Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Downtown River Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
7.7
Very Good 855 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.0
  • Security 8.5
  • Location 9.2
  • Staff 8.1
  • Atmosphere 7.2
  • Cleanliness 7.4
  • Facilities 6.7
BOOK NOW
7.7
Very Good 855 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.0
  • Security 8.5
  • Location 9.2
  • Staff 8.1
  • Atmosphere 7.2
  • Cleanliness 7.4
  • Facilities 6.7

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
9th Sep 2017
4.0

Upon entering I seriously wondered if I'd made a mistake. First impressions, dirty, unkept. The reception area looked like a students unkept desk, very unprofessional. Kitchen was a mess and dirty. The room was ok, but being a single female traveler, I felt uncomfortable in a room with 7 men, one who got a little too friendly and had to ask him to leave my bedside. I wouldn't stay there again, especially for the over rated price.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
4th Sep 2017
2.0

Easily the worst hostel experience of my life, due to the stupid and unwilling staff, poor security and just horrible facility. In addition, location is terrible and GROSSLY overpriced. Do not stay here unless all you want to remember of San Sebastian is the hostel you stayed at.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 2.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Mixed Group, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 11 reviews
4th Sep 2017
3.7

The only thing highly rated about this hostel is its profit margins. There are so many hostels in San Sebastian that are far superior (for example, A Room In The City). The individual old toilets and showers are immediately off a hallway meaning there is no privacy and separate facilities for men and women. There was 1 single sink for everyone to use on our floor. The room was crowded with lockers in the hallway. No common area. Poor atmosphere. Extortionate laundry service for 15 EUR.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • bwharton97
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
31st Aug 2017
9.1

Very happy with everything about this hostel, except the fact that the only social space, the kitchen, 'closes' at 11pm. If you're drinking there you're effectively kicked out or told to me very quiet. It's a reasonable rule but they could do with having another social space away from the rooms. I got it for €19 which is reasonable for San Sebastian, but some people paid more which would be annoying because the facilities aren't that special.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • AussieTraveler97
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
26th Aug 2017
6.9

Dont think this Hostel is worth the price is asks for per night to be honest. Rooms were small and there was no floor space for luggage. My room was unfortunately right next to the toilets that the whole floor shared so my room smelt like a toilet the whole time and there was no proper air ventilation except for the AC in the room. The wifi is good quality, staff are lovely, it's in a great location too, only 5/10 minute walk to the beach and has a good atmosphere with the bar crawl at night.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 10 reviews
26th Aug 2017
6.3

We arrived early in the morning and asked to store our luggage in the hostel - the man at the desk was very hesitant to let us in the building let alone store our luggage. When we came back 20 minutes before check in time they were very rude and unwelcoming, we then had to wait until 20 minutes after check in time to go to our room, in this time he didn't even want to let us use the toilet facilities. Showers were dirty, otherwise the location was good and within walking distance to old town.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
16th Aug 2017
8.0

Great location. Not so great to meet people.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
10th Aug 2017
8.0

Downtown river hostel had a great location as it was in walking distance to the beach, landmarks and shops. The overall cleanliness was good but could be improved. There wasn't a common area besides the kitchen which made it harder to meet new people within the hostel. Our overall experience in San Sebastián was amazing and would highly recommend staying here.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
8th Aug 2017
6.9

Jeremy the Argentinean was very friendly and helpful but the pakistani guy could make an effort to be more friendly. The hostel is in a good location but I couldn't believe there was no common room! The bar crawl they organise is alright but not worth the money.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
30th Jul 2017
5.4

This hostel is in an ideal location. The facilities are dirty- oftentimes no soap or toilet paper are available. There are only a few showers for the entire hostel and they are in the main hallway. The showers are quite dirty. The hostel seems quite unorganized- you cannot pay with a credit card and I canceled my last nights stay and they had a very difficult time refunding the proper amount. The only common space is the kitchen but besides that there is no where else to be besides your room.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.

×