Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Dorset House Backpackers

Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Prices
map
reviews
8.8
Fabulous 294 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.5
  • Security 8.9
  • Location 8.4
  • Staff 8.9
  • Atmosphere 8.2
  • Cleanliness 9.2
  • Facilities 9.1
BOOK NOW
8.8
Fabulous 294 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.5
  • Security 8.9
  • Location 8.4
  • Staff 8.9
  • Atmosphere 8.2
  • Cleanliness 9.2
  • Facilities 9.1
Dorset House Backpackers Located at 1 Dorset Street, PO Box 25350, Christchurch.
Dorset House Backpackers
New Zealand
Christchurch 8144 1 Dorset Street, PO Box 25350
88% 294
-43.5225787 172.6274117
Dorset House Backpackers
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
11th Jul 2016
7.7

I really enjoyed this hostel. Cute space and very clean bathrooms. Kitchen was kept clean as well. Great wifi, and beautiful location. Staff were very helpful and polite.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
24th Jun 2016
7.1

Comfortable hostel a fair distance from central Christchurch with friendly staff. Check your room before payment.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
17th Jun 2016
8.9

Great hostel! With the rebuild in Christchurch none of the hostels are really centrally located but this one is just a short walk to town and right by the gardens which make for a nice walk! Also the bus from the airport stops nearby which is always helpful. Loved having no bunk beds! Big open rooms and the best wifi I've had in NZ! Big kitchen and I liked all of the single private bathrooms. They also let me store my luggage there for a couple weeks until I came back. Thanks guys!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
9th Jun 2016
8.6

Only stayed one night here so couldn't tell you how far or near away it is to everything. However it's right by the park which is beautiful and not far from the uni. Very cosy and comfortable with a good sized kitchen and common room. Loved the fact I got a proper single bed instead of bunk beds.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 10 reviews
28th May 2016
8.3

Rooms were spacious and clean and there were no bunk beds which was the best part! Kitchen was small for the size of the hostel but it had everything needed. The location of the hostel is right next to the park and botanical gardens which is really nice to go for walks and also close to restaurants.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Indonesia, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
21st May 2016
8.9

Love the deco of this hostel. Really adds to the ambience. The toilet is also very clean and well maintained. Only feedback is, the carpet/ flooring is in dire need of replacement. Location wise, it's very near to the bus stop that can take you to the airport. However, there are very limited option for supermarket or budget eateries around the hostel. Not exactly sure if other hostels fare better as I didn't stay in Christchurch for long. Very recommended nonetheless!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
14th May 2016
10.0

The best kitchen in all hostel that I stayed...because Dorset provides all the ingredients for cooking plus there are so many freebies...so when I Egg I had to contribute to that freebies bin. I highly recommend it.i will definitely comeback here. Very good wifi..

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
11th May 2016
9.1

The hostel is a beautiful old wooden house and located really close to the city center, the botanic garden, the park and also to the national bus stations. You can walk to all those things in less than 15 minutes. The Wifi is really fast, the best I had in a hostel yet, you can enjoy your meal on the balcony and there are plenty of free spices and also plenty of other free food in the kitchen. I really enjoyed my stay at the Dorset Guesthouse!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Philippines, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
5th May 2016
9.7

I love to stay back if I be given a chance in the future. My only concern is that I felt something itchy. maybe some flees from previous customer with pets or what but that's what I experienced in that room. Maybe you schedule to wash including the blanket and the bed cover. I know its a big bulk. Maybe not every day but may every month or what. But I am sure you change the fitted sheets and the flat sheets including the pillow for every customer. thank you!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
3rd May 2016
9.7

Only stayed the 1 night, wouldn't hesitate in staying again. I arrived late and the key was awaiting me. Nice bedroom (thankfully no bunkbeds), clean bathrooms, very helpful staff and comfy communal area. Thank you very much!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.