X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

District Hotel Reviews

1440 Rhode Island Ave NW, Washington DC, USA

Reviews & Ratings Explained

70%

Rating
389 Total Reviews
  • 74%Value For Money
  • 75%Security
  • 80%Location
  • 63%Staff
  • 61%Atmosphere
  • 74%Cleanliness
  • 65%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

46%

+ quite cheap + nice bathroom - arrogant receptionist - poor wifi (works only in the lobby!)

  • 30th Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Poland
  • All Male Group, 25-30
  • (1 review)


83%

The hotel room was very big for a reasonable price and clean. The only thing that put me off was that it looked a bit like out of a horror movie (ever seen The Shining?). Everything was a bit old, dark, and worn out . I wouldn't have wanted to stay there on my own, that would've freaked me out, but if you're not as easily scared as I am, this hotel will be just fine for you.


57%

Very rude staff during check in. Walls are thin Mattresses are worn out. But clean. OK for just one night stay when out during most of the day for exploring

  • 10th Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


54%

Late Check-In was possible. Hotel should train its staff on customer service as well as friendliness. Employees should be able to excuse when making mistakes and greet guests when arriving. Our room was very small but ok. No cupboards available. Location was alright. Supermarkets are nearby.

  • 5th Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)


77%

walls are very thin location is next to 14th, with a lot of restaurants and bars

  • 3rd Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Austria
  • All Female Group, 25-30
  • (1 review)


20%

Rude, and refused to house 2 guests even though rooms were paid for. Hostel world was contacted and after a discussion with their staff, agreed with us they were being inappropriate.

  • 29th Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


80%

The hotel was very good, but the wifi was not the fastest and it would be awesome to have wifi in the rooms.

  • 6th Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


77%

The rooms were nicer than I expected, but small. The breakfast is an extra $5 so it is not really complimentary, like I had originally thought and read. It is a bit of a walk to the National Mall but the walk to DuPont Circle was not that bad and you can take the metro from there.

  • 4th Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


60%

If the staff wld be a little more welcoming and their wifi also worked in the rooms, the value would easily rise ten fold. Their suites are very small and offer almost no natural light. But at the very least its clean.

  • 13th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


71%

Hotel was very clean and room was a good size. My only criticism was that the walls were paper thin and you could hear everything! The hotel is in a great location and is value for money but it might be worth asking to be on the top floor to help prevent so much noise affecting you. Obviously loud guests are not the hotel's fault but it is definitely worth noting that neither my boyfriend or I had a peaceful nights sleep there unfortunately.

  • 14th Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


83%

We loved staying at this hotel because of the value for the price, and the location. Americans may find the rooms small, but those used to small quarters will not have a problem with this.


63%

Our heater was broken. We asked for extra sheets...and they didn't have any.

  • 16th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


46%

Staff very unfriendly. The bathroom was very old and not really clean.

  • 14th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Mixed Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


89%

We stayed in the 4-people bedroom, everything was good. Cheap, well-located, clean, etc. On the minus side, no internet in the room (but comfortable lobby with wifi) and too soft beds but besides that, a very good solution for 4 friends.


91%

Great place...parking is really tight. Small repairs, like the toilet paper holder, would make a big difference. The night crew needs to know a little more about what you have available.

  • 5th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)




View all Washington DC Hotels

Please give us your feedback