Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Dominica Hostel Santiago

Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Prices
map
reviews
8.1
Fabulous 395 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.9
  • Security 8.5
  • Location 9.0
  • Staff 8.3
  • Atmosphere 7.5
  • Cleanliness 7.6
  • Facilities 7.7
BOOK NOW
8.1
Fabulous 395 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.9
  • Security 8.5
  • Location 9.0
  • Staff 8.3
  • Atmosphere 7.5
  • Cleanliness 7.6
  • Facilities 7.7
Dominica Hostel Santiago Located at Dominica 24, , Santiago.
Dominica Hostel Santiago
Chile
Santiago 8420415 Dominica 24
81% 395
-33.4304026 -70.6367576
Dominica Hostel Santiago
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
20th Jul 2016
9.4

I really like hostel Domica. Its located in the best location in bohemian neighborhood Bellavista and close to San Cristobal. The staff is very friendly and helpful. There is a cool bar in the basement, front yard, and the entire decor felt wholesome. The main floor living room could be cleaner. But absolutely great place to stay. Will stay there again when I return to Santiago.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
2nd Jul 2016
8.3

very nice beds, kitchen and breakfast, as well the bathrooms were good and clean. My negative points were: no locker in the bedroom, not even keys on the doors! Other thing is sometimes when asking directions to one member of the staff, he didn't know anything about Santiago to help us (nor couldn't speak/understand spanish) to try to help us.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
1st Jul 2016
8.9

Absolutely loved this hostel. Location in Bella Vista was absolutely amazing, situated almost directly across from the funicular up to the zoo and cerro and surrounded by both nicer restaurants and a fun strip of younger bars. We stayed in a private room that was small but totally adequately sized and used the communal showers, which were kept in amazing kitchen. Breakfast was sparse even by hostel standards, but open kitchen use was nice. Overall clean, friendly, and great location.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • kayashino
  • Singapore, Female, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
  • 44 reviews
13th Jun 2016
8.6

I was in an air con room and was bitten by mosquitoes more than 50x , it wasn't the fault of the hostel , but just suspected that they had maybe some loose opening whereby the bugs could come in , requested ac to go lower due to mosquitoes but the recep did not obliged , good location, nice place, very nice owner, overall still very good, just remember to soak in insect repellent before u go sleep

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
5th Jun 2016
8.9

My friend and I had a nice stay! The internet was down the day we arrived, but the signal the following day was decent. It was very COLD and there weren't any hand towels in the bathroom or kitchen until I asked, however the staff was very helpful (in calling a taxi, suggesting things to do in the area, getting towels...) The hostel has a great location (and with earplugs I had no problem sleeping through the night, even with all the bars and discos nearby). Nice place!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
27th May 2016
8.6

Despite the reviews, the noise from the surrounding area is DEFINITELY bearable - unless you are from the countryside, you will not have a problem sleeping. The hostel itself is quite cool, and in a prime location for both traveling throughout the city & enjoying Pio Nono's bar & club scene. The owner is a super friendly guy, and knows a lot about the country/neighborhood - would definitely recommend catching a drink with him to learn more about Santiago!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
20th May 2016
9.1

I had a great experience at Dominica Hostel as a solo traveler. Nice atmosphere to meet new people, good kitchen and the breakfast is simple, but good enough. I just don't recomend if you need a quiet place to sleep, because the hostel is too close to Pio Nono, street with many bars and pubs, so it is quite noise there. The door of the room n°3 was also very noise.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
19th May 2016
8.6

The hostel itself was really nice and well located. You're a few steps away from El Cerro San Cristobal, the zoo and La Chascona. The cross street is Pio Nono, which is the party street in Bellavista. You can pretty much walk to all the tourist attractions from the hostel but if you're not a walker the metro station Baquenado is a 10 minutes walk away. As for the rooms in the hostel, I really liked my room but some of the sheets had marks on them, which I didn't really like.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
19th Apr 2016
8.0

Positives: - Rooms and facilities very good. - Very close to the bars and public transportation. Negatives: - The lights on the bathrooms are not enough and often the toilets were closed. - Lockers are small - Most of the bags cannot fit on the locker.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
4th Mar 2016
4.6

We got killed by bed bugs and they stayed in our clothes Most aweful critters Noise level was out of control hammering of next door disco Do not stay here

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 2.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.