X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million Guest Reviews 21 million bookings

Downhill Beachhouse Reviews

Glenhassan Hall, 12 Mussenden Road, Downhill, Castlerock, Northern Ireland

Reviews & Ratings Explained

93%

Rating
474 Total Reviews
  • 88%Value For Money
  • 92%Security
  • 100%Location
  • 95%Staff
  • 95%Atmosphere
  • 92%Cleanliness
  • 92%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

100%

Very nice hostel at a wonderful beach. And also very nice staff. When we left in the morning, we unfortunately didn't have the time to say "thanks" and "bye" to William (the owner), so we do it now on that way!


100%

Great kitchen, very informative and friendly owner, lovely location, highly recommended!


97%

Delighted with this place! Amazing location!! Just one tip, there's no shops too nearby so come prepared!!


100%

Wonderful location, awesome staff - William & McCall are awesome. The rooms are great and kitchen is well equipped. Internet is super reliable.


100%

Downhill is an amazing hostel in a beautiful area. They are accommodating, kind and the property is fabulous. I would come here every time I'm in Ireland.


The reviews below do not count toward the property's recent rating.
Hide older reviews
97%

Really nice location I would be there in summer !


94%

Really homely hostel with friendly staff, well-kept rooms and amazing views of the sea. Great cooking facilities and right beside the sea.

  • 29th Sep 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Northern Ireland
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


89%

Very good and helpful staff. Lovely site, well suited to the purpose.

  • 22nd Sep 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Couple, 41+
  • (1 review)


100%

Really excellent place and very friendly owner.

  • 8th Sep 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


100%

The host, William, had great tips on getting the most value from the area's attractions.Downhill Hostel is located on a beautiful strand with a great view. The kitchen is large enough for many guests to prepare meals at one time. The rooms are clean and cozy. It would be nice to have a tea pot and cups in the room.

  • 3rd Sep 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Couple, 41+
  • (1 review)


100%

Quite possibly the best hostel in Ireland, excellent facilities and a truly wonderful location, memorable for all the right reasons, and a credit to the owners.


100%

We loved our stay at Downhill Hostel! It is in an absolutely beautiful location, the staff is very friendly, and the house is very clean. I want to go back!

  • 1st Sep 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

Fantastic accommodation in a beautiful location

  • 26th Aug 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

Wonderful hostel, very welcoming, great facilites and a lovely place for a holiday. Thanks for a great stay.

  • 25th Aug 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Northern Ireland
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


94%

This hostel is a gem and all the awards are well deserved. It is an old house with loads of character but it is the location that makes it really special. It is almost on the beach as all the photographs verify. The owner is very friendly and knowledgeable about the area. A small quibble would be that it is a pity that he does not open the front door. It is a pain to be dragging your luggage through the kitchen and living room to get to the stairs.


100%

We love Downhill hostel and go there with our four year old at least once a year. She loves it and calls it 'our beachouse', it is right on the beach after all! Fantastic location, friendly staff and comfortable rooms. What's not to like? Looking forward to our next visit.

  • 25th Aug 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Northern Ireland
  • Couple, 31-40
  • (1 review)


100%

This is a fab place to stay, william was very helpful. I'll be coming back for sure. Great beach walks, mussenden temple is worth a visit as is the walk to Castlerock. The local bus service from outside hostel not great but Tony's cab was great as was his daughters coffee shop in Castlerock.

  • 24th Aug 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Globallol
  • Ireland
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


100%

One of the nicest Hostels that we stayed. The Hostel was located right on the Beach with a cliff behind it, spectacular!! The Hostel is a converted 1700's house and was immaculate. It was decorated with original paintings and fused glass art that made staying there special. The beach is a few miles long with the backdrop of cliffs and waterfalls.. What a beautiful location! Wish we had more time to spend a few extra days.

  • 24th Aug 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Couple, 41+
  • (1 review)


89%

A warm welcome from guests and hostel owners alike coupled with Great tourist information. Especially liked the international mix of residents from Europe and America alike; good opportunity to converse in French etc.,ideal location near the beach if one decides to have a day off from the sight seeing.Overall a great experience for a family coupled within greatest value. Sure tip returning again.

  • 20th Aug 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


94%

It was the welcome, the homliness ,the atmosphere, that impressed us most. The relaxing effect is immediate and the location is just stunning. We hope they keep up the no Television policy as it greatly adds to spontaneous conversations among the guests! William and Macaully were so welcoming and had time to chat to everyone. They also gave us wonderful info and direction on places of interest in the area as well as bus schedules etc.


« first « Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7
(349 results)


View all Castlerock Hostels

Please give us your feedback