Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Dreamtime Travellers Rest

Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Prices
map
reviews
8.9
Fabulous 1,272 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.8
  • Security 8.7
  • Location 8.3
  • Staff 9.6
  • Atmosphere 9.2
  • Cleanliness 9.0
  • Facilities 8.7
BOOK NOW
8.9
Fabulous 1,272 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.8
  • Security 8.7
  • Location 8.3
  • Staff 9.6
  • Atmosphere 9.2
  • Cleanliness 9.0
  • Facilities 8.7
Dreamtime Travellers Rest Located at 189 Bunda street, , Cairns.
Dreamtime Travellers Rest
Australia
Cairns Queensland 4870 189 Bunda street
89% 1272
-16.9252527 145.7699731
Dreamtime Travellers Rest
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
14th Jul 2016
9.1

Really lovely and homely feeling accommodation. Nice and social but definately not a party hostel which was perfect for me. Staff super friendly. Although the only negative thing I'd say is that one of the staff long blonde hair and American I think, was extremely short mannered. She was really letting down an otherwise fantastic staffing team

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Taiwan, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
10th Jul 2016
10.0

It is a cozy hostel with lovely staffs. Gaby is really helpful for all the traveling information. I had a great stay and met lots of friends there. It's a great hostel if you want to relax and enjoy Cairns.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • France, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
4th Jul 2016
9.1

I am so glad I decided to book at Dreamtime! It was the best for me as I'm not a huge party girl and wanted a relaxed and homely atmosphere, away from the big party hostels. I was travelling solo but met (amazing) people right away thanks to cool atmosphere and the different chilling areas. It really felt like home. I highly recommend it!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
1st Jul 2016
8.3

Good hostel other than they do not allow outside liquor. Nice large social outside area and decent kitchens. Within walking distance to everything that is needed.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
29th Jun 2016
8.9

Great place n staff :)

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • brokenbaws
  • Scotland, Male, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 18 reviews
24th Jun 2016
8.6

This is one of the top hostels in Cairns and like it prides itself on, it is very unique and has a lot of character. Wifi works reasonably well, kitchens are quite small but there are a few and rooms are basic. The open plan social area with the campervan centrepiece is where it shines along with its staff. Can't speak highly enough of Gabby from Germany. Very much a people person, very kind and patient and an absolute pro at building rapport with guests. Would go back again.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • evanandkrista
  • Australia, Female, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 15 reviews
19th Jun 2016
8.6

Lots of little spots to sit and chill. Cool vibe - very relaxed. Several kitchens. I stayed in a private double bed room and it was more than adequate - fridge, plenty of space, comfortable. Only complaint would be that because it's all wooden floors and an old building - it's noisy. Footsteps echo, floors creak and the door handles all squeak when turned. The toilet door handle especially was super loud and woke me up all through the night. Location is walking distance to main drag.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
17th Jun 2016
9.4

Fantastic hostel for those who want to detach from the party lifestyle of Cairns. Quiet, yet still sociable with excellent common areas and a fully stocked, clean kitchen. Staff are friendly and knowledgeable. I would not have left if there weren't a good reason, such as finding work in another city. Would stay again in a heartbeat!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Switzerland, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
10th Jun 2016
8.0

If you are looking for a relaxed hostel where you don't have to share your room with more than two people and where you can have a good night sleep without being woken up by some loud drunk backpackers, then this is the perfect place for you. Friendly staff, clean and nicly decorated hostel.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Couple, 31-40
  • Globetrotter
  • 22 reviews
27th May 2016
9.7

Decent place to stay. Very friendly and helpful staff.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.