Hostelworld.com

Downtown Backpackers Hostel Bratislava

Prices
map
reviews
8.0
Fabulous 1,392 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.4
  • Security 7.8
  • Location 8.7
  • Staff 8.2
  • Atmosphere 7.8
  • Cleanliness 7.7
  • Facilities 7.6
BOOK NOW
8.0
Fabulous 1,392 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.4
  • Security 7.8
  • Location 8.7
  • Staff 8.2
  • Atmosphere 7.8
  • Cleanliness 7.7
  • Facilities 7.6
Downtown Backpackers Hostel Bratislava Located at Panenska 31, , Bratislava.
Downtown Backpackers Hostel Bratislava
Slovakia
Bratislava SK-811 04 Panenska 31
80% 1392
48.1482141 17.1059596
Downtown Backpackers Hostel Bratislava
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Mixed Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 9 reviews
23rd Apr 2016
9.4

Helpful staff, nice hostel. Cheap bar/restaurant on site with good food

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
19th Mar 2016
8.0

The facilities themselves are great and I always felt safe. Unfortunately the hostel doesn't do much in terms of organizing social events, or if they did they didn't advertise it that well. It's a big place so it's that much harder to get close to people as well. Even so, the hostel has a great location and you're practically in the middle of the city.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Austria, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
22nd Jan 2016
9.1

Very nice people and friendly staff Excellent kitchen

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

thank you for your rating, we like to hear you spent nice time in our hostel:) DBH

4th Jan 2016
7.1

Good location very near to the historic city center. The building itself was kind of dark and creepy, and on our floor there were several dorms sharing 2 toilets and 2 showers. Considering that they saw a lot of traffic, the bathrooms were relatively clean. The kitchen and common room area were very cosy, and the pub downstairs seemed to be doing a good business. The building was certainly historic... So was the security system. For a one night stay it was a good value.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hello, sorry, days during the winter are short and more darky, on each floor we have lights with motion sensors. So they suppossed to turn on always as they catch some move. But understand, it would be better with daily light. anyways thanks for commentary :) DBH

  • Anonymous
  • Singapore, Couple, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 12 reviews
28th Dec 2015
8.6

Location was quite far from the bus station and the central train station, but very good deal for such a low price. Would stay again, free use of washing machine as I brought my own washing powder.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Really? Because, its just 2 stops with a bus from main train station :). But thanks for rating, and looking forward to see you here next time. DBH

  • BrendaPasson
  • Brazil, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 9 reviews
28th Dec 2015
9.7

Not a bad thing to say about Downtown Backpackers! Just loved it!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

we are happy to hear you liked it here :). see you soon DBH

  • marcotuliocastro10
  • Brazil, Male, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 11 reviews
28th Dec 2015
5.7

good location. very not clean. old hostel

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hello, thanks for the review. First thing, that is the charm of this hostel that it is old building and we are trying to make best of it. We are sorry, that you did not like it, well each person has different tastes :)

  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Mixed Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
26th Dec 2015
8.0

Malvina works behind the bar- she is awesome. So helpful and full of things for you to do whilst in Bratislava. The restaurant attached to the hostel is amazing. Locals come here- I recommend you get amongst them because they know how to drink. Good atmosphere at the hostel however was noisy at night with it being quite communal. Overall I would stay here again and recommend it to others travelers.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you and we are happy you liked it in here, hopefully we will see you here again soon :)

  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
8th Dec 2015
4.6

Really dull staff. Dark place throughout. Cramped showers with no electric plug in. 1 power adaptor for the room, come on guys!

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hello, our staff is trying always to be friendly and helpful to our guests. If you found our behaviour "dull", well, sorry for it... what can I can say more. Althought quite negative commentary, I hope there was at least one thing you enjoyed :) Have a nice day DBH

26th Nov 2015
8.0

The Hostel was good overall, clean and spacious

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.