Hostelworld.com

Discovery Hostel

Prices
map
reviews
9.6
Superb 877 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.4
  • Security 9.7
  • Location 9.5
  • Staff 9.8
  • Atmosphere 9.8
  • Cleanliness 9.7
  • Facilities 9.6
BOOK NOW
9.6
Superb 877 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.4
  • Security 9.7
  • Location 9.5
  • Staff 9.8
  • Atmosphere 9.8
  • Cleanliness 9.7
  • Facilities 9.6

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
8th Feb 2017
8.6

I loved my time here and would definitely stay again! The staff are great, super friendly and happy to give advice on where to go and what to do. They create a great atmosphere and I met so many people while staying here.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
7th Feb 2017
10.0

Definitely the best hostel in Rio, hands down, great staff, , rooms, breakfast, drinks, bathrooms, and all around hospitality. If I could live here, I would.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 14 reviews
3rd Feb 2017
10.0

Was here for a 10 hour stopover - staff were friendly, seemed to have a really nice atmosphere with activities planned for the day and night. Scarily high triple bunks but are very sturdy and comfortable, would stay again.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Finland, Mixed Group, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 19 reviews
30th Jan 2017
10.0

Top hostel! Staff is so friendly and it's easy to meet people and get together to explore. Was planning on staying 2 nights but I ended up staying a whole week. The hostel is very clean and has a really cool vibe. It's a great location for going to places by metro/bus and absolutely go see Santa Teresa! Thanks so much!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
28th Jan 2017
10.0

This is the best hostel I have ever stayed in. The staff are all super friendly, as were all the other guests. The hostel organised events for us every day and night and there was always something to do. The breakfast was your standard hostel breakfast, but pretty nice. Air-Con is only on in the rooms from 10pm to 10am. The hostel is also super close to the metro and a short walk from many great restaurants. I could not recommend this hostel more.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
16th Jan 2017
10.0

Great place with a great social vibe. Went back there even after I changed hostels just to hang out with the awesome people I met.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
15th Jan 2017
9.7

One of the best hostels I have ever stayed in. Close to the metro, close to Lapa, super clean, great showers and bathrooms, fantastic staff(espically Renata) who sit you down and tell you all you need to know!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
11th Jan 2017
9.7

Fantastic stay at Discovery - really lovely building, awesome friendly staff, great communal area and just general cool vibes. Breakfast was delicious. Hard to leave!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • erdemerder3958
  • Germany, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
7th Jan 2017
10.0

This has been one of my best two hostel experiences! Originally planned to stay four four nights but kept extending. The crew running the hostel is absolutely amazing! No idea what to do in Rio? No problem, something is organized every single day. Went on a hike to Pedra da Gavea, which I most definitely would have never done on my own or even heard about. Hands down, best view of Rio! Alexis is the MAN when it comes to adventure, so just check in and stick around - you won't regret it!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
2nd Jan 2017
9.4

The hostel is a very good place to stay, Metro Station Gloria just 2 minutes away. Stuff was was very friendly, helpful and spoke really good English. We stayed in a private room and one toilet and two showers (they were for everybody) where directly in front of our room that was really good. Everything was really clean, breakfast was really good, always  with a special like pancakes or French toast ;) Wifi was working really good and it's a good place to meet people. We would stay there aigan.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.