Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Dover Castle Hostel and Bar

Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Prices
map
reviews
7.2
Very Good 1,393 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.5
  • Security 7.3
  • Location 8.4
  • Staff 7.6
  • Atmosphere 6.9
  • Cleanliness 6.5
  • Facilities 6.4
BOOK NOW
7.2
Very Good 1,393 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.5
  • Security 7.3
  • Location 8.4
  • Staff 7.6
  • Atmosphere 6.9
  • Cleanliness 6.5
  • Facilities 6.4
Dover Castle Hostel and Bar Located at 6a Great Dover Street, , London.
Dover Castle Hostel and Bar
England
London SE1 4XW 6a Great Dover Street
72% 1393
51.5004214 -0.0930190
Dover Castle Hostel and Bar
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • spanlass
  • England, All Female Group, 41+
  • Avid Traveller
  • 10 reviews
18th Jul 2016
8.6

Decent hostel but stayed on the hottest day of the year so the room was stifling. I would only suggest starting breakfast earlier as it's laid out but can't go in till 8am. Staff are very helpful

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
16th Jul 2016
6.0

We stayed here during a really hot period and the whole hostel was so hot that we avoided going there except to sleep. There was no air conditioning in our room and the windows didn't open enough to cool the room down whatsoever. The showers were atrocious. Two shower heads but only one cubicle per floor. They had push buttons so you couldn't alter the temperature or have water for >10sec. We chose to shower at the local pool. Also the cleaner was so rude. Cheap but not worth it during summer.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
16th Jul 2016
4.6

Like okay.... The good news is that the staff are super nice.. But that is literally where it ends.. There is about 1 toilet on a level with about 24 people on a level. The windows don't open properly, so the room is so hot, you can't sleep after 8am. the place is old, small, and uncomfortable. You could not pay me to stay here again. I could feel the wire in the mattress springs, the hostel is on a main street, so the traffic is loud, and there isn't really a common room, only kitchen.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
12th Jul 2016
7.4

Location really is the perk of this hostel. Close to a tube station and in walking distance of many cool London places and neighborhoods. We only stayed for one night but like many London hostels this place seemed like a lot of people were living their long term, so less of a travel/party atmosphere. You can't beat the price to stay in central London though, and can spend your savings finding cool bars to drink at instead :) Only stayed for one night btw!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Austria, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
10th Jul 2016
9.4

It was very nice, the breakfast amazing, the guys working there absolutly lovlely!! The shower was a little bit strange but warm and rather clean. The Underground is 1 minute away and by feet you need about 35 min to the city centre. A good Hostel for everybody

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
9th Jul 2016
8.6

Cons Wifi only really works in the common room Showers are bad On a loud busy street Pros Location is great easy walk into central London and right next to the tube Pub has good atmosphere Free breakfast

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
7th Jul 2016
6.0

Great location! If you just want to sight see and see everything this is a great place. The showers and bathrooms are okay, nothing super great. The people at the from didn't really speak English so it was a little hard to ask them for anything. Other than that, not terrible. The rooms are kind of hot as well so be prepared for a warm night. Also, charge you're phone with either an external battery or doing during the day. All the plugs are only easily accessible from the bottom bunks.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
6th Jul 2016
7.4

On our floor there was a shower room with two shower heads, but they were not separated: one shower stall with two shower heads. There were two WC on the floor, one had a sink; one did not. Breakfast was served from 8:00 till 9:30. We had to miss breakfast because we left too early some mornings. The staff was friendly and the location convenient. The rooms were reasonably priced and that worked for our group. There was security access for the hostel and again to go up to the rooms.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
4th Jul 2016
6.9

A lot of pros and cons but overall you get your money's worth. Pros: location, free breakfast, many outlets on the walls for both upper and lower bunk beds, working wifi, very helpful staff. Cons: Weird design flaws in the shower and bathroom layout. There was only 1 shower for the entire floor, but there were 2 shower heads in it. There were 2 sinks for the entire floor, 1 in the shower room and one with a toilet. There was a second toilet on the floor without a sink in a tiny room.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
2nd Jul 2016
8.0

Cheap and cheerful. The dorm was relatively small with 5 bunkbeds jammed in. Lockers are provided for an additional cost. power points are available in the room i was in, but generally they are located over someone's bed (not mine unfortunately) but i was only staying for one night and it wasn't required. The tube station is only 2 minutes down the road so very convenient. I didn't try the bar or the breakfast so can't comment on either.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.