Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Drifter Jack's Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
9.2
Superb 505 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.1
  • Security 9.4
  • Location 8.9
  • Staff 9.7
  • Atmosphere 9.2
  • Cleanliness 9.2
  • Facilities 8.7
BOOK NOW
9.2
Superb 505 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.1
  • Security 9.4
  • Location 8.9
  • Staff 9.7
  • Atmosphere 9.2
  • Cleanliness 9.2
  • Facilities 8.7
Drifter Jack's Hostel Located at 2602 Guadalupe St., , Austin.
Drifter Jack's Hostel
USA
Austin Texas 78705 2602 Guadalupe St.
92% 505
30.2910705 -97.7419710
Drifter Jack's Hostel
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
9th Nov 2016
10.0

Had a fantastic time at drifter jack's. Loved the vibe, the activities, the rooms and most especially the staff. What a bunch of legends, did everything possible to ensure everyone felt part of the gang and enjoyed their stay. Perfect.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Legends?! Wow, we really appreciate the love! We work hard to make everyone feel a part of this awesome community so we are thrilled this was your experience. Please come back soon! We will always have Vegemite!

  • brianbalamut
  • USA, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
8th Nov 2016
9.4

This place has a cool artsy vibe and they take security seriously keeping the door locked all the time. The staff was great, Ethan in particular is a super friendly cool guy!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Denmark, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
23rd Oct 2016
9.4

I stayed at Drifter Jacks for 11 days and loved everyday of my stay. The location of the hostel is good. There are many good and cheap places to eat around the hostel. And it is eazy to get downtown because there is two bus stops 1mon from the hostel. The staff is so amazing. They are kind, helpful and it feels like its more than a job for them.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
21st Oct 2016
9.1

The best part about this hostel is the staff. We had a great time out at 6th street and our ring leader Ethan made sure everyone had a blast. The people we met there were very cool, overall great experience. I will definitely be back!

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for the awesome words and for being a truly fantastic guest. Are biggest hope is that our guests will meet other wonderful people to enjoy this great city with. Glad that was true for you!

  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 31-40
  • Globetrotter
  • 21 reviews
19th Oct 2016
7.7

Little further from city than I realised. Great staff. Best breakfast. Great wifi. Only issue is people don't lock the bedroom doors, and someone stole my pyjamas. A bit strange. Small living space but the best VHS collection, fun place to chill.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for the kind words. You were obviously meant to stay here if you can appreciate a great VHS collection! Still no clue where those PJ's went to?! I'm sure it was an accident and now they are on a journey across the world.

  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
19th Oct 2016
10.0

I had a great time at Drifter Jacks! The staff were lovely and friendly in particular Ethan who ran the Pub Crawl and also showed us great places to get coffee! The hostel is really close to local restaurants and a bus route runs from less than a block away - on top of this there is a 7/11 beside it with $5 pizzas! Overall I would definitely stay at Drifter Jacks again, the beds were comfortable and it's a good safe area right next to the University of Texas and Downtown.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Yes! Thanks for highlighting all the extra perks around the hostel that make it easy to eat and explore. Are you craving some Joe's now?! I'm sure Ethan's there right now. Please come back!

15th Oct 2016
9.7

I had an amazing stay. The staff was great and this is the perfect place for solo travelers.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks! It was great having you stay with us. Solo female travelers are rock stars. Glad you had a safe and fun experience with us! See you again soon?!

  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
15th Oct 2016
9.4

I cant reccomend this place enough. The staff were great, friendly and very helpful. The hostel is clean and beds are comfy. its about a 10minute bus ride to 6th st but the bus stop is right out the front of the hostel. Thrre are plenty of pubs just accross the road that are great to start the night off and or finish. Plus theres a servo right accross the road for all your early morning hangover needs. If your in Austin and want somewhere fun to stay you should idefinately stay here.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Wow, we are blushing. Thanks for the review love. Of course we miss you dearly. It's great guests like you that help make this hostel the best in Austin. Hope your cowboy boots get some good action down under! Boot-scootin-boogie! Yeehaw!

11th Oct 2016
8.3

Clean and relaxing. Breakfast is standard fare (pancakes/toast/fruit). Right by the university so plenty of cheap eating options close by. A short bus ride into central Austin (6th St etc). Limited parking and I got lucky getting a spot. The staff here are first rate. Very friendly and helpful and that's what makes this place a winner. Quiet during the night. An events board is updated daily letting you know what's happening in this fun city.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Ahh shux! Thanks for sharing the best about our hostel. We think you are pretty first rate, too. We miss you. Come back and see us soon?!

5th Oct 2016
7.7

Stayed there a couple of nights and really enjoyed it. Stuff was super helpful with anything that I asked or needed. The place itself was clean and tidy, though there aren't enough bathrooms. It's a walking distance from lots of restaurants and some pubs, and in addition there's a bus station right outside the hostel with busses going to every part of the downtown area. Would definitely go back there if I ended up in Austin again.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.