Hostelworld.com

Dorset House Backpackers

Prices
map
reviews
9.0
Superb 349 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.0
  • Security 8.8
  • Location 8.7
  • Staff 9.4
  • Atmosphere 8.6
  • Cleanliness 9.4
  • Facilities 9.2
BOOK NOW
9.0
Superb 349 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.0
  • Security 8.8
  • Location 8.7
  • Staff 9.4
  • Atmosphere 8.6
  • Cleanliness 9.4
  • Facilities 9.2

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 16 reviews
15th Jan 2017
8.9

Really lovely place, very clean and comfy. Lots of sockets by beds and rooms very homey. Security for building/dorms fine but lacking inside actual rooms. Staff wonderful and helpful, lots of long term residents so not the best atmosphere, especially for a solo traveller. I did see there were certain events on in the week so maybe I just picked a bad night.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
13th Jan 2017
9.4

Friendly and helpful staff. The house itself is lovely with clean rooms and good wifi throughout. They were great about storing my luggage for me.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
6th Jan 2017
9.4

Actual twin beds, not bunk beds, so I got a good night's sleep. Overall nice old house with lots of space.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • obichar1022
  • USA, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
31st Dec 2016
10.0

I stayed in several hostels in NZ and this was my favorite. I love the charm of the older house. The lounge area was my favorite with the stained glass windows. Everything was kept clean, the security was great, staff were great.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands, Male, 31-40
  • Globetrotter
  • 22 reviews
27th Dec 2016
10.0

Hilde at reception was especially helpful - her helping me sort things out made my trip!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
24th Dec 2016
8.9

A great hostel within walking distance of downtown Christchurch. Staff was friendly and offered some good tips on places to go and see in the city. We stayed in a private room and the room, although small, met our needs. Comfortable bed and pillows and good wifi access. Great kitchen and dining facilities. Couldn't have asked for more except one of the toilet seats were broken. Would stay again.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
19th Dec 2016
9.4

It's a rustic little place, I loved my stay. The rooms come with normal beds (no bunks) and there are plenty of facilities. All of the city is within walking distance and the staff is extremely friendly and helpful.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
13th Dec 2016
6.0

The hostel was in a decent location, more or less walking distance to a lot of activities in Christchurch. Our room was tiny, even by hostel standards, and there were definitely not enough bathrooms for the number of rooms. Separate bathrooms and toilets would have been better. Communal facilities were not kept in a great condition and the kitchen was pretty disgusting most of the time. Staff were pretty unhelpful and offered no introduction to the city, or maps, or guides when we checked in.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
5th Dec 2016
9.1

Dorset house is the perfect place if you're looking for somewhere serene and idyllic to stay in Christchurch. It was a nice break from the usual hustle and bustle of most hostels we had experienced in most cities. Staff were very friendly and helpful, rooms were clean and bright, and there's a lovely park just across the street to add to the relaxation vibe.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
2nd Dec 2016
8.6

Really lovely chilled hostel with character.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.