Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Dover Castle Hostel and Bar

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
7.3
Very Good 1,429 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.6
  • Security 7.3
  • Location 8.4
  • Staff 7.8
  • Atmosphere 7.0
  • Cleanliness 6.6
  • Facilities 6.6
BOOK NOW
7.3
Very Good 1,429 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.6
  • Security 7.3
  • Location 8.4
  • Staff 7.8
  • Atmosphere 7.0
  • Cleanliness 6.6
  • Facilities 6.6
Dover Castle Hostel and Bar Located at 6a Great Dover Street, , London.
Dover Castle Hostel and Bar
England
London SE1 4XW 6a Great Dover Street
73% 1429
51.5004214 -0.0930190
Dover Castle Hostel and Bar
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • gubaugutan8061
  • Spain, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
29th Aug 2016
4.9

It has only one WC per foor and two showers. Then you have to share it with 20 people more, it is difficult to clean your teeth or do your need. You can feel the iron of the mattress, it is too old or the cuality is not good. There's no cocoa in the breakfast, it's the first time I see it in a hostel. The best thing is the price, it you wanna same money this place is perfect.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
27th Aug 2016
6.6

Great location and for the price I paid it was ok. But the toilets were disgusting

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
22nd Aug 2016
7.7

I stayed in the hostel during the hottest time of the year. It was insane. My room was on the third floor and unbelievably hot. No possibility to open the window. Air con was broken. Another point is that our room nr. 7 could not be locked, due to a broken door, which is a no-go.!!!! Can someone please fix that??? However, the breakfast was really good, the staff overall helpful and the location convenient. The hostel contains pub on the ground floor, which is cool. The price is reasonable.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Italy, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
19th Aug 2016
8.0

I've stayed in this hostel in the past and I'll be there soon again. It is nice and the location is perfect, especially if you like as I do the Bankside. It could be cleaner, but it's not the staff's fault.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
16th Aug 2016
7.7

Found the hostel easily enough. Checking in was effortless. Room and beds were clean. Only one toilet for our floor and the two showers and one hand basin are in the same room so if someone is in the shower you couldn't wash your hands after using the loo. Also the disco music in the bar is very loud and goes on till 2am. Breakfast was acceptable.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Mexico, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
12th Aug 2016
7.4

Very noisy. People slam the doors and have no respect for others sleeping.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Female, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 10 reviews
11th Aug 2016
8.6

Nice hostel, friendly people, good location. The beds were pretty uncomfortable and the bathrooms weren't ideal in terms of keeping clothes dry, but it was worth the money.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
28th Jul 2016
7.4

We didn't feel welcome, specially when we tried to change from the bunk on top to the one on the bottom because my sister had hurt her back and the guy in charge said nothing could be done, even with empty beds. It also didn't help that it was on top of a bar. Too noisy. And beds in bad conditions. Seriously, fix those ladders o the bunk beds.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
27th Jul 2016
6.9

Nice place and staff. Good location. Worst for sleeping: all rooms by the street. Terribly noisy!!!

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
26th Jul 2016
8.9

Staff was great, location was a bit out of the way but walkable from the main areas of London. Free breakfast in the morning was crazy good -- juices, toast, cereal, I think there may have even been some hot foods, I forget. But everyone was there, it was like a huge social. Not too happy that there were no lockers in the room and they charged extra to access one, but eh, I think it was like 1 quid.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.