Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Downtown Backpackers Hostel Bratislava

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.0
Fabulous 1570 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.1
  • Security 7.8
  • Location 8.9
  • Staff 8.1
  • Atmosphere 7.5
  • Cleanliness 7.7
  • Facilities 7.7
BOOK NOW
8.0
Fabulous 1570 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.1
  • Security 7.8
  • Location 8.9
  • Staff 8.1
  • Atmosphere 7.5
  • Cleanliness 7.7
  • Facilities 7.7

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • mirandabereza9386
  • Canada, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
5th Aug 2017
8.3

Interesting hostel in an interesting building! The staff are very helpful with anything you need! Only one person at desk, so be prepared to wait. There is a restaurant on the main floor with great beer prices. The terrace in the back is connected to the restaurant, so you can't eat your own food out there. Only 5-10 walk to centre. Guest kitchen is adequate size with fridge/stove basic stuff. Biggest issue- only two outlets per room (with extension cords).

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
5th Aug 2017
8.9

No air conditioning so was a little warm, but otherwise very nice staff, nicely decorated, excellent central location, comfy beds and good facilities :)

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
3rd Aug 2017
7.4

No fuss, nice staff and bar downstairs, fine place but needed more plug sockets, showers and some sort of fan as it was boiling.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
31st Jul 2017
6.0

Good location. Good price. But not that good otherwise. Got like itchy bites all-over my body after sleeping in one of thier beds one night too..

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 14 reviews
16th Jul 2017
8.6

good location and nice staff, free use of the washing machine comfortable beds and it was great having free lockers. kitchen has all the facilities you need to make a meal. however there was a strange half naked man asleep by the girls toilet/shower on the 1st floor..he basically takes up half of the social areas restricting people to only sitting in the kitchen which is annoying and creepy. also someone who was in my room got their phone stolen and theyre quite lax on who comes in to the hostel

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Bulgaria, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
11th Jul 2017
7.1

The building is great, I like the atmosphere and I also liked it that there a bar downstairs where you can order food. What I was missing was the organization in the hostel. We didn't have sheets and towels when we arrived and there was an extra bed in our room which made it very inconvenient to move around. There are also two toilets and two bathrooms on the floor which were separated for women and men and sometimes we had to wait. Besides that the guys on the reception were helpful.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
10th Jul 2017
9.7

We loved the free laundry, luggage storage, and the cleanliness of all the facilities. The cleaning lady was there daily and she was very nice. Comfortable beds. The only thing I did not like was the permanent resident who sleeps shirtless on the couch. It was a little bit creepy. He should have his own bed or at least not be sleeping in the common room by the female toilets.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Couple, 18-24
  • Globetrotter
  • 24 reviews
9th Jul 2017
2.0

Didn't even have our booking on their system, we had the confirmation email, booking number and it was on the app. They first said we would have to pay extra for a private room, then they finally put us in a dorm with a spare 2 beds...then they tried to make us repay the deposit we had already paid via hostel world saying that it's only a reservation and you have to pay it again on arrival and council tax which is the incorrect amount on hostel world, they charged us more then what's stated.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 2.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Colombia, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
30th Jun 2017
10.0

Everyone in the hostel is incredibly nice and helpful. Kitchen and bar within the hostel makes it a great place. The location is also a plus and I would definitely stay there again

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Hungary, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
28th Jun 2017
10.0

Nice place. great living spaces, tv, radio, cd s great kitchen. I liked it.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.