X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

33,000 properties, 170 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Dover Castle Hostel and Bar Reviews

6a Great Dover Street, London, England

Reviews & Ratings Explained

72%

Rating
1241 Total Reviews
  • 75%Value For Money
  • 71%Security
  • 84%Location
  • 73%Staff
  • 67%Atmosphere
  • 67%Cleanliness
  • 67%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

71%

I think the place could be better. Have a lot of potential to give more, earn more, have less stress..

  • 4th Feb 2016
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Italy
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


71%

I had a nice stay. The bar beneath the hostel was fun. I met a lot of people there.

  • 29th Jan 2016
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


94%

Everything good keep like thatL ;)


89%

great hostel (for that price) - I was really surprised! Helpful staff, 24h reception, good rooms/beds, good breakfast (toast, cereals and sometimes even fruits), great location (just down borough underground station)


60%

Stuff wasn't very friendly. They looked like always in a hurry. Almost no wifi in the room. I needed to go downstairs where very noisy (because next to pub) just to get the wifi.


80%

Very nice. Exellent position and good people in the hostel

  • 22nd Jan 2016
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Italy
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


100%

It was great hostel. Nice staff, cleanliness...,very good breakfest.I recommend it for all.

  • 18th Jan 2016
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Slovakia
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


71%

Breakfast was OK, everything was fine. Nothing excellent, but nothing terrible at all


80%

Very friendly and helpful staff and a good atmosphere - clean too - on the downside there only three showers and you often have to wait - water pretty much cold after 10.00am

  • 14th Jan 2016
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


86%

This is a basic hostel, there are not enough showers/toilets to go around and the rooms are small and simple. Mostly used by budget travellers and itinerant workers, some have been there for months! There aren't any children in this hostel. Well run, excellent staff and a great place to stay.

  • 5th Jan 2016
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Wales
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


77%

Clean rooms, organized and helpful staff, clean bathrooms. Free lockers downstairs was great and the location was pretty good and close to the central area.

  • 19th Dec 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


77%

It's fine if you are not looking for something special, location is really great, only 1 minute walk to underground station and about 5 mins to london bridge using underground! There is breakfast included (cereals, fruits, tea, coffe, juices, toast, butter,marmelade..) Rooms are small, but beds are okay and they are clean. Bring your ear plugs because there is always some snorter. Haha! Downstairs is bar, beer price is cheap. And for weekend expect party and a lot of drunk peoples!

  • 12th Dec 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Croatia
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


60%

The toilets and shower are a bit old. The room too noise because you could hear all the noises and traffic from the street. The breakfast was really poor, you even cannot have hot milk. It's enough for having breakfast, but very poor. It's ok for one night, but not the best hostel I've stayed. I really believe they could improve it easily.

  • 12th Dec 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Spain
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


86%

It is a large hostel that has a lot of live-ins. The staff is great and helpful. The location is right off of the Borough Underground station. Only 10 minute walk to London Bridge. There is a kitchen but not much room to sit and eat. Our room was not ideal. It was a 12 person with not windows able to be opened and no fans! Had to leave door open all the time to keep it cool and allow airflow. Avoid room 7! Wifi is solid. London has some bad hostels, but this one is not one of them. Clean!


91%

Occasionally very loud music from the bar downstairs until 3am; especially in the dorm.


71%

The street can be quite loud, so I recommend earplugs. My biggest problem was the lack of (working) toilets and showers. One day 2 or 3 toilets were clogged. In the morning it can be a hassle to find a vacant shower, especially if you have an early appointment.


86%

Our complete experience was perfect . A little problem in the first day when the machine did not accept our Visa cards for paying. Fantastic bar. A little problem with the room door locks . Generally highly recommended .

  • 19th Nov 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Greece
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


49%

I would not stay here again. The only nice part about this hostel is the bar beneath it. Other than that, it's on the edge of the city, it's gross, and it's unorganized. When I checked in, they told me that their booking system messed up, so I had to switch rooms halfway through my stay. Also, the setup of the bathrooms was very strange and made it difficult to get ready in the mornings. It was also pretty gross, and there was never any soap either.


91%

This is a place for party ppl, backpacker, tourist, and everyone who enjoys life for a couple of days!


49%

Unfriendly staff, old mattresses with broken springs, my room was on the first floor and the night you hear the music of the pub (problematic for those light sleepers)


« first « Prev 1 2 3
(48 results)


View all London Hostels

Please give us your feedback