X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

District Hotel Reviews

1440 Rhode Island Ave NW, Washington DC, USA

Reviews & Ratings Explained

70%

Rating
438 Total Reviews
  • 73%Value For Money
  • 75%Security
  • 81%Location
  • 65%Staff
  • 62%Atmosphere
  • 73%Cleanliness
  • 65%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

71%

Room smiled very strongly of cleaning products. AC is nice. Parking is first come first serve $30. 20min walk north of white house. If you booked the wrong day, they might be able to change the dates on your reservation. Save during the day; I wouldn't walk around at night. Closest good people zza is domino's. WiFi only works in the stairway and lobby.

  • 17th Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


74%

Quite close to the White House (20min walk) and the Mall. Cheap, clean, but small room. They offered a nice breakfast at a good price. We recommend the hotel for a short stay.


91%

The room was very spacious and comfy with lots of beautiful natural light and a great view! Cable TV was a plus for down time however wifi is only available in the lobby. Overall the hotel had charm and the basic necessities for a few nights stay. Would recommend!

  • 7th Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Mixed Group, 25-30
  • (1 review)


80%

This is an older hotel but met our needs perfectly. Close to a variety of restaurants, bars and stores. A big perk is that a large 7-11 is a half a block away. Very near bus stops that can get you almost anywhere you want to go. The front desk staff was friendly and helpful. The maids were absolutely excellent. They replenished toiletries and other room supplies daily. Rooms where cleaned extremely well cleaned each day. The room was small but nice bathroom with full tub and hair dryer

  • 5th Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Couple, 41+
  • (1 review)


51%

We were put in single bedrooms instead of the double we reserved. The other rooms ceiling fan was going to fall off if you turned it on. The ac is right above your head infront of your bed which is loud and cold and made it hard to sleep. If you turned it warmer or off the room started to smell moist. At one night there were three guys coming at my door trying to get in and I had to call the front desk to help. It was not the hotels fault they were at the wrong room but it was scary.

  • 27th Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Finland
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


91%

Love the location. Television in room didn't work. HiFi was great. Need to redo the bathroom for more private acomordation. May stay on my next visit.....


51%

Staff were rude and unhelpful. We booked online a month before our stay and paid a deposit. We emailed to confirm 3 days before and still our booking got lost. Staff then tried to make us pay the full amount despite the fact that we had already paid the deposit and had proof of payment. We witnessed two other guests have similar 'lost booking' conversations with staff, so it appeared it was a regular occurrence. Wifi was only available in lobby. Facilities were outdated, wouldn't stay again.


63%

Noisy air condition

  • 9th Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


66%

Very strong smell of bleach in room (but at least we knew it was cleaned)


60%

Tiny room in which the AC was barely working (it was so warm we couldn't sleep). There were tons of dust on the ceiling fan (actually a good thing that it didn't work or we would have got it all over the room). The bathroom looked nice, but on closer inspection there was something looking a lot like mold on the windows and in the ceiling. However the staff was helpful and the lobby was fine. Also the breakfast was ok.


69%

This was a good stop off for two nights. Quite expensive for what it is though. I paid more here than what I did for 5 nights in New York! Extremely dated and lacking atmosphere. The room and bathroom however was clean and tidy.

  • 5th Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland
  • Couple, 18-24
  • (1 review)


83%

Our stay was very uneventful. The location is a trendy part of Dc with great coffee shops, pubs, and dining options. There is a Whole Foods market around the corner. The Hostel was clean. We had a private room so can only speak to that. It was a bit small but the bed was comfortable and the bath roomy. The price to value ratio made it a great option. I would stay here again. For Wi-Fi junkies it's only available in the lobby.


94%

Everything is great except for the wi fi that only works in the lobby.

  • 21st Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Couple, 31-40
  • (1 review)


49%

The room is really small, you would have a problem to open up two big luggages. Also the breakfast was very poor, we came on breakfast about 8 o clock and there was almost no food. For 5 dollars i expected more. Also the staff wasn't very helpful, on my questions responded very briefly and slack.


77%

The breakfast for 5$ was okay and had everything you need to start a day. The room with the bathroom was really clean and the beds were nice. The room door was in not such a good a shape and although you could close and lock it you could see the hallway through a gap. When we ask for a storage for our luggage we got told to put it in the hallway amd there it was still when.we came back after 4 hours. So everyone could have taken it- that was not so satisfying, although nothing happened.


74%

Receptionist had trouble understanding English which sometimes made communication quite difficult. Walls and ceiling of our room were in a horrible state. Room (was tiny) and bathroom were clean and air conditioning was very good in the heat. Not the best location, quite a long walk to main attractions, the nearest tube was about 2 blocks away.


91%

Enjoyed my stay. Very nice. Need a television in the lobby ....lol. the coffee was good and strong to enjoy all day long.


89%

We were nervous about booking the District Hotel because of it's low rating here on Hostelworld. But we booked it anyway because of it's price and location. And we were pleasantly surprised. The place is a bit shabby, yes, but the staff were very friendly and helpful. The rooms are small and simple but just fine for the price. The location is great. There is a breakfast (waffles, bagels, etc) available for $5/person.

  • 10th May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)


63%

Our room was tiny, but ok. Breakfast is ok. The prices are not too high for Washington, so don't expect to much. Suitable for travellers with low expectations.

  • 1st May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Couple, 31-40
  • (1 review)


46%

+ quite cheap + nice bathroom - arrogant receptionist - poor wifi (works only in the lobby!)


« first « Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7
(299 results)


View all Washington DC Hotels

Please give us your feedback