Hostelworld.com

Drop Bear Hostel

Prices
map
reviews
8.4
Fabulous 316 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.5
  • Security 8.6
  • Location 7.1
  • Staff 8.8
  • Atmosphere 8.4
  • Cleanliness 8.2
  • Facilities 8.8
BOOK NOW
8.4
Fabulous 316 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.5
  • Security 8.6
  • Location 7.1
  • Staff 8.8
  • Atmosphere 8.4
  • Cleanliness 8.2
  • Facilities 8.8
Drop Bear Hostel Located at Carrera 21 Numero 20 36, Barrio Jardin, Santa Marta.
Drop Bear Hostel
Colombia
Santa Marta Magdalena 022310 Carrera 21 Numero 20 36, Barrio Jardin
84% 316
11.2371059 -74.1907382
Drop Bear Hostel
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
13th Jun 2016
4.9

Quite far out of the way, dorm right off the pool is very loud and hot.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 2.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
30th May 2016
5.1

Where to begin? Well, the pool was out of service. My girlfriend and I went to the bar and I left early. The staff and Gabriel saw fit to serve her 8 mojitos and cigarettes on my tab. Apparently, the owner also saw fit to provide her a private room and I had no idea where she was. Creepy as hell. While we may not have been getting along, you NEVER get in the middle of that unless violence is a possibility. That was not the case. I have owned two very successful hostels and would never do that.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
20th May 2016
9.7

LOVED this hostel!!!! The staff is so nice. The atmosphere is great for meeting people. The dorms were fine. There's AC at night. There's a pool and a bar and a huge hammock/swing thing. It's just great. Great place & super nice staff!! Such a great environment. Everyone is just always happy there.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
19th May 2016
9.1

Good value for money. Hostel has a good mix of party and being able to relax. And to leave your bags for nearby trips. Recommend

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 31-40
  • Avid Traveller
  • 15 reviews
15th May 2016
7.1

This was an ok hostel. Plus points were the restaurant which was good value and quick and easy but you could also cook youself I'd you wanted. Whilst there are good facilities all it takes is one larger or noisy group to take over the pool / common room. Other negatives were the heat as the dorm room was boiling and one fan did not really do much.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • michaela_b
  • Germany, Female, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 18 reviews
14th May 2016
8.0

Cool thing about this place is that it used to be an old drug lord's mansion so it's quite spread out. Lounge with Netflix and pool area are great. Staff is lovely, especially the guys behind the bar. Not a place to actually meet people, though, as most people got here as a group. A lot of activities mentioned online never took place. Our dorm was super noisy, so hard to get some rest. We stayed at the Ushuva one which is just a hallway with beds open towards the pool and leading to other rooms.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
11th May 2016
9.1

Such a nice hostel for a stay either side of the ciudad perdida trek as the pool is fab and it's just a good place to chill out. Location is slightly out of town but a good base to reach the lost city tayrona minca etc. Hostel can help book all your tours and are happy to help with any query. Huge lockers, cheap laundry, good food & even better cocktails, Jose the barman was amazing! Only thing I would say is don't book the shuttle to Cartagena through the hostel it was awful get the public bus

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, All Male Group, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
  • 34 reviews
27th Apr 2016
8.9

Personable staff, great bartender, and a hugeeeeeee place...almost too big. Nice hangout areas.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
24th Apr 2016
9.4

Fantastic place to use as a base when travelling around this region. Loads of comfortable places to relax after a hard couple of days in park tayrona or up in the mountains. safe luggage storage also which is very handy when you're off out and about on adventures. highly recommended for anyone needing to recharge and chill out :)

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Northern Ireland, Couple, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 14 reviews
28th Mar 2016
5.1

Good wifi. Pool and table tennis tables. But... It's almost like they force a party on you every night. Music doesn't go off until midnight if you're lucky. It was still blasting at 1245 and I spoke to the 'boss' who was at the bar. Quite far away from the centre.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 2.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi, We agree there was a bigger than normal party atmosphere in the hostel due to it being Easter and spring break, go figure. The 99% of the hostel was in the bar.

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.