Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Dover Castle Hostel and Bar

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
7.1
Very Good 1665 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.3
  • Security 7.3
  • Location 8.3
  • Staff 8.2
  • Atmosphere 6.8
  • Cleanliness 5.7
  • Facilities 6.1
BOOK NOW
7.1
Very Good 1665 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.3
  • Security 7.3
  • Location 8.3
  • Staff 8.2
  • Atmosphere 6.8
  • Cleanliness 5.7
  • Facilities 6.1

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • BananaCak3
  • USA, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
14th Sep 2017
7.1

All in all it was good. Nice cheap stay while being close to the city. The bar downstairs was in construction so there wasn't much of a night life there. They start cleaning the rooms at 9am whether you're awake or not. So be prepared to hear the vacuums going and them stripping the beds. Bathrooms were tight but someone cleaned them every morning. Rooms were quiet at night, no one talked and everyone respected your privacy.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Rogeer
  • Brazil, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
22nd Aug 2017
7.7

The only problem was the room is too hot. Apart from that it was a pleasant staying

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
17th Aug 2017
7.4

Located close to the London bridge and the underground. Average room, nothing special. On the day we arrived, all lockers were being used so the only secure place we could leave our bags was in the luggage room which was right in the lobby and didn't have a door.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
8th Aug 2017
4.0

The staff was unfriendly and unhelpful, and the rooms were cramped with rickety beds that fell like they were about to fall over. The bathrooms were also tiny, and there was only one shower and two bathrooms for the 3+ rooms filled with 6+ people per room on each floor. There were also really narrow stairways, and I was placed on the top floor without an elevator, meaning I had to carry my luggage up 3-4 flights of extremely narrow stairs. There was also not enough space in the rooms.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Argentina, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
29th Jul 2017
8.3

Such good people in reception,they would always greet me with a smile even when i went for ten times in a row. The brekfast is great and the atmosphere( the people you meet) also. The location is good but not the best in london. I saw staff cleaning the facilities all the time and well I had no problem with security but there were no safes in the rooms such as other hostels. The doors had locks but lets say it is not inpossible for someone to steal from you, but the people are good

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
28th Jul 2017
3.7

Breakfast was poor, shower was disgusting, I felt dirtier after showering, and staff struggled to tell me even basic things about the hostel. Lockers were paid. No atmosphere, rather dull. Only real positive was a comfy bed

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
26th Jul 2017
8.6

Good reception area arrived 11pm. Booked in very quickly & was in bed by 11.30pm. Very good location & easy to find.Needs abit up dating. Though is reflected in price..Staff very helpful...

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
24th Jul 2017
8.0

As cheap as you can get in London. Excellent location. Staff friendly.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
19th Jul 2017
6.3

The beds were not very comfortable and there are only a few showers on each floor. This hostel seems to accept older guests who did not seem to be travellers, making it a bit harder to make friends. Close to a tube station but otherwise not worth the stay. Sort of a dark and dreary place that isn't a great place to meet people.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • England, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
18th Jul 2017
9.4

Very pleased with my stay at Dover Castle Hostel. A pleasant, clean and well cared-for hostel. Good value for money in many ways. Just the kitchen - could have a couple of hand-towels, a few dish-clothes for drying dishes, and 'linen' for wiping the bench-tops and other surface around the water basins. Thank you for providing such a nice hostel at an affordable price for travellers like me. Best wishes, Anthony.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.

×