Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Discovery Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
9.4
Superb 923 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.3
  • Security 9.4
  • Location 9.4
  • Staff 9.6
  • Atmosphere 9.6
  • Cleanliness 9.4
  • Facilities 9.3
BOOK NOW
9.4
Superb 923 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.3
  • Security 9.4
  • Location 9.4
  • Staff 9.6
  • Atmosphere 9.6
  • Cleanliness 9.4
  • Facilities 9.3

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
15th Jun 2017
9.4

One of the best hostels I've stayed in. Really friendly welcoming staff and great place to socialise. The hostel runs day trips, organises nights out and has a happy hour every day. Can't recommend enough!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Richhbrennan
  • England, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
2nd Jun 2017
9.7

Extremely welcoming Hostel with brilliant staff and solid facilities. Common room is chilled and comfortable. The staff are very accommodating and nothing is too much trouble. Breakfast is good. Air con in rooms. Best hostel I have stayed in. Would highly recommend.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
31st May 2017
10.0

Perfectly sized hostel to get to know everyone staying there. Breakfast is amazing, and the staff can help recommend seeing lots of things in the city. Location is great, and it's really easy to get around the city using the Metro too. Make sure you have enough time to see all of Rio!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • multiplestops
  • USA, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
29th May 2017
9.7

By far the best hostel I've stayed in so far. I actually went for three days, left, then came back the next week to stay five more - it's that good. Loved the boat parties and Lapa nights. The staff comes with you and they are legitimately all amazing. Caipirinhas for 4 reais during happy hour! To Ana, Miguel, Alexis, Johnny, and Benno: you make this hostel wonderful - thank you for being so kind and I hope everyone that visits Rio is able to stay at Discovery to meet you all.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
26th May 2017
10.0

Don't even think about staying anywhere else in Rio! Discovery is the 1! Travelling on my own as a female in South America can be daunting at times, but I arrived here on day 1 and was welcomed with open arms. I came out with a new family and a soul full of Rio. I can't wait to go back. Thank you to momma Chris for looking after me in the morning, Marcelo & Miguel for helping me when I had a bad first day & for the rest of the gang Jonny, Beno, Ronnie, Alexis & Anna for sharing the Rio love ❤️

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
22nd May 2017
8.9

Great hostel with fun vibes and great decor. Easy to get to know people and party with them! Hostel is two minutes walk from Gloria metro station. People sell fruits just outside the hostel. Helpful staff and wide variety of breakfast items provided. Rooms are kinda small but are clean and have lockers. Happy hour from 8-9pm with 4R$ caipirinhas!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • davies_8131490
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 9 reviews
17th May 2017
9.1

This hostel is awesome, great team working here and really helpful if you need to know where to go and how to get there etc. Great communal area and access to drinks and a happy hour! Perfect location if you like to go out as near lapa although as a female travelling alone it was a bit daunting walking around at first but soon made friends so no problem! Clean sheets,nice bathroom, own shelf lamp and plug by all the beds. So handy. Great place to have started my trip! Thank you guys :)

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Turkey, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
9th May 2017
10.0

Discovery Hostel is by far the best hostel I've stayed in my South America trip! The staff and atmosphere made is so perfect! It is a great place to make new friends and enjoy Rio together. Its location is rally good, walking distance to Lapa nightlife, clode to Santa Teresa and a few metro stops away from the beach. Definitely stay at Discovery Hostel when in Rio!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • France, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
2nd May 2017
10.0

This hostel is amazing!! Really cozy and small to allow quickly interaction between guests. All staff are amazingly kind and always give you tips on what to do. I will definitely drop my luggage over there. Big thumb up for this hostel.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
1st May 2017
10.0

Extremely homely place to stay. Highly recommended

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.