Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Dreamtime Travellers Rest

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.7
Fabulous 1412 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.7
  • Security 8.7
  • Location 8.1
  • Staff 9.3
  • Atmosphere 8.8
  • Cleanliness 8.6
  • Facilities 8.7
BOOK NOW
8.7
Fabulous 1412 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.7
  • Security 8.7
  • Location 8.1
  • Staff 9.3
  • Atmosphere 8.8
  • Cleanliness 8.6
  • Facilities 8.7

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
28th Mar 2017
7.4

Staff were really friendly and extremely helpful! The rooms were pretty spacious but they didn't have any lockers to keep valuable items in so you had to have a lot of trust in your room mates. Kitchen was a little small with only one hob so got fairly crowded. The only actual downside to this hostel was that it was so hot everywhere! There is no aircon around the whole place apart from the rooms which cost $1 for 3 hours so in the middle of the night it got unbearable.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
18th Mar 2017
9.4

Very enjoyable stay, pleasant and friendly checkin and check out. A little uncomfortable with the area at night alone walking back from the centre but still a very nice place

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
10th Mar 2017
9.7

The staff at Dreamtime are amazing and very accommodating. I forgot my key deposit and they held it for me for a week until I was able to collect it. The only thing I found that needed updating were the stove and the pots & pans, pretty old and stove hard to use, didn't cook well. Otherwise amazing!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
2nd Mar 2017
8.6

We stayed in a private double, which was small but ok for us, decent bed, fridge, wash basin and window. Fan in room, but can get AC for additional $. Bit of a walk to the esplanade, but short walk to shopping centre with Coles /food hall, eg subway, etc. My issue was limited hours they open reception and the lack of visible information for what to do when they are not there. Eg getting luggage from room, thank god someone staying knew the safe pin otherwise we would have missed flight!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
28th Feb 2017
6.6

No wifi in my room (19-S) bad location for walking to main road and places, too long without staff at the place

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 11 reviews
16th Feb 2017
7.4

Nice hostel with helpful staff. Rooms were a bit out dated but bed was comfortable. Lots of ants in the kitchen which actually got into our sealed food which we had to throw away.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
12th Feb 2017
9.1

Staff at Dreamtime are wonderful, friendly and there's plenty to get involved in if you're so inclined. The hostel is in a group of older buildings so the kitchens and bathrooms are a little outdated. Unfortunately someone had spilt milk in the upstairs kitchen and it absolutely stank!! But this was sorted by the second night of my stay and I was warned on check in. Otherwise a marvelous time!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
6th Feb 2017
7.7

It really is a nice relaxed place. A very non-party atmosphere with a cool layout. Pros: staff were friendly, something to do most nights within the hostel, lovely pool. Air conditioning in every room (1$ for 3 hrs). Good security. Cons: for a smaller place like Cairns, it's about a 15 minute walk to get to the hub of the action in town. The wifi isn't strong outside the common area. The kitchen area absolutely reeked even though the garbage was emptied frequently but was otherwise clean.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Austria, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
31st Jan 2017
9.7

A great place to stay, very relaxed atmosphere! would definitely stay there again!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • pollybrewer5009
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 10 reviews
30th Jan 2017
9.1

I really like the chilled vibe, and court yard and bbq and pizza night. Staff really helpful with bookings and advice. Lack ot aircon, even when paying for it barley did anything. Showers and toilet always clean and maintained.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.