Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Dreamtime Travellers Rest

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.8
Fabulous 1402 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.8
  • Security 8.8
  • Location 8.3
  • Staff 9.3
  • Atmosphere 8.9
  • Cleanliness 8.8
  • Facilities 8.8
BOOK NOW
8.8
Fabulous 1402 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.8
  • Security 8.8
  • Location 8.3
  • Staff 9.3
  • Atmosphere 8.9
  • Cleanliness 8.8
  • Facilities 8.8

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
12th Feb 2017
9.1

Staff at Dreamtime are wonderful, friendly and there's plenty to get involved in if you're so inclined. The hostel is in a group of older buildings so the kitchens and bathrooms are a little outdated. Unfortunately someone had spilt milk in the upstairs kitchen and it absolutely stank!! But this was sorted by the second night of my stay and I was warned on check in. Otherwise a marvelous time!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
6th Feb 2017
7.7

It really is a nice relaxed place. A very non-party atmosphere with a cool layout. Pros: staff were friendly, something to do most nights within the hostel, lovely pool. Air conditioning in every room (1$ for 3 hrs). Good security. Cons: for a smaller place like Cairns, it's about a 15 minute walk to get to the hub of the action in town. The wifi isn't strong outside the common area. The kitchen area absolutely reeked even though the garbage was emptied frequently but was otherwise clean.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Austria, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
31st Jan 2017
9.7

A great place to stay, very relaxed atmosphere! would definitely stay there again!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • pollybrewer5009
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 10 reviews
30th Jan 2017
9.1

I really like the chilled vibe, and court yard and bbq and pizza night. Staff really helpful with bookings and advice. Lack ot aircon, even when paying for it barley did anything. Showers and toilet always clean and maintained.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • South Korea, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
19th Jan 2017
9.7

I've visited 4~5 hostels in Cairns so far, and THIS hostel is the best hostel I ever stayed. The whole staff including Shay and Anna was so awesome. They are always kind and smiling even they seemed to be so busy. Location is amazing, just 3 min to walking to Cairns Central. Wifi is perfect. But there is coin-based air-cond so at night it was pretty hot when you didn't put some coins in it. (1 dollar for 3 hours) Except the air-con, everything was so PERFECT and I definitely visit here again.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
18th Jan 2017
8.0

This hostel has a good vibe and the staff are really friendly and helpful! Great location opposite a supermarket, and within walking distance of all the main attractions of cairns!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
11th Jan 2017
9.7

On Wednesdays, there is a delicious barbacue. After dinner, there is a raffle, and the owner teaches the crowd how to play the didgeridoo. This is a true hostel.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Italy, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
11th Jan 2017
10.0

Dreamtime Travellers Rest is a beautiful hostel, with a great staff and awesome vibes!!! Definitely recommended to anyone.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
8th Jan 2017
9.4

Great place to stay in Cairns! Staff are friendly and have loads of knowledge of where to go and what to do. The hostel is really cool and quirky. We really enjoyed our stay at the hostel and would definitely return. It is the best hostel we have stayed in!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
7th Jan 2017
7.7

I booked a private room - shutters were left open before my arrival so my bed was soaking wet from the rain when I arrived but other than that, all ok. Towel smelt of damp but room and shared bathroom were generally clean.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.