Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Downtown River Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Prices
map
reviews
8.5
Fabulous 535 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.3
  • Security 8.5
  • Location 9.4
  • Staff 8.6
  • Atmosphere 8.1
  • Cleanliness 8.6
  • Facilities 7.8
BOOK NOW
8.5
Fabulous 535 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.3
  • Security 8.5
  • Location 9.4
  • Staff 8.6
  • Atmosphere 8.1
  • Cleanliness 8.6
  • Facilities 7.8
Downtown River Hostel Located at San Martin 2, , San Sebastian.
Downtown River Hostel
Spain
San Sebastian Basc Country 20006 San Martin 2
85% 535
43.3191644 -1.9794166
Downtown River Hostel
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
20th Jul 2016
7.4

Doesn't really have much of a common area/ vibes. An okay place to spend one night.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
14th Jul 2016
7.4

The rooms were fine and the kitchen was spacious. Everything was cleaned well each day. Large lockers W/ key provided. The hostel bedrooms are right on the street which makes for a lot of noise at night and isn't good if you're a light sleeper. There is also no common space other than the kitchen which closes at 11... so not especially comfortable. I thought I paid way too much for what I got honestly. Also, it is very English speaking and the staff isn't local/ some can't speak Spanish.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
12th Jul 2016
8.9

Great place! Staff were good fun, place had a great atmosphere and was always clean. Little tricky to find cause the sign is hard to see but that's only a small thing. Would highly recommend!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
7th Jul 2016
8.3

Standard hostel... great location... very clean... super expensive. But to be fair, it's Donostia, not Cairo. AKA don't come here on a tight budget.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 12 reviews
3rd Jul 2016
7.7

Nice hostel although small common area. Was given some great recommendations on what to do/ where to eat. FULL of Aussies (though all lovelly). Had to make sure I used the locker because despite locking doors to the dorms they were always all open when I got home

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
27th Jun 2016
9.7

Had such a great time at this hostel with my sister. The atmosphere was so relaxed and everyone including the staff is just there for a good time. The pub crawl is so fun! Location is perfect. About 2 mins from train/bus station and about 5 minute walk from old town where all the pintxo restaurants are. Would definitely stay here again.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 12 reviews
27th Jun 2016
8.0

The lockers weren't big enough for rucksacks, the beds were squeaky, and the room smelt quite bad. However it was a good hostel considering it is a lot cheaper than other hostels in San Sebastián. The shared bathrooms were good, the showers were huge and the staff regularly mopped the floors. It is a good location, everywhere is within walking distance and there are busses close by to catch to the airport.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
26th Jun 2016
7.4

Downtown River hostel is in a good location, but the facilities are lacking. There's a tiny kitchen area and hallway that function as the common area, but are closed early. Small showers which you must continually press the button for. There are big lockers for bags and a keycard to enter the hostel at night.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
26th Jun 2016
9.4

This is great hostel, it's very clean and safe, it's almost a bit clinical though. However with that being said, there is definitely enough of a friendly vibe there so enough opportunity to meet people and mingle. Would definitely recommend doing the pub crawl early in on your stay so you can meet people. The location is pretty good, you can definitely walk everywhere. Would definitely revisit!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Couple, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 12 reviews
23rd Jun 2016
4.9

The best thing about this place was quiet in the common areas after 11pm. We arrived and within 10minutes wished we had booked elsewhere. The rooms are all on a noisy main road making it difficult to sleep. If you close the window there is no aircon so the room becomes stifling hot. When I asked for a fan I was rudely shushed for thanking the staff member as it was past 11pm and my whispered thanks may have woken other rooms. Not very clean. Would not stay again.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.