Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Dorset House Backpackers

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.8
Fabulous 303 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.6
  • Security 9.1
  • Location 8.1
  • Staff 9.1
  • Atmosphere 8.3
  • Cleanliness 9.3
  • Facilities 9.0
BOOK NOW
8.8
Fabulous 303 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.6
  • Security 9.1
  • Location 8.1
  • Staff 9.1
  • Atmosphere 8.3
  • Cleanliness 9.3
  • Facilities 9.0
Dorset House Backpackers Located at 1 Dorset Street, PO Box 25350, Christchurch.
Dorset House Backpackers
New Zealand
Christchurch 8144 1 Dorset Street, PO Box 25350
88% 303
-43.5225787 172.6274117
Dorset House Backpackers
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 15 reviews
15th Sep 2016
8.9

Great hostel with a homely feel. Comfy beds and really nice bathrooms. A pool table and tv in the living area - but get a dvd before reception shuts! Well equipped kitchen too. And walkable distance to the town centre

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Belgium, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
14th Sep 2016
9.1

Great hostel, A lovely hostel with a dorm with no bunkbed, cool livingroom and nice kitchen. Bathrooms are really clean and staff is very friendly. Great free Wifi. It's really not that far from the citycenter. I would definitly stay there again if I were in Chch again.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
14th Sep 2016
10.0

Dorset House survived the Christchurch earthquake, do that tells you how well it was constructed! Great, helpful staff, great, convenient location, great eateries and shopping closeby, free on-site parking. DH has a fabulous lounge. The bathrooms are modern. The guest kitchen is well equipped. I've stayed at DH twice on my vacation, and enjoyed each stay. I preferred the downstairs room. The in-room heaters work quite well and loved the electric blankets.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
21st Aug 2016
10.0

Excellent hostel. Excellent staff. Felt like I was in my own home!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
11th Jul 2016
7.7

I really enjoyed this hostel. Cute space and very clean bathrooms. Kitchen was kept clean as well. Great wifi, and beautiful location. Staff were very helpful and polite.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
24th Jun 2016
7.1

Comfortable hostel a fair distance from central Christchurch with friendly staff. Check your room before payment.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
17th Jun 2016
8.9

Great hostel! With the rebuild in Christchurch none of the hostels are really centrally located but this one is just a short walk to town and right by the gardens which make for a nice walk! Also the bus from the airport stops nearby which is always helpful. Loved having no bunk beds! Big open rooms and the best wifi I've had in NZ! Big kitchen and I liked all of the single private bathrooms. They also let me store my luggage there for a couple weeks until I came back. Thanks guys!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
9th Jun 2016
8.6

Only stayed one night here so couldn't tell you how far or near away it is to everything. However it's right by the park which is beautiful and not far from the uni. Very cosy and comfortable with a good sized kitchen and common room. Loved the fact I got a proper single bed instead of bunk beds.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 10 reviews
28th May 2016
8.3

Rooms were spacious and clean and there were no bunk beds which was the best part! Kitchen was small for the size of the hostel but it had everything needed. The location of the hostel is right next to the park and botanical gardens which is really nice to go for walks and also close to restaurants.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Indonesia, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
21st May 2016
8.9

Love the deco of this hostel. Really adds to the ambience. The toilet is also very clean and well maintained. Only feedback is, the carpet/ flooring is in dire need of replacement. Location wise, it's very near to the bus stop that can take you to the airport. However, there are very limited option for supermarket or budget eateries around the hostel. Not exactly sure if other hostels fare better as I didn't stay in Christchurch for long. Very recommended nonetheless!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.