X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Drop Bear Hostel Reviews

Carrera 21 Numero 20 36, Barrio Jardin, Santa Marta, Colombia

Reviews & Ratings Explained

90%

Rating
113 Total Reviews
  • 90%Value For Money
  • 95%Security
  • 75%Location
  • 96%Staff
  • 91%Atmosphere
  • 92%Cleanliness
  • 93%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

69%

Drop Bear is a great hostel if you are just wanting to stay a day or two to recover from or ramp up for activities like the Lost City trek or Tayrona. It has a nice chilled vibe & you can hang by the pool or watch a movie, but I wouldn't stay here for more than a night or two due to location. You need to catch a cab or bus if you want to go to the main area of Santa Marta, it's a bit far to walk all the time & it's not safe at night. I moved to another hostel because I got bored of chilling out!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Wow really suprised by your comments as we don't remember seeing you socialize with many people, never in the bar, stayed in a single room, not sure what we could have done if you only wanted to watch movies all day. We are actually the best located hostel in Santa Marta for ALL the sights not just el centro. Buses 75cents and cabs $2.50 pass by both ends of the street. 5-10 minutes from all parts of Santa Marta. Once again, totally confused by your review. Thanks though, appreciate the feedback

94%

We stayed as a couple at Drop Bear for 6 nights, spread over a period of 2 or more weeks, using it as a base to Explore the Caribbean coast and the Sierra Nevada. It always felt like a great temporary home and a superb place to relax. Amazing swimming pool, great hammocks to relax in and top notch pool table, ping pong


80%

Nice hostel, with a pool, pool table, ping pong and bar. Kitchen is reasonably well equipped but theres no free breakfast. Free coffee all day tho. Its a little bit out the way and recommendable to get a taxi if you go out at night but nearby theres all the necessities for shopping, cash etc. Good, helpful and friendly staff. Bar war pretty chilled when I vwas there.


97%

Definitely one of the best hostels we have stayed in. Great large common areas, swimming pool and kitchen. Close to supermarket and ATM but a fair way from the town centre. Great base if you're planning a trip to Tyrona national Park, Palomino etc.m


100%

Could do with better air conditioning but other than that a sensational hostel!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi Andrew, Thanks for you review, glad you enjoyed your stay and we hope you make it back here one day.We also have aircon dorms but you reserved in our fan dorm so next time we'll give you an upgrade to the air con dorm :). Take care, safe travels mate.

91%

A great hostel, the staff are super helpful and knowledgable, the pool is clean, the TV room is great and the beds are comfy! A short walk to Exito if you want to make use of the kitchen, would definitely recommend it if you are looking for a bit of a chilled vibe in Santa Marta


91%

Really cool hostel, perfect for chilling in the day and partying at night with a nice pool and games room. Rooms have fans which are essential at night.


89%

This place has a great pool. Gabriel, the owner, is very friendly and helpful and gave us lots of local information. Carolina on the front desk was also very helpful. This hostel was not too busy but had a very friendly vibe and the food was great. I recommend it.


94%

This hostel was so welcoming! I used it as a base to do lots of other two day treks leaving my belongings here locked up! The staff are so friendly and the pool is so clean and the atmosphere is chilled and yet party like at the same time! It is a little out of town but I liked that and the bus is every two mins and costs 1400COP! Great hostel!!


97%

We had fantastic stay. It's a taxi ride to the city centre and decent restaurants but it's near a big supermarket and a great spot to get to everywhere else. The staff were extremely informative, keen to help and they also serve meals. Oh and the pool tops it all off. A top shelf hostel!


97%

The Drop Bear is in an ex cartel mansion - it is huge! A very cool hostel with huge pool, outside cinema, massive TV room, big communal kitchen and also an on side restaurant! The staff are very helpful and can organise tours for you or give you advise on what to do in the local area or look after your bags while you explore the coast. It was pretty quiet when we were there, but i imagine if there were more people it would be a great place for a party and to meet other travellers.


100%

Beautiful house with excellent facilities. Well equipped kitchen. Comfortable movie room with more movies than you know what to do with. Pool is beautiful and a lifesaver for the santa marta scorch. They have an amazing giant swinging hammock. Pool table and pingpong as well as lots of pub games giant jenga, flip cup. The hostel has some crazy nights, but you can find your quiet area easy enough as the hostel is huge. The collectivos from Tayrona Palomino and Minca are a 2 min walk from the door


91%

The Drop Bear is one of the nicest hostels I've stayed in. The pool was very clean, which is always nice. There are plenty of hammocks and places to lounge and meet other travelers. The staff was friendly and helpful. I definitely recommend staying here.


91%

Great hostel, great staff, the owner is a top bloke with plenty of helpful tips.. Was not overly busy. Great hostel to relax by the pool or in a hammock..


97%

Great hostel with great atmosphere

  • 28th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


57%

One of the best hostels? Maybe in the '90s? Showers in the garage were terrible, but then again, the shower that is nothing more than a drip of water in the dorm is a joke too. Location is way too far from the actual town. No airconditioning in the room which is essential in this heat. Girl at the desk was nice though.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Yes we are one of the best hostels, thanks! You & your friend however were possibly some of worst customers we've had though, complaining from the second you walked in the door, demanding $2 discounts before you'd even checked in. Then complaining about people talking too loud at 8pm. We went out of our way for you both because you aren´t really backpackers & are a little older. Our showers work perfectly well, and we do have air conditioned rooms, you just didn't want to pay extra for it.

97%

An absolutely great place to chill. I loved it, the staff was amazing,super friendly and helpful. Located out of the town centre ( 20 mins walk), but few blocks away from supermarket and 4 km from Taganga its a great place to relax before heading off to the Tyrona! Organic coffee can be bought here too.The only thing: communal showers could be with a bit of more cleaning. But other than that just perfect. One of the nicest hostels I stayed in South America and the only ex cartel villa.superb


100%

Overall best hostel in Sant Marta!! I stayed in Santa Marta, Colombia for 2 weeks at multiple hostels including The Brisa Loca, Dreamer, and Drop Bear. The Drop Bear Hostel was by far the best. Staff was very friendly, facility was extremly clean, and the BAR & POOL area was AMAZING!! The house has a long Colombian history that the owner does a great job of explaining. Great location in the center of Santa Marta it was easy access to Tayrona Park, Minca, Taganga, and beautiful beaches.


100%

Had a great time at the Drop Bear. Was a perfect place to enjoy world cup football, relax by the pool and indulge in some tasty beverages. Staff were helpful and set me up with a great scuba company to get PADI certified. Beds were comfortable and the breeze through the room allowed for easy sleeping.




View all Santa Marta Hostels

Please give us your feedback