Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Discovery Melbourne

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
7.2
Very Good 1,209 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 6.9
  • Security 7.7
  • Location 8.4
  • Staff 7.6
  • Atmosphere 6.5
  • Cleanliness 6.4
  • Facilities 7.0
BOOK NOW
7.2
Very Good 1,209 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 6.9
  • Security 7.7
  • Location 8.4
  • Staff 7.6
  • Atmosphere 6.5
  • Cleanliness 6.4
  • Facilities 7.0
Discovery Melbourne Located at 167 Franklin Street, , Melbourne.
Discovery Melbourne
Australia
Melbourne Victoria Victoria 3000 167 Franklin Street
72% 1209
-37.8088006 144.9591922
Discovery Melbourne
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
13th Aug 2016
7.4

The venue was reasonable though service at the front desk was slow, made a mistake with my booking (I paid for a smaller room and got put into a much bigger room) and images of the venue were outdated or even misleading (especially the roof top). While I can understand you need to bring your own toiletries I would have at least thought there would be soap in the men's toilet. While I don't mind the place for a day I was not overly happy with my stay.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
18th Jul 2016
2.3

The first room I checked into was dirty smelled like weed not unusal in a hostel but this took it to a new level condom wrapers on the ground intresting roomates one was dancing around with no music smoking a splif in the room and the other guy ask if wanted to buy some drugs so I checked into another room this one had no door lock and the door had to be open all the time or it would lock you out the tv in the lounge is broken the theatre room was rented out to a third party company and no refun

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Colombia, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
15th Jul 2016
7.4

Kind staff and good price just for a couple of days. What I liked most was the bad, really nice and also the blanket was so warm. There is a close tram stop called Victoria market and takes about 10 min goin to CBD. Also, breakfast is good and there is a big kitchen if you need it. The only thing is some rooms have a weird environment.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Indonesia, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
11th Jul 2016
2.3

Truly guys I was so disappointed staying this hostel. The management is suck. Service of this room also is aweful. Most of room are disgusting, it's not shown what they have in photo, That's photo just using photoshop j guess. Bunk bed they have is shaking when u sleep or when get up from the bed. I never wanna stay this place again for sure

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 2.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
7th Jul 2016
5.7

the staff were really helpful and friendly and the free breakfast was good. However, the facilities were really run down and unclean. The hostel also did not have free wi fi and the wi fi sold was expensive and very slow. I also saw free wi-fi advertised so this was missold.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
4th Jul 2016
8.3

Nice place

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
3rd Jul 2016
5.7

Room and bathroom were nothing like the photos advertised. Staff were helpful but the hostel is so unsociable and seems to be full of longtermers (and as a solo girl, felt so uncomfortable with a lot of creepy older men there!) wouldn't stay again, there are better hostels within the cbd

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
3rd Jul 2016
9.1

Okay overall. I was a little disappointed with the free breakfast. Free is free, but only having one option of spread for toast, and no butter was a bit sad. But the kitchen was large enough, and there were enough toasters to avoid waiting for a long time.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
1st Jul 2016
10.0

Took a bed for the night, didn't make it to the bed, didn't make it back to the hostel. 10/10 would pay for a storage mattress, warm shower and decent breakfast again though

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
30th Jun 2016
7.1

Decent but certainly not the best. Although the cafe, bar and other facilities were good.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.