Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Dockside Hostel Old Town

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
7.4
Very Good 1210 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.3
  • Security 7.7
  • Location 9.1
  • Staff 7.1
  • Atmosphere 6.5
  • Cleanliness 7.1
  • Facilities 6.7
BOOK NOW
7.4
Very Good 1210 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.3
  • Security 7.7
  • Location 9.1
  • Staff 7.1
  • Atmosphere 6.5
  • Cleanliness 7.1
  • Facilities 6.7

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • petehughes19889770
  • England, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
23rd May 2017
10.0

Had a great stay whilst here. Very easy to find and had great communication before arrival. Clean room and good shower facilities.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
13th May 2017
8.3

Plusses: Clean; excellent location at the edge of the Old City, within walking distance of the central train station and the ferry terminals (Viking Line etc.); Lockers (didn't fit my padlock though); strong WiFi; plenty of outlets; small but good kitchen. Minuses: reception desk open only open 9-11 am and 3-6 pm (though they do email you good instructions on how to get in); you must either rent sheets or bring your own.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
7th Apr 2017
6.9

Though a great city centre location - too much noise around and from doors slamming was too much. The staff was great but a very poor, boring and empty atmosphere around was visible. Rooms wi fi was poor... showers were located very uncomfortable so we had to go through all corridors and steps before reaching it. Lack of entertainments and facilities room (such as laundry, games room and tv) was also visible

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
24th Mar 2017
9.4

The hostel is in a great central location, just steps away from old town and across the bridge from hip Galma Stan area. We had a private room which felt more like a guesthouse than a hostel, comfortable beds and a good size room - great for a hostel. This is a quiet hostel though and is not good if you want to meet other travellers, although we were happy that it wasn't a party hostel. Highly recommended if you want comfort, quiet and good location.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 11 reviews
8th Mar 2017
9.4

Friendly staff and clean facilities, good location

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
12th Feb 2017
2.0

When I inquired about a refund, the manager became extremely nasty to me. I told him about his duty of care under international law. When I first came into the hostel I couldn't get a chance to talk to him, he was on the phone, but I picked up on some sort of vibe from him. He didn't seem to want to acknowledge me. He also swore at me, and said, 'Jesus Christ' which has an extremely harsh tone and imagery to it. He asked me to leave in a very cruel, cold way, when I was leaving anyway.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 2.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Mixed Group, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
  • 37 reviews
26th Dec 2016
8.3

I arrived in the middle of the day when they were closed and wasn't sent to code for the door until well after I'd left the airport and lost wifi. I wasn't able to get into the building and had to carry all my luggage around with me for the whole day. Pretty annoying. But the room was comfortable and clean, and the location is PERFECT! Super convenient for the main station and right in Gamla Stan, which is the best part, I think!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Turkey, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
13th Dec 2016
7.7

Great location, quiet and warm inside. The private room was too small but it's ok for a short stay.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.