Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Down Under Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.7
Fabulous 632 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.6
  • Security 8.2
  • Location 9.6
  • Staff 8.6
  • Atmosphere 8.5
  • Cleanliness 8.5
  • Facilities 8.7
BOOK NOW
8.7
Fabulous 632 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.6
  • Security 8.2
  • Location 9.6
  • Staff 8.6
  • Atmosphere 8.5
  • Cleanliness 8.5
  • Facilities 8.7

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Sweden, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
23rd May 2017
10.0

Best hostel ever :) DJ twice a week, Free BBQ, Free Laundry, Free Wifi and very good facilities. Thanks Down Under :)

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • SwissMia
  • Switzerland, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
23rd May 2017
10.0

Super nice hostel. One of my favourite so far. My bed was comfortable and the room was clean. The hostel has some very good facilities with free laundry and free (fast) wifi. On Wednesday and Saturday they make a free bbq for everyone. This was a nice touch. You must go on one of the pub crawls. Was a lot of fun. This is also on Wednesday and Saturday nights. I high recommend staying here.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Poland, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
9th May 2017
10.0

My friend and I stayed here and had a very good time. Nice hostel with friendly staff and people. It was very close to the bus stop, beach and clubs. We will come back.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • AnastazjaN90
  • Poland, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
9th May 2017
10.0

Such a cool hostel. Nicest one i've stayed in so far in Australia. The price is also very good. You should stay here.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
9th May 2017
10.0

Free laundry... do I need to say anymore! For me this was amazing. To make it better the wifi was also free and fast. I stayed on the lower level of the hostel which has all brand new facilities so this was nice. Upstairs was also nice, clean and comfortable. If you want to party they have an amazing party room and is BYO alcohol. This was a lot of fun. Highly recommend.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
6th May 2017
6.3

I was really lucky to get a bottom bunk bed, because they were a bigger size. And the common area was really nice. But everything else wasn't nice at all. To less space in the fridges, only two pots in the kitchen, the kitchen was smelly when I arrived and the bins were more than full. The toilets weren't clean eiter. The soap was empty for 24 hours even the "cleaned" it. No lockers in the rooms and we could only lock our door from the inside, so every time we left we had to leave the door open.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 14 reviews
5th May 2017
8.6

Free laundry was a winner and it was located smack in the centre of where you needed to be. Cheap bed and a decent hostel bar too!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for your feedback. Happy Travels :)

  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 17 reviews
3rd May 2017
7.7

PROS: Good location, comfy beds, clean kitchen, nice chill out area, good wifi CONS: No lockers so had to leave valuables in the room which was normally unlocked, free washing machine and dryer but they didn't work and had to hang all my wet clothes out to dry for two days which was annoying, not enough fridge space

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for the feedback. Glad you enjoyed the facilities. We have plans to upgrade all of the rooms with lockers. Just takes time.. sorry... Unfortunately with the free machines we were using they were breaking. We have now upgrade to commercial washing machines and dryers. They are still free of course but will not break down. Hopefully you come back to try them. Happy Travels :)

2nd May 2017
8.0

Pretty good hostel if you're looking somewhere central and cheap - good facilities too (free laundry is particularly nice). Staff were decent enough and the place was usually tidy. Slightly noisy roommates but given the vibe of surfers paradise I think you'll struggle to find a quiet hostel anywhere haha! I'd stay again :)

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for the feedback. Glad you enjoyed your stay. Happy Travels :)

30th Apr 2017
7.4

Decent hostel, not the greatest, couldn't find any spoons in kitchen so ate cereal wish fork. Really close to Bus station and beach and main shopping street though.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.