Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Dover Castle Hostel and Bar

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
7.2
Very Good 1550 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.1
  • Security 7.3
  • Location 8.3
  • Staff 8.2
  • Atmosphere 6.8
  • Cleanliness 6.2
  • Facilities 6.1
BOOK NOW
7.2
Very Good 1550 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.1
  • Security 7.3
  • Location 8.3
  • Staff 8.2
  • Atmosphere 6.8
  • Cleanliness 6.2
  • Facilities 6.1

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
21st Mar 2017
7.7

The bar was popping off all night! If I didn't have to leave in the morning it would have been the hottest spot in town on a Tuesday!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • pedroefs
  • Brazil, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
11th Mar 2017
10.0

Very nice location, next to a tube station, you can walk and in a few minutes you have Tower Bridge. There is a very nice market very close to the hostel, it's the Borough Market. You have everything there, vegetables, meat, flowers, you can eat differents kinds of food etc. It's a very nice hostel.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, All Male Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
10th Mar 2017
5.1

Have to pay for lockers to lock stuff, not sufficient space in the room or outlets, showers are horrible have to push button every 10 seconds for water no pressure, facilities are sub-par 1 shower for more than 40 people and did not work for half the time we were there.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
9th Mar 2017
5.4

I almost fell on a broken step on the stairs. The whole place felt dirty and unsafe.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
9th Mar 2017
6.6

They overbooked so we were moved to Cricketers which is a sister hostel. Roughly 40 people in that building and only 1 sink. No mirrors in the bathrooms. Social atmosphere was nonexistent until we went to the Dover castle bar during a rugby match. Beds were comfortable but very close together. For the price, not terrible but I probably wouldn't stay here again.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
3rd Mar 2017
3.4

The location was very close to a Tube stop but that was the only thing good about this hostel. The sheets didn't seem to be changed and the doors to the rooms didn't close or lock properly. It was falling apart inside the room and there were no outlets to charge your phone in the room. Very overpriced for what you get. The breakfast was just two kinds of cereal and toast.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
1st Mar 2017
6.9

The staff didn't put us all in the same room, even though we all booked for the same room. The bathrooms were lacking soap (and sinks). The room I was in only had two outlets and the lockers (located outside the rooms) were not big enough.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
3rd Feb 2017
6.0

It was OK. Cheap. Get what you pay for. Place is dingey and the pop music pub isn't my style. There was someone asleep in my bed when I arrived so its a bit loose I guess. Again, it's cheap and it's a bed and it has all the basics. It's grand.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
31st Jan 2017
9.7

I only stayed one night and I enjoyed it. Everyone was welcoming and it was clean. It got pretty loud in the bar. Everything became quiet around midnight, so it wasn't so bad.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
28th Jan 2017
8.3

Great spot. Wi-fi and showers are the only downside. Wi-fi signal was weak on second floor and showers were weak too. Everything else was great. Lockers fit a packed schoolbag for only £1 a day. Beds were very comfortable. Duvet, pillow and linen provided. Staff was friendliest staff I've come across in a hostel.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.