Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Dover Castle Hostel and Bar

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
7.4
Very Good 1,454 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.7
  • Security 7.4
  • Location 8.4
  • Staff 7.9
  • Atmosphere 7.0
  • Cleanliness 6.7
  • Facilities 6.6
BOOK NOW
7.4
Very Good 1,454 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.7
  • Security 7.4
  • Location 8.4
  • Staff 7.9
  • Atmosphere 7.0
  • Cleanliness 6.7
  • Facilities 6.6
Dover Castle Hostel and Bar Located at 6a Great Dover Street, , London.
Dover Castle Hostel and Bar
England
London SE1 4XW 6a Great Dover Street
74% 1454
51.5004214 -0.0930190
Dover Castle Hostel and Bar
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
19th Sep 2016
6.6

After I had asked cancel the second of my two nights stay, they still wanted to charge me for both nights, though it explicitly states on Hostelworld that you may only be charged for the first night in case of cancellation. Hostel was OK, albeit a bit cramped and too few restrooms and showers. Breakfast was basically just lots simple carbs and tea/instant coffee. Good location!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, All Female Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
13th Sep 2016
5.7

The music was so loud from the bar you could feel it through the beds. There was two front doors with codes, the second one that attached to the bar often didn't lock which didn't seem safe. Plus side, right next to a tube station and bus stop so it was easy to get around. Breakfast included was toast and cereal.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
10th Sep 2016
8.6

For a city like London, very good value for money. But when we stayed there (Septemper '16), they had major problems with their booking system - we were booked in for a different date than shown on the booking receipt, other people were not in the system at all. Might be worth the time checking back with the staff a couple of days in advance

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
9th Sep 2016
7.1

The Hostel itself is close to Borough market & across the street from the Northern Line tube stop which makes it easy to access everywhere. Breakfast was basic staples. There was a public luggage storage by the staff desk & lockers outside of dorm rooms you needed to rent. No lockers in the room- which was not cool. Beds were not comfortable & the music from the bar was so loud it vibrated through the beds until 2am. Overall just good for a cheap bed for a night not comfortable place to stay

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
8th Sep 2016
6.3

Bathroom is unconfortable there is not enough hot water for having shower you have to push tap each 10 seconds. It makes me crazy.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Christmas Island, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
3rd Sep 2016
7.7

I had my 30th birthday in the Dover Castle and spent the night upstairs. I was given a place there by Dot and Thatch. They bought me loads of DCC, and shots. It was great. The toilets in the bar are signed off as smelly which is interesting. A man from Belgium on the bunk above was self pleasuring humming Roar by Katy Perry finishing on Champion every time. Timing. Breakfast was great!! I can't wait to stay at the Dover Castle again although be probably better without a Flanders Onanist

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • eliemannale
  • Switzerland, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
3rd Sep 2016
8.3

clean cozy nice pub to meet locals central but the badest shower ive ever seen and you pay for lockers

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • gubaugutan8061
  • Spain, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
29th Aug 2016
4.9

It has only one WC per foor and two showers. Then you have to share it with 20 people more, it is difficult to clean your teeth or do your need. You can feel the iron of the mattress, it is too old or the cuality is not good. There's no cocoa in the breakfast, it's the first time I see it in a hostel. The best thing is the price, it you wanna same money this place is perfect.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Spain, Couple, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 9 reviews
28th Aug 2016
7.7

The hostel is not in the center but you can get a walk or bus. It was clean but not shiny, maybe because it's something old but was generally clean, especially the rooms, linens and bathrooms. It has few bathrooms and showers, but when I stayed did not have too many problems to access them. The kitchen is very small and has very few cooking pots, when eating is difficult because several people get together and not fit, and only has two refrigerators in which there is no more food. It is very cur

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
27th Aug 2016
6.6

Great location and for the price I paid it was ok. But the toilets were disgusting

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.