Hostelworld.com

Dover Castle Hostel and Bar

Prices
map
reviews
7.2
Very Good 1525 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.4
  • Security 7.1
  • Location 8.4
  • Staff 8.0
  • Atmosphere 6.8
  • Cleanliness 6.3
  • Facilities 6.3
BOOK NOW
7.2
Very Good 1525 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.4
  • Security 7.1
  • Location 8.4
  • Staff 8.0
  • Atmosphere 6.8
  • Cleanliness 6.3
  • Facilities 6.3

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
3rd Feb 2017
6.0

It was OK. Cheap. Get what you pay for. Place is dingey and the pop music pub isn't my style. There was someone asleep in my bed when I arrived so its a bit loose I guess. Again, it's cheap and it's a bed and it has all the basics. It's grand.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
31st Jan 2017
9.7

I only stayed one night and I enjoyed it. Everyone was welcoming and it was clean. It got pretty loud in the bar. Everything became quiet around midnight, so it wasn't so bad.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
28th Jan 2017
8.3

Great spot. Wi-fi and showers are the only downside. Wi-fi signal was weak on second floor and showers were weak too. Everything else was great. Lockers fit a packed schoolbag for only £1 a day. Beds were very comfortable. Duvet, pillow and linen provided. Staff was friendliest staff I've come across in a hostel.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
26th Jan 2017
6.3

There is 3 floors with up to 20-40 people per floor, and a single shower and two bathrooms for every floor. Toilets were cleaned often, but the showers were absolutely disgusting. Never seen a shower so mouldy. There is no air coming in the bathroom and no fan. Terrible. Beds were ok, but the duvet was too small for any tall person. The street in front of the hostel and the bar are extremly loud. It was hard to sleep. The wifi doesnt reach in the rooms, so people would all gather in the kitchen.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
20th Jan 2017
8.0

Self-service kitchen was filthy, but the beds are VERY comfy. I loved it. Theres a really cool bar downstairs with billiards... it can turn into a dance party later. Its a local hangout for students, and a great way to meet Londoners. I had a blast, and the breakfast served in the bar is nice as well

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Norway, All Female Group, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
  • 79 reviews
18th Jan 2017
4.3

You should seriously go somewhere else than this hostel. It's among the dirtiest hostels I've ever seen, with tiny rooms, a careless staff and bad wifi. The only lockers are in the reception and you have to pay quite a bit for them. Small and smelly common room. Did not enjoy it here.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Italy, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
17th Jan 2017
3.7

It's dirty, smells awful, rooms are dirty. Only good thing were semi comfortable matresses. Staff helpful sometimes. Security was bad, the door had a key and it was not working so it was open all the time. Bad wifi connection. Overall, a pigsty. But it is cheap and semi well connected.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
4th Jan 2017
8.0

Great place to stay because of the location, free breakfast, fun atmosphere, and staff. There are only two negative things i have to warn people about. One is the noise level is loud not only from the bar, but also from random utilities and window (constant clicking, squeaking, and this constant flushing sound). The second thing is that there is only one shower on each floor for the shared dorms making. Not only that but the showers have little pressure making it a pain to use.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
20th Dec 2016
8.3

I really enjoyed staying here. It felt homey and was a real bang for your buck. It is loud with the bat downstairs but I don't mind noise. Only thing I didn't like was the walk up of the stairs and the low water pressure in the shower.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Taiwan, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 9 reviews
16th Dec 2016
5.7

Staffs are super friendly and helpful, really appreciate that, but I'm sorry can't rate higher due to the living condition here Don't go for mixed room dorm it has bad smell and no one locks the door At morning one guy open the light while everyone is still sleeping and shouted that he lost his wallet, just crazy Reception in basement and small stairs, if you got big luggages choose other place pls or you'll regret

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.