Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Discovery Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
9.5
Superb 913 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.4
  • Security 9.4
  • Location 9.5
  • Staff 9.7
  • Atmosphere 9.7
  • Cleanliness 9.5
  • Facilities 9.3
BOOK NOW
9.5
Superb 913 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.4
  • Security 9.4
  • Location 9.5
  • Staff 9.7
  • Atmosphere 9.7
  • Cleanliness 9.5
  • Facilities 9.3

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • davies_8131490
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
17th May 2017
9.1

This hostel is awesome, great team working here and really helpful if you need to know where to go and how to get there etc. Great communal area and access to drinks and a happy hour! Perfect location if you like to go out as near lapa although as a female travelling alone it was a bit daunting walking around at first but soon made friends so no problem! Clean sheets,nice bathroom, own shelf lamp and plug by all the beds. So handy. Great place to have started my trip! Thank you guys :)

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Turkey, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
9th May 2017
10.0

Discovery Hostel is by far the best hostel I've stayed in my South America trip! The staff and atmosphere made is so perfect! It is a great place to make new friends and enjoy Rio together. Its location is rally good, walking distance to Lapa nightlife, clode to Santa Teresa and a few metro stops away from the beach. Definitely stay at Discovery Hostel when in Rio!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • France, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
2nd May 2017
10.0

This hostel is amazing!! Really cozy and small to allow quickly interaction between guests. All staff are amazingly kind and always give you tips on what to do. I will definitely drop my luggage over there. Big thumb up for this hostel.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
1st May 2017
10.0

Extremely homely place to stay. Highly recommended

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
28th Apr 2017
8.9

Great hostel with nice atmosphere. Staff is also superb and the common rooms invite for communication with fellow travelers. Only points of criticism are the insufficient amount of bathrooms and also cleaning could be slightly improved.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • ricardoregener2720
  • Brazil, Male, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
  • 24 reviews
20th Apr 2017
8.3

It's a good hostel. Well located and with a very tasty breakfast. Good to make friends to do things in Rio de Janeiro. The staff is friendly and the price is fair. Some defects: One of our friends felt cold at night and there was no one at the front desk to ask for a blanket, she slept badly that night. The bathrooms are communal and there may be waiting at certain times in the morning and on arrival at night. You need to bring your own padlock to the locker, and that was not advised.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
19th Apr 2017
8.9

Loved staying at this hostel , the staff were amazing and went out of their way to help the guests . Breakfast was basic but nice . Friendly atmosphere and met lots of great people :)

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
15th Apr 2017
9.1

We stayed in this hostel for 4 nights. Pros: Great location-near the Metro, secure place with big individual lockers, very helpful and friendly staff. Cons: Noise from the bar can be heard from the room, A/C functions from 10 pm - 10 am only, mosquitos in the room. We arranged for an airport pick-up (confirmed by Renata via email) but the driver did not arrive, which is a good thing for us anyway because they charge R$100 while the airport taxi only costs R$70.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Chile, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
7th Apr 2017
10.0

The staff from the hostel is really nice, they are always looking forward to help you with anything you need, from directions to party recommendations. That rooms were big and clean, and breakfast was delicious. Also the location is really good, only one block from the metro and very easy to get there from the airport (GIG)

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for share the love! We wish you the best and we hope to see you again!

6th Apr 2017
9.7

Wish we could have stayed longer. Absolutely fantastic from the staff to the breakfast and everything else in between. The best hostel I've stayed in to date.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.