Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Drop Bear Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.5
Fabulous 547 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.7
  • Security 9.1
  • Location 7.0
  • Staff 8.7
  • Atmosphere 8.8
  • Cleanliness 8.7
  • Facilities 8.9
BOOK NOW
8.5
Fabulous 547 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.7
  • Security 9.1
  • Location 7.0
  • Staff 8.7
  • Atmosphere 8.8
  • Cleanliness 8.7
  • Facilities 8.9

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
8th Sep 2017
9.4

We stayed here 1 night after Tayrona in a private ensuite. The room was huge and we had a balcony with a hammock facing the road. The vibe in the hostel is super relaxed and the facilities in general are quite impressive. The bar gets very lively at night so be prepared for a party. The neighbourhood is a little rough but that's too be expected in Santa Marta. Overall we had a great stay.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
23rd Aug 2017
8.3

This place was cute, good good, nice pool, friendly and helpful staff. But I was a little out of my element when the staff and, um, younger guests started doing body shots on the bar. A great spot for some, but not really for me!

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
23rd Aug 2017
9.1

Great hostel with cool vibes. Staff were really chilled and helpful. Loads of space in the rooms as well as heaps of amazing socialising spaces - the quiet hammock floor is dreamy! Only issue is my shoes got stolen in the dorm, and there wasn't a locker in my room so it could have perhaps been prevented if there were better provisions.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • ellejpotter2994
  • Australia, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
22nd Aug 2017
8.6

The hostel has so many things you can do - the pool, to toom, pool tables and heaps of hammocks to chill out on. The staff were also really helpful and caring of our safety, always calling us taxis and giving us tips. Really good hotel, just a little far away from everything so you need to get taxis or the bus. Would definitely stay there again.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
22nd Aug 2017
10.0

Awesome hostel. I stayed here before and after the lost city trek. Staff were brilliant and it was easy to meet people.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, All Female Group, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 10 reviews
22nd Aug 2017
6.0

Drop bear has all the makings of an awesome hostel. Good staff, good pool, movie room, kitchen and restaurant etc. EXCEPT the bathrooms. They're disgusting, there aren't enough, and the showers don't work. The bar was a bit useless with the music too - at 4pm when there were maybe 3 people sitting outside, they started blasting heavy hip hop and techno haha. Cool place, bad bathrooms, terrible music.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Colombia, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
19th Aug 2017
7.4

The staff is perfect except for María, who is really a bad service person, answer rude to questions and requests.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
14th Aug 2017
7.7

Great pool, amazing TV room, but crappy kitchen, and they really got to update their front desk knowledge. I was given conflicting information with their tours offered like "Tayrona Sailing is closed because broken boat" then "Tayrona Sailing only goes if you have two or more people. It was very confusing. Also, the tab system they have is great but they should give you a print out and go over everything with you because there was about 3 things I was charged for and didn't have time to refute.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 9 reviews
14th Aug 2017
7.4

Good social vibe, without being too much of a party hostel. Staff were helpful, the dorms were clean, awesome food for a good price and great communal areas. The pool is perfect for santa Marta's weather, and also to meet other guests. You can store your luggage for a few days if going to Tayrona or the lost city. The showers are terrible, almost no water pressure and very dirty, the dorms with besuited have better showers though. Also quite far from the city centre and not the safest area.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
13th Aug 2017
8.9

Great staff. Nice facility. Not the best location but not bad and cabs are very cheap to anywhere you need to go. Great atmosphere. Rooms were very large and beds comfortable.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.

×