Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Dover Castle Hostel and Bar

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
7.3
Very Good 1,506 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.6
  • Security 7.1
  • Location 8.4
  • Staff 8.1
  • Atmosphere 6.9
  • Cleanliness 6.7
  • Facilities 6.6
BOOK NOW
7.3
Very Good 1,506 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.6
  • Security 7.1
  • Location 8.4
  • Staff 8.1
  • Atmosphere 6.9
  • Cleanliness 6.7
  • Facilities 6.6
Dover Castle Hostel and Bar Located at 6a Great Dover Street, , London.
Dover Castle Hostel and Bar
England
London SE1 4XW 6a Great Dover Street
73% 1506
51.5004214 -0.0930190
Dover Castle Hostel and Bar
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
4th Jan 2017
8.0

Great place to stay because of the location, free breakfast, fun atmosphere, and staff. There are only two negative things i have to warn people about. One is the noise level is loud not only from the bar, but also from random utilities and window (constant clicking, squeaking, and this constant flushing sound). The second thing is that there is only one shower on each floor for the shared dorms making. Not only that but the showers have little pressure making it a pain to use.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
20th Dec 2016
8.3

I really enjoyed staying here. It felt homey and was a real bang for your buck. It is loud with the bat downstairs but I don't mind noise. Only thing I didn't like was the walk up of the stairs and the low water pressure in the shower.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Taiwan, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 9 reviews
16th Dec 2016
5.7

Staffs are super friendly and helpful, really appreciate that, but I'm sorry can't rate higher due to the living condition here Don't go for mixed room dorm it has bad smell and no one locks the door At morning one guy open the light while everyone is still sleeping and shouted that he lost his wallet, just crazy Reception in basement and small stairs, if you got big luggages choose other place pls or you'll regret

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
15th Dec 2016
7.4

I stayed here for three nights while visiting London. The staff (especially Juan) were really helpful. Beds were comfy enough. Showers and toilet were not too good, smelt like stale urine in both, but it was fine. Kitchen and lounge was small and kind of dank but not a big deal unless you're planning on spending loads of time in it. The bar was awesome, went every night and stayed until close. Breakfast was basic (toast, cereal, oj) but it was a good start to the day. I would stay here again!

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
6th Dec 2016
5.1

The location is the only plus for this hostel. The showers were horrid and needed fixing. The common room/kitchen were SMALL and any new guests either couldn't fit in or were intimidated by the long stay guests, who took over the common space. Paying extra for lockers, that barely fit all my valuables meant I had clothing & such disappear from my bag. Personally I prefer friendly and social hostels, this is not one of them, and as for value: I moved to a nicer place that works out to be cheaper

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 10 reviews
1st Dec 2016
6.3

Good value and locstion for a budget, but if you have some extra pennys use them to stay at a better hostel Showers need an update And the mattresses flet 100 years old probably need to update those while at it.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
25th Nov 2016
7.4

Good location in walking distance to london bridge and borough markets. Staff were helpful and friendly although I was left waiting to check out as one went on an extended smoke break! Good value and lockers available for security! Shower didn't work on the top floor but staff weren't aware, insisted they would get it sorted asap! Overall not a bad hostel, basic but comfortable.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Mexico, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
22nd Nov 2016
9.1

Great staff and good facilities!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
22nd Nov 2016
9.4

Great place! Thank you!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
15th Nov 2016
3.1

Our experience in Dover Castle was well below expectations. The hostel itself was not pleasant. The rooms were unnaturally humid. The bathroom and showering facilities were disgusting, with the bathrooms having garbage everywhere and the showers were barely operational. The hotel was also not very safe. Anyone with an access code could access the common areas and often these people weren't even residents. As well, people had things stolen and the front desk could do nothing to stop it.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.