Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Downtown Backpackers Hostel Bratislava

Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Prices
map
reviews
8.7
Fabulous 1,415 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.0
  • Security 8.8
  • Location 9.4
  • Staff 8.9
  • Atmosphere 8.3
  • Cleanliness 8.4
  • Facilities 8.3
BOOK NOW
8.7
Fabulous 1,415 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.0
  • Security 8.8
  • Location 9.4
  • Staff 8.9
  • Atmosphere 8.3
  • Cleanliness 8.4
  • Facilities 8.3
Downtown Backpackers Hostel Bratislava Located at Panenska 31, , Bratislava.
Downtown Backpackers Hostel Bratislava
Slovakia
Bratislava SK-811 04 Panenska 31
87% 1415
48.1482141 17.1059596
Downtown Backpackers Hostel Bratislava
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
15th Jul 2016
8.3

Building and rooms with atmosphere, nice bar/restaurant downstairs, good kitchen, some guests were a bit noisy in the corridors at night, few showers and toilets if fully occupies.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Denmark, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
1st Jul 2016
9.4

The beds are standard for a hostel and the showers/toilets are clean. There's lockers in each room, free towels, a common area, a great bar downstairs with fantastic food(!!), and the staff is very helpful. You can also rent a bike for €10 per day, and it's about 5 minutes walking distance from Old Town. It's not the fanciest hostel I've stayed at (a bit rough around the edges), but I'd still come back!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
25th Jun 2016
8.0

Nice staff, freindly. Easy to walk to old town square which was a lovely part of town. Quiet hostel. Pub and food down stairs of hostel. No complaints.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
7th Jun 2016
8.0

My room a twin with shared bathroom was good the only fault I had was the other guests were banning around in the early hours

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
27th May 2016
8.6

Would stay again, nice cheap hostel with a good location.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
26th May 2016
10.0

Will come back

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
7th May 2016
9.1

this hostel is great. the staff are all fantastic and helpful. there's a little restaurant/bar downstairs with good food and drinks at a real bang for your buck - not to mention the discounts you get if you're guest. stay at this hostel and go to Bratislava!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you very much! :) hope to see you again

  • Anonymous
  • USA, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Globetrotter
  • 33 reviews
5th May 2016
8.6

We only stayed at Downtown Backpackers Hostel for one night, but the toilet on our floor was clogged and disgusting from the time we checked in until the time we chacked out the next day. The rest of the hostel was fine- we enjoyed the artist themed rooms. When asked about local restaurants to try- reception staff would only suggest the hostel restaurant, even after we said we wanted to try something else. Bit loud when they had a band playing in the pub downstairs, but overall fine.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for your review. The toiled has been unclogged and shortly after someone clogged it again, we are terribly sorry for that.

  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Mixed Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 9 reviews
23rd Apr 2016
9.4

Helpful staff, nice hostel. Cheap bar/restaurant on site with good food

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you very much for a nice review, we were happy to have you here :)

19th Mar 2016
8.0

The facilities themselves are great and I always felt safe. Unfortunately the hostel doesn't do much in terms of organizing social events, or if they did they didn't advertise it that well. It's a big place so it's that much harder to get close to people as well. Even so, the hostel has a great location and you're practically in the middle of the city.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.