Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Downtown Backpackers Hostel Bratislava

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.8
Fabulous 1,440 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.9
  • Security 8.8
  • Location 9.3
  • Staff 8.9
  • Atmosphere 8.6
  • Cleanliness 8.5
  • Facilities 8.3
BOOK NOW
8.8
Fabulous 1,440 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.9
  • Security 8.8
  • Location 9.3
  • Staff 8.9
  • Atmosphere 8.6
  • Cleanliness 8.5
  • Facilities 8.3
Downtown Backpackers Hostel Bratislava Located at Panenska 31, , Bratislava.
Downtown Backpackers Hostel Bratislava
Slovakia
Bratislava SK-811 04 Panenska 31
88% 1440
48.1482141 17.1059596
Downtown Backpackers Hostel Bratislava
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Finland, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
20th Aug 2016
8.9

It was nice that there were 2 computers available and free to use! The lockers were a bit old and maybe not the most safe... But he staff was friendly and nice. (: And the location is super!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, All Male Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
17th Aug 2016
10.0

I was genuinely very happy with everything in the hostel. The facilities were great, secure lockers in each room, great location, staff were so nice and helpful and there is a bar/restaurant incorporated into the hostel with very cheap prices (in comparison to Ireland). There was one minor issue, that being the live music that they hold every now and again, unlucky for us it was on Thursday night before my 4am flight and the music can clearly be heard throughout. Besides that I loved my stay.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland, Mixed Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
11th Aug 2016
9.4

Really lovely, clean and brilliantly located hostel :-) Staff were so helpful and welcoming, and the food in the restaurant downstairs was great. The rooms are nice and quirkily decorated. Lockers are provided. Only problems were the fridge being broken, and they don't have a huge number of showers for the number of beds.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Latvia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
10th Aug 2016
8.9

The hostel provided what we needed. Clean beds, lockers, good location from the centre and bar downstairs. The only problem was there were often cues for the shower/bathroom.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Colombia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
5th Aug 2016
4.6

I didn't like this hostel at all! It doesn't look clean and the rooms where not great, I booked it based on reviews but I don't really know why they its so good Besides, It's very noisy, we could hardly sleep! I wouldn't recommend you staying there, it's not cheap and the service is poor

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 12 reviews
4th Aug 2016
8.3

An alright hostel - directions from the train station are terrible though!! And most of the receptionists aren't able to answer simple questions like where a supermarket is :/ Additionally the kitchen didn't have a fridge when I was there and the construction across the street was super noisy from about 6am onwards. Other than that it has a cute vibe and its in a pretty good location. The walking tours in the old town of the city are fantastic!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for your review. We are sorry about the receptionist service being not great, but we have some fresh members of the staff and they are still learning a bit. We are getting annoyed by the construction too and we are sorry about that but we cannot do anything about that :/ I am sure it will be hell of a lot better next time :)

  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 9 reviews
3rd Aug 2016
8.9

Amazing hostel. Has all the facilities you need, great for solo travellers

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
3rd Aug 2016
8.3

We stayed here for three nights in the Mucha private room. The room was just what we expected, simple but it was nice that we had our own balcony. The staff was accomadating and very helpful with their recommendations. The lobby doubles as a bar so that was great and the bartenders were super helpful and friendly. Location was about a 5 minute walk to the old town. I would recommend in the future.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
2nd Aug 2016
8.9

Only option really as we couldn't find anywhere cheaper. It was a nice place to stay especially with the bar downstairs our rooms were nice we got to talk to some great people. It had a good atmosphere and the kitchen facilities were good. However the wifi didn't work in our rooms only in the common room but it was nice to sit down there and there was only one toilet for the whole floor. It was a nice place to stay and we got a free shot and a discount on drinks. I would love to go back again

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hello, we are sorry about dodgy wifi, we are already consulting it with our provider. About the toilets, on the first floor (where the common room is) there are 3 toilets and on the second floor there are 2. We are happy that you liked it in here and hopefully see you again :)

  • pirlogradu4048
  • Romania, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
30th Jul 2016
9.1

Great hotel. Easy to find. Close to the city centre. I would definitely recommend it:) enjoy Bratislava

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you very much, we are really happy that you liked it in here. Take care and have safe travels :)

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.