Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Discovery Melbourne

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
6.0
Good 1331 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 5.6
  • Security 6.9
  • Location 7.8
  • Staff 5.9
  • Atmosphere 5.3
  • Cleanliness 5.1
  • Facilities 5.3
BOOK NOW
6.0
Good 1331 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 5.6
  • Security 6.9
  • Location 7.8
  • Staff 5.9
  • Atmosphere 5.3
  • Cleanliness 5.1
  • Facilities 5.3

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
4th May 2017
6.0

Bathrooms are absolutely disgusting, and the rooms are very mediocre.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for leaving a review. Apologies for the state of the bathrooms. We are looking at new ways to improve the cleaning and make certain these areas are kept as clean as possible moving forward. The Discovery Team

  • celinecaddy5081
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
20th Apr 2017
8.3

Good location, helpful staff, could be cleaner. Breakfasts standard, it was alright, not very sociable

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for the review. I am pleased the staff were friendly as they should always be! We are working hard to improve the cleaning standards as we speak. The Discovery Team

  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
14th Apr 2017
6.0

Our stay here had several pros and cons. The lockers for bags were big although you did have to pay to use them. We liked the fact that there was a small cafe within the hostel, we also liked that there was a Backpackers World Travel shop inside the hostel, with which we got good deals on a sky dive and dolphin kayak. The rooms were comfortable and the showers were great and clean. However, the kitchen facilities were really lacking, meaning we struggled to cook our own food, quite disappointing

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for the review. The Pros you mention are great so its wonderful that they are mentioned. As for the guest kitchen we are implementing hourly checks moving forward to help maintain this important feature to a higher standard. The discovery Team

  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
13th Apr 2017
8.9

ooh youve moved the tv..put in a billiard table..the seats are waaay to close to it.just wait until someone gets a wack in chops with a cue stick...still needs more fridges,..do you have an oven yet ?.,.will stay there again on my next trip.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you. We will have ovens at the end of the year. We have moved the TV and Pool Tables! The Discovery Team

  • Kristinarose
  • USA, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
6th Apr 2017
6.9

I enjoyed the location, just far enough outside of the main areas to feel relaxed but maybe a 5-10 minute walk to be in the middle of the hub. Probably the largest hostel I've ever stayed in but that means it's pretty easy to make friends. Rooms were a bit small and smelled funkie. All in all it wasn't a bad hostel but it defs wasn't the best.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for the review. We know some of the rooms need refreshing, we are working on this now! The Discovery Team

  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
1st Apr 2017
6.6

Don't expect free towels or a breakfast. But you can expect rude staff. Cheap, but there's a reason for that.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi there sorry for the delay~ We do supply free towels in summer so not sure what happened there...We have a new team now on Reception and I am sorry that the service you received was poor. The Discovery Team

  • Anonymous
  • Czech Republic, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
26th Mar 2017
4.3

Very expensive for servise provided. Room very messy, mouse in the common area and kitchen. Staff not helpfull at all. Long wait to check out! No free towels, even tho they advertise it online! It's more like accomodation for people in Melbourne than hostel. Will not stay ever again!

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • amyerothwell
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
25th Mar 2017
9.1

One of the nicest hostels I have stayed in in Australia, however it is extremely expensive for a backpackers hostel. I paid $271 for 6 nights, not realising when extending. Apart from that, kitchen always clean, rooms nice.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
23rd Mar 2017
7.7

Good place to stay! Really big kitchen with loads of room! Some of the staff is friendly and the wifi is only from 10am to 4pm (good to know if you need it!) The hostel is big but it is possible to meet few people if you're backpacking :)

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Taiwan, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
20th Mar 2017
4.9

The payment will be changed 3% if you pay by card. I wasn't noticed before I move in otherwise I will prepare it early. The room was smelling and bathroom wasn't cleaned well. The location won't be good if the train doesn't work at all.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.