Hostelworld.com

Dover Castle Hostel and Bar

Prices
map
reviews
7.4
Very Good 1,282 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.6
  • Security 7.3
  • Location 8.5
  • Staff 7.5
  • Atmosphere 7.1
  • Cleanliness 6.8
  • Facilities 7.0
BOOK NOW
7.4
Very Good 1,282 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.6
  • Security 7.3
  • Location 8.5
  • Staff 7.5
  • Atmosphere 7.1
  • Cleanliness 6.8
  • Facilities 7.0
Dover Castle Hostel and Bar Located at 6a Great Dover Street, , London.
Dover Castle Hostel and Bar
England
London SE1 4XW 6a Great Dover Street
74% 1282
51.5004214 -0.0930190
Dover Castle Hostel and Bar
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Portugal, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
21st Apr 2016
9.7

Nice place. Super close to a tube station, but also close enough that you can walk in and out of the city with ease. Large comfy beds, rooms aren't too cramped, bathrooms are pretty clean. The free breakfast is just some bread and juice, but it's still a nice touch. A little bit of noise from the street, but if you go to bed tired you won't hear a thing. Overall very nice.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Bulgaria, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
17th Apr 2016
8.9

The location is perfect, but there is more to be done in terms of cleanliness and facilities. Our overall experience was positive.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Bulgaria, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
7th Apr 2016
10.0

Everything was great. I'm really content.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
6th Apr 2016
5.7

room was nice enough, but there were only two toilets for an entire floor and one shower (though it did have two shower heads) the bath rooms were not clean. the bar downstairs was great though. you get what you pay for I guess.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
5th Apr 2016
8.9

The staff is great, all of the guys are friendly and helpfull. The only thing I missed was the locker to hold my bag. Still a great value for money. I would definetly come back.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • beaumorris6638
  • Australia, Male, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
  • 24 reviews
5th Apr 2016
7.7

Right near tube station and some bars, not much atmosphere, average bathrooms, not the most comfortable bed. But Extremely good value for London and they offer week rates which is great.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
25th Mar 2016
7.1

There's one shower per floor. This is essentially one shower per three to four rooms. Three to four rooms with like eight to twelve people in it. This was frustrating. The bar inside is a decent place to hangout. The floors in the rooms seemed like they had not been mopped in a week or so.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
23rd Mar 2016
8.9

We really enjoyed our stay! The staff was nice and the Pub attached and the kitchen are great places to socialize. I liked that we were able to walk to major sights from our hostel and there were a few Pubs around to go out at night! Unfortunately the beds were a little uncomfortable, the room too hot and only one shower per floor required getting up early to score a spot in line. However, those are typical hostel-things and for what we paid it was definetly ok, especially including breakfast!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Belgium, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
18th Mar 2016
8.6

Dover Castle hostel and bar is a really nice place to stay, all people were so welcoming and there was a great athmosphere. I enjoyed watching the rugby games in the 'living room/kitchen'-area a lot and going out with some of the people who stay in the hostel as well, was really fun. Only one minus to this hostel, when I tried to shower at 6 am, there was only cold water coming out of the shower.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Chile, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
17th Mar 2016
3.4

It was good for the price, but it was really dirty, no water the first day, the wifi didnt work on the floor 4. The bed were dirty and really bad.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.