgraded our dorm into air-conditioned at no additional cost that's why it's very recommended guesthouse in Malacca. Value for.money indeed :)

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Indonesia, Mixed Group, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
  • 70 reviews
14th Apr 2016
9.7

VERY HELPFULL STAFF AVAILABLE 24 HOURS. GREAT LOATION NEAR ALL THE LANDMARK AT MALACCA. VALUE FOR MONEY. THANK YOU JOHN SEE U NEXT TRIP

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
  • 38 reviews
2nd Apr 2016
7.7

Make sure you book the air con room!! I did and was fine, but the others in non-air con were melting. It's too hot to sleep. It was a bit dingy, but overall fine, and the staff were really helpful. Pretty good location and easy to find.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
25th Mar 2016
9.1

Spend a few nights here and the staff were very accommodating and helpful in orienting their visitors throughout the town. They offer many services to their guests and assist in coordinating transportation to other cities.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 14 reviews
19th Mar 2016
8.0

Good location. Not much of an atmosphere here, difficult to meet and chat to people. Was clean though and had lockers. Air con was great. Had an enjoyable stay.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Mixed Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
19th Mar 2016
7.7

The staff are extremely welcoming, friendly and helpful and the location is right near all the things to do in Melaka. The hostel itself is very basic but kept clean. Most of the rooms are not true rooms but separated by board so might be noisy when there are lots of people there! Our twin room was very small and hot and the air con was very weak. Probably couldn't have slept there for more than 1 night!

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.