X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Dublin International (YHA) Reviews

61 Mountjoy Street, Dublin, Ireland

Reviews & Ratings Explained

76%

Rating
2520 Total Reviews
  • 78%Value For Money
  • 82%Security
  • 74%Location
  • 81%Staff
  • 74%Atmosphere
  • 72%Cleanliness
  • 72%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

69%

You had to give a deposit for kitchen pans (really annoying for me) and no mixed rooms. But all in all the value for the Monet is good in the end.


63%

I didn't like the layout of the building, a bit confusing and you have to use your key card constantly. The people there weren't very friendly, there wasn't really a nice chill out area. Though it is very close to a bus stop into city centre, and there's free breakfast

  • 16th May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


91%

Great budget option with everything you need for a short stay, friendly staff, easy walk to city centre and away from busy nightlife areas for a quiet night's sleep.


54%

The toilets and the showers were dirty, my locker was faulty making it impossble to lock and the wifi signal was very weak in most of the hostel. The options for breakfast very many, but there was a basket full of expired butter. The hostel is easy to reach from the city centre as there is a bus stop nearby.


60%

Decent hostel. Would have loved for there to be group outings.

  • 1st May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


94%

A great place to stay and meet kindred spirits! Staff is helpful, knowledgeable and friendly. The facility is constantly being cleaned. Shared a 10-bed dorm with considerate, friendly, quiet folk. My only complaint might be some school groups who were noisy too late at night. Their chaperones should be more diligent in telling them how to behave in shared facilities. I enjoyed the free breakfast in the old church, hot showers and WIFI access. Terrific value for cost!

  • 29th Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


80%

Nice people and helpful

  • 27th Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Bolivia
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


57%

I was here 3 nights. It wasn't terrible, but I didn't like it. Staff were often bad at communication, my locker was broken and not fixed, the showers were bad, WiFi bad even in the lounge (unavailable elsewhere), and there were often very loud groups of teenagers in general spaces, even halls. Good things: access to tours and other bookings, free breakfast, and when the window was stuck open on a cold day, though it could not be fixed, the employee climbed up, taped it, and turned the heater on.


60%

The staff was very nice and helpful. Location was good but not great. Simple breakfast but enough to get started. The plugs on my room were not working and the internet connections were weak.


89%

The bedrooms don't have sockets :(


80%

There were no outlets in the room to charge your phone/laptop, which I think is a large problem. Besides that, though, the rest of the hostel was good.

  • 16th Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


66%

The security was good. The location was average, it was about a 20 minute walk to the main city center. The facilities were not very clean and the showers were not great. They made a mistake with our booking and had to move my friend who was about to sleep to another room. One night I woke up to the sound of a girl yelling at people in the other room at around 2am. There was only 1 outlet for everyone to charge their phones in a 10 all female dorm. In the end I wouldn't book this hostel again.


80%

The rooms were nice and spacious, with adequate lockers. The showers weren't nearly warm enough for me.

  • 10th Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Many thanks for your comments, We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay here with us. Should you return to Dublin we would be more than happy to look after you again. Kind regards, Dublin International Hostel.

91%

Everything was clean; sink in the room; bathrooms a little hard to find. About 10 min walk to the spire on central street- super close. Free breakfast is minimal- fruit juice, tea/coffee, cereal

  • 3rd Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Many thanks for taking the time to comment, We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your time here at the hostel. Should you return to Dublin we would be more than happy to look after you again. Kind regards, Dublin International Hostel.

74%

After an initial small mistake from the reception, they put everything in place to make sure we had a pleasant stay.

  • 3rd Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Belgium
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Many thanks for your comments, We are glad to hear that you had a pleasant stay here with us. Should you make a return trip to Dublin we would be more than happy to welcome you to the hostel again. Kind regards, Dublin International Hostel.

86%

The rooms were very big, and the hostel itself was very big. It takes about 10 minutes to get the the Main Street so pretty good in that regard. There is only wifi downstairs though, very few outlets to charge devices which as we know is important especially when traveling all the time. Breakfast was great!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for taking the time to comment, We are happy to hear that you enjoyed most of your stay here with us. Even though there are limited outlets in the rooms we do charge devices securey at reception. Should you return to DUblin we would be happy to look after you again. Best regards, Dublin International Hostel.

40%

The room and toilett/doushes were in a bad condition. It wasn´t comftable and very loud!

  • 26th Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Many thanks for your comments, We are sorry to hear that you did not fully enjoy your stay here at the hostel. Should you return to Dublin we would be happy to look after you again to try and make your next stay a more enjoyable one. Kind regards, Dublin International Hostel.

83%

Fine but your better off paying less and staying in a 10 bed dorm rather than a six as the room is massive in comparison. Six was tiny

Owner Comment (Hide)
Many thanks for your comments, it is funny how a lot of guests prefer the smaller dorm rooms and so these tend to be full, whereas the 10 bedded rooms can be relatively empty and a lot more spacious. Each to their own, I guess. We hope you enjoyed your time here with us. Kindest regards Dublin Inernational Hostel

89%

The staff is WONDERFUL!! They will go out of their way to help with anything you may need or travel difficulties etc you may experience while their, i.e. looking things up on the internet and making phone calls.

  • 18th Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Many thanks for your comments, There is always something exciting about helping others plan their next adventure. We are really glad that we were able to help you and hope that you got to get out of Dublin and see Ireland - (The real Ireland) We hope to look after you again some time and perhaps plan the next adventure. Kindest regards Misty Dublin International Hostel

57%

The showers were quite bad, the breakfast was described as IRISH BREAKFAST in the web page but it was an ordinary jam an butter.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for taking the time to comment, our showers can be very naughty at times, especially when they have been bold. The description on the hostelworld website says "Continental Breakfast" yes you are eating it in Ireland so could be interpretted as an Irish Breakfast. We hope that you enjoyed your time here in Dubln over the Saint Patrick Period. Kindest regards - Dublin International Hostel

« first « Prev 1 2 3
(59 results)


View all Dublin Hostels

Please give us your feedback