Hostelworld.com

Discovery Melbourne

Prices
map
reviews
7.2
Very Good 1,178 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 6.7
  • Security 7.8
  • Location 8.5
  • Staff 7.5
  • Atmosphere 6.6
  • Cleanliness 6.3
  • Facilities 6.8
BOOK NOW
7.2
Very Good 1,178 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 6.7
  • Security 7.8
  • Location 8.5
  • Staff 7.5
  • Atmosphere 6.6
  • Cleanliness 6.3
  • Facilities 6.8
Discovery Melbourne Located at 167 Franklin Street, , Melbourne.
Discovery Melbourne
Australia
Melbourne Victoria Victoria 3000 167 Franklin Street
72% 1178
-37.8088006 144.9591922
Discovery Melbourne
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
21st May 2016
9.4

Very cheap overall very happy with our stay.. would stay again ☺

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
13th May 2016
4.0

everyone was stoned when we arrived, the room smelled really bad and someone was passed out in the bathroom

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • France, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
30th Apr 2016
5.7

The place is good located but some details disturbed our stay in Discovery Melbourne: Wifi is not free, breakfast is served only from 6h30 to 9h30 and it is not fully furnished (hot water has to be served in the kitchen), we couldn't leave our luggage for free during 6hours before taking our flight. Otherwise, good atmosphere and nice people.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Colombia, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
29th Apr 2016
8.0

Good hostel. Good environment. Clean. Female customer services really good. Male customer services needs to be little bit quicker. Clean room. Good facilities. Good Location

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 10 reviews
25th Apr 2016
5.1

i stayed here because of the location. it was close to the trams to brunswick. the room had a weird smell about it and after staying only two nights i got quite unwell. i'm not sure if it's to do with how musty/dank the room/bed was. or if it was from one of the other guests who are all clearly long term stays. every time i visit melbourne i try a different hostel and i am yet to find a decent one.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • NJWanless
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 18 reviews
24th Apr 2016
6.3

Need more power outlets in dorms. Could only find two in a 12 bed. Didn't have chance to check out the bar as it was closed for a bank holiday when I was there, hopefully that would make it easier to meet people, is such a big place I struggled. The staff member who checked me in (Saad?) really needs to work on his customer service. Made me feel like an inconvenience which wasn't appreciated after a long days traveling, if it hadn't been late at night I'd have gone somewhere else.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
16th Apr 2016
6.3

The smell of the room was absolutely repulsive. Room smelled like the 15 dudes just living there, never leaving or bathing. The hostel clearly didn't matienence the room, and I felt like I never wanted to be there because of the stench. Would never sleep there again or recommend purely based on smell. Good atmosphere down stairs, but not worth the cleanliness of the room.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Vietnam, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
6th Apr 2016
8.3

I stayed for 7nights and it was an amazing experience when the location is right in the CBD of Melbourne, convenient to go to many places in the city, excellent staff and nice service. In general, if i go back to mebourne, i will stay there again.:).

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • kathander
  • Denmark, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
5th Apr 2016
8.9

I stayed at discovery for nearly a month. I was lucky to be in a very social room (16 female room) and I loved it. The hostel is at a great location, Walking distance to everything. The staff was nice and always helpful. Big kitchen - a bit dirty sometimes, but that's just because backpackers is in general lazy people who doesn't clean up after them self. The cleaning staff did a great job to hold it tidy and clean. Loved it - and would highly recommend it!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • pattytonia87
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
3rd Apr 2016
8.3

Nice enough hostel, lots of room in the kitchen although there were never any forks! The hostels massive so the social side isn't the same as when I've stayed in smaller places but it's clean and spacious. The locations great with an Aldi up the road! The only problem is the lack of power points in the rooms, I was in a 12 bed dorm with one double socket to share between everyone

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.