X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels!

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Downhill Beachhouse Reviews

Glenhassan Hall, 12 Mussenden Road, Downhill, Castlerock, Northern Ireland

Reviews & Ratings Explained

93%

Rating
476 Total Reviews
  • 87%Value For Money
  • 90%Security
  • 100%Location
  • 97%Staff
  • 97%Atmosphere
  • 92%Cleanliness
  • 92%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

97%

Overall excellent place to stay, home from home. :) Great views, great beach, relaxed atmosphere. Very helpfully staff.

  • 19th Jul 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


100%

Very nice hostel at a wonderfull beach. We enjoyed it very much!

  • 17th Jul 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Switzerland
  • Couple, 41+
  • (1 review)


100%

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Downhill Hostel. William was very welcoming and helpful. There were two dining rooms which allowed you the choice to mingle with others or have your own space. Our room was spacious and beds were comfy. The location is beautiful with the beach on your doorstep. We'd love to return one day... Hopefully we luck out and the fog clears away!

  • 9th Jul 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Mixed Group, 31-40
  • (1 review)


100%

It's the best hostel that we've seen. The staff, place and instalations are excellents. We'll come back as soon as possible.


100%

Such a beautiful location, a true gem to stumble upon. While they have a few hostel-style dorm room, my wife and I stayed in a gorgeous room perfect for two - over looking the beach and sea. More of a BandB (except you have to cook your own breakfast in their GIANT kitchen). Quickly becoming one of our favorite places to stay in Northern Ireland.

  • 3rd Jul 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)


91%

A beautifully situated Hostel with friendly helpful staff & amazing views. Would highly recommend.

  • 2nd Jul 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Northern Ireland
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


97%

We loved the location and the helpfulness of William for every aspect of our stay. Very spacious hostel, and well maintained. We had a fabulous time, and will definitely be back again.

  • 28th Jun 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


97%

A lovely hostel in every respect - beautiful building & decor, well situated, comfortable, well-appointed, friendly, reasonably priced. Our only quibbles were the lack of an electric kettle and the lack of a bike shed. (I think the latter was in process of being replaced). Also, we weren't sure how to contact the owners if we needed to ask anything, though when they were in the building they were most helpful. We'd definitely recommend Downhill Hostel.


89%

great place for driving, close to the downhill beach. It is quite cold cause it's near the sea

  • 22nd Jun 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • China
  • Couple, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

wonderful location - simple, clean, unfussy, a very accommodating host - we'd hoped to see him at check-out to thank him personally for sending us to Narnia. Thanks again for a memorable stay.

  • 17th Jun 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Mixed Group, 41+
  • (1 review)


97%

We had a great stay and will definitely recommend Downhill Hostel to everyone going to Northern Ireland and the Causeway Coast. The hostel is really nice, clean and situated in a very nice place. The beach and the sunset were awesome! We would have liked to stay a little longer. Thx!!!


97%

I think this is the best hostel I have ever stayed in. The location was absolutely beautiful, right on the beach with a waterfall two minutes from the hostel. The showers were great and the locks on the doors are a great idea (it is done by a code rather than a key). William met us on arrival and gave us some great advice about the Giant's Causeway and other places to go. It was lovely to have that kind of local advice. I would reccomend this hostel to anyone!

  • 27th May 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


97%

The location was absolutely amazing. William was extremely kind and had excellent advise for site seeing.

  • 19th May 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


97%

First hostel in the UK we have stayed at. What a fantastic surprise, a great setting lovely restored house. We liked it so much we stayed an extra day.

  • 19th May 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Mixed Group, 41+
  • (1 review)


100%

Downhill Hostel is one of the best hostel I've ever been. The location is awesome, rooms are confortable with an amazing view (we slept in the dorm), the kitchen is big and well equipped and the staff is friendly and gave us very useful advice about what to visit in the area. I definitely recommend it!


100%

Clean, tidy very friendly. Fab!!!

  • 28th Apr 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


100%

Each time i go to Northern Ireland, i can't help going back to Downhill for one night ! And each time, it's a great moment !

  • 18th Apr 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


100%

In all the traveling I've done in Northern Ireland, Ireland and the rest of the world, of all the hostels, bed & breakfast's and hotels I've stayed in, I enjoy being at the Downhill Hostel most. It's more than the facilities, the staff, the location or anything I've rated above. All of the above is taken care of so well that you can relax and enjoy being in the place and, just being. It's comfortable, quiet and well-placed. The hospitality is second to none and so is this hostel. Get there!

  • 16th Apr 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Couple, 31-40
  • (1 review)


100%

Excellent hostel - location cannot be beat - neither can the friendliness and helpfulness of staff. Will definitely be returning to Downhill!

  • 2nd Apr 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • All Female Group, 31-40
  • (1 review)


86%

The fact that there wasn't a basic supply of milk was thirsty work. I know that breakfast is not offered but to not get a basic cup of tea was disappointing. And it made no sense to buy a whole pack of butter for 2 toasted rolls so the most important meal of the day also a dry anticlimax. Have you thought about providing a communal supply of milk &butter? Too expensive? As a 1 night resident I'd happily put 20p in the kitty for a dribble of milk and scoop of butter. Worth a thought.


(350 results)


View all Castlerock Hostels

Please give us your feedback