Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Discovery Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
9.4
Superb 797 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.4
  • Security 9.5
  • Location 9.1
  • Staff 9.6
  • Atmosphere 9.6
  • Cleanliness 9.4
  • Facilities 9.2
BOOK NOW
9.4
Superb 797 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.4
  • Security 9.5
  • Location 9.1
  • Staff 9.6
  • Atmosphere 9.6
  • Cleanliness 9.4
  • Facilities 9.2
Discovery Hostel Located at Rua Benjamin Constant 26, Glória, Rio de Janeiro, Rio de Janeiro.
Discovery Hostel
Brazil
Rio de Janeiro Rio de Janeiro 20241-150 Rua Benjamin Constant 26, Glória, Rio de Janeiro
94% 797
-22.9204724 -43.1778573
Discovery Hostel
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Couple, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 18 reviews
16th Sep 2016
10.0

The most amazing staff at any hostel I've been to! They are always there to help, so friendly and make sure you have a good time. Located close to the metro so it's easy to get wherever you need to go in Rio. Can't thank the Discovery staff enough for our amazing stay. Thank you Much love, Maddie and Jake ❤️ Marcelo = #1 tour guide in Rio ;)

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
12th Sep 2016
9.7

Staff are super friendly and they tell you everything you need to know about Rio. They take guests on tours and out at night. Great drinks at the hostel's bar. Rooms are nice and clean. Best hostel I stayed in South America.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • sinead41895581
  • Ireland, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
7th Sep 2016
8.0

Really good buzz around the hostel, everyone was very friendly and the breakfast was really good. Only downside was our room was right next to the bar/common area and was very loud when we were trying to sleep.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
27th Aug 2016
9.4

Positive. Location is in the party neighborhood and the hostel has a very social/festive ambience which is perfect for checking out the nightlife in Lapa. Free breakfast was superb and the other guests in the hostel were great going out with. The staff in the hostel reception were amazing (Renata and I cannot remember other's name) and helpful in any way you needed. One staff made me uncomfortable, he kept getting close and making physical contact (I am hetero). Otherwise fantastic!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
2nd Aug 2016
9.1

Loved this place. Great people. Great environment.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
2nd Aug 2016
10.0

Stayed here a few nights before the Olympics and have come back twice since whenever I have a spare night. Such a great hostel. Staff and owners are SUPER helpful, nothing is ever a problem, and go out of their way to help with translating, making phone calls etc.. Awesome wifi, amazing breakfast, strong drinks, and comfy beds. Close to the metro and walking distance to Lapa, where the staff are always willing to come with you to the street parties :) Definitely recommend and will stay again!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
2nd Aug 2016
10.0

We had a brilliant stay. The staff were extremely friendly, helpful and knowledgeable. We felt really welcome and there was a great communal area which meant it was easy to meet other travellers. The hostel always had an activity or two you could put your name down for at the front desk and it was staffed 24/7. One of the nicest hostels I've stayed in!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Denmark, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
31st Jul 2016
10.0

Discovery Hostel was an amazing place to get to know Rio from. The people working there start showing you a map, and tell you which days different kinds of events happens. They have a lot of tours and they throw some good parties in the evening. I met some really nice people here! It's walking distance to the party area, Lapa, and the metro station is just nearby.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Couple, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
  • 23 reviews
22nd Jul 2016
9.7

Loved this hostel, a very nice space with amazing staff! We did not want to leave, the atmosphere is great. We met so many awesome people and had a great time. The facilities are clean, modern and in good condition. Wifi was ok, the breakfast was the best we've ever had in hostel: french toast, pancakes, fresh fruit, fresh bread etc. Good location, close to supermarkets, metro, Lapa (best nightlife) and the famous stairs. Bar area is away from most rooms so you can sleep. Loved our stay! :)

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
13th Jul 2016
10.0

Loved it. Couldn't criticise anything. And the breakfast was amazing

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.