Hostelworld.com

Discovery Melbourne

Prices
map
reviews
7.2
Very Good 1,190 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 6.6
  • Security 7.9
  • Location 8.6
  • Staff 7.6
  • Atmosphere 6.5
  • Cleanliness 6.1
  • Facilities 6.8
BOOK NOW
7.2
Very Good 1,190 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 6.6
  • Security 7.9
  • Location 8.6
  • Staff 7.6
  • Atmosphere 6.5
  • Cleanliness 6.1
  • Facilities 6.8
Discovery Melbourne Located at 167 Franklin Street, , Melbourne.
Discovery Melbourne
Australia
Melbourne Victoria Victoria 3000 167 Franklin Street
72% 1190
-37.8088006 144.9591922
Discovery Melbourne
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Hong Kong, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
15th Jun 2016
7.4

Convenient location , close to tram and Melbourne central train station. Clean bathrooms, enormous kitchen but I have problem finding pots and pans to cook because most people don't clean up after themselves . Friendly atmosphere but it could be a problem for some people hoping to sleep early.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
7th Jun 2016
8.6

The hostel is right in the centre and the next tram station is just a 1 - 2 minute-walk away from you. Security is alright here, you need a key to access all the facilities and your bedroom, but I saw lots of people entering those premises without the need of a key, though. The staff was friendly and helpful, most of the hostel is in a good condition and looks clean. Well, except for the toilets, but they're not all too bad. I'd stay here again, it's a neat hostel for a fair price.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • freyarose
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
6th Jun 2016
3.7

Gross hostel. Bad vibe, very rude unfriendly, unaccomodating staff. Other guests are just passing by, not fit for long term travellers.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
21st May 2016
9.4

Very cheap overall very happy with our stay.. would stay again ☺

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
13th May 2016
4.0

everyone was stoned when we arrived, the room smelled really bad and someone was passed out in the bathroom

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • mcatomason
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
11th May 2016
8.0

Brilliant hostel, I plan on going again. Bar downstairs is cheap and fun, pool tournament is such a good laugh! not the cleanest kitchen in the world but dealable with. I made friends with people within 2 days who I plan on staying in contact with so its a great place to meet new people. Solo traveller and felt welcomed from the get go. Would reccomend and I plan to go again.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • France, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
30th Apr 2016
5.7

The place is good located but some details disturbed our stay in Discovery Melbourne: Wifi is not free, breakfast is served only from 6h30 to 9h30 and it is not fully furnished (hot water has to be served in the kitchen), we couldn't leave our luggage for free during 6hours before taking our flight. Otherwise, good atmosphere and nice people.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Colombia, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
29th Apr 2016
8.0

Good hostel. Good environment. Clean. Female customer services really good. Male customer services needs to be little bit quicker. Clean room. Good facilities. Good Location

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 10 reviews
25th Apr 2016
5.1

i stayed here because of the location. it was close to the trams to brunswick. the room had a weird smell about it and after staying only two nights i got quite unwell. i'm not sure if it's to do with how musty/dank the room/bed was. or if it was from one of the other guests who are all clearly long term stays. every time i visit melbourne i try a different hostel and i am yet to find a decent one.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
24th Apr 2016
6.3

Need more power outlets in dorms. Could only find two in a 12 bed. Didn't have chance to check out the bar as it was closed for a bank holiday when I was there, hopefully that would make it easier to meet people, is such a big place I struggled. The staff member who checked me in (Saad?) really needs to work on his customer service. Made me feel like an inconvenience which wasn't appreciated after a long days traveling, if it hadn't been late at night I'd have gone somewhere else.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.