Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Drifter Jack's Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
9.1
Superb 583 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.0
  • Security 9.3
  • Location 9.2
  • Staff 9.6
  • Atmosphere 9.1
  • Cleanliness 9.0
  • Facilities 8.7
BOOK NOW
9.1
Superb 583 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.0
  • Security 9.3
  • Location 9.2
  • Staff 9.6
  • Atmosphere 9.1
  • Cleanliness 9.0
  • Facilities 8.7

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
19th Apr 2017
9.7

I had such an amazing time at Drifter Jack's Hostel! The staff was extremely friendly and welcoming. They organized events throughout my stay (such as pub crawls at night) which were a great way to meet fellow travelers. The bathrooms were very clean and the beds were very comfortable. This would be a superb place for any traveler to stay, whether solo or traveling with a group. I highly recommend Drifter Jack's Hostel!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

We had an amazing time with you!! We're so lucky to have met you. Come back to see us soon!

  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
11th Apr 2017
10.0

My time at Drifter Jack's was excellent! I found the staff to be very friendly and down to earth and the environment they created at the hostel to be very inclusive and fun. I came to Austin on my own and found that, through the hostel, I had a group of friends to explore the city with by the first day. I would very strongly recommend Drifter Jack's to anyone who is visiting Austin and looking to have a social and good time!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

You're amazing! We all had a great time getting to know you. We look forward to seeing you next time you are in Austin. (hopefully for good!!) :) Cheers, The Staff at Drifter Jacks

  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
8th Apr 2017
10.0

If you're going to Austin and don't stay at jacks then it's scientifically proven youre a pelican. Atmosphere, staff and location are a 10. I really miss sinking loneys and chilling out here. Cheers guys can't wait to come back

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

We miss you!! Come back now!

  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
8th Apr 2017
9.4

Great hostel in a great location. Only stayed one night. Bunk beds make a sound at the slightest movement but otherwise a great hostel!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for staying! Come back soon!

  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 9 reviews
6th Apr 2017
10.0

Great location, plenty of shops and restaurants nearby. Close to the bus stop, easy to get around. Staff and the other guests where super friendly and easy to get along with. Will be back again.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

We're happy you had a great time! We hope to see you soon!

  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
3rd Apr 2017
9.7

Excellent hostel! The staff were very accommodating and great value for banter. The activity board was a great addition, making it easy to navigate around all the hotspots of Austin. It is a smaller hostel which adds to the fun vibes as everyone travelling will get to know each other and from my experience get dinner and party together. Highly recommend it to anyone travelling to Austin.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

We had so much fun with you two! Safe travels! We hope to see you next time you make it to Austin. Cheers :)

  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
31st Mar 2017
7.1

This hostel was fine for what it was, a reasonably priced place to stay in Austin. With regards to cleanliness, it was fine. Everything looked clean with the exception of a very large roach as a roommate who snuck into the bathroom in the am. My only real complaint wasn't that there wasn't any place to lock my valuables up on the day that I was leaving. Also, if you're looking to wander around downtown, it's a bit of a shlep to get there.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

We're so sorry to hear about your unwanted roommate last weekend. Texas does everything bigger, doesn't it?! We do work hard to keep all of our rooms cleaned daily, so we are sorry this was your experience. We do have cubbies in the common room for anyone who wants to store their belongings for the day. Anything important is more than welcome to be held in our office. We apologize for not making this clearer for you while you were here. Thank you for your feedback.

  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
30th Mar 2017
10.0

Great hostil, perfect location

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for coming! Please keep us in mind next time you are in Austin :)

  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 9 reviews
29th Mar 2017
9.4

Staff made this place they were all so nice answered questions, showed us around and organised nights out well worth it just going for that reason. Internet was alright loaded a few things but wasn't great. Bed's were really comfy and it was super clean, would 100% recommend

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
25th Mar 2017
9.1

Fun place to stay, love the staff they're great. A bit out of the way if you're trying to be close to the main downtown area away from UT, but if you plan to stay at UT it's in an ideal location

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.