Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Dover Castle Hostel and Bar

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
7.1
Very Good 1631 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.1
  • Security 7.5
  • Location 8.3
  • Staff 8.3
  • Atmosphere 6.9
  • Cleanliness 5.8
  • Facilities 6.0
BOOK NOW
7.1
Very Good 1631 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.1
  • Security 7.5
  • Location 8.3
  • Staff 8.3
  • Atmosphere 6.9
  • Cleanliness 5.8
  • Facilities 6.0

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • JackDavies
  • Australia, Male, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 12 reviews
18th Jul 2017
7.4

Breakfast was ok, bunks were ok, very hot during the day and showers were kind of annoying (the single button ones). Pretty good area and people. Some old couples visiting also, but no creepy old dudes living there from what I saw.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Russia, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
16th Jul 2017
7.4

The hostel was very cheap and I stayed only one night so I was not very troubled by the facilities, but I wouldn't stay much longer than that. The location was great: right near the metro station and close to the lovely Borough market. The staff were very friendly and helpful. The bedsheets were clean, but the hostel on the whole is pretty old and unrenovated. The toilet was dirty. The lockers can only be found on the -1 floor. Wifi didn't work for me.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
14th Jul 2017
7.4

Good for a nights sleep. Wouldn't want to stay there if I was on an extended visit to London. Two toilets, with no TP, and one shower on my floor. Expensive, but good value for London.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Mixed Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
9th Jul 2017
6.9

Rooms are clean but the shower and toilet facilities are lacking. 2 toilets and 2 showers per floor? For potentially 20+ people... the first night the lock on the shower door and one toilet were both broken and not fixed in the 4 days we were there after. They do laundry but at their own pace, took them over 24 hours to do one load for me. Wi-Fi is good and the pub does great food and drink at good prices.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
5th Jul 2017
6.0

I am not one to give bad reviews. But Please know, this Hostel was dirty. I saw feces on the wall in two different bathrooms. The showers are push button, the beds are rickety and when someone moves it disturbs the other person. It seems there are people living here and they clean, but are not staff. They seemed nice enough and one did a better job than the others. They should hire someone. In addition there is very little communal space and it houses a lot of guests.More to say but no space

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
5th Jul 2017
4.3

Incredibly hot with no AC or fans, showers don't drain and all the water from both showers collects on the entire floor. Horrendous mold smells in room. Overall just gross. Don't stay here unless you are an old male.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
2nd Jul 2017
9.7

Staff is very helpful and friendly. Place is clean. I like the diversification of ages and cultures at this Hostel. Would highly recommend to others. kitchen availablity was fantastic. The 24 hour access, is greatly helpful. A pet peeve of mine, is when there is no A/C, open the windows for some kind of air movement. Roommates didn't like that idea. Otherwise thrilled they accept, older clientele.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
25th Jun 2017
6.3

Honestly its the cheapest place you could stay in all of London. You get what you pay for, but you get breakfast and a place to shower and sleep. Not clean or spatious, upper floors are unbearable when it is hot (all the people in my 10 man/woman room slept in their undwear without blankets for 3 nights). Right next to Borough market and the train station, not a bad place for how cheap it is.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • MattHart87
  • Australia, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
24th Jun 2017
4.0

Was really dirty and gross. Way overpriced. Cold showers. We had to leave and stay with friends because the dorm smelt so bad.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
20th Jun 2017
7.1

I loved and hated this hostel. I'll start with the bad. There was no a.c., And the Windows didn't open very much so I sweated ALL night. A LOT. it was very hard to sleep. The beds were comfy, but the room was not very clean, and the bathroom was GROSS. The shower you had to push a button to get water to come out for like five seconds and then the pressure sucked. The good: breakfast was awesome, the location was perfect for the tube and restaurants. they did do laundry there for $5

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.