Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Dorset House Backpackers

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
9.0
Superb 365 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.1
  • Security 8.6
  • Location 8.6
  • Staff 9.4
  • Atmosphere 8.8
  • Cleanliness 9.2
  • Facilities 9.2
BOOK NOW
9.0
Superb 365 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.1
  • Security 8.6
  • Location 8.6
  • Staff 9.4
  • Atmosphere 8.8
  • Cleanliness 9.2
  • Facilities 9.2

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
9th Mar 2017
9.1

Very sharming place!!! Such a cute garden when you enter:) This place was really nice. With a table pool, you could watch dvd's.... this was really nice. Wanna go back! :)

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
9th Mar 2017
8.9

great hostel with homey feeling. close to Botanic Gardens but takes 15 - 20 min walk to city centre. Beds very super comfy and cool that they're single beds and not bunks! Hostel as a whole feels like a real house, bathrooms very clean, kitchen not super clean but okay and free sauces/spices. Lovely staff and big common area. Wa there for just one night but would def stay again!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
1st Mar 2017
9.7

Brilliant stay. Staff were fantastic and the facilities were always clean and ready to use. Only a short distance from the city centre. Resided Dorset House for one week.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
1st Mar 2017
9.7

Loved this hostel! Beds are comfy! Quiet enough for sleeping but still has a good atmosphere, met some really awesome people! Great for solo travelers.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
28th Feb 2017
9.1

Really nice hostel. Stayed in a dorm with beds, no bunks. All beds were comfy. Room gets a bit warm in the day but not an issue. Wifi is good, kitchen and outdoor area big and tidy. Staff are super friendly. Not an extremely social hostel but that's ok - this is a little more chilled than the YMCA/YHA. Only slight pain is the 35-40 min walk to the big supermarkets but it makes up for it by being next to the park & botanical gardens. Would recommend.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Sweden, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
28th Feb 2017
8.3

A very nice hostel in the mittle of Christchurch, excellent wifi and nice rooms. Kitchen had everything you could possibly need. Lounge area was good with a pool table and a very friendly staff. Would definitely stay there again.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 20 reviews
23rd Feb 2017
10.0

One of the nicest hostels we've stayed at. It is more like a guest house and treat the same way. We stayed in a 5 bed dorm, which was spacious and clean, It was great to have a single bed too. The bathrooms were cleaned thoroughly everyday. The kitchen is well equipped. The wifi was free and it worked everywhere in the building. Only a short walk into town. The hostel has such a relaxed atmosphere, great place to chill and recoup. Highly recommended.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
18th Feb 2017
8.3

Really lovely place and great staff, there's a nice garden and communal area to relax in too. The rooms were fine and the location was great for getting to food/bars, only thing was no one cleaned the bathroom in the two nights I was there (which I mentioned at check out and was told there was a new cleaner so that was a mistake). None-the-less a very comfortable and friendly place!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 16 reviews
15th Jan 2017
8.9

Really lovely place, very clean and comfy. Lots of sockets by beds and rooms very homey. Security for building/dorms fine but lacking inside actual rooms. Staff wonderful and helpful, lots of long term residents so not the best atmosphere, especially for a solo traveller. I did see there were certain events on in the week so maybe I just picked a bad night.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
13th Jan 2017
9.4

Friendly and helpful staff. The house itself is lovely with clean rooms and good wifi throughout. They were great about storing my luggage for me.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.