Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Dreamtime Travellers Rest

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.9
Fabulous 1,349 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.8
  • Security 8.8
  • Location 8.7
  • Staff 9.4
  • Atmosphere 9.0
  • Cleanliness 8.9
  • Facilities 8.9
BOOK NOW
8.9
Fabulous 1,349 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.8
  • Security 8.8
  • Location 8.7
  • Staff 9.4
  • Atmosphere 9.0
  • Cleanliness 8.9
  • Facilities 8.9
Dreamtime Travellers Rest Located at 189 Bunda street, , Cairns.
Dreamtime Travellers Rest
Australia
Cairns Queensland 4870 189 Bunda street
89% 1349
-16.9252527 145.7699731
Dreamtime Travellers Rest
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
2nd Dec 2016
8.0

Good location, opposite cairns central, 10/15 minute walk from bars and the lagoon, friendly helpful staff and clean hostel

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
27th Nov 2016
10.0

Great staff great place geat atmosphere great everything

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 9 reviews
25th Nov 2016
9.1

Had to get out of gilligans so we booked three nights at dream time! I loved it. I found it to be really clean, the staff were friendly and saved us loads of money on car rental and the rooms are really secure. The vibe is very chilled as it attracts a slightly older crowd so socialising was a little hard. But overall it was a really great place to stay. Only down side is there is no aircon unless you pay a dollar for three hours so the room got quite hot at night.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
15th Nov 2016
9.7

I recently visited Dreamtime and have to say it was one of the best hostels I have visited in Oz. If you are looking for a relaxed, friendly hostel that isn't smack in the middle of town and the bar scene then this is your place. The staff are excellent and there are events on throughout the week. My favourite was the BBQ night where the owner gave us a didgeridoo lesson, it was very funny! I would absolutely recommend Dreamtime, especially for those trying to avoid the Gilligans scene.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
1st Nov 2016
9.7

Dreamtime Travellers Rest is one of the best hostels I have stayed at to date. Gabbi and her awesome crew of staff are always willing to go out of their way to help and have expert advice on trips and activities to do in the area. The crowd this place attracts is awesome. Chilled, relaxed and a good time all around, could not recomend it higher.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 11 reviews
1st Nov 2016
9.4

Best hostel in all Australia. Very clean, friendly staff, and very good vibes. Very chilled. No party hostel but you can meet friends and go out. And the wifi NOW is amazing (some moths ago it was quite bad). Strongly recommended the bbq night on wednesday

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
30th Oct 2016
9.7

This was my favorite hostel I've stayed in so far. Just the right amount of people so you can neet everyone and a ton of cool hang out spaces right in the hostel.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
30th Oct 2016
8.6

Very friendly place & good location if you don't want to be in the middle of the party scene. As I'm an older traveler I found that there were others my age & the staff was good at recommending activities & cafes that suited me. It was great to be right across from Cairns Central for shopping.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Couple, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
28th Oct 2016
8.0

It's a great place for young travellors who want to meet others, clean, and the staff are friendly. It's also good if you want to book tours. The biggest problem was that the stove wasn't working very well, so that would be problematic for anyone relying on it for food, and for long term visitors. Otherwise I'd recommend it.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
26th Oct 2016
8.6

Very nice hostel. It is surrounded by tropical trees so you feel like in the jungle. I would say it is clean. There are no lockers but I could trust people who stayed there. Quiet place. Very nice and helpful personnel. Close to super market. 15 minutes from the esplanade. air conditioning is extra paid. you receive some basic internet with limit for free. Good value for money!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.