X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Drifter Jack's Hostel Reviews

2602 Guadalupe St., Austin, USA

Reviews & Ratings Explained

89%

Rating
265 Total Reviews
  • 85%Value For Money
  • 92%Security
  • 88%Location
  • 95%Staff
  • 90%Atmosphere
  • 88%Cleanliness
  • 84%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

97%

Absolutely loved Drifter Jacks, would definitely stay again if I come back to the area. Austin is a very cool city, lots to see and do, the hostel staff, particularly Thomas were very helpful and friendly :)

  • 23rd Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


97%

One of the best hostels we stayed in - there was a good atmosphere, the staff were dead on and everything else seemed fine.


100%

I had a wonderful time! Drifter Jack's is an amazing, welcoming environment where it's so easy to meet new people and make the most of Austin.

  • 19th Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

Drifter Jack's is a great hostel. It is clean, tidy and well located. The beds are comfy and there are plenty of bathrooms. It's less than one minutes walk to the main road where you can hop on a bus to explore Austin. The staff are super friendly and helpful. They work hard to make sure you enjoy your stay. The breakfast is great - waffles, toast, fruit and hot drinks. The free daily drink in the bar is an added bonus and is a great way to help people socialize.

  • 16th Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


97%

Loved it there. I totally would recommend staying there!


94%

Easily the best hostel I stayed in in America, the staff couldn't have been friendlier and the hostel is always in pristine condition!


86%

Good wifi, not enough bathrooms, common room was good to meet people, would recommend the pub crawls, helpful staff.


89%

Awesome hostel! Super friendly and helpful staff! Bar fridge in every room very handy.


100%

Brilliant place to stay, cool art close to 6th street and a great diner to eat at around the corner Staff were friendly. Would highly recommend to stay while visiting Austin

  • 29th Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


91%

Came for the weekend by myself, stayed in a co Ed room and had a blast. The staff is super awesome and friendly. The place is really clean and its a great way to meet people. Highly recommend coming here, you beautiful traveling nomads :)

  • 25th Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


97%

Had a great time at this hostel. Staff were incredibly helpful and fun. I have recommended this hostel to other travellers because it was so great.


94%

I don't normally leave reviews, but when I do, it's because I truly enjoyed the hostel and more importantly, the staff! Everyone was super friendly, welcoming and willing to recommend places and things to do. Shout out to Shea for her pro tips, Thomas for being awesome, Felicia, Miranda and Travis! I'll definitely stay again if I'm in Austin. Thanks so much, Megan.

  • 13th Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


89%

It's always the people that make a hostel - staff all suoer helpful - lots of ideas where to o my what to do outside the "normal" touristy type stuff. Location is great for food and bars and short ride down town.

  • 9th Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


100%

Awesome place!

  • 5th Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


83%

Nice hostel, very genuine. The staff is friendly and helpful. You have to take a bus for going to the center but it is easy. We spent a good time in Austin. Partying in 6th street is really amazing!!


97%

I spent my Fourth of July weekend with Thomas, Shea, and everyone at Drifter Jacks and had an AMAZING time. Everyone is so friendly - you immediately feel at home. The staff goes out of their way to recommend nightly events and hot spots, and the free nightly beer was an added bonus! Nothing to suggest, this is now my room of choice in Austin. Thanks everyone!!

  • 3rd Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


60%

The hostel was in a good location, but the bar crawl was a waste of money. Paid $10 and then had to pay a cover on top to get into a bar. The rooms were pretty cool, art work was interesting. One toilet/shower between two dorms is not enough though, especially when the toilet doesn't flush properly


86%

love love this place. Thomas, Shea, William and Issac made this place awesome. great touches like free drink in a bar next door daily, waffles at breakfast (donuts on the weekend) and a TV room to hang out in (with vhs tapes!)


91%

Would highly recommend to anyone visiting Austin! The staff were excellent especially Thomas who was lovely. Went on the hostel organised pub crawl which was a lot of fun, would visit again.


91%

Staying here is a must!

  • 8th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


« first « Prev 1 2 3
(53 results)


View all Austin Hostels

Please give us your feedback