Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Discovery Cafe & Guest House

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
7.9
Very Good 351 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.2
  • Security 8.5
  • Location 9.1
  • Staff 8.9
  • Atmosphere 7.1
  • Cleanliness 6.6
  • Facilities 6.9
BOOK NOW
7.9
Very Good 351 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.2
  • Security 8.5
  • Location 9.1
  • Staff 8.9
  • Atmosphere 7.1
  • Cleanliness 6.6
  • Facilities 6.9
Discovery Cafe & Guest House Located at No. 3 Jalan Bunga Raya, Malacca, Melaka.
Discovery Cafe & Guest House
Malaysia
Melaka Malacca 75100 No. 3 Jalan Bunga Raya, Malacca
79% 351
2.1963198 102.2508502
Discovery Cafe & Guest House
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
13th Sep 2016
7.1

Not much to say about it, an average bed and breakfast. Not many people there when I stayed

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Austria, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
10th Sep 2016
5.7

the cleanliness in the bathrooms is a shame, the walls in the whole hostel are very thin - kinda plastic. the bedsheets had stains and the blanket (one night I did not even have one) was smelly. location is great, breakfast very basic but ok

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Sweden, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
1st Sep 2016
6.9

We stayed in the female dorm for 3 nights. Our overall experience was good but the cleanliness in the room was not so nice. Some of the sheets were worn and stained. The bathroom was small but it was ok.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
30th Aug 2016
8.6

Not a bad location just outside the main area of Melaka, which can be close to unwalkable at certain times of the day. The bathrooms didn't drain very well- the floors were always soaked- and the toilets were strangely difficult to flush. Other than that, not bad. The hostel's cafe across the street was a good place to get a drink, and there's a great satay place nearby.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
23rd Aug 2016
9.1

The staff were so friendly and helpful here helping us book our travel over to Singapore and helping us with any questions we had about the area. The rooms were comfy and showers were ok too. Area was great as it was just a couple minutes walk from the unesco site and everything it had to offer there. Would stay here again if I come back highly recommend. Thank you.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
12th Aug 2016
8.9

The location of this hostel is perfect, it's so close to everything. The room was comfortable and I was grateful for the excellent air conditioning (in the 6 bed female dorm). The shower heater in the ensuite didn't really work but it's so warm anyway it doesn't matter. Breakfast was very basic but good and saves time and money. Overall I enjoyed my stay and thought it was great value.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Elsker
  • Czech Republic, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
28th Jul 2016
10.0

Very nice hostel in the center of Melaka. Staff was very helpfull and gave us directions to all the atractivities we wanted to visit. Met there couple nice travellers, hot shower and lockers were perfect.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, All Male Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 9 reviews
26th Jul 2016
3.1

Not a very inviting place. It looks unchanged from the 90s and isn't well maintained. No air-conditioning in some of the rooms, thin walls, the beds are not good quality either. A lot of the bathroom facilities are rundown or broken. The rooms themselves are across the street and not near the cafe either. The negatives outweigh the benefits even for the price. I moved to the Rooftop Garden Lodge after one night.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Hungary, Female, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 13 reviews
9th Jul 2016
9.4

Very good place to stay, the owner is a super nice person who solves everything for you. If you need something, he is there with full heart :)

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Singapore, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
30th Apr 2016
9.7

Thank you, John, for the hospitality! Great location, great facilities, great place to meet other travellers. Two thumbs up! (:

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.