Hostelworld.com

Discovery Hostel

Prices
map
reviews
9.5
Superb 741 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.4
  • Security 9.5
  • Location 9.2
  • Staff 9.8
  • Atmosphere 9.6
  • Cleanliness 9.6
  • Facilities 9.4
BOOK NOW
9.5
Superb 741 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.4
  • Security 9.5
  • Location 9.2
  • Staff 9.8
  • Atmosphere 9.6
  • Cleanliness 9.6
  • Facilities 9.4
Discovery Hostel Located at Rua Benjamin Constant 26, Glória, Rio de Janeiro, Rio de Janeiro.
Discovery Hostel
Brazil
Rio de Janeiro Rio de Janeiro 20241-150 Rua Benjamin Constant 26, Glória, Rio de Janeiro
95% 741
-22.9204724 -43.1778573
Discovery Hostel
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
7th Jun 2016
10.0

One of the nicest hostels I have ever stayed in, the staff were lovely and so helpful. There was also a great atmosphere, I was sad to leave after my weeks stay! The rooms are comfortable and everywhere is very clean. The breakfast in the morning was great too. I would recommend this hostel to anyone going to Rio especially for the location. The metro is right outside, and Lapa and Santa Teresa are both only a 5 minute walk away.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
3rd Jun 2016
10.0

Great hostel located in good, safe area. Staff were very helpful and there are plenty of activities to get involved in. We stayed in the private room which was very comfortable. Would definitely recommend Discovery Hostel.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
3rd Jun 2016
8.3

friendly helpful staff, conveniently located near the metro. Locker available, luggage storage room available. Met nice people in the common area.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
2nd Jun 2016
10.0

This is one of the best hostels I have ever been to. The staff are very helpful and friendly, the free breakfast is quite substantial, and the hostel atmosphere cultivates interaction with other hostellers. These guys alone are making me strongly consider a return trip to Rio in the near future! Stay here, you won't regret it

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
1st Jun 2016
9.4

Amazing staff ! So helpful. The hostel was very nice but wasn't a great atmosphere during the week but apparently amazing on weekends. The area is close to lapa so good for a night out and some tourist stuff but not such a nice area. I have stayed in leblon before which I would recommend if you staying during the week.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
31st May 2016
9.4

I stayed here for 3 nights after flying in from the UK and it was great. The staff are absolutely what makes this hostel, they're incredibly friendly and always willing to help. The staff also put on walking tours and and sometimes other activities each day. It's quite a small hostel sleeping m so you get to see the same people about the place and in the morning at breakfast which is great, I would definitely stay here again.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
30th May 2016
7.4

This is a good hostel, but not among the best I've stayed in. It's clean, nicely decorated but not all facilities are up to bar. No proper common area, dorms are decent but could be better. Location is hard to justify as although the metro is close, there's not a lot of things of interest nearby and you pretty much have to take transport anywhere you want to go.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
27th May 2016
7.7

Really good breakfast! Not a ton of bathroom space, but they were clean. Close to the metro but far away from any tourist locations. Had to be careful walking around, a lot of homeless people in the area. Overall it was good! Just make sure you know how to use the metro and you're golden.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
22nd May 2016
9.7

Great breakfast. Good sized rooms. Bathrooms were big. Great for meeting other travelers

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
21st May 2016
8.9

Nice hostel - lovely staff, yummy breakfast and a good place to meet new travellers. It would be good if they offered more flexible check in times, but apart from that a great hostel!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.