Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Drifter Jack's Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
9.1
Superb 544 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.0
  • Security 9.3
  • Location 9.0
  • Staff 9.6
  • Atmosphere 8.9
  • Cleanliness 9.1
  • Facilities 8.6
BOOK NOW
9.1
Superb 544 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.0
  • Security 9.3
  • Location 9.0
  • Staff 9.6
  • Atmosphere 8.9
  • Cleanliness 9.1
  • Facilities 8.6

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
16th Feb 2017
10.0

Had a great time the experience was awesome Lyon should definitely book 📚

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
8th Feb 2017
8.9

Nice place.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Argentina, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 9 reviews
7th Feb 2017
9.4

Very good hostel. Staff is awesome and very well located.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
7th Feb 2017
10.0

Drifter Jack's exceeded all my hostel expectations! The staff were all amazing - so friendly, helpful and just cool people. The atmosphere they create is awesome. You feel really welcome and everyone becomes friends by the end of your stay! The common area downstairs is great for chatting and getting to know everyone, and the tv room (with a fab VCR collection) is fab! Location is great - bus stop out the front and the area around Guadalupe street is cool too. I will 100% be back - thanks guys!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
17th Jan 2017
10.0

Loved the staff. Every inch of the place was covered in local art. The pool table was a great social place to hang out, as well as the common room. They had pancake breakfast every morning and fresh fruit. Loved that there was free towels available. Pub crawl with Ethan was awesome. And when someone got sick in the bathroom the staff was quick to get it cleaned up. Plus having the extra bathroom available in the common area was great when your room one was in use.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
4th Jan 2017
10.0

Great little hostel with a great vibe, and staff that integrate as if they're one of the travellers too! Wish I could have stayed for longer! If you want to meet new friends, this is the place! Vinh

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Dang thanks for the great review! We really enjoyed hanging with you, too. We'll see you again - soon, we hope!

  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 9 reviews
30th Dec 2016
10.0

Love this place, would definitely stay again! Great staff and made great friends. Thanks guys!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

We LOVE hearing about all the friendships our guests make. Thanks for staying with us!

  • Anonymous
  • Colombia, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
30th Dec 2016
9.1

Nice staff, great breakfast. Good environment, but definitely lack of organized activities, fortunately guests were very proactive. Convenient location, comfortable. The carpets could use a wash. I understand the policy of not getting a key to the main door if you don't pay the deposit, that could be charged to the card btw, but not getting a key to my room was definitely not ok. I would definitely stay here again.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

New Year's Eve makes any organized events fairly hard. But every morning we update our event board with the best things happening in Austin to help you enjoy the city. We also have pub crawls twice a week. Yet sometimes the best things happen organically so I'm glad you were able to meet some other great guests and make plans. Thanks for staying with us!

  • Anonymous
  • China, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
29th Dec 2016
10.0

Great city. Great hostel. Nice and clean. 24 hr front desk. My last night at the hostel. A new guest snored like he was crying out loud. I went to the front desk, the guy there gave my some ear plugs, fixed my problem. Otherwise, I would spend that night wide awaking thinking about slapping the snoring guy. Also had a lot of fun at the pub crawl night. Also, remember to ask Ethan for the Ride Austin promotion code.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
27th Dec 2016
10.0

My stay was absolutely awesome! Lots of nice people there..super comfy beds, big lockers, hostel activities, very clean..awesome hostel with a really good atmosphere. Stayed for 5 nights and was very sad to leave :)

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

We were sad to see you leave! Thanks for the awesome review. We hope you find your way back to Austin and Drifter Jack's soon.

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.