X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million Guest Reviews 21 million bookings

Doolin Hostel Reviews

Fisherstreet, Clare, Doolin, Ireland

Reviews & Ratings Explained

91%

Rating
581 Total Reviews
  • 90%Value For Money
  • 91%Security
  • 96%Location
  • 94%Staff
  • 89%Atmosphere
  • 91%Cleanliness
  • 88%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

91%

Very helpful staff, clean rooms, safe and friendly atmosphere, and great location. All round a lovely place to stay.


89%

We loved our stay at this hostel! We got great advice about a couple of off-the-beaten-path hikes, our room was comfortable and clean, and there was plenty of space both indoors and out to sit and read or eat at the on-site restaurant/cafe. Our favorite part was the free breakfast, which was a wonderful surprise - cereal with yogurt and absolutely delicious gourmet toppings, brown bread and jam, and tasty coffee and tea. Doolin Hostel helped us to fall in love with Doolin!


80%

Wifi didn't connect at all even though it was meant to be available throughout the entire place. The staff were extremely helpful and made delicious home made food. Really great hostel in a cute little area.


100%

Extremely helpful. Always giving us terrific conversation and advice.


97%

Wonderful hostel. Great location (you can start your Doolin-Cliffs of Moher walking trail right outside the hostel and the bus stops in front of the hostel), staff was very friendly and they serve delicious food. Room was clean and the showers were great as well.


100%

We really appreciated the efforts to maintain an ecologically friendly facility. Perhaps the kitchen could use signage in other languages to ensure separation of food waste and recycling.


63%

The shower was scalding hot and needed to be pressed on every minute. The beds were creaky and uncomfortable with flat pillows. Glad for the free breakfast, but people seemed to keep to themselves.


91%

Great hostel. If you are looking something quiet, this is your hostel. Just 8km to cliffs of mother. Nice staff. If I have to go back to cliffs, I chose it again.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Great to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and enjoyed the 8km hike along the cliffs up to the visitor center at the highest point. Alternatively for guests you can get the bus right outside the door up to them. Hopefully we will meet again and it was a pleasure to have you stay with us. Warmest regards Anthony and Deirdre

100%

This was a wonderful hostel. The staff were so incredibly friendly. Deirdre saw me coming in off the bus--I had just arrived in Ireland on an overnight flight and she let me check in early. She and a staff member, David, gave me excellent tips (David included drawings!) on where to go and what to do in the area. I could not have felt more welcome. The price-included breakfast was great. I would definitely recommend this hostel and will be back on my next trip to Ireland's west coast.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your review and we were happy to accommodate your early check in and glad you found all the tips on what to do in the area so useful, David is a great asset and enjoys the outdoors around Doolin to its fullest and has many great tips. It was a pleasure to welcome you into our home and we look forward to your return. Warmest regards Anthony and Deirdre

100%

I stayed in this same hostel a few years and am very impressed by the renovation and focus on eco friendliness!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your feed back and noticing all the improvements we have made since taking over the properties two years ago. We have done a lot to make it a very good hostel but we want and will be doing a lot more in the months and years to come. As we continue with our ethos of improving a little every day. Also thank you for mentioning our Eco focus, we are the first and only Gold Awarded "Green Hospitality Award" Hostel in Ireland. but again we feel we have much to improve on this.

94%

The hostel is very well connected (5min by car to the Cliffs) and everything seems new. We stayed one night in a perfect double room with private bathroom. In the morning we had a complete breakfast and the staff were very kind with us. I recommend it.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your review and noticing the improvements we have made to the hostel, indeed a lot of it is new and we will be continuing to add more in the months and years ahead. The visitor center to the Cliffs is a five minute drive, or you can get the bus outside the door, or hike the Cliff walk which just starts around the corner from us. Thank you for recommending us. Warmest regards Anthony and Deirdre

100%

Found staff very friendly and great attention to everyone. Really enjoyed our stay at Doolin Hostel.Breakfast was good,and good facilities for cooking if you wanted.

