X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Dockside Hostel Old Town Reviews

Skeppsbron 40, Stockholm, Sweden

Reviews & Ratings Explained

73%

Rating
937 Total Reviews
  • 70%Value For Money
  • 75%Security
  • 92%Location
  • 79%Staff
  • 68%Atmosphere
  • 68%Cleanliness
  • 62%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

77%

Good price, good cleanliness, but, quite small facilities. Lockers could be larger. Reception only works during limited hours during the day (9-11 and 15-18)

  • 18th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


94%

Very nice place!!!

  • 4th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Poland
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


91%

Great hostel, excellent location. Kitchen facilities were good, but no oven. One annoyance was the only twp toilets being upstairs from most of the rooms.


89%

Thank the staff for the warm welcome! During our stay you were all very helpful, friendly and my sister and I felt really comfortable. THANK YOU!!!!!!!

  • 9th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Austria
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


89%

Really cute hostel with nice staff. The rooms are comfortable and located in the old town of Stockholm the location is perfect for the stay!


94%

Our 5 day stay in a private room was great. The location in the old city could not be beat. It made both getting around a breeze while lazing about in the beautiful neighborhood was always an option. We arrived late and had very good directions for entry. Make sure to note their staffed hours are short and mainly in the morning, but their communication is excellent so it is not a problem.


66%

Not much of a social atmosphere, rooms are small (I stayed in a 6 bed) with small lockers. There are only two toilets in the whole place and 40-50 people staying, internet is not very good. There is a kitchen which is well equipped. Showers are located downstairs so you have to walk through reception to get to them. No changing rooms so in the shower is the only other options - showers aren't very warm either. The staff are not 24/7 and the one PC that was there, didn't work during my stay.


71%

While the hostel is extremely well located, and the staff very helpful it lacks atmosphere ( particularly in the foyer/common area). Even having a radio on or some music would help. We had to go through 2 doors which needed codes to get to our room ( as the hostel is split in 2 parts and a corridor to other offices runs through it) ..which was fairly annoying if you needed to pop to the bathroom in the middle of the night!

  • 23rd Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland
  • All Female Group, 31-40
  • (1 review)


77%

Great location in Gamla Stan. Less than a 5 minute walk to Sodermalm and a 15-20 minute walk to Central. Accommodations were clean and comfortable. Kitchen available with stove, microwave, and fridge. Fast Wifi. Not the best for meeting people though.


74%

The 2kronor hostel is incredibly well located for its prices and sufficiently clean. Sadly, the atmosphere is not as sociable as I would have liked. Best thing was the very good management of the food of the current guests and the left overs from the previous ones. The one thing that really bothered me was the ventilation system that ran through my room which made it impossible to sleep without ear plugs - and even with them I could still faintly hear it.


66%

The location of 2kronor Hostel is great, hostel is surrounded by tiny beatiful streets, cafés and shops. Kitchen is fully equipped with lots of free ingedients for guests to use. The staff of the hostel comes only for few hours a day, so sometimes you will find yourself alone in the whole building.

  • 30th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Czech Republic
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


51%

Not enough toilets, small rooms, hot rooms, small lockers, broken showers, Cold water in sowers, broken door lock ect.

  • 24th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


69%

Good location in town centre but noisy with window open. Helpful staff. Spread out weird layout, having to use codes to access toilet and facilities is not very convenient. The 6 beds room is too small for 6 people plus luggage.

  • 20th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Italy
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


91%

as Always exellent..

  • 6th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Sweden
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


40%

Reception is open 5 hours a day. The only service you get is a bed, bathroom facilities and a kitchen: no breakfast, no locker room, not even bed sheets (!). These have to be rented for 65SEK (aprox. 7€), sleeping bags are not allowed. Towel rental costs the same, althought this does not seem so rare in a hostel. Toilets and showers are located in different floors. I checked the double and the single rooms and the lattest was probably the tiniest space I have ever slept in.

  • 20th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Spain
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
We have limited reception hours, but it is open 9am to 6pm during peak season. Other times we have staff available minumum 8 hours a day. In Sweden you pay for bed sheets at almost all hostels and with regards to breakfast we don't serve it as we have so many nice café's aorund the corner.

100%

The hostel is beautiful and the staff is very kind and thoughtful. Its location is in the heart of the beautiful Stockholm purity is high and is very cozy. I will always recommend it to friends and acquaintances.

  • 19th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Bulgaria
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


80%

Please, give some thought on how to improve the toilet facilities.

  • 11th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Sweden
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
You can rest assure that we have tried to get more toilet facilities. Problem is that we are not allowed to modify the building. It is very strictly regulated in Gamla Stan/Old Town what you can do with the old houses.

54%

Blev så besviken... har bott på flera vandrarhem i Gamla stan och de har varit toppen. Här var de skitigt, avlopp i duschar funkade ej och sängen var benen av på, så de blev att balansera under natten. Jag var var den som hyrde och betalade rummen till min mor och dotter, tyvärr kunde jag inte vara med vid utcheckningen, då hade jag starkt ifrågasatt kostnad kontra det man fick för de. Tycker inte renhet och fungerande avlopp, säng ska vara något som man tar betalt för. Skit! Tin-Tin Wong

  • 6th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Sweden
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Beklagar att vi inte kunde leva upp till dina förväntningar. Sängbenen är åtgärdade, det var synd att du inte kunde påtala detta till oss så att vi kunde ordna detta direkt.

77%

Facilities - some more toilets than the two available would be fine.

  • 5th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Sweden
  • Mixed Group, 41+
  • (1 review)


49%

The single room I was staying in was so small, they should not call it a single room but extra small room so people know there is no possibility to do exercises, for example.Room wasn`t clean at all, the blanket was full of hairs from previous visitors, the bed wasn`t clean either.Ventilation was blowing on you like a wind. It was impossible to sleep because all the doors are incredible loud, to go to bathroom you have to go through some outside corridor, shower was quite scary in the basement.




View all Stockholm Hostels

Please give us your feedback