X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Dreamtime Travellers Rest Reviews

189 Bunda street, Cairns, Australia

Reviews & Ratings Explained

89%

Rating
1014 Total Reviews
  • 90%Value For Money
  • 90%Security
  • 80%Location
  • 95%Staff
  • 92%Atmosphere
  • 88%Cleanliness
  • 88%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

97%

I totally recommended!!!! Amazing staff, really nice pace and good people.

  • 21st Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Spain
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


94%

Lovely hostel with very friendly staff.


97%

Great independent hospital with everything you need whether that be peace and quiet or friends for a night out. Staff bend over backwards to help you, rooms were comfortable and everything was clean.


89%

Very friendly and relaxed place to stay. BBQ and other hostel-run weekly nights for great, cheap food and entertainment! Really enjoyable stay :)


97%

Close to rail

  • 1st Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


54%

Have to pay for Air Conditioning in the hottest season... NO GO

  • 19th Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


97%

This hostel has a lovely chilled out atmosphere. Plenty of communal space, hammocks, benches, swimming pool, pool table. The rooms were a great size, clean and ours even had a good sized fridge in it which helped. The rooms offer air on for 3 hours at the price of 1 dollar which was great. The staff were really friendly and helpful. The hostel is just on the cusp of the town, so only a 10-15 minute walk to the beach. Really enjoyed our stay and would come here again happily.


100%

The best hostel on the planet by far! Staff are amazing and so friendly and the atmosphere is so relaxed! We love it so much! Booked two nights originally and still here now two weeks later.

  • 16th Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Couple, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

HOSTEL SEARCHER LOOK NO FURTHER! Having stayed at a few of the best rated places in cairns I can say this is hands down the best around. Great staff, that help you get to know other backpackers and lovely rooms which help you feel much more at home than other bland rooms. Great evening events with BBQ nights, fire shows and of course pizza night. Some great offers for long stayers which you have to ask about. I can't thank the team enough for everything. A real credit to the hostel industry!


91%

The location was great and the staff very friendly and helpful, particularly Erin. The facilities were excellent too.

  • 9th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


100%

That was the best hostel i ever lived in.. you have to go there when you are in cairns.. it is not very big, but it has everything to feel @home.


94%

Just Wonderfull...My best hostel in Autralia!


94%

Wonderful staff. Great location. Small but still had a great vibe.

  • 26th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


100%

Cool! Chill! Helpful!


94%

One of the remaining "real" backpackers locations on the entire planet! Such a cosy and relaxed atmosphere, it is so great to stay there! The kitchens are clean, the bathrooms are spacy, the rooms are very nice. What's more, the social program there is very nice, Aussie BBQ or movie nights, you will have a great time staying there. And the staff... so helpful and friendly plus, they can tell you about everything you can do in the region. Totally recommend it.


100%

I have recently stayed at several hostels in many countries. Dreamtime Travellers Rest is among the best. The staff were friendly and helpful, the atmosphere relaxing and the room and bed were clean and comfortable. The location is near the train station and a major shopping mall with the beach, cafes and restaurants an easy walk away. With movie nights and other special activities, I enjoyed every minute.


100%

Super friendly and helpful staff. Great atmosphere and really quiet and relaxed but if you want to go out you will also find people to party with. Rooms are clean and facilities are in good condition. Would definitely stay there again.

  • 25th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


86%

nice ppl, easy access to beach and food, cheerful staff and ppl.

  • 24th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • All Female Group, 31-40
  • (1 review)


97%

Didn't want to leave, relaxed and friendly hostel with something happening almost every night

  • 10th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Couple, 18-24
  • (1 review)


66%

Front desk guy (Chris I think) was very helpful. Hostel has potential to be great. Cute property. Decent size rooms. Free wifi (iffy but ok) and towels. Quiet. Decent location right near cairns central mall. But in my first two hours in the room I killed a roach, two Mosquitos, and two moths. It's not an enclosed building. Things are all outdoors and there are no screens on the windows which is a big problem because bugs come on. also need something by the door that blocks roaches from entering


« first « Prev 1 2
(24 results)


View all Cairns Hostels

Please give us your feedback