Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Drop Bear Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.6
Fabulous 402 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.5
  • Security 9.0
  • Location 7.2
  • Staff 9.1
  • Atmosphere 8.6
  • Cleanliness 8.7
  • Facilities 8.9
BOOK NOW
8.6
Fabulous 402 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.5
  • Security 9.0
  • Location 7.2
  • Staff 9.1
  • Atmosphere 8.6
  • Cleanliness 8.7
  • Facilities 8.9
Drop Bear Hostel Located at Carrera 21 Numero 20 36, Barrio Jardin, Santa Marta.
Drop Bear Hostel
Colombia
Santa Marta Magdalena 022310 Carrera 21 Numero 20 36, Barrio Jardin
86% 402
11.2371059 -74.1907382
Drop Bear Hostel
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
17th Jan 2017
8.3

Pretty good, staff are freaking amazing! Good food and good bar, albeit a bit expensive. Rooms good but bathrooms need to be cleaner. Sick place, thanks for the accomodation!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • paulowen1407933
  • England, Male, 31-40
  • Globetrotter
  • 27 reviews
14th Jan 2017
8.3

Helpful staff and good facilities a bit out of town but always taxis waiting. The TV room becomes a bit pointless as music from bar is so loud you can't here it. Good place to stay though

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
5th Jan 2017
9.1

Had a super great time at the Drop Bear! The staff was great, the pool and bar were a blast! Trivia night on Mondays in the bar as well as Giant Jenga! The games room is excellent for playing pool, table tennis or just relaxing to watch a movie. The kitchen staff were also very friendly and accommodating to dietary restrictions. You can zip to city attractions, beach and nightlife for under 10k pesos in a taxi. I would definitely return!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
4th Jan 2017
9.7

Drop bear was amazing. The hostel is big and has many things to do while there. Hammocks pool bar kitchen and eating area a huge awesome tv room with direct tv and Netflix with a nice big couch that fits a lot of people. Ping pong pool. The food was great, the staff is super nice friendly and is there to help you and make you feel at home. Whether you are a relaxed traveler or someone looking to go out and drink, the hostel offers great balance of both. I would 100% return and recommend.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
3rd Jan 2017
8.3

I stayed in the dorm named "8 person ensuite" which is a misnomer. It is actually 4 different dorm rooms all connected all sharing bathrooms. The setup ensures you will be receiving zero privacy or quiet time. That being said the facilities are great. The chill room, the pool and food are lovely. I would check out other places before I stayed here again but would come again if I found nothing else of interest.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • juwidstrom6288
  • Finland, Couple, 31-40
  • Globetrotter
  • 34 reviews
29th Dec 2016
8.0

You have to see this hostel to believe it. Huge common areas, large dorms and best security - you can leave valuables in separate lockers for duration of eg ciudad perdida. Location sucks, but there are taxis. The hostel has a very australian feel with a bar, a restaurant, pool and a morbidly obese cat. However the loud music and drinking games totally spoil the otherwise tranquil hammocks and netflix room. Great for younger folk, not for peaceful stay.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
19th Dec 2016
10.0

This is a great hostel. It is the best hostel I have ever stayed at. All the staff are fantastic. The facilities are above and beyond great. There is so much space. So many hammocks. So many places to relax. The bar, restaurant, poolside and the tv and games room make socializing easy. I had such a great time I stayed for 15 nights. Muchas gracias Drop Bear.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • French Polynesia, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
18th Dec 2016
5.1

After waiting 5 mn outside the front gate, we were greeted by a young man who seemed high. He took 10 mn to check us in, kept serving others while we were waiting, made us walk back and forth in the hostel as he couldn't remember where the room was. The next morning, the other guy on duty kicked us out of our room early as they 'needed the room'. The other lady called a taxi to the airport but we were going to a city location only do we had to pay a surcharge. The shared bathroom had no light.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

We remember you guys, you turned up angry because the airline lost one of your bags and our very professional receptionist helped you when you arrived (he doesnt smoke weed as you've intuitively implied, but points for trying!). The next morning you were meant to leave on a Lost City tour which YOU had booked prior to arriving, hence we asked you to vacate the room, as is typical when your reservation is for only ONE night, but you had decided not to go on your tour and apparently thought you didnt need to tell us that. Then you both had a baby tantrum yelling at the tour operator because you wanted your deposit back - you know what a deposit is for right? The taxi you left in was not the one that was called for you, you took someone else´s taxi in your impatient rush to leave. We're not surprised you feel the need to blame us, we get you people a lot *sigh*. To prove my point that you're absolute baskets cases, why did you wait 5 minutes out the front to open the gate? It's a latch gate which...hmm..all our customers have no trouble opening. Go home.

13th Dec 2016
8.9

Good place to stay before and after lost city trek. Booked the trek through them as well - they use a good agency. Stored luggage but the storage room wasn't always locked. For the price a basic brekkie should be included. Pool was vital in the heat.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 10 reviews
13th Dec 2016
8.3

Really enjoyed my stay at drop bear. Staff were extremely helpful, especially Carlos who always went out of his way to help and give local advice! The place is a unique setting and has great facilities. Would suggest the menu for the restaurant could be expanded, menu would became slightly repetitive if staying for a longer time. Overall an excellent, social and fun hostel!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.