Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Dorset House Backpackers

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.8
Fabulous 402 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.0
  • Security 8.9
  • Location 8.0
  • Staff 9.3
  • Atmosphere 8.6
  • Cleanliness 9.0
  • Facilities 8.9
BOOK NOW
8.8
Fabulous 402 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.0
  • Security 8.9
  • Location 8.0
  • Staff 9.3
  • Atmosphere 8.6
  • Cleanliness 9.0
  • Facilities 8.9

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Bermuda, Female, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 17 reviews
31st Jul 2017
8.3

Lovely staff and it was so nice to have a bed that wasn't a bunk bed!!! V clean and great common room area

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
9th Jul 2017
8.9

Clean,good beds(no bunk beds,big ++),big kitchen and friendly staff.only complain was there is no lockers and no much atmosphere.but otherwise really nice hostel,great value for money!!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
29th Jun 2017
8.6

Very pleasant stay in Dorset House. Very quite and good facilities. Not a lot too be faulted.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • blythmuir
  • Scotland, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
27th Jun 2017
9.4

We had a great stay at Dorset House. Our private room was like a hotel room, it even had a tv! Friendly staff who helped us with late check in (2am), the room was nice and warm for us arriving and the bed was equipped with an electric blanket. Great location, 15 min walk to centre. Nearest supermarket was a bit of a walk but not too far. Kitchen was big with decent facilities. Showers and toilets were very clean. We would definitely stay here again.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
27th Apr 2017
10.0

The best hostel I have stayed in whilst travelling. Friendly and helpful staff. Clean throughout, great communial lounge area and good cooking facilities.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
7th Apr 2017
9.1

Had a lovely time at Dorset! As the first New Zealand Hostel I have stayed at so far it was super nice! Beautiful spacious house with nice high ceilings, only downfall was one guy who was staying in our room obviously lived there and seemed a bit creepy! Other than that, had a great time! I would definitely recommend this hostel to anyone wishing to have a nice chill place to stay while in Christchurch

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
6th Apr 2017
7.4

Dorset house was pretty good, far from the bus interchange however (25-30 min walk, this was definitely the break in make or break for me) and my experience with staff was touch and go. The woman who checked me in seemed to be annoyed by me for no particular reason, but the next day the staff member at the desk was quite lovely and very helpful. Beds were comfy, kitchen was big and well stocked, lounge was big and comfortable! The house itself is quite old though.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
4th Apr 2017
10.0

Thanks for the good room and service

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
9th Mar 2017
9.1

Very sharming place!!! Such a cute garden when you enter:) This place was really nice. With a table pool, you could watch dvd's.... this was really nice. Wanna go back! :)

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Female, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 11 reviews
9th Mar 2017
8.9

great hostel with homey feeling. close to Botanic Gardens but takes 15 - 20 min walk to city centre. Beds very super comfy and cool that they're single beds and not bunks! Hostel as a whole feels like a real house, bathrooms very clean, kitchen not super clean but okay and free sauces/spices. Lovely staff and big common area. Wa there for just one night but would def stay again!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.