Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Discovery Cafe & Guest House

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
7.9
Very Good 392 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.4
  • Security 8.1
  • Location 9.1
  • Staff 8.7
  • Atmosphere 7.0
  • Cleanliness 7.2
  • Facilities 7.0
BOOK NOW
7.9
Very Good 392 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.4
  • Security 8.1
  • Location 9.1
  • Staff 8.7
  • Atmosphere 7.0
  • Cleanliness 7.2
  • Facilities 7.0

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Malaysia, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
12th May 2017
7.1

Staff is friendly. For us, location a bit far from Jonker Street. Washroom is clean. Too many disturbing noises from the same & upper floor when someone walking as the wooden floor too old... I think this happen to certain rooms only..

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Northern Ireland, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
8th May 2017
7.1

We stayed in a double room which was clean and comfortable. However the toilet/ shower was very unclean. One of the toilets were broken. Location was very good, central to Malacca and hostel was easy to find.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Denmark, Female, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 10 reviews
1st May 2017
9.7

They have a really nice atmosphere in the cafe at night with live music! Rooms are clean and it is included breakfast :)

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • vyvieyang8850
  • Indonesia, Mixed Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
22nd Apr 2017
7.7

The location is quite near to jonker & red square. It would be easy for anyone who wants to go to night market there. We get a private room with ac for 5 after pay more 20RM, but the room's window cant be locked and It can be opened from outside of corridor. Their breakfast were just toast and tea/coffee. Overall good.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • alicegreen
  • England, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
8th Apr 2017
8.0

This hostel is in a great location with comfortable beds! We even got upgraded for free to our own room. No where to socialise really, but relaxed environment.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
27th Feb 2017
9.4

I loved my stay at the Discovery Hostel. Funky place with a great atmosphere. The building has got a lot of soul, comfortable and relaxed. The staff was excellent, helpful and professional. Gary, the manager was the best; knowledgeable and always ready to assist guests in any way. I moved from another hostel that was clean, modern, and had absolutely no soul. Upon finding the Discovery Hostel, I immediately moved. Discovery was close to great restaurants and right on the river.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

thank you very much for staying with us and sweet comments,hope see you again. thanks again .have good day sir!!!!!!!!!!!!

  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
18th Feb 2017
7.1

Uncomfortable beds

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
12th Feb 2017
9.4

My stay at discovery cafe was wonderful, the owners and workers were just so welcoming, after our long journey they offered us a beer! Throughout our stay we were offered local snacks and Chinese tea. The rooms were good and the beds comfy, nice little common area too. Perfect location, literally 5 minutes walk from everything. Could not recommend this hostel enough!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
2nd Feb 2017
4.9

If your stopping by Malacca I suppose you can consider staying here but there are probably better in the area. The hostel itself is not connected to the cafe which means youll have to cross over for breakfast which is basic itself. No real place to store water or anything a fridge would of been nice for. Not clean but not completely filthy either. I would recommend a room with a AC because the 10 bed dorm was horrifically hot which made it unable to sleep right.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
27th Jan 2017
7.1

The hostel was is an ideal location, close to all the attractions. Hostel was on the opposite side to the cafe and you have a key card to get in which is great! I stayed in the 6 bed female dorm and there was AC and a fan in the room and a bathroom. Only negative I can say is that the guests in other rooms were very noisey (morning and night) despite signs around to be quiet but that's nothing to do with the hostel itself. If I were to go back to Melaka then I would stay here again.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.