Hostelworld.com

Downtown River Hostel

Prices
map
reviews
8.5
Fabulous 456 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.4
  • Security 8.6
  • Location 9.3
  • Staff 8.7
  • Atmosphere 8.3
  • Cleanliness 8.6
  • Facilities 7.9
BOOK NOW
8.5
Fabulous 456 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.4
  • Security 8.6
  • Location 9.3
  • Staff 8.7
  • Atmosphere 8.3
  • Cleanliness 8.6
  • Facilities 7.9
Downtown River Hostel Located at San Martin 2, , San Sebastian.
Downtown River Hostel
Spain
San Sebastian Basc Country 20006 San Martin 2
85% 456
43.3191644 -1.9794166
Downtown River Hostel
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
20th May 2016
8.6

Great location, very clean, fair price. Only negatives is that it isn't much of a social environment, nor is there much common space if you're planning to pass some time in the hostel during your trip.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
13th May 2016
7.4

Location was great and the hostel was ridiculously clean. The common space was lacking though - and after 11pm there is nowhere to hang out. In May, there were no activities put on by the hostel, due to it being the "off season" even though all the beds were booked! I was hoping for a slightly more social vibe and more helpful staff. But all in all it was a fine hostel.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
12th May 2016
9.1

Overall a very good place to stay! Steps away from the old city & 1 of the beaches, this hostel is in a prime location on the river. The staff were helpful, the room & facilities very clean, and there was a great, fully stocked kitchen. The only 2 issues we had were that there was 1 sink for the entire basement floor (& one mirror), meaning there was always a line up to use them, and in our room there was a covered window you couldn't see out of & the noise from the street was very loud at night

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, All Female Group, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
  • 25 reviews
11th May 2016
10.0

This hostel is fantastic! It's spacious and modern. The location is perfect, very central and walking distance to the beach. The staff are friendly and we throughly enjoyed the paella and sangria night. The showers are spacious, hot and very clean. I would certainly stay here again.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
8th May 2016
9.1

A nice place very close to the Old Town and bus/train stations. The only con is the noise from the outside. If you're a light sleeper, better choose another place to stay. Otherwise it's a good hostel.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
7th May 2016
5.1

Cannot say I enjoyed my stay at this hostel. It's fine if you have low standards and just need a place to crash. If you're looking for something with even the basic comforts this is not your place. The bed was awfully uncomfortable. I might as well have slept on springs. The room was stuffy and the hosel is right on the street so not practical to sleep with the windows open. The guy below me snored so loud it woke me up at 5am. The kitchen is right outside the bedrooms. Will not stay again.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
3rd May 2016
8.9

I loved my stay at Downtown River Hostel. The common area isn't very large, but this was great for meeting the other people in the hostel. It's a 10 minute walk or so away from the beaches and the old town. Rooms and bathroom were clean! You need a key to get in the building, so I felt safe there! Staff gave good recommendations for food and made us paella one night. Overall great experience there!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • davidramalho8047
  • Portugal, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
3rd May 2016
9.1

Just stayed for one night but got very satisfied about the hostel. Comfortable bedding, private locker included, very friendly staff, facilities have excellent cleaning standards and good value for money. Short distance from the heart of historical center/beaches & shorter distance from train/bus station.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Taiwan, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 9 reviews
3rd May 2016
8.3

The hostel is nice , located in a really convenient place, staffs are perfect, it's also clean , everything was alright , the only thing I want to complain is the hot water! It's just way too hot , I couldn't have a proper shower :(

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 10 reviews
2nd May 2016
7.7

The staff were great and rooms were comfortable. Downstairs didn't have a very nice smell to it and the bathrooms were basic. The kitchen upstairs was good but nowhere to sit and hang out besides there. Location was good, not a far walk from everything.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.