Hostelworld.com

Dorset House Backpackers

Prices
map
reviews
8.9
Fabulous 280 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.8
  • Security 9.0
  • Location 8.5
  • Staff 9.1
  • Atmosphere 8.3
  • Cleanliness 9.6
  • Facilities 9.2
BOOK NOW
8.9
Fabulous 280 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.8
  • Security 9.0
  • Location 8.5
  • Staff 9.1
  • Atmosphere 8.3
  • Cleanliness 9.6
  • Facilities 9.2
Dorset House Backpackers Located at 1 Dorset Street, PO Box 25350, Christchurch.
Dorset House Backpackers
New Zealand
Christchurch 8144 1 Dorset Street, PO Box 25350
89% 280
-43.5225787 172.6274117
Dorset House Backpackers
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
11th May 2016
9.1

The hostel is a beautiful old wooden house and located really close to the city center, the botanic garden, the park and also to the national bus stations. You can walk to all those things in less than 15 minutes. The Wifi is really fast, the best I had in a hostel yet, you can enjoy your meal on the balcony and there are plenty of free spices and also plenty of other free food in the kitchen. I really enjoyed my stay at the Dorset Guesthouse!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Philippines, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
5th May 2016
9.7

I love to stay back if I be given a chance in the future. My only concern is that I felt something itchy. maybe some flees from previous customer with pets or what but that's what I experienced in that room. Maybe you schedule to wash including the blanket and the bed cover. I know its a big bulk. Maybe not every day but may every month or what. But I am sure you change the fitted sheets and the flat sheets including the pillow for every customer. thank you!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
3rd May 2016
9.7

Only stayed the 1 night, wouldn't hesitate in staying again. I arrived late and the key was awaiting me. Nice bedroom (thankfully no bunkbeds), clean bathrooms, very helpful staff and comfy communal area. Thank you very much!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Finland, Female, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 19 reviews
23rd Apr 2016
9.4

Way Better than average. Old house but good and comfy. Good beds, good wifi. There is old food in the kitchen all the time (travellers leave them). Anyway still good kitchen.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Female, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 16 reviews
19th Apr 2016
9.4

The hostel was so nice and the staff really helpful with bookings and advises. The kitchen is like your kitchen at home and really good equipped (spices, oil, tea etc.). The wifi is really fast and the lounge so comfy. Just lockers are missing in the rooms, but that seems to be common to me in NZ. The next supermarket is a 15-20 min walk away from the hostel, thats not so cool. But there are not a lot of supermarkets in generell. Would definitely stay again.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
13th Apr 2016
9.1

Really easy to find and enough space to park a good few cars, I had no problem. Didn't have time to make it down into town so I don't know how long that would take, but is right on the edge of a big park and conveniently close to the airport. It made a nice change not to sleep in a bunk bed! I would stay again.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Argentina, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
8th Apr 2016
8.9

Beautiful hostel.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
31st Mar 2016
8.0

Nice little hostel but it's a bit of a walk. Christchurch is a city to pass through at the moment, not a lot going on. But this was a nice base before my flight and is very close to the bus stop to the airport and into the centre of town. Friendly staff, good facilities and very clean.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
29th Mar 2016
9.7

Great people stay here. Great time. Super helpful employees. :))

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
26th Mar 2016
8.0

A bit far from the City center and more expensive than any hostel I stayed in nz in the same type of dorm (6 mixed, shared bathroom with the floor) and I don't think the price was warranted. That said- no bunk beds which was awesome and good wifi!

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.