Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Down Under Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.8
Fabulous 736 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.9
  • Security 8.4
  • Location 9.6
  • Staff 8.6
  • Atmosphere 8.6
  • Cleanliness 8.6
  • Facilities 8.8
BOOK NOW
8.8
Fabulous 736 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.9
  • Security 8.4
  • Location 9.6
  • Staff 8.6
  • Atmosphere 8.6
  • Cleanliness 8.6
  • Facilities 8.8

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
18th Sep 2017
4.9

I might stay there again if they paid me. Pros- good location (if you like surfers) dirty blonde guy at front desk was friendly & helpful so I have good vibes from staff. Cons- worst pathetic pillow I've ever had. Loud & obnoxious through out the night hard to sleep. Don't get a room near street Ppl livin there long term so people's stuff EVERYWHERE including common areas Hard to meet ppl if solo traveler cause everyone has their friends already not inviting May help if you speak French it seems

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • annaschulz
  • Denmark, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
17th Sep 2017
4.3

Me and my boyfriend stayed at Down Under for two nights. Upon arrival we we're greeted by a rather tired staff. We got assigned to 4 person dorm, this dorm was filthy to say at least; carpet hasn't been properly cleaned and long term guest allowed to have too old and smelly food in the dorm. The same goes for the kitchen. Party going on every night and almost all night, despite their own rules stating "No noise after 10pm", because the staff party themselves with no respect to other guest.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
15th Sep 2017
4.0

The common area was very messy, along with my room, we also had an all girl dorm, but one of the workers there, a guy, was with a girl in our room and was there for a very long time so we could t change in our room, he left when we went to bed. Overall not great, pictures online are very misleading.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
11th Sep 2017
2.0

Horrible place. place is advertised as party hostel. We go out, return to the hostel at about 3 am, decide that we are hungry so we go to the kitchen to grab some bread and avocado. In this process, the night manager was sleeping on the couch and naturally he woke up as we weren't the most quiet people. He starts arguing with us, and getting in our face. Doesn't even want to let me turn on the light! Next time he shouldn't sleep at work and get but hurt when woken up. they kept our deposit.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 2.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
4th Sep 2017
9.4

When I walked into the Downunder Hostel in the Gold Coast, Qld, I was greeted with a welcoming smile and a very friendly reception. The staff never hesitated to help me, I appreciate that. The facilities and appliances are accessible and in working order. Anonymous

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Female, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 11 reviews
27th Aug 2017
9.7

Loved my stay here! 14 bed dorm was fun, stuff everywhere tho & NO lockers. Still felt safe since ppl were relaxed. Overall atmosphere great, party hostel w/ beer pong. Insanely nice kitchen+common area. Free laundry rocked! Wifi worked okay. Free barbecue dinner one night alright. A lot of activities offered. Staff helpful with everything-super cool! Free iMacs to use. Clean and many bathrooms. If you are looking for a party atmosphere, go for it. But even if you want to chill, that's fine!!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, All Male Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
17th Aug 2017
8.3

Need to be able to control the aircon and the light from the windows in the morning

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
13th Aug 2017
8.6

Good people, long term people are up to make friends instead of shutting backpackers out. Great party hostel, beautiful people and great deals with the hostels crawls. Byob is allowed.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

We are glad you enjoyed your stay and appreciate the review. Happy travels :)

  • louisebrooks
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
11th Aug 2017
4.3

Rude reception. No window in room.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for the review. We are sorry to hear you felt this way. We take all reviews on board and try to improve where necessary. All the best and happy travels :)

  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
6th Aug 2017
6.6

Not so friendly staff environment was very confused as to what was happening upon entry. The rooms are tiny for the amount of people that are staying in them. You get what you pay for.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.

×