Hostelworld.com

Drifter Jack's Hostel

Prices
map
reviews
8.9
Fabulous 444 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.8
  • Security 8.8
  • Location 8.7
  • Staff 9.4
  • Atmosphere 9.2
  • Cleanliness 8.9
  • Facilities 8.5
BOOK NOW
8.9
Fabulous 444 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.8
  • Security 8.8
  • Location 8.7
  • Staff 9.4
  • Atmosphere 9.2
  • Cleanliness 8.9
  • Facilities 8.5
Drifter Jack's Hostel Located at 2602 Guadalupe St., , Austin.
Drifter Jack's Hostel
USA
Austin Texas 78705 2602 Guadalupe St.
89% 444
30.2910705 -97.7419710
Drifter Jack's Hostel
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
16th Jun 2016
10.0

Very impressed with this place, it's more than fun and dripping with character. Ethan, Christina and Jamie were great staff in particular.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Ahh, thanks for the awesome review. We think you are pretty great, too! Thanks for staying with us and we'll see you next time.

  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
15th Jun 2016
8.9

Drifter Jack's is a great place to stay (great location, wonderful staff, clean, lots of fun) and I would definitely recommend it to anyone else travelling through Austin. My only qualm was there was only one shared bathroom between two dorm rooms (which translates to one toilet and shower shared between twelve people). Wasn't the worst thing, but could get frustrating at times. In any case, Drifter Jack's is awesome. Shoutout to the wonderful staff for always being friendly and helpful.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • sheepdog11
  • USA, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
14th Jun 2016
10.0

I loved staying here. As an artist, is was an incredibly creative atmosphere to be a part of. The hostel is located in a great part of Austin, not too far from downtown and right across the street from the UT campus. The staff could not have been nicer and there were plenty of hostel-organized events where you can get to know your fellow travelers while experiencing everything the city has to offer. I highly recommend Drifter Jack's to anyone traveling to Austin!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
9th Jun 2016
9.1

Drifter Jack's was one of the best hostels I have ever stayed at!! The staff was the absolute BEST. We went on a pub crawl the Thursday night I was there and we had such a blast. The other travelers who stayed at Drifter Jack's were fabulous as well. There's a great patio area for playing pool, hanging out, and smoking. Stay here for the fantastic travelers this hostel attracts and for the amazing staff!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Ahhh, shux! Thanks for the hostel love. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay and trip to Austin. Come back and see us soon!

6th Jun 2016
8.9

Facilities: 1) 2 ceiling fans above outdoor pool table; otherwise, texas heat has everybody sweating profusely. 2) additional washer and dryer for hostel customers. Staff: Very rule oriented almost like staying at motel 6. Down near the pool table says 'feel the love from Austin'. Didn't feel much love from the staff. Recommend relax on rules like allowing people to be in towels to and from their rooms. Hostels are suppose to be a bit on the edge. If not edgy, not many stories/fun.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

As per our many other amazing reviews, our staff IS what makes this hostel a true traveler's community. It's also our staff's responsibility to make sure ALL our guests are comfortable and feel safe. Rules and procedures assist in keeping our hostel safe. If you want a place to be half naked, a hotel room would be a better choice.

6th Jun 2016
9.1

Had a great stay at drifter jacks even though it was only for one night! Friendly staff and clean amenities! The building itself is a work of art. Would stay here again for sure!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • India, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
2nd Jun 2016
10.0

Amazing hostel, amazing staff and amazing facilities.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
2nd Jun 2016
8.9

It could be argued that this place was a little bit out of the way but the staff really what make this place fantastic. It was my first time in Austin so I had no idea where to go or what to see. Che in particular was always incredibly helpful, friendly and had tons of tips on what to do. I also stayed at another hostel but preferred Drifter Jacks as a solo traveller. Could not recommend highly enough.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

We are so glad you enjoyed your stay. Nice job taking advantage of our local staff who know exactly what to do for an authentic Austin experience. Next time you come to Texas, don't forget to stop by!

  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
29th May 2016
8.6

Great staff, all very helpful, friendly and funny. Solid and decent hostel, safe choice to choose to stay😏

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Mixed Group, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
28th May 2016
10.0

The people made this hostel!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.