Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Don Santiago Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.9
Fabulous 832 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.1
  • Security 9.3
  • Location 8.6
  • Staff 9.5
  • Atmosphere 8.9
  • Cleanliness 8.8
  • Facilities 8.4
BOOK NOW
8.9
Fabulous 832 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.1
  • Security 9.3
  • Location 8.6
  • Staff 9.5
  • Atmosphere 8.9
  • Cleanliness 8.8
  • Facilities 8.4

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
24th Mar 2017
7.7

By far the best breakfast I've had in a while. There could have been more lockers, no free one for me to use. Overall a good place to stay.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
20th Mar 2017
10.0

Definitely one of the best hostels I've stayed at in S. Am. Pato and the rest of the crew go out of their way to taking care of the guests, and the entire vibe at the hostel is welcoming. Breakfast is freshly prepared and served to each guest, and I was able to brush up on my guitar and keyboard skills. Easy walking distance to great empanadas, restaurants and metro stops. Can't recommend enough.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • South Korea, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
18th Mar 2017
7.7

The staff is not so friendly to me!!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Dear Customer: You need to understand that the staff of the hostel needs to follow a few rules. Check in is a midday, and we`ll do out best to get your bed clean and ready to use before check in time. However, when full house, it`s likely thet can take 10 extra minutes, which was explained to you at arrival, letting you to drop your stuff in the hostel`s storage and also letting you hang out in the hostel. We try to be flexible again, but hen full house , it`s a bit complicated for us to rush cleaning lady in order to get even bed cleaned before midday. Safe travels!

  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
17th Mar 2017
10.0

I stayed at Don Santiago for about a week. The common space is beautiful, great for having a beer with fellow travelers or for sitting down, drinking tea and writing. The beds are really comfortable as well. Fully equiped kitchen was great to cook meals in. And the neighborhood wasn't too loud but also close to bars, museums and the metro. Everyone from the owner to the rest of the staff was super friendly and helpful. And yes, everything you've read about the breakfast is true. It's amazing.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
14th Mar 2017
7.4

Staff were super helpful and friendly. We had an early flight, and so they even made us a bag with fruit and bread to take for breakfast. Not many bathrooms at all for the number of beds, and rooms are very small- jumping over people and bags to get to your bed. Small, basic kitchen and limited communal or eating areas.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
13th Mar 2017
8.0

Good location, close to the bus station. Bedsheets weren't particularly clean. Best breakfast we've had in South America so far! Staff very helpful. Good for our one night stopover in Santiago.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for your review. We will look into your complain. Safe travels! Goretti, Mgr

  • travellingrace
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 9 reviews
1st Mar 2017
9.7

I just stayed in Don Santiago overnight but it was perfect. Easy to get to from the Airport shuttle, clean rooms and nice communal area downstairs. On a street with some good bars. However it is worth staying for for the breakfast alone. Best I have had in South America by far, posted a picture of it on Facebook...

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for your review! Hope to see ya back in Don santiago!

22nd Feb 2017
9.7

Apart from being about twenty minutes walk from the centre, it is a perfect place. The young people there do all they can to make you feel at home. An extra - if you play an instrument abut don't carry it with you, a keyboard and a guitar are there waiting for somebody to play.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
22nd Feb 2017
8.9

We stopped in at Don Santiago for one night. We were catching a bus the next day so needed to be close to the bus station. I can't say much about the location as we didn't head into Santiago. The breakfast is by far the best we have had while travelling. Tea, coffee, juice, omelette, fruit, fried vegetables, toast and even vegemite! The beds were really comfortable too. We ended up coming back on another trip via the bus station because we wanted the breakfast again.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • patagonianmongoose9711
  • Australia, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
8th Feb 2017
10.0

A wonderful place to stay. The staff here are so friendly and helpful, and the place has a lovely atmosphere :-) The travellers here are also nice, but it is a quiet place and most are only here for a day or two. Not that this is a problem, you can make lots of friends.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.