Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Downtown River Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.5
Fabulous 735 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.2
  • Security 9.0
  • Location 9.4
  • Staff 8.8
  • Atmosphere 8.0
  • Cleanliness 8.6
  • Facilities 7.6
BOOK NOW
8.5
Fabulous 735 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.2
  • Security 9.0
  • Location 9.4
  • Staff 8.8
  • Atmosphere 8.0
  • Cleanliness 8.6
  • Facilities 7.6

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 19 reviews
21st May 2017
8.6

I stayed here for a week and loved it here mainly due "Speedy Gonzales" who was the life of this place. He was friendly, helpful and had lots of local knowledge. I would definitely recommend this place to all my friends because of him!! Downsides were that the wifi was always down. Staff did call the telecommunications company to try rectify with no luck. The top bunk mattresses were very uncomfortable and should be replaced. Overall a very pleasant experience. Thanks for a great week!!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
17th May 2017
6.6

The location is very central however there were other amenities lacking. There is no space to relax except for the kitchen and your bunk. The rooms don't have locks on the door and the lockers were too small for luggage. We also found the hostel was very over crowded and on top of that there is a very small shared bathroom. Consider staying here if you are looking for easy acces around the city.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Portugal, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
9th May 2017
8.9

amazing staff and location! I think the place lacks a better place for people to chill, since the only existing one is not that big and it is in the same place as kitchen.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
2nd May 2017
7.7

Excellent location near bus station/river and ten minute walk to centre. Décor well maintained. No lounge to relax in so all socials in the kitchen where you can do your own cooking. Room ventilation poor due to being next to a busy street so also noisy at times. Overall a good place to stay as the staff are friendly and helpful. No place to dry clothes.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
2nd May 2017
10.0

Loved this place. Awesome staff, great people, clean and well kept.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
14th Apr 2017
4.9

The facilities are uncomfortable, my sheets were stained, atmosphere is non existent. The person on staff who was there at check in was very helpful with useful information. That and the location were the only positives for my stay.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Bulgaria, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
11th Apr 2017
10.0

Had the chance to stay only for a night but will definitely repeat. Great staff- kind, helpful and funny. Very near both the old part and the city centre.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Argentina, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
9th Apr 2017
10.0

Reception stuff excellent!! Gere and Charlie are very kind!! the best!! Hostel excellent value for the money

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
6th Apr 2017
8.6

This hostel had a great atmosphere and the staff were great- really enthusiastic! The paella night was really good, and the kitchen was nice. It wasn't the cleanest hostel ever, especially the showers. The location was incredible, literally right next to the bus station!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
3rd Apr 2017
7.1

It's a no frills backpackers hostel. Lockers are a little small for silent entry and full-sized packs. Noisy from the road and ground level windows don't make for the best sleep.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.