Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Discovery Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
9.4
Superb 956 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.3
  • Security 9.4
  • Location 9.3
  • Staff 9.6
  • Atmosphere 9.6
  • Cleanliness 9.3
  • Facilities 8.9
BOOK NOW
9.4
Superb 956 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.3
  • Security 9.4
  • Location 9.3
  • Staff 9.6
  • Atmosphere 9.6
  • Cleanliness 9.3
  • Facilities 8.9

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
15th Aug 2017
8.3

Staff were very helpful, thanks :). It's a great place to meet people however it was a bit noisy at night.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
11th Aug 2017
9.7

Great place to stay the staff were nothing short of amazing! The location is 2 minutes walk from a supermarket and the metro where you can access all key spots of the city. The only improvement point would be to have move showers as peak times there is often a wait, this however didn't put me off I would definitely go back to this hostel next time I visit Rio. Thanks for a great stay.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
11th Aug 2017
10.0

What can I say about this place, it's awesome! Its like being part of a family in a home away from home. The staff are incredible - Miguel, Ana, Alexis, Maddie, Jasmin, Antoninho. Felt incredibly be sad to say goodbye to everyone as I loved my time there. Only slight down side I would say is that my backpack kept getting moved from my room to a shelf outside and then on the shelf outside they would keep re arranging my stuff which was frustrating as they wouldn't ask before touching my stuff.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • trips-for-pips
  • Ireland, Couple, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
  • 30 reviews
29th Jul 2017
8.9

If you want to stay in a dorm then this hostel would be a great choice. Unfortunately the two private rooms are the only rooms that come straight off the patio (where the noise is made). In theory the patio closes at midnight but normally a bit after. Then people start talking loudly again before 7am so there is no way to get a good sleep even with earplugs. Decent kitchen, decent breakfast. Really helpful staff who will talk you through a map. Decent showers. Friendly and social atmosphere :-)

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
27th Jul 2017
9.7

This place was great. Everyone there was incredibly friendly and helpful. Also, as a solo traveler, this was a great place to meet people and have a good time. I'd highly recommend it!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
19th Jul 2017
9.4

Maybe not the newest and fanciest hostel, but helpful and affectionate staff and great atmosphere among travellers. Folks, I'll be back, soon!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
18th Jul 2017
10.0

Absolutely loved my stay at Discovery Hostel! The staff was super friendly and helpful. Also, the breakfasts that I've had at this hostel are the best breakfasts I've ever had at a hostel. Just a few examples of some of the options they had -- banana pancakes, french toast, lemon bread/cake... it was amazing!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
17th Jul 2017
9.4

Everything about this place lives up the hype. It's a great place to meet people, the staff are helpful, and if you don't speak Portuguese I can't imagine a better place to stay in Rio. My only gripe is that there seems to be only one great bathroom upstairs. The rest are downstairs and you have to walk through the common areas pre/post shower to a less comfortable bathroom whenever the good one is occupied. Not a huge issue.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
17th Jul 2017
10.0

Had a phenomenal stay. Great atmosphere with super attentive staff. Perfect place for a social experience, as they plan lots of hikes and outings and guests quickly become friends. Also breakfast was out of this world. Will be returning again in the future.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
5th Jul 2017
10.0

Unreal. Best hostel I stayed at in South America. Really felt like a genuine family, thanks to the staff and the other cool people who were staying here.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.