X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

33,000 properties, 170 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Dreamtime Travellers Rest Reviews

189 Bunda street, Cairns, Australia

Reviews & Ratings Explained

89%

Rating
1201 Total Reviews
  • 90%Value For Money
  • 87%Security
  • 83%Location
  • 94%Staff
  • 91%Atmosphere
  • 90%Cleanliness
  • 87%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

100%

Best hostel we have stayed at by far. Comfy beds and really clean room and facilities! Staff were extremely helpful with booking excursions and taxis to the airport. Nice pool which is ideal for cooling down in and a pool table too!


71%

The location is great. Walking distance to the shopping center and bar. The staffs are amazing and very resourceful. However, the air condition is not free and there is not in room locker.


94%

Stayed there twice now within 6months. Its quiet,clean, has a very homey feel. Not a party hostel . They have activities and help with any bookings outward you need. Front desk staff is great, but the new maids are not as respectful as they could be.


86%

Location is safe, but it's a further walk to the main drag ~20 minutes, staff is helpful and friendly, rooms can be unbearably muggy and hot and AC is $1 for every 3 hours, bunk beds are really wobbly, but it's very clean and has a great social space for people to hang out in. Definitely a more chill vibe. Great place overall!


100%

The staff were very helpful and very friendly.

  • 7th Jan 2016
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


97%

A lovely hostel, clean, quiet and relaxing. Also has a lovely courtyard space that is good for socialising and meeting other travellers if one wants too. A cool and quiet retreat from the hot and busy place of Cairns.

  • 5th Jan 2016
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


80%

My friend and I enjoyed our stay at the Dreamtime Travellers Rest, we were there for two nights and got a private room. The staff was super friendly and helpful during our stay. When we arrived we were not aware of the hours of reception, our flight landed at 3 pm and there office wasn't opened yet..so we sat around in the patio out front. Luckily, a guest walked by and saw us and let us in the back where there was directions for us! Overall good budget hostel! Bring $1 coin for 3 hr ac!


66%

Wifi signal was awful and the only bathroom available had zero toilet paper for the majority of our stay and when it was stocked, it was such low quality that it ripped apart which led to the floor constantly being covered in toilet paper. Other than these two things however, overall an OK place to stay. Friendly staff and a nice outdoor area to hang out and enjoy.


80%

The fact the reception is mostly closed is sometimes stressful and annoying. Not having a garbage bin in the room is a problem.

  • 17th Dec 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Couple, 31-40
  • (1 review)


74%

Smoking was allowed in all public areas. Cigarette smoke was constantly wafting around at dinner, all the time. Yuck! Wednesday night BBQ the food was VERY poorly prepared (beef, kanga and croc cooked down to shoe leather). NOT worth the price. And the "Fire Show"? Really. Cheesy to the point of being horrid. Something you just can't "un-see". Otherwise nice enough.

  • 16th Dec 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Couple, 41+
  • (1 review)


97%

Super chilled vibe. Staff are awesome and very helpful. Also one of the cleanest hostels I have stayed in. Will definitely stay again.


80%

Lovely hostel in a great location. There's not much to do in cairnes but it's a nice place to hang out and relax for a few days. Staff are really helpful in booking tours and giving all the latest info. I really enjoyed my stay here!


77%

The kitchen ran out of forks. Can't be having a kitchen with no forks!! Apart from the fork issue I had a lovely stay. Location is great right next to the main shopping mall. The $5 reef terminal bus is a bit steep, no need to charge for that, it seems unnecessary. Bedrooms we lovely although ours was missing a blind.

  • 13th Dec 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


77%

Very peaceful and friendly, nice little pool, quite convenient for town ( through mall ).


91%

Fantastic stay! Beautiful place. The three bed dorm is super ideal for small groups. Would definitely recommend it.

  • 9th Dec 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Iran
  • Mixed Group, 25-30
  • (1 review)


80%

Dreamtime is an great hostel with a relaxed vibe, friendly staff, and good facilities. The staff are awesome and go out of their way to give advice and book excursions, which was super helpful. There's a nice pool, big kitchen, laundry machines, and a social common area where they host various nights like all you can eat pizza night and movie night. This is more of a relaxed and friendly hostel than a party hostel, and it's a bit far away from the main center of town but not too far.


89%

Dreamtime has a young crowd without the obnoxious noise levels. NOT a party hostel, which I appreciated. The staff is extremely helpful with booking excursions, and they have a decent bar selection. Kitchen and pool are frequently used, meaning they're in great condition. The place is also exceptionally clean. Only downside is the after-hours exit doesn't shut automatically, and many guests leave it open. This is not a bad on the staff. However, it should be rigged to close all the way -- safety

  • 26th Nov 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


94%

Was supposed to be here only for three days but stayed almost two weeks! Had multiple rooms, which were all clean and tidy. It has a really nice ambience and they had great advice for tours and trips, very helpful! Good location. Also no disturbance in the night during my stay, very peaceful. Best hostel ever !!


66%

Reception opening times are poor! Keep the wifi on all night! There are guests from different time zones.

  • 22nd Nov 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


94%

Nothing got stolen but still i was nervous about it I wish there would be lockers to provide more security

  • 21st Nov 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


« first « Prev 1 2 3
(52 results)


View all Cairns Hostels

Please give us your feedback