Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Dongshan Catalpa Garden Youth Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
7.6
Very Good 189 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.5
  • Security 8.8
  • Location 8.7
  • Staff 7.6
  • Atmosphere 6.5
  • Cleanliness 7.3
  • Facilities 6.8
BOOK NOW
7.6
Very Good 189 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.5
  • Security 8.8
  • Location 8.7
  • Staff 7.6
  • Atmosphere 6.5
  • Cleanliness 7.3
  • Facilities 6.8

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
13th Jul 2017
6.0

Good central location, quite cheap, staff polite and near a good metro. Bad bunk beds (creaky like an old man's farts), no kitchen, small common room which is more like a dentists waiting room than a hostel (the hostel does have a terrace but it is not complete and they are not currently working on it), shower in room with only a curtain to seprate it and currently not well organised. I didnt have a bed sheet the first night and had to ask the second night for one. Not terrible but not that goo

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
12th Jul 2017
8.3

Very solid hostel. It is a bit hard to find, but it's very close to Yangji station and it's near a lot of great things to do in Guangzhou. I've stayed here both visits to GZ and would definitely stay there again. The rooms were pretty clean and spacious and it was an all-around comfortable stay.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
4th Jul 2017
9.1

Was very pleased with the hostel -- 6-bed dorm was spacious and clean w, A/C, although the shower and sink are not blocked off by a wall so this got a bit loud. Hostel is very close to the metro and has nice rooftop area to sit although the cafe itself was closed for renovations when I was there. Staff spoke English. No wi-fi in the room, only in the lounge/reception which got pretty crowded and the connection was very very slow.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
15th Jun 2017
8.3

I really liked this Hostel. Well located near a metro station. It's Guangzhou, so space is limited and there isn't much in terms of common areas (the rooftop garden and cafe aren't operational, they're under construction). That said, I found the room (6 bed dorm) to be functional and comfortable with large lockers for each bed. The staff was helpful, and the night security guy was able to help out with simple things like buying drinks and such.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Argentina, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
26th May 2017
10.0

Very nice place to stay, Really great value for the price.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
28th Apr 2017
7.7

Not the most modern hostel in Guangzhou but a nice place to stay. The staff were helpful and the outside garden was a good place to chill, though I never saw the cafe open. Maybe an opening hours sign or bell would be useful. It was easy to find - follow the directions and you soon see a yha sign. Good location and a couple stops from Canton Tower. Wifi was a bit patchy upstairs and didn't reach my bed, but ok in reception area.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Indonesia, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
27th Apr 2017
9.4

Easy to access, near metro station.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
25th Apr 2017
3.1

the hostel almost no service for customer. only think about the money and think about themself.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • bilalhussain
  • Pakistan, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
16th Apr 2017
8.9

A very nice hostel

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Hong Kong, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
14th Apr 2017
4.0

The room was flooded after bath. The facilities are bad. The hostel was probably a staff quarter before. Staff was not professional. When i ask for some drinking water, the staff said the bottle water was out of stock. She asked me to drink tape water. Also the room was dirty with trash and water on the ground always

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.