Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Donegal Town Independent hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Prices
map
reviews
9.2
Superb 718 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.6
  • Security 9.3
  • Location 8.5
  • Staff 9.7
  • Atmosphere 9.1
  • Cleanliness 9.5
  • Facilities 9.0
BOOK NOW
9.2
Superb 718 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.6
  • Security 9.3
  • Location 8.5
  • Staff 9.7
  • Atmosphere 9.1
  • Cleanliness 9.5
  • Facilities 9.0
Donegal Town Independent hostel Located at Doonan, Donegal town, Donegal.
Donegal Town Independent hostel
Ireland
Donegal Doonan, Donegal town
92% 718
54.6560099 -8.1257951
Donegal Town Independent hostel
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • donalrodgers1589
  • Ireland, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
22nd Jul 2016
10.0

Great hostel, rooms are clean and we'll presented. The hosts were very welcoming. Very well run hostel 10/10

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
22nd Jul 2016
9.1

About a 15 minute walk from the a Donegal bus stop, this is a lovely hostel situated on a small rise with views of Donegal Bay. Clean, well equipped and friendly with a real warm welcome. I had a single room which was well appointed, light and airy. The wifi worked well and the room was sparkly clean, as was the bathroom. Great bed too! Don't be put off by the short walk from town (or the longer but lovely scenic route), this place is a little gem. I am going back next week!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Couple, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 10 reviews
20th Jul 2016
9.7

Nice and clean rooms, comfortable beds and great facilities. The host is lovely and helpful - great hostel!!!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
19th Jul 2016
10.0

Really clean, comfortable, rooms and Ensuite really spacious. A short walk from town center and there is a scenic walk you can take which is really nice! Lovely area outside to sit and chat with other guests and enjoy the great view. Andy and Linda are wonderful hosts I can highly recommend this hostel :)

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
17th Jul 2016
8.6

Friendly owners, room was nice. Bathroom and shower very clean

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
16th Jul 2016
8.6

The hosts were very helpful. The location has good off street parking and is about 3 minutes drive from town. Our first night, our 5 bunk dorm was airy and cool. Unfortunately there were no chairs or shelves, so being on a top bunk was awkward with all my stuff on the floor. The mattress was narrow, there was no safety rail and the quilt kept sliding over the side. Our second night we got a private room with ensuite and the bed was super comfortable.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
8th Jul 2016
9.7

Very good hostel with extremely helpful staff. Slightly out of town but with great views

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
2nd Jul 2016
8.6

Gorgeous place, lovely owners, very clean and reasonably priced. That being said, the atmosphere was closer to a business conference than a hostel. Not that it is something that can be tackled, but the hostel seems to draw a much older crowd than expected, so as a young person, there's not a huge amount to do there. Would still recommend to people 30+, but for young backpackers? Probably not.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Mixed Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
29th Jun 2016
10.0

Great hostel, beautiful views, really friendly and welcoming owners, looking forward to going back!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
23rd Jun 2016
9.1

Loved this hostel. It was a bit far from town but the walk was worth it. Facilities were spectacular (wifi not in rooms however) and beds were extremely comfy. Friendly staff. Donegal is well worth a visit.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.