X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Donegal Town Independent hostel Reviews

Doonan, Donegal town, Donegal, Ireland

Reviews & Ratings Explained

90%

Rating
598 Total Reviews
  • 92%Value For Money
  • 87%Security
  • 80%Location
  • 95%Staff
  • 91%Atmosphere
  • 94%Cleanliness
  • 88%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

100%

Amazing view of Donegal Bay. Across from a scenic walking trail along the bay and river that leads to town.

  • 20th Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Couple, 41+
  • (1 review)


100%

Donegal Town Independent Hostel one of best hostels anywhere = 100+% excellent in every hostel quality category = super!!


89%

Very hospitable, friendly, and wonderful people. No breakfast is one of the only downsides, but there is an excellent place in town called Blueberries.

  • 4th Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


94%

Linda and Andy run this hostel brilliantly. It has a friendly atmosphere and seems to attract really interesting travellers. I was pleasantly surprised to learn that I had "won the draw" and landed a private room with an ensuite (I had booked a private room with a shared bathroom). The kitchen is really well kitted out, and the common area (the living room) was made more comfortable in the evenings by lighting a fire (yes, they're having a cool summer this year). I highly recommend staying here

  • 3rd Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


100%

The hostel is a little walk away from the city, but I really couldn't recommend it more. Linda was great! Best person I met while I've been in Ireland. She was so willing to help us and did everything she could to make our stay in Donegal fantastic.

  • 24th Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

We loved it here!!! Linda was amazing- she helped us out planning our time in donegal town. Walk is a quick 10 minutes; fine to walk along the road and see some cows but Linda will also show you the scenic route if you want to walk along the water. Very clean and comfortable accommodations, very nice bathrooms. Common areas great for hanging out, lots of games to play. Best hostel I've stayed in


100%

Very homely


100%

Linda was absolutely a doll! She made sure we had everything we needed to be comfortable and welcomed. Would definitely recommend for anyone traveling to Donegal!

  • 23rd Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


97%

Linda was the best! One of the nicest hostels I've stayed at all summer. Had a very home-like vibe to it, which was refreshing for someone who has been travelling abroad for so long.


100%

The bedrooms and bathrooms were extremely nice and clean. The family room and kitchen were good areas to relax and hang out. We played the board games they had there. The owner, Linda, is one of the nicest ladies I've met on my two month stay in Ireland. She goes out of her way to make you feel at home and provide advice to local attractions. I would highly recommend this hostel.

  • 23rd Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • American Samoa
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


97%

The lady, linda, running it is very friendly and upbeat. She will make sure you feel right at home between all the other guest. Hostel was very clean, and you get a nice view from the picknick seats in front. Walk to donegal is ~15minutes


100%

The owners of the hostel are very nice, they made our stay very pleasant. We had a private room for my husband and I, it was very spacious and clean. We had our own bathroom, also very clean and spacious. The bed was comfy with nice bed sheets and pillows. We enjoyed sitting on the porch and chatting with others. We would definitely come back here.


94%

We have had such a amazing stay in this hostel, Linda always tried to introduce all her guests to each other, from this reason the real "hostel feeling" could develop. Also she is such a kind hostess, always trying to make jokes to her foreign guest - even they don't get them :D - and looking for a little chat. We have had plenty of space and everything we might have needed was there. Thank you sooo much Linda! We couldn't say this yesterday because we were in a hurry. Annika and Daniel


97%

It was a very friendly, welcoming atmosphere! Very nice and clean rooms!


91%

Room was very clean. The hedge at the steps could do with a trim i got quite wet walking up after rain but apart from that excellent.

  • 10th Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


80%

It was a nice staying there. Clean and super people there. A little bit outside of the city but a beautiful walkway along the rive/coastline.


100%

Perfect place to stay. Clean friendly and lots of nice people. 100% recommend it

  • 3rd Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


89%

nice hostel, close to town, owners very nice and friendly, well run


97%

Staff was very kind and friendly. We had a lovely stay!


69%

Be sure to buy grocieries before walking to this hostel. A real supermarket is almost a mile away. The owner keeps nothing to sell you if it is poring rain outside...no beer, wine, food; only tea,coffee in kitchen. Terrible sinking mattress. Only 1/3 roll toliet paper, so when I awakened no toliet paper and no one to ask at 6 a.m. Why not leave an extra roll or two? Room very cold which I mentioned to Linda 3 times. She said she turned on the heat....but she did only for a few minutes


« first « Prev 1 2
(37 results)


View all Donegal Hostels

Please give us your feedback