X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Dover Castle Hostel and Bar Reviews

6a Great Dover Street, London, England

Reviews & Ratings Explained

72%

Rating
1037 Total Reviews
  • 74%Value For Money
  • 73%Security
  • 88%Location
  • 76%Staff
  • 68%Atmosphere
  • 65%Cleanliness
  • 62%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

80%

This is my second time here and it has improved, the guy at the desk was one of the friendliest I've encountered at a hostel and the room allocated was one of the (comparatively) largest i've seen at a hostel, as was the bed, which was also allocated. Lockers were only £1, the breakfast was basic and served in the bar downstairs, which is large but not comfortable. The only downside is the noise from the bar downstairs throughout the night but that isn't the hostels fault.


77%

Internet y desayuno gratis. Bien ubicado, es decir hay atracciones cerca pero en una ciudad como Londres siempre habrá cosas que queden lejos. Hay un pub en la parte de abajo con buen ambiente y te dan una bebida de cortesía por estar hospedado en el hostal.


77%

The hostel is clean and the staff is very helpful, the only thing that we found disturbing is the shower situations, at the third floor there isn't hot water in them, and in every case they are very small and unconfortable. The toilettes are very clean but there are only a few and very small. But eventually, seen the price and the position of the hostel, I'm very happy of my choice.

  • 3rd Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Italy
  • All Male Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


89%

We had a great stay at Dover Castle. The room was clean and spacious. We were on the first floor and therefore could hear the music from the pub until they turned it off at 2 am, but that was something we were aware of if you book a hostel over a bar and it didn't disturb us. One toilet and two showers on our floor which was totally alright as there were only two rooms. The kitchen looked really nice too although we always ate out. The location was absolutely great! We would come here again!

  • 12th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


91%

The place is nice. If you have a lot of euros and you want to convert them to pounds they do it there for a good rate too. Going up to the 3rd floor old be a hassle just make a note of that!

  • 6th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


94%

was a good place to stay,seems to attract honesty,never had any fears of stealing,even food .could do with more showers!!


43%

the black guy at the reception is kind of rude with a weird ego. he made me wait for about half an hour and checked-in 3 girls before me. the rest is ok, a typical average hostel.


69%

Overall fine stay. tips: oil the bedroom doors they make lot of noise and how about small dim lights in the rooms? Btw wifi is not available on the 3rd floor.

  • 24th Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)


80%

Beds were a little noisy and wifi range wasn't enough to the top floor but otherwise only positive things. Very good location near the borough tube station. Staff was friendly, the noise from the pub downstairs wasn't annoying at all (depends ofc the floor u are living) and free breakfast was a nice plus. Facilities should be updated but everything worked fine (hot water from the shower etc.)

  • 23rd Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Finland
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


63%

The building was old but clean. The staff was very friendly! When there were no adapters available, they offered that we'd buy one at the shop around the corner and that they would reimburse the cost for the adapter, so that really helped us out. The beds were quite uncomfortable however, and there were not nearly enough showers. On our floor, there were 4 dorms but there were only 2 showers available (only 1if you don't like showering with a friend) for over 20 people.


60%

Em termos de localização dá para ir a pé até Tower Bridge ou Tate Museum O Café da Manhã é simples, mas razoável. Lockers estão disponíveis se você pagar e não há elevador. Pelo preço, eu buscaria outro hostel.


43%

Péssimo atendimento com funcionários ríspidos (exceto de um específico funcionário: educado e acolhedor - não me recordo o nome, infelizmente), estrutura ruim e sinal de wifi limitadíssimo! Café da manhã fraco! Não indicaria a ninguém e não retornaria. Dica: no quarteirão ao lado há um hostel chamado "St Christopher's Village": Preço bacana, excelente estrutura e ótimo atendimento.


63%

The facility is totally inadequate, not enough showers, and those which there are barely work (among other deficiencies). The staff were fine, but this place is only really tolerable if you like 3am hallway parties (I don't).


83%

Excelente opción para una ciudad tan cara como Londres. No tuvimos ningún problema por el cual reclamar, sólo el desayuno podría ser más variado, pero dentro del precio creo que está bien, y quizá se podría mejorar de alguna manera la aislación acústica, ya que se escucha la música del bar en la noche, pero se todas maneras se puede dormir. La ubicación también es buena, caminando 10 minutos ya se está en la rivera del Támesis. Totalmente recomendado


86%

Andrebbero rivisti i bagni e doccia, per il resto tutto ok!

  • 24th Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Italy
  • Couple, 18-24
  • (1 review)


20%

no comment..


63%

Poor bathroom, but is secure, hot wate, near to tube.


66%

A localização é ótima e o café da manhã tambem.. Mas a instalação é velha e ruim.. Não tinha tomadas funcionando no quarto para eu recarregar meu celular...

  • 12th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


69%

When you first enter the hostel, walking down the stairs, if felt very clandestine like I was about to play a game of illegal poker. However this feeling was unwarranted as the staff was very nice as were the people I shared a room with. The bedrooms were a bit small and the facilities a bit shabby but all in all it was fine.

  • 6th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


94%

De inicio pense que podía no ser lo suficientemente limpio pero de forma diaria asean todo el lugar, siempre hay personal con quien dirigirse, esta muy bien ubicado y la he pasado genial ya que me instale en el 3er piso por lo que no hay ruido que me impida dormir.. De hecho la he pasado tan bien qué extendí mi registro y sigo hospedada en el hostal. Es una excelente opción!!!

  • 31st Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Mexico
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


« first « Prev 1 2
(32 results)


View all London Hostels

Please give us your feedback