Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Discovery Melbourne

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
7.0
Very Good 1,251 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 6.8
  • Security 7.4
  • Location 8.3
  • Staff 7.4
  • Atmosphere 6.5
  • Cleanliness 6.0
  • Facilities 6.7
BOOK NOW
7.0
Very Good 1,251 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 6.8
  • Security 7.4
  • Location 8.3
  • Staff 7.4
  • Atmosphere 6.5
  • Cleanliness 6.0
  • Facilities 6.7
Discovery Melbourne Located at 167 Franklin Street, , Melbourne.
Discovery Melbourne
Australia
Melbourne Victoria Victoria 3000 167 Franklin Street
70% 1251
-37.8088006 144.9591922
Discovery Melbourne
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • samrogeers1
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
27th Nov 2016
4.0

Mice were running around in the halls and one even ran out my bag one morning, when I told reception the lady said they'd report it, no compensation or apology offered whatsoever. A member of staff made a rude comment about how stressed I was when I asked if I could go to the luggage room. Also felt the hostel is money hungry, always charging for additional extras, such as storing luggage. Reception is always understaffed, waited for 10mins one day. Freebies advertised didn't exist or were awful

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
26th Nov 2016
5.7

When we arrived we were split up and two days later we had to move again to accommodate a school trip. No plugs in the room we stayed in apart from one by the ceiling. Odd atmosphere

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
25th Nov 2016
7.4

Security is tight. Too tight. Long lineups at the front desk. Always. Great location but no atmosphere. Really big place and lots of people going in and out so it has no personality.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Turkey, All Male Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
12th Nov 2016
7.7

No plugs near to bed and beds are a little tricky to climb. Breakfast is okay dont expect too much. Staff is friendly and helpful for everything. A lot of facilities around and in the hostel. For a short time would recommend.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
9th Nov 2016
10.0

Lovely spot in a brilliant location. Staff were very helpful and a bit of a laugh too. Good value for money and good for a bit of cheap food or drink too

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
31st Oct 2016
8.9

This hostel is well set up and very friendly. There front desk looked a little under staffed for my visit but I had no issues. It did seem pricey for a hostel but comparative to most in Aussie. Close to the markets if you want to cook cheap.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 9 reviews
27th Oct 2016
7.1

Discovery Melbourne is in a great place. The staff are friendly and helpful and their is key card security. However I felt it was very difficult to make friends at this hostel as it was so big and so many people are there working so when you're just stopping by for a week or so people are less interested in chatting with you. Not sure the beds were always changed on people moving into the rooms either though you could just sort this with the reception

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
22nd Oct 2016
8.6

Overall, good stay. Had some issues but the staff was very helpful. Good location, great bar.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
15th Oct 2016
7.4

The Discovery is nice enough. It's good value for money. But the lack of lockers for your suitcase on the room wasn't good. Reception told me that the lockers downstairs were $6 and you had to pay again if you opened them. Foolishly I believed them. The lockers are $8 for 8 hours and 12 for 24 and you dont have to pay again if you have time left on the locker. The free breakfast is basic cornflakes and white bread. The doors on the showers don't lock. shower on the morning as hot water in thin

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
12th Oct 2016
6.0

Staff were not overly friendly or helpful. The travel section was closed even though it stated it was supposed to be open. The female toilets were at the complete opposite end of the building. The second room we stayed in smelled really damp and the door did not close properly. The location was good but I wouldn't stay here again. The bathroom situation was ridiculous. For a 6 bed dorm it was expensive and the same price for larger dorms

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.