Hostelworld.com

Dover Castle Hostel and Bar

Prices
map
reviews
7.3
Very Good 1,315 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.6
  • Security 7.3
  • Location 8.4
  • Staff 7.5
  • Atmosphere 7.0
  • Cleanliness 6.7
  • Facilities 6.9
BOOK NOW
7.3
Very Good 1,315 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.6
  • Security 7.3
  • Location 8.4
  • Staff 7.5
  • Atmosphere 7.0
  • Cleanliness 6.7
  • Facilities 6.9
Dover Castle Hostel and Bar Located at 6a Great Dover Street, , London.
Dover Castle Hostel and Bar
England
London SE1 4XW 6a Great Dover Street
73% 1315
51.5004214 -0.0930190
Dover Castle Hostel and Bar
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • France, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
19th May 2016
9.1

Really nice place, cheap, flexible, very central :) only a bit loud with opend windows but still great place!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
17th May 2016
7.7

Very helpful staff and convenient location right next to the Borough tube station.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Mixed Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
17th May 2016
7.7

All the staff were quite nice and helpful. Very convenient that a free breakfast was offered! The bathrooms, showers, and rooms could be cleaner.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
14th May 2016
5.4

The staff was nice but it was the worst hostel I stayed in my entire two week trip to Europe. The shower just dribbled water out of the faucet, the entire hostel was dirty, there were three sets of groups in my room of ten and they mixed us all up, ( it was an even number of a group of six and two couples they could have easily bunked us together). And there was no wifi on my floor but they said there was. It was really cheap so go for it to save money but I would suggest saving money elsewhere

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
13th May 2016
9.4

Close walk to major sites, cheap, and the bar downstairs is great.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • whoviancrochet5172
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
8th May 2016
6.6

Great location. Right near a tube station but close enough that you could walk to the main attractions. Only one shower and two toilets across the whole floor. There were two fans in the room and neither worked so the room was hot all night. Also the door didn't easily close so either it was open or you had to slam it to close it. Overall, decent for the money but not great.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
6th May 2016
5.4

You sleep over a bar so so it's loud untill 1 AM which is not bad if you plan to stay out late. The bedrooms are pretty nice but the bathroom and shower were not the cleanest. The breakfast in the morning was good though!

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • marthacuratola2
  • Italy, Female, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
  • 76 reviews
3rd May 2016
4.9

very dirty, as in pillows mattresses etc you notice only when you leave as they ask you to give their linen at reception when you check out, i also found my bag opened twice

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
29th Apr 2016
4.0

Expensive for one bed with mattress really bad! All staff has no patient, never more.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
21st Apr 2016
2.6

The people staying there we're travelers, mostly people who had moved to London and were working. Kind of a sketchy feeling to the place. Staff was not friendly when arriving. The toilet facility was crappy. I spent most of my evening walking around the area in order to avoid spending time there. I wouldn't stay there again.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.