Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Discovery Cafe & Guest House

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
7.5
Very Good 412 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.6
  • Security 7.9
  • Location 9.0
  • Staff 8.1
  • Atmosphere 7.1
  • Cleanliness 6.6
  • Facilities 6.2
BOOK NOW
7.5
Very Good 412 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.6
  • Security 7.9
  • Location 9.0
  • Staff 8.1
  • Atmosphere 7.1
  • Cleanliness 6.6
  • Facilities 6.2

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
14th Jul 2017
8.0

The place is rustic, a bit outdated, however the price, location, friendliness of the staff, easily make up for the expected shortcomings ($33rm/nightly...$8 US/nightly). Not to mention the a/c, wi-fi. I'll return!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • jeevith123
  • England, Mixed Group, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 10 reviews
7th Jul 2017
6.0

You will die of heat

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
5th Jul 2017
4.3

I was very disappointed when I arrived at this hostel. The host made three mistakes on my check in and kept coming and knocking on my door (it was past midnight and I was in bed asleep on the second two). The rooms were small with no windows and the ensuite bathroom was disgusting. Decent air con and wifi. The cafe served very overpriced food and was full of the owners friends so I felt unwelcome to hang out there. The owner barely spoke English and couldn't help me with exploring Melaka.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • davidrushworth
  • England, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
4th Jul 2017
7.4

Good location and decent rooms with aircon but could be cleaner in the bathroom areas.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Hungary, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
30th May 2017
9.7

This accommodation is a great choice for those who don't want to stay in dorms but are looking for a cheap single room in a hostel near the historic city center. The staff was friendly, they organized a taxi for me to the central bus station and breakfast was also included. The hostel is in a good location, right next to the Malacca river.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Malaysia, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
12th May 2017
7.1

Staff is friendly. For us, location a bit far from Jonker Street. Washroom is clean. Too many disturbing noises from the same & upper floor when someone walking as the wooden floor too old... I think this happen to certain rooms only..

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Northern Ireland, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 9 reviews
8th May 2017
7.1

We stayed in a double room which was clean and comfortable. However the toilet/ shower was very unclean. One of the toilets were broken. Location was very good, central to Malacca and hostel was easy to find.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Denmark, Female, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 10 reviews
1st May 2017
9.7

They have a really nice atmosphere in the cafe at night with live music! Rooms are clean and it is included breakfast :)

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • vyvieyang8850
  • Indonesia, Mixed Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
22nd Apr 2017
7.7

The location is quite near to jonker & red square. It would be easy for anyone who wants to go to night market there. We get a private room with ac for 5 after pay more 20RM, but the room's window cant be locked and It can be opened from outside of corridor. Their breakfast were just toast and tea/coffee. Overall good.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • alicegreen
  • England, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
8th Apr 2017
8.0

This hostel is in a great location with comfortable beds! We even got upgraded for free to our own room. No where to socialise really, but relaxed environment.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.