Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Don Santiago Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
9.0
Superb 885 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.0
  • Security 9.4
  • Location 8.8
  • Staff 9.5
  • Atmosphere 8.9
  • Cleanliness 8.8
  • Facilities 8.3
BOOK NOW
9.0
Superb 885 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.0
  • Security 9.4
  • Location 8.8
  • Staff 9.5
  • Atmosphere 8.9
  • Cleanliness 8.8
  • Facilities 8.3

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • jazmingranillo137396
  • USA, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
11th Jun 2017
10.0

Great breakfast, nice hot water. Staff is very welcoming. Great place to stay!!!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
9th Jun 2017
9.1

Such a lovely hostel beds were super comfy and the breakfast was great to start the day with and really filling. Everything was pretty clean apart from the kitchen being a little grimy. This hostel felt like a home. Transport was fab and it was only 5 mins walk from the station. Also really lovely and helpful staff!!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
9th Jun 2017
9.4

A few blocks from the main sights, but right on the metro. Best hot showers and great breakfast!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you so much for your review. Well, we are a few blocks away from govermment palace, main square, memorial museum, local restorants and bars. We are 4 stops away from overpriced Bellavista area, which is "the tourist area". Come and enjoy local, support local, support sustainable =)

  • Anonymous
  • Bulgaria, Couple, 31-40
  • Avid Traveller
  • 15 reviews
4th Jun 2017
9.7

nice hostel, close to metro and bus connections, as well not far from the bus terminal. It was nice, the staff super friendly. We stayed twice over there and if ever again in Santiag, we would come again.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 12 reviews
4th Jun 2017
7.1

Overall we enjoyed our stay here. Pretty good location close to metro but not much to do out and about around the hostel. Nice staff. Good breakfast. Pretty cold. Not much atmosphere but possibly because there weren't that many people staying. I would stay again.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

It`s hard and super hard to create atmosphere at the hostel when you and your friend were all the time on your smart phones giggling like kids ,internal jokes, just mutual cyber interactions and giggling again, yelling every 5 minutes "WIFI is rubbish!!!" Annoying. This is a hostel,please you have to be considered. Downloading movies or articles makes internet slower of course, and everybody needs to use it. Ops, and for breakfast time, be decent enough to leave your laptop somewhere else instead of setting it up at the common breakfast table where everybody is sharing. It`s like old people taught : No reading books at the table when everybody is eating

1st Jun 2017
9.1

Excellent staff, they are rthe nicest ever. Always trying to help you. Super well located. I wish they had more bathrooms, but besides that...so far so good :D

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for your review! Hostel fits 18 people max., so when hostel full, you will have to wait a little bit. However, there is an extra 3ª bathroom that can be used as well when ensuite room is not busy. Ask staff about the extra bathroom if needed please

  • sashutt3677
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
31st May 2017
8.6

One word: breakfast. Lovely staff, great music, good book exchange; they're doing renovations now but it never got in the way. Lovely quiet hostel to stay in. Thanks for a wonderful end to my trip!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hey girls! Nice to hear from you guys!. Sorry about the mess at the hostel while renovating. We are done finally and got prettier =) Hope to see ya guys back!

  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
30th May 2017
8.6

Very friendly staff! Quiet and cozy hostel. Sometimes queueing for the bathroom, not much space in the kichen. Great breakfast!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • christianbonadio6330
  • Australia, Male, 31-40
  • Avid Traveller
  • 16 reviews
28th May 2017
9.4

Really enjoyed my stay at Don Santiago! Immediately felt welcomed by Pado who was manning the desk on the Sunday. Engaged in great conversation with the team at DS who challenged you at times to speak in Spanish which I really liked. Met some cool people there in the common area that encourages conversation. The facilities are all there and while 2 bathrooms might be a stretch if the place is full, I didn't really experience a problem. Beds were comfortable despite tight rooms. Great stay

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you so much! We are doing a few renovations in order to get this place much prettier =). There are 2 toilets and 2 showers, however our hostel can just fit max. 20 people so if you won´t have to wait longer in order to use bathrooms =)

  • timgarrard
  • Australia, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
27th May 2017
8.3

Great hostel, good vibe, good breaky! Lovely staff. Warm beds in the chilean winter, lockers in rooms, small kitchen for use. Location walkable to main town approx 20mins and close to bus station and metro.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for your review. We are having a few renovations in order to get prettier =)

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.