Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Dongshan Catalpa Garden Youth Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
7.7
Very Good 185 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.5
  • Security 8.8
  • Location 8.8
  • Staff 7.5
  • Atmosphere 6.8
  • Cleanliness 7.2
  • Facilities 7.1
BOOK NOW
7.7
Very Good 185 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.5
  • Security 8.8
  • Location 8.8
  • Staff 7.5
  • Atmosphere 6.8
  • Cleanliness 7.2
  • Facilities 7.1

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
15th Jun 2017
8.3

I really liked this Hostel. Well located near a metro station. It's Guangzhou, so space is limited and there isn't much in terms of common areas (the rooftop garden and cafe aren't operational, they're under construction). That said, I found the room (6 bed dorm) to be functional and comfortable with large lockers for each bed. The staff was helpful, and the night security guy was able to help out with simple things like buying drinks and such.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Argentina, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
26th May 2017
10.0

Very nice place to stay, Really great value for the price.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
28th Apr 2017
7.7

Not the most modern hostel in Guangzhou but a nice place to stay. The staff were helpful and the outside garden was a good place to chill, though I never saw the cafe open. Maybe an opening hours sign or bell would be useful. It was easy to find - follow the directions and you soon see a yha sign. Good location and a couple stops from Canton Tower. Wifi was a bit patchy upstairs and didn't reach my bed, but ok in reception area.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Indonesia, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
27th Apr 2017
9.4

Easy to access, near metro station.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
25th Apr 2017
3.1

the hostel almost no service for customer. only think about the money and think about themself.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • bilalhussain
  • Pakistan, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
16th Apr 2017
8.9

A very nice hostel

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Hong Kong, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
14th Apr 2017
4.0

The room was flooded after bath. The facilities are bad. The hostel was probably a staff quarter before. Staff was not professional. When i ask for some drinking water, the staff said the bottle water was out of stock. She asked me to drink tape water. Also the room was dirty with trash and water on the ground always

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
7th Apr 2017
8.6

The hostel might be a little hard to find, because it is located a ways off the street it is on, but there are a few small signs to help you out. The location was absolutely perfect, and the rooms were adequately clean with all the necessary amenities. The staff was pretty friendly. I did not spend much time around the hostel other than to sleep, but I intend to stay at Catalpa Gardens again the next time I make it out to Guangzhou.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Wales, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 16 reviews
4th Mar 2017
6.9

Stayed here for one night just so we didn't have to get a taxi home after a night out in Guangzhou. Location looks a bit dodgy as it's down some alley thing, but it's super close to the metro so very quick to get to most central places in Guangzhou. We stayed in a private twin, the bathrom was very basic, beds were fine and the room was bigger than expected. Basically, if you're looking for a room for the night and thats it, then this place seemed fine! Would stay again probably if I need a bed.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
3rd Mar 2017
10.0

Had a double private room, the room was big and the shower was great. Location is really close to the metro which means you can easily get anywhere in Guangzhou!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.