Hostelworld.com

Discovery Hostel

Prices
map
reviews
9.6
Superb 726 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.5
  • Security 9.5
  • Location 9.3
  • Staff 9.9
  • Atmosphere 9.7
  • Cleanliness 9.7
  • Facilities 9.4
BOOK NOW
9.6
Superb 726 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.5
  • Security 9.5
  • Location 9.3
  • Staff 9.9
  • Atmosphere 9.7
  • Cleanliness 9.7
  • Facilities 9.4
Discovery Hostel Located at Rua Benjamin Constant 26, Glória, Rio de Janeiro, Rio de Janeiro.
Discovery Hostel
Brazil
Rio de Janeiro Rio de Janeiro 20241-150 Rua Benjamin Constant 26, Glória, Rio de Janeiro
96% 726
-22.9204724 -43.1778573
Discovery Hostel
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
22nd May 2016
9.7

Great breakfast. Good sized rooms. Bathrooms were big. Great for meeting other travelers

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
5th May 2016
9.4

Possibly the best hostel I stayed at in Rio (out of 4) including the Rio Othon! Best atmosphere, not near the beaches but metro around the corner! Which made it easy to get to Ipanema beach which is the best one! Staff are great and like family! Best hostel by far! Only warning would be to avoid room 4 if possible as you have to go through the communal area for toilet/shower! Seriously though go to this hostel!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
2nd May 2016
9.7

Great hostel, would come back when returning to Rio!!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Singapore, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
29th Apr 2016
9.7

Very lovely people working there. Super clean! Great atmosphere hanging out in the yard. Love their tours and parties. Just next to the metro, easily accessible to the beaches a few stops away. Lapa is a 10 minute walk away!! Safe estate with good eateries a few streets away and at Santa Theresa next door. Only thing my room didn't have hot water!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
27th Apr 2016
9.4

Considering the very competitive hostel market in Rio, this place is a treasure box. I've stayed in another hostel in Rio before and you can't compare the two. Location can be off putting for some as it's a 20 mins metro ride away BUT the metro is just at the corner and here you have Lapa at walking distance. Beds are very comfy but the bunks are 3 levels, never seen this craziness before and maybe too few toilets otherwise loved it!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Greece, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
16th Apr 2016
10.0

Just book and go. Staff and owners are absolutely great from spending time to explain where's everything on the map when you arrive to even invite you to join them to show you how local people party at night. It is a social hostel, perfect for pre-drinks with amazing caipirihnas but also quiet at night for those who want to get some rest. For the first day I suggest you join David's walking tours to get the perfect introduction to Rio. Planned to stay for a couple of days but extended to 10 days

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
7th Apr 2016
8.3

Staff where great. Sam was very cool guy and made the difference. David has a great personality, sometimes can get too much but just the way he is. Daniel was great guide for the trek of two brothers mountain. The banana bread and french toast was deadly for breakfast so good. Could do with more bathroom and wifi was a bit hit and miss. Nice touch was on arrival you where given a very detaild description of the city and shown where is everything is on the map.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
6th Apr 2016
10.0

Well... what can I say? I first thought the reviews were unreal, but this place is Magical!! The venue, decor, security, and location are great, one of the very best hostels I've ever stayed. But what makes the place stand out, is it's STAFF, and that seems to attract a great clientele! They truly made my stay in Rio Magical. I've made a bunch of new friends and have lived great moment with all of them. A true home away from home. Discovery staff: get prepared, I am definitely coming back!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
5th Apr 2016
9.1

Great hostel in city centre. Staff are fantastic really informative. Easily the best breakfast by a mile I had in South America.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
2nd Apr 2016
10.0

Perfect hostel. I think Santa Teresa is not the best location, staying by the beach is more enjoyable, but the metro is right next to hostel and a quick and cheap air conditioned ride to the beach. Only advice is to have 2 rolls of toilet paper in bathrooms so there is a backup if it runs out, which happened a couple times. There is no a/c during the day in hostel, which is hard sometimes, but that is same as any hostel in Rio due to the affordable price your paying!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.