Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Dover Castle Hostel and Bar

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
7.1
Very Good 1650 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.2
  • Security 7.3
  • Location 8.2
  • Staff 8.2
  • Atmosphere 6.8
  • Cleanliness 5.7
  • Facilities 6.0
BOOK NOW
7.1
Very Good 1650 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.2
  • Security 7.3
  • Location 8.2
  • Staff 8.2
  • Atmosphere 6.8
  • Cleanliness 5.7
  • Facilities 6.0

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Argentina, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
29th Jul 2017
8.3

Such good people in reception,they would always greet me with a smile even when i went for ten times in a row. The brekfast is great and the atmosphere( the people you meet) also. The location is good but not the best in london. I saw staff cleaning the facilities all the time and well I had no problem with security but there were no safes in the rooms such as other hostels. The doors had locks but lets say it is not inpossible for someone to steal from you, but the people are good

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
28th Jul 2017
3.7

Breakfast was poor, shower was disgusting, I felt dirtier after showering, and staff struggled to tell me even basic things about the hostel. Lockers were paid. No atmosphere, rather dull. Only real positive was a comfy bed

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
26th Jul 2017
8.6

Good reception area arrived 11pm. Booked in very quickly & was in bed by 11.30pm. Very good location & easy to find.Needs abit up dating. Though is reflected in price..Staff very helpful...

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
19th Jul 2017
6.3

The beds were not very comfortable and there are only a few showers on each floor. This hostel seems to accept older guests who did not seem to be travellers, making it a bit harder to make friends. Close to a tube station but otherwise not worth the stay. Sort of a dark and dreary place that isn't a great place to meet people.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • England, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
18th Jul 2017
9.4

Very pleased with my stay at Dover Castle Hostel. A pleasant, clean and well cared-for hostel. Good value for money in many ways. Just the kitchen - could have a couple of hand-towels, a few dish-clothes for drying dishes, and 'linen' for wiping the bench-tops and other surface around the water basins. Thank you for providing such a nice hostel at an affordable price for travellers like me. Best wishes, Anthony.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • JackDavies
  • Australia, Male, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 12 reviews
18th Jul 2017
7.4

Breakfast was ok, bunks were ok, very hot during the day and showers were kind of annoying (the single button ones). Pretty good area and people. Some old couples visiting also, but no creepy old dudes living there from what I saw.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Russia, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
16th Jul 2017
7.4

The hostel was very cheap and I stayed only one night so I was not very troubled by the facilities, but I wouldn't stay much longer than that. The location was great: right near the metro station and close to the lovely Borough market. The staff were very friendly and helpful. The bedsheets were clean, but the hostel on the whole is pretty old and unrenovated. The toilet was dirty. The lockers can only be found on the -1 floor. Wifi didn't work for me.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
15th Jul 2017
9.1

Only complaint would be the outlets in the room were very few and not centrally located. Other than that it's a great place! I was only there for a night and as a solo traveler the bar atmosphere was enjoyable, the bartenders and staff were super friendly and it attracts a good crowd. Didn't do too much exploring since it was only a pit stop on my trip so I can't attest too much to the location, but it's less than a block from a tube station, which can take you pretty much everywhere.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
14th Jul 2017
7.4

Good for a nights sleep. Wouldn't want to stay there if I was on an extended visit to London. Two toilets, with no TP, and one shower on my floor. Expensive, but good value for London.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Mixed Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
9th Jul 2017
6.9

Rooms are clean but the shower and toilet facilities are lacking. 2 toilets and 2 showers per floor? For potentially 20+ people... the first night the lock on the shower door and one toilet were both broken and not fixed in the 4 days we were there after. They do laundry but at their own pace, took them over 24 hours to do one load for me. Wi-Fi is good and the pub does great food and drink at good prices.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.