Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Drop Bear Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Prices
map
reviews
8.3
Fabulous 325 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.5
  • Security 8.8
  • Location 7.1
  • Staff 8.8
  • Atmosphere 8.3
  • Cleanliness 8.2
  • Facilities 8.8
BOOK NOW
8.3
Fabulous 325 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.5
  • Security 8.8
  • Location 7.1
  • Staff 8.8
  • Atmosphere 8.3
  • Cleanliness 8.2
  • Facilities 8.8
Drop Bear Hostel Located at Carrera 21 Numero 20 36, Barrio Jardin, Santa Marta.
Drop Bear Hostel
Colombia
Santa Marta Magdalena 022310 Carrera 21 Numero 20 36, Barrio Jardin
83% 325
11.2371059 -74.1907382
Drop Bear Hostel
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
21st Jul 2016
9.4

Drop Bear has a great atmosphere. It was the perfect end to my Santa Marta trip. Even though I was recuperating from food poisoning, I appreciated the options for entertainment there - the pool, the tv room/game room, the bar and delicious kitchen. The dorms are spacious and each bed comes with a fan that saved my sanity! Best of all, the hostel is in a well designed home full of personal and humorous touches. Highly recommend!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • amyamo19853504
  • Scotland, Female, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 16 reviews
5th Jul 2016
10.0

Best hostel in colombia!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • chrisvalentine
  • England, Male, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 14 reviews
28th Jun 2016
9.1

Amongst the best hostels I've ever stayed in. Huge chillout room with pool table, ping pong, Netflix. Great bar and pool. Really helpful staff who will help you book trips etc. Drop bear is perfect to use as a base for trips such as lost city trek. Juliet on the front desk is what Angels look like.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
26th Jun 2016
10.0

We absolutely loved drop bear hostel and ended up checking in on 3 separate occasions. Staff are so friendly and the dog Oso is adorable. The atmosphere there is great and a good environment to meet people. So nice to have a pool, and the cinema room was a perfect place to chill on hungover days! Definitely recommend this hostel to anyone looking to have fun and party but warning you could get stuck here!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
25th Jun 2016
8.0

We stayed at DropBear only 1 night, a Saturday night. It was cool to see an old cartel house, however somewhat a strange layout for a hostel. Dorms and private rooms are linked, so our 'banana' private room wasn't very private. It is a great PARTY layout though and it was absolutely pumping when we where there, so if you are after a party hostel, you will find it here! We had a very long journey from Australia so were exhausted, fortunately slept through the all night party. Staff were lovely.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
23rd Jun 2016
9.7

One of my favourite hostels I've been to. Really spacious, hammocks, seating areas, good food and music and a great pool which is much needed in Santa Marta! All in all, well worth the price for a comfortable place to stay whether you want to party or relax. Finally, Valeria and all the staff on reception were super friendly and the hostel helpfully allows you to store your luggage if you want to take a trip to Minca or Parque Tayrona for a few nights.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • misscuddy
  • England, Couple, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 18 reviews
18th Jun 2016
8.6

We had a lot of fun here, partying when we wanted to and chilling when we didn't. Both are possible! Great pool, bar, kitchen, dining room, movie room and hammock area! Loads of options. We stayed in two private rooms and the air con dorms. The cheaper private room is a little hot, the other one is great. The air con dorms were so lovely and cool! Cocktails are nice and the food was really tasty - not expensive. Thanks to the lovely kitchen ladies for leaving us happy and well fed! Great vibe 😊

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
13th Jun 2016
4.9

Quite far out of the way, dorm right off the pool is very loud and hot.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 2.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi Lisa Thanks for your review. Sorry you didn't enjoy your stay with us. In regards to our location we're only 5 minutes from down in cab, 5 minutes walking to ATMs, Supermarkets and buses to Tayrona, Palomino and Minca. Not sure where you wanted to be? Probably best to look at the map next time so you can be better situated for your needs. The room you stayed was our cheapest because of its location to the pool. We do have other rooms quieter and with aircon for only few dollars more.

30th May 2016
5.1

Where to begin? Well, the pool was out of service. My girlfriend and I went to the bar and I left early. The staff and Gabriel saw fit to serve her 8 mojitos and cigarettes on my tab. Apparently, the owner also saw fit to provide her a private room and I had no idea where she was. Creepy as hell. While we may not have been getting along, you NEVER get in the middle of that unless violence is a possibility. That was not the case. I have owned two very successful hostels and would never do that.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
20th May 2016
9.7

LOVED this hostel!!!! The staff is so nice. The atmosphere is great for meeting people. The dorms were fine. There's AC at night. There's a pool and a bar and a huge hammock/swing thing. It's just great. Great place & super nice staff!! Such a great environment. Everyone is just always happy there.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.