  • 19th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland
  • Mixed Group, 41+
  • (1 review)


77%

Great staff. Great breakfast. Tiny bathrooms with the stupid button showers. Great location for hiking to the cliffs of moher.


100%

I had a very pleasant stay with my friends. Great location if trying to see the Cliffs of Moher and although it got a little cold at night, I loved the woodstove in the common area, the facilities are clean and the hostel owners are very helpful. Overall, a great stay!


89%

We arrived there late, but the reception was waiting for us!!! so warm~ The room was very quiet and good, but a little bit cold for us and also bathroom is a bit small for us >< overall we had a nice stay there for 1 night and the staff was helpful. location is good also.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Great to hear you had such a warm welcome and we where able to facilitate your late arrival. Our reception is open until 8.30/9pm. I am sorry you found your room cool, but in June the average temperature of the hostel is around 20/21 degrees Celsius. Warmest regards Anthony and Deirdre

94%

Great place to stay, the hosts are nice, I recommend it. It's right on the walking path to the Cliffs of Moher, it's just by the pier for the ferries out to the cliffs or the Aran Islands, and it's across the street from a pub with good food, beer, and traditional music.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Guest So happy to read your review this morning and to see you got to experience so much of Doolin. Yes our location couldn't be better in the center of Doolin at the Bus Stop and within walking distance of everything you need. While still surround by fields, overlooking the village and out to sea. It was a pleasure to have you stay with us. Warmest regards

100%

Being a local was really nice to stay at such a good hostel and show off how great Clare is! My friends loved it and would easily recommend it to anyone.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Delighted you and your friends enjoyed your stay with us and that you got to showcase our beautiful corner of the world to your friends. Warmest regards Anthony and Deirdre

100%

Wifi was terrible, but the place was very nice! Would definitely stay here again

  • 2nd Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for the review and delighted you enjoyed your stay. Yes the Wifi isn't great and never will be amazing as the most you can get in Doolin is 6mb via satellite. Plus our internet provider has a fair usage policy shutting customers off when they go over their allocation. This happens when guests start downloading large files such as music and movies. We also are looking at the signal as it needs improvement upstairs, since we installed new fire doors. More router stations are on the way.

89%

We had a great time in Doolin! The staff was extremely helpful. Breakfast was good, showers were hot. The outside space was enjoyable. There are no lockers, we left our packs out like everybody else. The hostel is RIGHT on the bus stop and you can buy tickets from the hostel desk. When taking the bus to the cliffs (11euro round trip)- it's right out your front door. When you arrive to the cliffs, since you arrive by bus, you don't need to pay!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Guest Delighted you enjoyed your stay with us so much and found us so convenient. We are currently looking at lockers for our dorms but only the guests in your room have access to the room with a one of a kind multi lock key and with 31 years without theft (touch wood) it seems to work fine. But a padlock is of little deterrent for a thief so we are looking at a variety of options before we purchase. We also have a safe at reception for guests who require one. Warmest regards Anthony

91%

Very friendly. Right by the cliff-side hiking trail the follows the Cliffs of Moher! Nearby pub serves great food as does the inside cafe. There's real coffee and a generous breakfast with yogurt and dried fruit and seeds, cereals, fruits, traditional brown bread, regular white

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Guest So happy to read your review and to hear you enjoyed our breakfast buffet. We brew Robert Roberts Coffee for our breakfast buffet which is designed for those who like getting out to explore or do one of the many great activities that are on our doorstep. Such as rock climbing /bouldering, caving, surfing, sea kayaking, mountain biking, horse riding, Cliffs of Moher hiking trail etc. You can also purchase Latte, Cappuccino, Mocha for €2 & Espresso €1 at breakfast from our cafe.

« first « Prev 1 2
(38 results)


View all Doolin Hostels

Please give us your feedback