Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Drifter Jack's Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Prices
map
reviews
8.9
Fabulous 461 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.8
  • Security 8.8
  • Location 8.8
  • Staff 9.5
  • Atmosphere 9.2
  • Cleanliness 8.9
  • Facilities 8.5
BOOK NOW
8.9
Fabulous 461 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.8
  • Security 8.8
  • Location 8.8
  • Staff 9.5
  • Atmosphere 9.2
  • Cleanliness 8.9
  • Facilities 8.5
Drifter Jack's Hostel Located at 2602 Guadalupe St., , Austin.
Drifter Jack's Hostel
USA
Austin Texas 78705 2602 Guadalupe St.
89% 461
30.2910705 -97.7419710
Drifter Jack's Hostel
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
23rd Jul 2016
10.0

Easily one of the best American hostels I stayed at. The hallmark of a great hostel community is when you meet new people in the common rooms and everyone scraps their plans to form group plans instead.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
14th Jul 2016
8.9

Great staff made me feel at home. Lots of activities organised. Right on transport links. Really easy going and accommodating. I would certainly stay there again.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for the kind words. We really do have the BEST staff. So glad you enjoyed your stay. Please come back and see us soon.

  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
6th Jul 2016
10.0

Best hostel in the States and one of the best I've been to in the world, hands down. Ideal location, clean facilities, free breakfast, comfortable rooms, amazing atmosphere with events planned nightly. But most importantly, some of the greatest staff I've ever encountered. Ethan, Sophie, Jamie, Shea, Thea and Chris-- thank you for being the best hosts and making my time in Austin the greatest week of my summer. Can't recommend this hostel more. A trip to Austin wouldn't be complete without i

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Ahh shux!! Thanks for the awesome review. It's guests like you that make this the best job and hostel around. We are so sad to not see you each morning, so please come back and visit soon!!

  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
30th Jun 2016
8.6

Nice overall, very friendly folks.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
29th Jun 2016
9.7

Very social hostel. Easy to get places by bus and they give you a free drink at a local bar each night. The staff was really nice and had a ton of suggestions when we were planning out our time. Would definitely stay here again the next time I pass through Austin.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
27th Jun 2016
6.0

Room was so cold we slept with two sweaters on (it was June). Staff said they couldn't turn the A/C down and therefore we froze our way through three nights. Common area was tiny and old only fit 6 or 7 people at a time. Between that and our arctic room we ended up avoiding the hostel as much as possible as it was so uncomfortable.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Ladies! So sorry that you froze. We do keep the hostel chilly during the summer months as a reprise from the 100+ degree weather outside. However, we can adjust the temperature if we have too many folks cold. I am sorry the staff was not accommodating.I have spoken with them about this. And our small facilities make for a cozy stay and the idea is you get to meet many travelers. Sorry that wasn't what you were interested in. Best of luck on the rest of your travels.

  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
22nd Jun 2016
9.4

Had an amazing time at Drifter Jack's. Stayed for one week and felt at home the entire time. Staff were super friendly and fun to hang out with. There were lots of cool activities that the hostel offered including an awesome pub crawl along 6th street. The highlight for me was spending time in the hostel's chill/nolstalgia room where I had access to a hundred or so classic VHS films. Yes VHS. Killer. Would recommend this hostel to any traveller.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Ah, shux! Thanks for the great review. We love when guests take advantage of our social outings and extra amenities. It's guests like you that make our hostel an awesome opportunity to meet people from across the world. Thanks for staying with us!

  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
17th Jun 2016
9.1

Drifter Jack's was a great place! The atmosphere was really relaxed and most of the guests were very friendly and chill. The rooms were nice, clean, and well-maintained. The staff was extremely friendly and kind and seemed to genuinely enjoy hanging out together. The free breakfast was simple but filling (toast, eggs, pancakes, fruit, coffee). My biggest regret was not being able to take advantage of the free drink coupons or the many social events going on, as I was there for a conference.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
16th Jun 2016
10.0

Very impressed with this place, it's more than fun and dripping with character. Ethan, Christina and Jamie were great staff in particular.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Ahh, thanks for the awesome review. We think you are pretty great, too! Thanks for staying with us and we'll see you next time.

  • Anonymous
  • Colombia, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
15th Jun 2016
9.4

Great experience!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.