Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Downtown River Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.4
Fabulous 563 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.0
  • Security 8.4
  • Location 9.4
  • Staff 8.5
  • Atmosphere 8.1
  • Cleanliness 8.5
  • Facilities 7.6
BOOK NOW
8.4
Fabulous 563 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.0
  • Security 8.4
  • Location 9.4
  • Staff 8.5
  • Atmosphere 8.1
  • Cleanliness 8.5
  • Facilities 7.6
Downtown River Hostel Located at San Martin 2, , San Sebastian.
Downtown River Hostel
Spain
San Sebastian Basc Country 20006 San Martin 2
84% 563
43.3191644 -1.9794166
Downtown River Hostel
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
15th Aug 2016
8.3

Great hostel especially for meeting people. It's basic but fresh. The location is really fantastic for both beaches, shopping and the station.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
15th Aug 2016
8.3

A really good place to spend a few nights - only a short walk to either beach and great restaurants in the old town. Staff were very friendly and helpful and the kitchen area was a great place to meet people. There is no common room however which was a shame!

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
12th Aug 2016
8.9

Nice people, nice place, nice rooms, nice bathroom. Cool place. I would come back again

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
7th Aug 2016
8.0

Nice hostel, great location, and very clean. There were events almost everyday, however I wanted a quiet night in and people were quite loud.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Austria, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
7th Aug 2016
7.4

very loud as its next to a busy street and if you get a room in the basement, it feels like every car or truck stops right next to your bed! :-(

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
31st Jul 2016
8.6

It's a nice hostel but it's very small. The kitchen is the only common area and it's very loud and not comfy so i found it difficult to make friends. The staff is great and the location is awesome as well. Literally 5 min walk from the bus station.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Hong Kong, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
27th Jul 2016
9.1

The hostel is well-located, i can easily go to the beach, the old town within 15 minutes. The hostel is easily found because it is near to the river. The hiking tour from the hostel is awesome, i can see the other side of San Sebastián, but it is a little expensive. I had a good time in Downtown River!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
27th Jul 2016
10.0

The staff: Gloria, Pietro, Mario, and Josh are all super awesome people. They immensely helped our San Sebastián experience! Keep it up :) The hostel is in a great location just across from the train and bus station. It is also about a 5 min walk from the (actually sandy) beach. I would definitely stay here again.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
24th Jul 2016
8.6

The reason I gave the security a bad rating is because my backpack was stolen from the room at night time. There are no secure locks on the windows which made it easy for people to jump over the shutters and barrier.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
24th Jul 2016
9.1

I had a good experience at the Downtown River Hostel. Pros: Really friendly and knowledgable staff. The location is incredible. They organized very fun social events. The surfboard and wetsuit rental was cheap, but still good quality. Cons: The wifi was slow. There is a kitchen, but not really a common area to relax and meet people. Overall, I would definitely recommend!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.