Hostelworld.com

Discovery Melbourne

Prices
map
reviews
6.6
Good 1293 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 6.2
  • Security 7.1
  • Location 8.1
  • Staff 6.6
  • Atmosphere 6.3
  • Cleanliness 5.5
  • Facilities 6.2
BOOK NOW
6.6
Good 1293 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 6.2
  • Security 7.1
  • Location 8.1
  • Staff 6.6
  • Atmosphere 6.3
  • Cleanliness 5.5
  • Facilities 6.2

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Switzerland, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
28th Jan 2017
10.0

Like:everything Dislike:nothing, I mean the kitchen was a bit messy but what do you expect in such a big hostel :) and it wasn't durty juste messy. And the locker in the basement are very expensive.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
16th Jan 2017
4.6

Over crowded. Refugee camp feel in reception all the time. Filthy kitchen you have to fight hundreds of people to get to cook in it- obviously thats if you want to risk the chance of food poisoning. 6 fridges for all those guests not enough. Mouse near kitchen and in room. Awesome rooftop. Could never get in the cinema room.Huge bathrooms 4th floor best for women. 12bed= 6bunkbeds in one room no lockers or wardrobes or fan/AC it felt like prison-fair enough complained staff helped,got moved.DULL

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Italy, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 9 reviews
14th Jan 2017
6.9

Discovery is a very large hostel, the kitchen was often messy and dirty. The room was a good size and was clean with lockers however as said in other reviews we also saw a mouse running around.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
26th Dec 2016
2.0

It was awful, no air con or fan in the room, was also a mouse that lives there yet staff don't do anything. The most boring hostel I've been to, would never go back

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 2.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, All Male Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
9th Dec 2016
2.6

Service was rude and entirely unhelpful. Beds got filled even though we pre-booked. Entire hostel was filthy, my stuff got stolen, and there were no free towels, wifi, or breakfast. 0/10.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • samrogeers1
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
27th Nov 2016
4.0

Mice were running around in the halls and one even ran out my bag one morning, when I told reception the lady said they'd report it, no compensation or apology offered whatsoever. A member of staff made a rude comment about how stressed I was when I asked if I could go to the luggage room. Also felt the hostel is money hungry, always charging for additional extras, such as storing luggage. Reception is always understaffed, waited for 10mins one day. Freebies advertised didn't exist or were awful

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
26th Nov 2016
5.7

When we arrived we were split up and two days later we had to move again to accommodate a school trip. No plugs in the room we stayed in apart from one by the ceiling. Odd atmosphere

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
25th Nov 2016
7.4

Security is tight. Too tight. Long lineups at the front desk. Always. Great location but no atmosphere. Really big place and lots of people going in and out so it has no personality.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
23rd Nov 2016
7.7

My stay at Discovery was good. I stayed in an 8 bed girls dorm. It was a bit tight for space but it was fine in the end. The shower and bathrooms area are spacious and clean. Although the second floor shower room door did not close properly. There are small lockers in the rooms but if you want to safely store your luggage, you have to pay for a locker downstairs. This was pricey at 8 dollars for 8 hours... The wifi was good and the cafe is nice. The kitchen could have been cleaner!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Turkey, All Male Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
12th Nov 2016
7.7

No plugs near to bed and beds are a little tricky to climb. Breakfast is okay dont expect too much. Staff is friendly and helpful for everything. A lot of facilities around and in the hostel. For a short time would recommend.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.