Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Drop Bear Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.5
Fabulous 506 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.6
  • Security 8.8
  • Location 7.2
  • Staff 8.8
  • Atmosphere 8.8
  • Cleanliness 8.6
  • Facilities 8.9
BOOK NOW
8.5
Fabulous 506 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.6
  • Security 8.8
  • Location 7.2
  • Staff 8.8
  • Atmosphere 8.8
  • Cleanliness 8.6
  • Facilities 8.9

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • federicodavila3968
  • Australia, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
12th Jul 2017
9.1

A fun hostel with different hang out areas - great for both meeting people and relaxing. Bar and pool are good and rooms are clean and safe. Close to buses to Tayrona, supermarket and ATM. Cheap taxi away from city and staff will call one for you. Facilities are great but only downside is a poorly equipped kitchen - only a few forks, not a single tea towel, no lighter for stove. Tiny additions would make this a good kitchen.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • earti193
  • New Zealand, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
1st Jul 2017
7.1

We booked a private room and stayed two nights . The room (especially the bathroom) was dirty when we arrived . We asked for it to be cleaned and it was later the following day.. the staff were very apologetic however and very nice about it once they realised. Food is just OK. Otherwise it's a good place to base yourself for exploring the surrounding area. It's outside the main centre which is actually great - San Gil itself is not the best town so it's good to be a bit outside the inner centre.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • jmccalder3681
  • USA, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
29th Jun 2017
9.7

Great facility and staff. The pool was nice and the bar staff was excellent. Really helpful in getting you where you need to go and giving tips on what to do. Also liked that they just keep a running tab so you're not trying to constantly make change in foreign currency when you're there. Great spot that I would highly recommend.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Mixed Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
28th Jun 2017
9.4

Drop Bear is a really really fun hostel with a great pool. The atmosphere is always fun whether day or night. The restaurant produces good quality food and the staff are great too. Only problem would be that it's slightly further out of town than other hostels but would 100% recommend to anyone.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 19 reviews
25th Jun 2017
8.9

Absolutely loved this place! Everything you need in a hostel, if only it was closer to the main part of town. The staff are very helpful, and it probably has the best tv room we've seen yet!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 11 reviews
19th Jun 2017
7.4

25 minute walk to the centre of town and beach area. Would have preferred to stay more in the centre. However short taxi ride if you don't want to walk. Hostel is nice massive tv room with activities. Has mini restaurant and good kitchen facilities. Found the hostel to be quiet not alot of guests when i stayed not social at all.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
2nd Jun 2017
10.0

Awesome hostel ! Big rooms. big T.V , ping pong and billiard area . Nice chilled pool with floating tubes, good music playing all day. Nice bar with good music and happy hours.. Overall just a nice social hostel to use as a base and traval around santa marta area.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
2nd Jun 2017
9.4

I love this hostel and returned twice! I hardly wanted to leave, with the great food and the pool and kitchen facilities meaning I could prepare food myself too. There was usually something going on socially, but it's also big enough to find a quiet place to relax in a hammock or with Netflix - they've thought of everything. The building is so cool and the staff are brilliant, really fun and helpful. The only shame is no free breakfast, but there's a kitchen! Can't recommend enough!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
30th May 2017
9.7

We absolutely loved staying at Drop Bear- Santa Marta! We were meant to stay for two nights and ended up extending our stay for 5 nights (one of those nights we stayed at the Tayrona national park but were able to keep our luggage in their storage unit free of charge!) The private room we had was great with a large comfortable bed and two fans- perfect for the hot mornings. The staff (Jose, Jeremey, and Shay) were phenomenal and made us feel right at home. I would definitely stay at DB again!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
28th May 2017
9.7

Really great hostel that caters for everything travellers want. Really good social atmosphere as well until a massive group of 18 year old (pardon my language) arseholes came and ruined it for us, but obviously not the hostels fault. Wifi as well is v good, can have a proper Skype with good connection (a revelation when you're travelling)

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.