Hostelworld.com

Drifter Jack's Hostel

Prices
map
reviews
8.7
Fabulous 404 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.6
  • Security 8.7
  • Location 8.5
  • Staff 9.3
  • Atmosphere 9.0
  • Cleanliness 8.7
  • Facilities 8.3
BOOK NOW
8.7
Fabulous 404 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.6
  • Security 8.7
  • Location 8.5
  • Staff 9.3
  • Atmosphere 9.0
  • Cleanliness 8.7
  • Facilities 8.3
Drifter Jack's Hostel Located at 2602 Guadalupe St., , Austin.
Drifter Jack's Hostel
USA
Austin Texas 78705 2602 Guadalupe St.
87% 404
30.2910705 -97.7419710
Drifter Jack's Hostel
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
23rd Apr 2016
9.4

Great place to stay! Friendly helpful staff and great outdoor area

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Mixed Group, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 11 reviews
22nd Apr 2016
7.7

We (3 friends) had a good experience at Drifter Jack's. It's a great location - close to lots of shops and food and activities. Facilities were sufficient; I will say that I wish there was more to the breakfast than toast, tomato and pancakes, and hostels in this area are a bit on the pricey side, but overall I still think it was worth it. We really enjoyed the Saturday night pub crawl! Thank you!

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
22nd Apr 2016
4.3

Not clean really at all. Room had a very strange smell. Doors don't lock so there's minimal security. Common room had soiled couches. Kitchen and bathrooms were dingy. Staff was pleasant however. But would not recommend.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

We are sorry to hear you didn't enjoy your stay. We spend 6 hours each day cleaning the rooms and bathrooms and do our best to maintain cleanliness throughout the hostel. All the doors do lock, but it's up to the room guests to lock them. Our hostel is so communal and welcoming, that many guests don't feel the need to lock doors. We will continue to work on cleanliness, thanks for your feedback.

21st Apr 2016
8.6

Great place, great environment with great people.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
15th Apr 2016
9.4

Had a great stay here! All of the staff were fantastic, especially Chris who works overnight. Facility is very clean overall, kitchen is always open and the complimentary breakfast was the best on my trip. The artwork throughout the hostel is amazing and brightens up the whole place. Location is not downtown but is an easily accessible, short bus ride from everything. The only downside was that the individual rooms didn't have locks. There were lockers provided in the rooms, but still.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
31st Mar 2016
10.0

Clean, friendly staff, and great environment. I had a ton of fun and am so glad I decided to stay here. I'd definitely stay again next time I'm in Austin.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Switzerland, Female, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 10 reviews
30th Mar 2016
8.9

I had such a great stay here, even extended one more night. The atmosphere is amazing and the location is good. Unfortunately some things got stolen, but thats the only criticism (and I'm sure theyre working on it). However I would definitely stay there again!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
26th Mar 2016
9.4

Fantastic stay in Austin, the staff was very friendly and helpful especially when figuring out what to do in a city like Austin, they also do pub crawls which are very popular and help you go out see the nightlife. Breakfast is pretty good compared to other hostels and they have a open kitchen available most hours at night. Dorms are roomy as well as clean and comfortable and the location is close to UT which has a few cool dive bars and a 15-20 minute bus ride to Zilker Park and Downtown.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
20th Mar 2016
10.0

Great place, friendly staff, good atmosphere in the evenings with people up for going out, and a free pool table. No complaints!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • CNHilliard
  • USA, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
14th Mar 2016
9.1

Very friendly staff that are helpful. Clean facilities and rooms. Clean towels and sheets. I really liked the people I met in my room during SxSW. They actually all ended up coming out with me to party and we had a blast. It's a great hostel with colorful walls but I thought it was weird all the dorm rooms were always kept unlocked. We had access to lockers with locks but the thought that anyone could walk into my room at anytime left me a little uneasy. Especially while I was sleeping.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.