Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Downtown River Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.2
Fabulous 791 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.9
  • Security 8.7
  • Location 9.2
  • Staff 8.5
  • Atmosphere 7.7
  • Cleanliness 8.1
  • Facilities 7.4
BOOK NOW
8.2
Fabulous 791 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.9
  • Security 8.7
  • Location 9.2
  • Staff 8.5
  • Atmosphere 7.7
  • Cleanliness 8.1
  • Facilities 7.4

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
20th Jul 2017
5.7

The staff were very unhelpful for many different reasons (never told us about events, yelled at us for even talking after 11pm, the visa machine is broken and didn't help us out in any way, never provided a map, the lady cleaning up a roommates bed just throwing sheets and glaring at us while she did it, it goes on). Events we wanted to attend were cancelled because of some jazz festival which was annoying, and the wifi doesn't work in the rooms.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
17th Jul 2017
6.0

My main complaint is that while the central part of the building is air conditioned, the rooms were not. This meant that we had to keep our very large, ground floor window open all night to let air in (on a very hot night), which felt unsafe to me, and was pretty noisy. Overall the place was clean, but the social atmosphere was not the best given that the only common area, the kitchen, closed at 11. The beds were comfortable and the location was great!

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
10th Jul 2017
8.0

It was quiet. Needs a bigger common area to hang out in. Bed aren't the best.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
8th Jul 2017
4.9

The staff wasn't helpful at all! The internet doesn't work at all!

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
3rd Jul 2017
9.4

Great hostel with a good atmosphere. Only downside was the quiet time after 11pm maybe limiting socialising a bit but you can't have it all. Would stay again!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Couple, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
  • 25 reviews
30th Jun 2017
6.6

Okay hostel. Most dorms face a very busy street so rooms are very loud all night so use ear plugs. 24 beds downstairs have one sink & mirror which are always in use (upstairs has). Small kitchen table is the only social area so atmosphere is not social at all. It's right in the middle of the shopping district and 10min walk from old town.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 10 reviews
27th Jun 2017
8.0

This hostel is in a great location, around 10 minutes away from the majority of the attractions. We were put in a basement dorm, which meant it was often a bit stuffy, although this was made better by the air con. The kitchen was small but friendly and well equipped so you could make full meals if you wanted. However, it does close between 11pm and 8am, because there are bedrooms surrounding it. This means that if you have an early train/bus, you can't have breakfast!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
26th Jun 2017
4.9

Stayed for one night, the floors in room and hostel were very dirty, beds were extremely close together.. hardly room to open your suitcase and store your bags. Showers and toilets dirty and impractical, the toilets smelt of urine. Didn't look like the pictures at all. Glad we only had one night there. Location was great though!

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
25th Jun 2017
2.0

After calling and emailing the hostel advising the bus company cancelled our trip without notice I thought the hostel would understand and cancel our booking, however after back and forth they decided to charge us anyway for our stay despite the valid reason despite there multiple beds available for booking!

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 2.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Mexico, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
25th Jun 2017
9.4

Muy buena ubicación y el ambiente perfecto para todo tipo de viajero. El pub crawl muy recomendable y las playas preciosas. El surf es padrísimo y las fiestas mas. Que viva la hierba mate! Las amistades mucho mas!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.