X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

District Hotel Reviews

1440 Rhode Island Ave NW, Washington DC, USA

Reviews & Ratings Explained

70%

Rating
414 Total Reviews
  • 73%Value For Money
  • 73%Security
  • 78%Location
  • 64%Staff
  • 61%Atmosphere
  • 73%Cleanliness
  • 66%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

94%

Everything is great except for the wi fi that only works in the lobby.

  • 21st Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Couple, 31-40
  • (1 review)


49%

The room is really small, you would have a problem to open up two big luggages. Also the breakfast was very poor, we came on breakfast about 8 o clock and there was almost no food. For 5 dollars i expected more. Also the staff wasn't very helpful, on my questions responded very briefly and slack.


77%

The breakfast for 5$ was okay and had everything you need to start a day. The room with the bathroom was really clean and the beds were nice. The room door was in not such a good a shape and although you could close and lock it you could see the hallway through a gap. When we ask for a storage for our luggage we got told to put it in the hallway amd there it was still when.we came back after 4 hours. So everyone could have taken it- that was not so satisfying, although nothing happened.

  • 19th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


74%

Receptionist had trouble understanding English which sometimes made communication quite difficult. Walls and ceiling of our room were in a horrible state. Room (was tiny) and bathroom were clean and air conditioning was very good in the heat. Not the best location, quite a long walk to main attractions, the nearest tube was about 2 blocks away.


91%

Enjoyed my stay. Very nice. Need a television in the lobby ....lol. the coffee was good and strong to enjoy all day long.


89%

We were nervous about booking the District Hotel because of it's low rating here on Hostelworld. But we booked it anyway because of it's price and location. And we were pleasantly surprised. The place is a bit shabby, yes, but the staff were very friendly and helpful. The rooms are small and simple but just fine for the price. The location is great. There is a breakfast (waffles, bagels, etc) available for $5/person.

  • 10th May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)


63%

Our room was tiny, but ok. Breakfast is ok. The prices are not too high for Washington, so don't expect to much. Suitable for travellers with low expectations.

  • 1st May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Couple, 31-40
  • (1 review)


46%

+ quite cheap + nice bathroom - arrogant receptionist - poor wifi (works only in the lobby!)


83%

The hotel room was very big for a reasonable price and clean. The only thing that put me off was that it looked a bit like out of a horror movie (ever seen The Shining?). Everything was a bit old, dark, and worn out . I wouldn't have wanted to stay there on my own, that would've freaked me out, but if you're not as easily scared as I am, this hotel will be just fine for you.


57%

Very rude staff during check in. Walls are thin Mattresses are worn out. But clean. OK for just one night stay when out during most of the day for exploring

  • 10th Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


54%

Late Check-In was possible. Hotel should train its staff on customer service as well as friendliness. Employees should be able to excuse when making mistakes and greet guests when arriving. Our room was very small but ok. No cupboards available. Location was alright. Supermarkets are nearby.

  • 5th Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)


77%

walls are very thin location is next to 14th, with a lot of restaurants and bars

  • 3rd Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Austria
  • All Female Group, 25-30
  • (1 review)


20%

Rude, and refused to house 2 guests even though rooms were paid for. Hostel world was contacted and after a discussion with their staff, agreed with us they were being inappropriate.

  • 29th Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


80%

The hotel was very good, but the wifi was not the fastest and it would be awesome to have wifi in the rooms.

  • 6th Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


77%

The rooms were nicer than I expected, but small. The breakfast is an extra $5 so it is not really complimentary, like I had originally thought and read. It is a bit of a walk to the National Mall but the walk to DuPont Circle was not that bad and you can take the metro from there.

  • 4th Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


60%

If the staff wld be a little more welcoming and their wifi also worked in the rooms, the value would easily rise ten fold. Their suites are very small and offer almost no natural light. But at the very least its clean.

  • 13th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)




View all Washington DC Hotels

Please give us your feedback