X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Drifter Jack's Hostel Reviews

2602 Guadalupe St., Austin, USA

Reviews & Ratings Explained

89%

Rating
267 Total Reviews
  • 86%Value For Money
  • 92%Security
  • 88%Location
  • 95%Staff
  • 90%Atmosphere
  • 88%Cleanliness
  • 84%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

91%

Would highly recommend to anyone visiting Austin! The staff were excellent especially Thomas who was lovely. Went on the hostel organised pub crawl which was a lot of fun, would visit again.


91%

Staying here is a must!

  • 8th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


74%

Loved my stay here - met such a cool bunch of people, the free beer at the bar next door was great! :)

  • 7th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


91%

Staff were quite helpful, engaging and friendly. My only challenge with the place was the rickety-ness and length of the bunk beds, particularly for those in the top bunk. I am on the taller side and felt that every time I got in/out of bed or turned over, I was causing an earthquake for the person on the bottom bunk. Also, the shower head was at the height of about 5 feet, much too short for me.


100%

I had an absolutely amazing time in Austin thanks to Drifter Jack's. Austin is such a fantastic city and the staff were friendly and gave great recommendations. As a solo traveller I found the common areas a great oppourtunity to meet others and the hostel was conveniently located in the heart of the university district. Make sure to check out the pub crawl and catch an uber up to Twin Falls!

  • 4th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


74%

decent hostel. its the residents and staff that make it worthwhile.


69%

Good hostel, but very basic for the price being paid. Would probably choose HI over this next time as Drifter Jacks has no kitchen and common room is not as good as others. Kitchen is fridge and microwave so don't come expecting to cook!

  • 1st Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


94%

Very cool hostel near UT, free beer every night in a close by bar. The staff is very helpful, specially Shae who's full of advice on everything Austin related. Nice little outdoor area


97%

Everything you need within walking distance. Friendly staff. Cozy common area. I've stayed at all the Austin hostels and my best experience was at this one even though the other facilities were newer.


77%

Great staff. Bathroom not great (dirty, toilet clogging), but that could have just been ours. Lots of cool activities and suggestions from the staff. Rooms were decent, had mini fridge and good lockers. I would recommend.


97%

So hip. So swell. Staff was so nice. Fantastic everything. Nothing elseelse to say.

  • 11th May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Couple, 18-24
  • (1 review)


86%

Thomas was excellent.

  • 8th May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


94%

The finest hostel staff. Easygoing, just want you want from a good hostel.


100%

Super awesome! The decor made the envelop meant fun and your staff was on point! Truly an awesome experience


86%

Great staff, nice and clean rooms ;)


83%

Had a little hiccup when the Hostelworld reservation wasn't pulling up. Luckily a couple of spots opened up. Unfortunately they were in separate rooms and my girlfriend wasn't too thrilled with that.... Oh well it didn't bother me. This place is SUPER close to campus. Go chill with Jesús at his camper. Parking can be a little squirrelly. And fining Hume St is a pain in the butt because it looks like an alleyway.


71%

The overall hostel is good but it can be better. The rooms have a bad odor, they need a new carpet, the breakfast is very bad is just coffee and a load of bread is not a real breakfast. One of the guys that works there is very rude his name is Travis and Thomas did very good job.


94%

I just have to mention 2 wonderful front desk people to include my brother from another mother Travis and Amanda who were very helpful...I have to mention a not so nice worker Anthony who was quite rude but he's only there for a few more weeks...Thank You! I have never said an unfavorable comment after traveling 152 countries but I had to mention this rude young man...maybe it will get to him..maybe not.


100%

This is hands down one of the best hostels we've stayed at, not just in the USA but anywhere. Such a good atmosphere and attracts a great crowd. Austin is obviously a great city and the staff really make an effort to help you experience it, or there's always recommendations on the board about stuff to do. Thomas and Shea and all the staff were amaaazing as well, thank you so much guys!

  • 29th Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

The best thing about this hostel was easily the staff! They went well beyond the call of duty - happy for a chat, genuine, full of suggestions and helpful knowledge about Austin. I felt like a friend and not a guest... aww... Anyway, in addition: cool art on the walls, 24hr reception, plentiful storage space, delicious waffles, great location, and VEGEMITE? wtf. Even if it was overpriced, it made this aussie very happy. (I guess it costs a lot to ship that stuff over the pacific, or something).

  • 28th Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


(55 results)


View all Austin Hostels

Please give us your feedback