Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Dover Castle Hostel and Bar

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
7.0
Very Good 1608 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.1
  • Security 7.3
  • Location 8.1
  • Staff 8.1
  • Atmosphere 6.9
  • Cleanliness 5.8
  • Facilities 6.0
BOOK NOW
7.0
Very Good 1608 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.1
  • Security 7.3
  • Location 8.1
  • Staff 8.1
  • Atmosphere 6.9
  • Cleanliness 5.8
  • Facilities 6.0

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • USA, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
15th Jun 2017
6.0

When I traveled abroad for the first time 13 years ago, Dover Castle was the first place I stayed in. Back then, I thought it was great. Not sure if the hostel changed or my standards did, but the smell of mildew greets you on the first set of stairs, the showers on the upper letter reek of sewage water half the time, and the rooms upstairs are so hot--the windows don't open--that two fans running all night are barely enough to let you sleep. The staff are super friendly and the location's great

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • henbrown369512
  • Australia, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
11th Jun 2017
7.1

Good hostel, comfortable beds and a good kitchen area. However the bar downstairs plays very loud music till late, and there is not enough power points in the room.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • jacksonspiedade
  • Brazil, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
2nd Jun 2017
6.3

This hostel have the worst showers! But if you don't care about it, it's a good hostel.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Mixed Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
2nd Jun 2017
9.1

First hostel experience and I was very pleased. I stayed here the night of the London bridge attack and was so thankful for the safety that was offered. Breakfast was good, location is great, and the staff we met were very friendly. The bathrooms were under maintenance so there were very few showers but it was quite clean. I would stay here again. Keep in mind the bar is open late and the windows of rooms are generally open, so early to bed/light sleepers be aware. The bar is a great time too!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
26th May 2017
6.9

Overall, if you need a place to rest your head, this place will do just fine. The staff is very friendly, but this is not one of cleanest hostels I've been to. The rooms are very hot, as well. The bar is great, and offers guests discounted drink rates!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
24th May 2017
5.4

The staff is good but the facilities are not. The location is decent depending on where you are coming. Bar is nice as it is a student bar. Would recommend but just know you aren't getting good facilities.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
22nd May 2017
6.6

Really good location - London Bridge is a fun area during the day and it's a 30 minute walk or a bus ride from the busier evening hotspots like China Town or Soho. We stayed just one night and was pleased with this hostel for it's good value as well as location. Wouldn't like to stay longer then one or two nights - it's not clean at all. The showers are like the swimming pool ones with the "hold in" button. The bar downstairs is awesome, really great night out with a cool vibe. Great staff tho!!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Couple, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 14 reviews
17th May 2017
6.6

Bathrooms were not in a great state. Wifi not available on top floor and door was for some strange reason propped open with a dehumifier all night. However 24 hour reception was really handy, beds were pretty comfy, staff were friendly enough and free breakfast is always a bonus. Good location walking distance to Borough Market!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
15th May 2017
6.0

Over all it seems like the staff did minimum to keep up with the facilities and the people staying. There is mold in the bathrooms. Breakfast is okay, but they could have done a better job. The bar area was decent.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
12th May 2017
6.0

Very dirty, but decent for the price.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.