Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Downtown Backpackers Hostel Bratislava

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
7.7
Very Good 1499 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.1
  • Security 7.7
  • Location 8.9
  • Staff 7.6
  • Atmosphere 6.8
  • Cleanliness 7.6
  • Facilities 7.2
BOOK NOW
7.7
Very Good 1499 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.1
  • Security 7.7
  • Location 8.9
  • Staff 7.6
  • Atmosphere 6.8
  • Cleanliness 7.6
  • Facilities 7.2

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 13 reviews
28th Apr 2017
5.1

Very average.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Chile, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
22nd Apr 2017
4.6

I could not sleep at all, It was very noisy, it look that some people had a big party in the common area in the night, when I went to the toilet I saw a lot of guys half naked and very drunk, scremming and dancing. They were trying to go inside of my room many times during the night. I was a little afraid, but the doors was clock, I will never return to this hostel anymore, and they did not respect the price , they ask me more money because of somes taxes. I was surprised

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
21st Apr 2017
9.7

Very recommended, especially with the cosy and artistic decoration,

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for your kind words :)

15th Apr 2017
6.0

My friend and I stayed here for one night but I'm glad it was only one night. As females, we did not feel very safe. The rooms did not lock and it just happened to be mostly older men staying at the hostel. The beds were not comfortable and the place had a much older feel. It's in a pretty good location but it's a little bit of a walk to city center.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hello, there are mixed dorms in the hostel - in no place or website is written that we have separate dorms. We are the oldest hostel in Bratislava, so we are also counting on this fact, that is why the older feel. Sorry not to meet your expectations.

  • Anonymous
  • Germany, All Female Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
13th Apr 2017
9.7

Very lovely little hostel, totally recommend it!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you very much :)

  • Anonymous
  • England, Mixed Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
7th Apr 2017
7.1

The hostel was in a good location and staff were friendly. Although they didn't seem to know much about the city when we asked about things to do on a rainy day. The bar downstairs was great and the food looked great. However, the hostel doesn't take into consideration the groups. There was a stag do shouting and singing till late at night and nothing was done about it. Also, they put me and two other young girls into a room with 2 old men. This made the stay uncomfortable as they kept staring.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Mexico, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
5th Jan 2017
6.9

it was a good hostel but it was not heating all time.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 16 reviews
3rd Jan 2017
8.6

Great value for money!! There's nothing I feel the hostel can improve much on other than adding another powerpoint or 2. Everything else was solid.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • smeeko
  • USA, Mixed Group, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
15th Dec 2016
8.3

This place is above a restaurant in an old building that might have been a multi-family home at one point. The common area is rather cozy and the kitchen was pretty good (amazing amount of plates and glasses). Our private room was comfortable, but it would be nice to have at least another set of outlets. The walls are a bit thin. Either that, or the guy in the adjacent room just has a really powerful voice. But it's not a "party" hostel or anything. It's rather quaint and has an art theme.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
2nd Dec 2016
8.9

Perfect Location at the edge of the old town - in direction to the station. Old building with atmosphere, big common room and kitchen. Downstairs on ground level is a nice bar and restaurant, which is practically one with the hostel. I had a nice stay there - 2 days in a private room, 2 days in a dorm - both were pretty good. Would recommend it to anybody!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.