Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Dorset House Backpackers

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
9.0
Superb 324 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.9
  • Security 8.9
  • Location 8.6
  • Staff 9.6
  • Atmosphere 8.3
  • Cleanliness 9.4
  • Facilities 9.2
BOOK NOW
9.0
Superb 324 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.9
  • Security 8.9
  • Location 8.6
  • Staff 9.6
  • Atmosphere 8.3
  • Cleanliness 9.4
  • Facilities 9.2
Dorset House Backpackers Located at 1 Dorset Street, PO Box 25350, Christchurch.
Dorset House Backpackers
New Zealand
Christchurch 8144 1 Dorset Street, PO Box 25350
90% 324
-43.5225787 172.6274117
Dorset House Backpackers
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 14 reviews
2nd Dec 2016
8.6

Really lovely chilled hostel with character.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
26th Nov 2016
10.0

Loved it! Instant friends, very clean and cozy atmosphere. Loved the gardens around the building, and amazing location just a block away from Christchurch's biggest park.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
18th Nov 2016
8.6

Dorset house was a lovely place to stay in Christchurch. Great location for walking to the CBD, Hadley park and the botanical gardens

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • KuribosShoe
  • Australia, Male, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
  • 60 reviews
17th Nov 2016
7.4

Cool place, great location, helpful staff. I'd stay again if I end up back in Christchurch. Only issue is they leave all the external doors open and room doors unlocked ALL day while they clean, and no lockers. Anyone could walk in off the street and take what they wanted.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
3rd Nov 2016
10.0

They are super nice and being my first time in a hostel they made a great first impression for me! The woman at reception (I never got her name) was super friendly and helpful! If your staying in christchurch this is the hostel to go to!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
25th Oct 2016
9.1

Very nice little place! I was here at the tail end of winter, so it was still a bit quiet, but there is plenty of space in (really nice) common areas to hang out and meet others. A slight walk away from anything in town (15-20mins), but right across the street from a huge, beautiful park. Very impressed with staff helpfulness and hostel cleanliness. No bunk beds was a nice change and big plus. Would stay again, would recommend.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
24th Oct 2016
10.0

Wonderful place with a great location by the garden. Quiet but accessible and priced just as well as any other hostel in central CHC. Great staff and super comfy and cosy. Would stay again in a heartbeat.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
4th Oct 2016
9.4

Really homely and friendly hostel. Everything was clean and well maintained. Great location next to the park, though a bit of a walk from the city centre. Definitely worth a stay, especially if you have been travelling for a while. There are some good restaurants in the vicinity too. I would be happy to stay there again.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 15 reviews
15th Sep 2016
8.9

Great hostel with a homely feel. Comfy beds and really nice bathrooms. A pool table and tv in the living area - but get a dvd before reception shuts! Well equipped kitchen too. And walkable distance to the town centre

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Belgium, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
14th Sep 2016
9.1

Great hostel, A lovely hostel with a dorm with no bunkbed, cool livingroom and nice kitchen. Bathrooms are really clean and staff is very friendly. Great free Wifi. It's really not that far from the citycenter. I would definitly stay there again if I were in Chch again.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.