Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Discovery Cafe & Guest House

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
7.1
Very Good 430 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.3
  • Security 7.5
  • Location 9.0
  • Staff 7.7
  • Atmosphere 6.2
  • Cleanliness 6.3
  • Facilities 5.8
BOOK NOW
7.1
Very Good 430 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.3
  • Security 7.5
  • Location 9.0
  • Staff 7.7
  • Atmosphere 6.2
  • Cleanliness 6.3
  • Facilities 5.8

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Explore-the-World
  • Germany, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
31st Aug 2017
4.9

The hostel was not in the discovery hostel it was across the street. No aircon it was like 40 degrees Celsius impossible to sleep. Wifi don't work

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
28th Aug 2017
6.6

We stayed here for one night and found the room to be comfortable and the aircon worked well. The building is big and a bit messy but it serves its purpose. The staff were helpful enough and decided not to have the breakfast. The entrance is filled with lots of memorabilia which is really interesting.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
26th Aug 2017
5.4

I booked a single room. I named it Cellette as it was smaller than prison cell & no Windows. No air con, but resident mosquito made the night sleep worse. Location great and staff lovely. Evening entertainment was nice but it was v quiet... Main issue was the showers. They were weak and stank gross toilets, no loo roll and broken doors. Toast and jam breakfast served on dirty table cloth. Good coffee though! Apparently dorms over the road were better but I moved swiftly on as soon as I got up.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
21st Aug 2017
7.1

Nice enough place to stay. Rooms were very basic but clean with fake walls so you could hear everything everyone else was doing. Bathrooms were clean enough, breakfast very basic but okay for price paid.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
21st Aug 2017
3.1

The hostel is not in a heritage building only the cafe & reception are. The room I was put in was down the street across a busy road. No facilities at all. No kitchen, cooker, fridge, kettle, not even hot water to make a cup of tea/coffee. No laundry. Not even a door on the room, so being next to common area is noisy and no security. Light & shower didn't work, complained 1st day, still not fixed 4 day's later. Staff not interested in helping you with tours or info. Cafe food & drink expensive

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
9th Aug 2017
8.6

Good old standby - probably the cheapest single room in Malacca, with breakfast and (most important) bar!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • marthaosman2099
  • England, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
31st Jul 2017
7.1

You don't actually stay in the old colonial building which is a shame you're down the road. Room was small with no windows and was extremely hot, there were two fans in the room but still stifling, but beds were fine, just take cold showers regularly!!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • JKartist7
  • Germany, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 9 reviews
27th Jul 2017
5.7

The worst hostel on my way. I had luck and got a bed in the closed dorm with AirCon, so it was ok. But another dorm to the next had no door, no AirCon and it was very smelly..no hostel atmosphere. But I mean, you get what you pay,that's all.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
14th Jul 2017
8.0

The place is rustic, a bit outdated, however the price, location, friendliness of the staff, easily make up for the expected shortcomings ($33rm/nightly...$8 US/nightly). Not to mention the a/c, wi-fi. I'll return!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • jeevith123
  • England, Mixed Group, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 10 reviews
7th Jul 2017
6.0

You will die of heat

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.

×