X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Drifter Jack's Hostel Reviews

2602 Guadalupe St., Austin, USA

Reviews & Ratings Explained

89%

Rating
242 Total Reviews
  • 86%Value For Money
  • 92%Security
  • 89%Location
  • 95%Staff
  • 91%Atmosphere
  • 88%Cleanliness
  • 85%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

91%

Came for the weekend by myself, stayed in a co Ed room and had a blast. The staff is super awesome and friendly. The place is really clean and its a great way to meet people. Highly recommend coming here, you beautiful traveling nomads :)

  • 25th Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


97%

Had a great time at this hostel. Staff were incredibly helpful and fun. I have recommended this hostel to other travellers because it was so great.


89%

It's always the people that make a hostel - staff all suoer helpful - lots of ideas where to o my what to do outside the "normal" touristy type stuff. Location is great for food and bars and short ride down town.

  • 9th Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


100%

Awesome place!

  • 5th Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


97%

I spent my Fourth of July weekend with Thomas, Shea, and everyone at Drifter Jacks and had an AMAZING time. Everyone is so friendly - you immediately feel at home. The staff goes out of their way to recommend nightly events and hot spots, and the free nightly beer was an added bonus! Nothing to suggest, this is now my room of choice in Austin. Thanks everyone!!

  • 3rd Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


60%

The hostel was in a good location, but the bar crawl was a waste of money. Paid $10 and then had to pay a cover on top to get into a bar. The rooms were pretty cool, art work was interesting. One toilet/shower between two dorms is not enough though, especially when the toilet doesn't flush properly


86%

love love this place. Thomas, Shea, William and Issac made this place awesome. great touches like free drink in a bar next door daily, waffles at breakfast (donuts on the weekend) and a TV room to hang out in (with vhs tapes!)


91%

Would highly recommend to anyone visiting Austin! The staff were excellent especially Thomas who was lovely. Went on the hostel organised pub crawl which was a lot of fun, would visit again.


91%

Staying here is a must!

  • 8th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


74%

Loved my stay here - met such a cool bunch of people, the free beer at the bar next door was great! :)

  • 7th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


91%

Staff were quite helpful, engaging and friendly. My only challenge with the place was the rickety-ness and length of the bunk beds, particularly for those in the top bunk. I am on the taller side and felt that every time I got in/out of bed or turned over, I was causing an earthquake for the person on the bottom bunk. Also, the shower head was at the height of about 5 feet, much too short for me.


100%

I had an absolutely amazing time in Austin thanks to Drifter Jack's. Austin is such a fantastic city and the staff were friendly and gave great recommendations. As a solo traveller I found the common areas a great oppourtunity to meet others and the hostel was conveniently located in the heart of the university district. Make sure to check out the pub crawl and catch an uber up to Twin Falls!

  • 4th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


69%

Good hostel, but very basic for the price being paid. Would probably choose HI over this next time as Drifter Jacks has no kitchen and common room is not as good as others. Kitchen is fridge and microwave so don't come expecting to cook!

  • 1st Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


94%

Very cool hostel near UT, free beer every night in a close by bar. The staff is very helpful, specially Shae who's full of advice on everything Austin related. Nice little outdoor area


97%

Everything you need within walking distance. Friendly staff. Cozy common area. I've stayed at all the Austin hostels and my best experience was at this one even though the other facilities were newer.


77%

Great staff. Bathroom not great (dirty, toilet clogging), but that could have just been ours. Lots of cool activities and suggestions from the staff. Rooms were decent, had mini fridge and good lockers. I would recommend.


97%

So hip. So swell. Staff was so nice. Fantastic everything. Nothing elseelse to say.

  • 11th May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Couple, 18-24
  • (1 review)


86%

Thomas was excellent.

  • 8th May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


94%

The finest hostel staff. Easygoing, just want you want from a good hostel.


100%

Super awesome! The decor made the envelop meant fun and your staff was on point! Truly an awesome experience


« first « Prev 1 2 3
(45 results)


View all Austin Hostels

Please give us your feedback