X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

33,000 properties, 170 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

District Hotel Reviews

1440 Rhode Island Ave NW, Washington DC, USA

Reviews & Ratings Explained

77%

Rating
474 Total Reviews
  • 79%Value For Money
  • 82%Security
  • 87%Location
  • 72%Staff
  • 70%Atmosphere
  • 77%Cleanliness
  • 70%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

80%

This was a nice place to stay, centrally located to everywhere we needed to be and with a good selection of eateries nearby.


86%

Nice place, not too fancy but well kept and in a great location. Parking is $30 per day which I did not know before arriving, available only on first come first serve basis. There is street parking around too, but hard to get a spot and you cannot park overnight on weekdays.


74%

Location is perfect when you're in DC for sightseeing (10 minutes walk from the WhiteHouse), though when it comes to public transport the closest subway station is located >1km away. The hotel itself was fine,good value for money,although wouldn't mind if the staff was more kind, helfpfull and client rather than self oriented....


66%

Not the best hotel, but the location was GREAT! bring your own sheets and pillows if you plan to get cozy, but great for people constantly on the move.

  • 9th Oct 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Couple, 18-24
  • (1 review)


83%

The Hotel is very good for a short stay because you don't need a subway ticket. The White House is just a 10 minute walk away and there are lots of restaurants around. Our room was very small, it was hard to fit the suitcases in there (we were 2, 1 suitcase each), but in consideration of the money we payed and the location it is acceptable. Also our bathroom had seen better times, which you could see at the sink or shower head. Still the service was outstanding! We would definitely come back!

  • 9th Oct 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Couple, 18-24
  • (1 review)


89%

Ideal location for people who want to walk around the Embassy row and museum areas.


57%

It's cheap in a good location. You get what you pay for. Staff were a little rude, didn't really speak in sentences. Customer service 1 out of 10. A smile costs nothing. Bathroom was nice and quite new. Good size shower. Bedroom carpet was dirty. Bed was very very creaky, if one person moves the other will wake. Windows painted closed. Awful scented plug in air freshener. Bed linen and towels were clean.

  • 27th Sep 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


94%

everything was great! Simple breakfast but sufficient. Location was ideal, my group and I enjoyed walking so it was alright for us to walk 30mins or more to each attractions. We were also warmly greeted by Cookie and she gave us good information when asked. Recommended!

  • 19th Sep 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Mixed Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


71%

Room smiled very strongly of cleaning products. AC is nice. Parking is first come first serve $30. 20min walk north of white house. If you booked the wrong day, they might be able to change the dates on your reservation. Save during the day; I wouldn't walk around at night. Closest good people zza is domino's. WiFi only works in the stairway and lobby.

  • 17th Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


The reviews below do not count toward the property's recent rating.
Hide older reviews
74%

Quite close to the White House (20min walk) and the Mall. Cheap, clean, but small room. They offered a nice breakfast at a good price. We recommend the hotel for a short stay.


91%

The room was very spacious and comfy with lots of beautiful natural light and a great view! Cable TV was a plus for down time however wifi is only available in the lobby. Overall the hotel had charm and the basic necessities for a few nights stay. Would recommend!

  • 7th Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Mixed Group, 25-30
  • (1 review)


80%

This is an older hotel but met our needs perfectly. Close to a variety of restaurants, bars and stores. A big perk is that a large 7-11 is a half a block away. Very near bus stops that can get you almost anywhere you want to go. The front desk staff was friendly and helpful. The maids were absolutely excellent. They replenished toiletries and other room supplies daily. Rooms where cleaned extremely well cleaned each day. The room was small but nice bathroom with full tub and hair dryer

  • 5th Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Couple, 41+
  • (1 review)


51%

We were put in single bedrooms instead of the double we reserved. The other rooms ceiling fan was going to fall off if you turned it on. The ac is right above your head infront of your bed which is loud and cold and made it hard to sleep. If you turned it warmer or off the room started to smell moist. At one night there were three guys coming at my door trying to get in and I had to call the front desk to help. It was not the hotels fault they were at the wrong room but it was scary.

  • 27th Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Finland
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


91%

Love the location. Television in room didn't work. HiFi was great. Need to redo the bathroom for more private acomordation. May stay on my next visit.....


51%

Staff were rude and unhelpful. We booked online a month before our stay and paid a deposit. We emailed to confirm 3 days before and still our booking got lost. Staff then tried to make us pay the full amount despite the fact that we had already paid the deposit and had proof of payment. We witnessed two other guests have similar 'lost booking' conversations with staff, so it appeared it was a regular occurrence. Wifi was only available in lobby. Facilities were outdated, wouldn't stay again.


63%

Noisy air condition

  • 9th Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


66%

Very strong smell of bleach in room (but at least we knew it was cleaned)


60%

Tiny room in which the AC was barely working (it was so warm we couldn't sleep). There were tons of dust on the ceiling fan (actually a good thing that it didn't work or we would have got it all over the room). The bathroom looked nice, but on closer inspection there was something looking a lot like mold on the windows and in the ceiling. However the staff was helpful and the lobby was fine. Also the breakfast was ok.


69%

This was a good stop off for two nights. Quite expensive for what it is though. I paid more here than what I did for 5 nights in New York! Extremely dated and lacking atmosphere. The room and bathroom however was clean and tidy.

  • 5th Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland
  • Couple, 18-24
  • (1 review)


83%

Our stay was very uneventful. The location is a trendy part of Dc with great coffee shops, pubs, and dining options. There is a Whole Foods market around the corner. The Hostel was clean. We had a private room so can only speak to that. It was a bit small but the bed was comfortable and the bath roomy. The price to value ratio made it a great option. I would stay here again. For Wi-Fi junkies it's only available in the lobby.


« first « Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7
(307 results)


View all Washington DC Hotels

Please give us your feedback