X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Downhill Beachhouse Reviews

Glenhassan Hall, 12 Mussenden Road, Downhill, Castlerock, Northern Ireland

Reviews & Ratings Explained

90%

Rating
479 Total Reviews
  • 82%Value For Money
  • 87%Security
  • 98%Location
  • 93%Staff
  • 91%Atmosphere
  • 89%Cleanliness
  • 89%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

100%

Downhill Hostel has been nominated by guides the best hostel in Noerthern Ireland and I now understand why! The location is perfect, on a beautiful long beach, William the owner is very nice, the kitchen etc are very convenient, the room was lovely. It's much better than an average hostel, you have the most amazing view and the price is not even too expensive!! The only thing is that you have to book in advance...

  • 15th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Luxembourg
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


94%

This was an amazing change of pace from a traditional hostel experience. The room was quiet and the other guests were respectful. I will recommend this hostel to everyone going to Northern Ireland. I would love to come back and stay for weeks.

  • 14th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


91%

Excellent attention, plus a very friendly atmosphere. It was a pitty we couldn't get the room with seasight... I would strongly recommend it to friends and it's likely for us to repeat.

  • 8th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Spain
  • Couple, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

Very nice hostel at a wonderful beach. And also very nice staff. When we left in the morning, we unfortunately didn't have the time to say "thanks" and "bye" to William (the owner), so we do it now on that way!


The reviews below do not count toward the property's recent rating.
Hide older reviews
100%

Great kitchen, very informative and friendly owner, lovely location, highly recommended!


97%

Delighted with this place! Amazing location!! Just one tip, there's no shops too nearby so come prepared!!


100%

Wonderful location, awesome staff - William & McCall are awesome. The rooms are great and kitchen is well equipped. Internet is super reliable.


100%

Downhill is an amazing hostel in a beautiful area. They are accommodating, kind and the property is fabulous. I would come here every time I'm in Ireland.


97%

Really nice location I would be there in summer !


94%

Really homely hostel with friendly staff, well-kept rooms and amazing views of the sea. Great cooking facilities and right beside the sea.

  • 29th Sep 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Northern Ireland
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


89%

Very good and helpful staff. Lovely site, well suited to the purpose.

  • 22nd Sep 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Couple, 41+
  • (1 review)


100%

Really excellent place and very friendly owner.

  • 8th Sep 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


100%

The host, William, had great tips on getting the most value from the area's attractions.Downhill Hostel is located on a beautiful strand with a great view. The kitchen is large enough for many guests to prepare meals at one time. The rooms are clean and cozy. It would be nice to have a tea pot and cups in the room.

  • 3rd Sep 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Couple, 41+
  • (1 review)


100%

Quite possibly the best hostel in Ireland, excellent facilities and a truly wonderful location, memorable for all the right reasons, and a credit to the owners.


100%

We loved our stay at Downhill Hostel! It is in an absolutely beautiful location, the staff is very friendly, and the house is very clean. I want to go back!

  • 1st Sep 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

Fantastic accommodation in a beautiful location

  • 26th Aug 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

Wonderful hostel, very welcoming, great facilites and a lovely place for a holiday. Thanks for a great stay.

  • 25th Aug 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Northern Ireland
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


94%

This hostel is a gem and all the awards are well deserved. It is an old house with loads of character but it is the location that makes it really special. It is almost on the beach as all the photographs verify. The owner is very friendly and knowledgeable about the area. A small quibble would be that it is a pity that he does not open the front door. It is a pain to be dragging your luggage through the kitchen and living room to get to the stairs.


100%

We love Downhill hostel and go there with our four year old at least once a year. She loves it and calls it 'our beachouse', it is right on the beach after all! Fantastic location, friendly staff and comfortable rooms. What's not to like? Looking forward to our next visit.

  • 25th Aug 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Northern Ireland
  • Couple, 31-40
  • (1 review)


100%

This is a fab place to stay, william was very helpful. I'll be coming back for sure. Great beach walks, mussenden temple is worth a visit as is the walk to Castlerock. The local bus service from outside hostel not great but Tony's cab was great as was his daughters coffee shop in Castlerock.

  • 24th Aug 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Globallol
  • Ireland
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


« first « Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7
(352 results)


View all Castlerock Hostels

Please give us your feedback