Hostelworld.com

Discovery Hostel

Prices
map
reviews
9.6
Superb 712 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.5
  • Security 9.5
  • Location 9.3
  • Staff 9.9
  • Atmosphere 9.7
  • Cleanliness 9.7
  • Facilities 9.5
BOOK NOW
9.6
Superb 712 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.5
  • Security 9.5
  • Location 9.3
  • Staff 9.9
  • Atmosphere 9.7
  • Cleanliness 9.7
  • Facilities 9.5
Discovery Hostel Located at Rua Benjamin Constant 26, Glória, Rio de Janeiro, Rio de Janeiro.
Discovery Hostel
Brazil
Rio de Janeiro Rio de Janeiro 20241-150 Rua Benjamin Constant 26, Glória, Rio de Janeiro
96% 712
-22.9204724 -43.1778573
Discovery Hostel
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Greece, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
16th Apr 2016
10.0

Just book and go. Staff and owners are absolutely great from spending time to explain where's everything on the map when you arrive to even invite you to join them to show you how local people party at night. It is a social hostel, perfect for pre-drinks with amazing caipirihnas but also quiet at night for those who want to get some rest. For the first day I suggest you join David's walking tours to get the perfect introduction to Rio. Planned to stay for a couple of days but extended to 10 days

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
7th Apr 2016
8.3

Staff where great. Sam was very cool guy and made the difference. David has a great personality, sometimes can get too much but just the way he is. Daniel was great guide for the trek of two brothers mountain. The banana bread and french toast was deadly for breakfast so good. Could do with more bathroom and wifi was a bit hit and miss. Nice touch was on arrival you where given a very detaild description of the city and shown where is everything is on the map.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
6th Apr 2016
10.0

Well... what can I say? I first thought the reviews were unreal, but this place is Magical!! The venue, decor, security, and location are great, one of the very best hostels I've ever stayed. But what makes the place stand out, is it's STAFF, and that seems to attract a great clientele! They truly made my stay in Rio Magical. I've made a bunch of new friends and have lived great moment with all of them. A true home away from home. Discovery staff: get prepared, I am definitely coming back!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
5th Apr 2016
9.1

Great hostel in city centre. Staff are fantastic really informative. Easily the best breakfast by a mile I had in South America.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
2nd Apr 2016
10.0

Perfect hostel. I think Santa Teresa is not the best location, staying by the beach is more enjoyable, but the metro is right next to hostel and a quick and cheap air conditioned ride to the beach. Only advice is to have 2 rolls of toilet paper in bathrooms so there is a backup if it runs out, which happened a couple times. There is no a/c during the day in hostel, which is hard sometimes, but that is same as any hostel in Rio due to the affordable price your paying!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
29th Mar 2016
9.1

I really enjoyed my stay at this hotel. The staff are really super friendly and it really helps the atmosphere of the hostel. There are organised tours and hikes and parties so that everyone in the hostel gets to know each other. It seems to be sold out every night and I can tell why. I would definitely come back here.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 16 reviews
26th Mar 2016
10.0

recommend to any solo traveller who want to socialise and meet people. Breakfast is amazing; banana pancakes!! Bar in the hostel does the nicest/strong drinks. Able to buy water/snacks/adaptors and do laundry in the hostel. Good location near Gloria metro, so easy to get by -the metro has air con and is real simple ( I was worried about this before I came), taxis are also cheap for the evening and airports. Recommend walking tour by barman. Lots of staff for a hostel that size. Thanks.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • michael_jackson_forever8836
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 13 reviews
22nd Mar 2016
10.0

Ive stayed in a lot of hostels and this hostel is amazing!!! They are so helpful easy to contact before your visit for any questions you may have. When there they give you brilliant reccomendations and David does the best extreme walking tour. Stay here if you want to feel like part of a family. Best hostel I have stayed at!!! If you go to rio you must stay here. Great for a party but great if you dont want to party x

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • giri_permatraveler
  • USA, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
19th Mar 2016
10.0

One of my favorite hostels, ever.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
16th Mar 2016
9.7

Great staff, good beds, nice and social.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.