Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Dover Castle Hostel and Bar

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
7.4
Very Good 1,483 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.6
  • Security 7.3
  • Location 8.4
  • Staff 8.1
  • Atmosphere 7.0
  • Cleanliness 6.6
  • Facilities 6.4
BOOK NOW
7.4
Very Good 1,483 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.6
  • Security 7.3
  • Location 8.4
  • Staff 8.1
  • Atmosphere 7.0
  • Cleanliness 6.6
  • Facilities 6.4
Dover Castle Hostel and Bar Located at 6a Great Dover Street, , London.
Dover Castle Hostel and Bar
England
London SE1 4XW 6a Great Dover Street
74% 1483
51.5004214 -0.0930190
Dover Castle Hostel and Bar
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
22nd Nov 2016
9.4

Great place! Thank you!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
15th Nov 2016
3.1

Our experience in Dover Castle was well below expectations. The hostel itself was not pleasant. The rooms were unnaturally humid. The bathroom and showering facilities were disgusting, with the bathrooms having garbage everywhere and the showers were barely operational. The hotel was also not very safe. Anyone with an access code could access the common areas and often these people weren't even residents. As well, people had things stolen and the front desk could do nothing to stop it.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
5th Nov 2016
8.3

Whilst not entirely sure what Dover Castle refers to the first thing that comes to mind is a dove. Being a symbol of peace I found that there were, upon first glance, a couple of occasions where it would have been appropriate to let out a bunch of doves (or, at least, pigeons) as I glanced at some of the guests. One poor chap was lying in bed recuperating from something or other. But as it turned out it was a good hostel with peaceful guests and good staff. Bonus free drink secured peace. Pax.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
28th Oct 2016
5.1

Incredibly nosy, bathrooms were full of vomit, doors wouldn't open, etc

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Switzerland, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
21st Oct 2016
8.9

It was a great time. :)

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
11th Oct 2016
4.6

Stayed two nights because it had a good rating. I have no idea who could give this hostel a good rating. The cleanliness was questionable, the stairs seemed ready to collapse, there was only 1 toilet for a floor with 20 beds (with the sink in a totally separate space with the showers), the showers weren't private, not that there was any water pressure anyways, you had to pay for anything extra, to top it off the lock on the room didnt lock and when told the staff said it happens all the time.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
10th Oct 2016
4.9

The hostel was sketchy to say the least, smelled like rubber. Walking up three flights of stairs to a room with a lumpy mattress, a door that didn't shut and no working lights in one of the bathrooms. The staff made me feel really uncomfortable as a solo female. But, in all fairness, if you're looking for a cheap place to crash for a night I would say go for it. Otherwise, I wouldn't bother again

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
9th Oct 2016
7.7

SHOWERS! TERRIBLE TERRIBLE TERRIBLE! Eveby thing else was great; great bed, great (included) breakfast, great staff. The common area had people in it all the time (WiFi only really worked there) but the showers made you want to cry and only one for the floor.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
7th Oct 2016
4.6

Really not what expected. It was a little farther out then what I had expected. Not really secure.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
6th Oct 2016
6.0

Overall a pretty decent hostel. Conveniently located near a tube station, but not really near anything great. The pub downstairs wasn't so loud that I could hear it in my room. Points off because the lights in the bathrooms didn't always work, and the Wi-Fi didn't work on the 3rd floor (where my room was).

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.