X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Dublin International (YHA) Reviews

61 Mountjoy Street, Dublin, Ireland

Reviews & Ratings Explained

76%

Rating
2402 Total Reviews
  • 78%Value For Money
  • 81%Security
  • 75%Location
  • 81%Staff
  • 75%Atmosphere
  • 73%Cleanliness
  • 72%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

91%

Very satisfied with everything, and would come again. Thanks, Tony.

  • 17th Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


80%

Hearing about the petty theft that was occurring was disconcerting. However, the people, the staff, and the atmosphere made me feel at home and welcome.


60%

I would never stay at this hostel again. The staff were lovely, the location was good - in Dublin CBD but not too noisy - and the free wifi was much appreciated. But, the kitchen is awful, half the taps didn't work in the girl's bathroom and the showers were bad - no proper hot water.


89%

Stayed here as needed somewhere central for New Years Eve. Excellent value for money and the FREE parking was an added bonus. No need for taxis as could walk home. Booked the private room and it was adequate. The sink in the room was also a bonus. My only complaint was that the room was too warm!!! Could not turn off the radiator and the heat seemed to be on 24/7 and could only open the window a bit! Staff friendly and nice vibe about the place.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Happy New Year, Many thanks for your comments, we are glad that you enjoyed your time here with us, although the room was a bit too warm. We hope that should you need to come to Dublin again you will let us look after your stay. Kindest regards, Misty Dublin International Hostel

100%

Would stay again.


60%

I loved the Location, the place could use some sprucing up. The lockers in the rooms didn't lock and function well, there were lots of drafty cold spots in the bathroom and I got a cold shower. Meanwhile the dorm room was roasting hot. There also weren't a lot of outlets in the room, and stronger wifi would be nice.

  • 27th Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


86%

Nice hostel,wicked breakfast room in a ex church(finally a good thing to do with places like this) .An intersting place.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Happy New Year, Many thanks for your comments, we are glad you enojyed your time here with us and hope that should you return to Dublin that we look after you again. Kindest regards, Misty Dublin International Hostel

94%

Very good location, very clean and good hot shower. In case it is raining or bad weather, you can have fun inside of the hostel, there are many things that you do there.


77%

There is no charger in living room


100%

As per usual-comes highly recommended!


89%

I would definately stay again and recommend to my friends.Just one thing the blue covers on the beds where really dirty on all beds.

  • 20th Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


80%

The hot water in the bathroom was more cold than hot.

  • 19th Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


94%

Great time, was here for two nights in an eight room all female dorm and had a great time. Staff were very very helpful.

  • 19th Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


66%

Relatively good location, nice breakfast and dining hall, relatively good facilities with wifi nearly everywhere, tv room and big shared bathrooms, friendly staff. Missing power plugs in the shared bedrooms, taps are running far too short, hard mattresses.

  • 17th Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Austria
  • All Male Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


97%

we booked a four-bed ensuite, which was fantastic.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Many thanks for your comments, we are glad that you enjoyed your stay here at the Dublin International Hostel and hope to look after you again on any future vistis to Dublin. Kindest regards, safe travels Misty Dublin International Hostel

83%

little outside the city, quiet but lovely ;)

  • 5th Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Switzerland
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Many thanks for your comments, we hope you enjoyed your time here in Dublin and that should your return again that we can look after your stay. Kindest regards, safe travels Misty Dublin International Hostel

91%

It's necessary more plugs in the bedrooms

  • 28th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Spain
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your comments, plugs are something we are trying to work on for the bedrooms, without compromising on the safety of leaving your items, especially in a shared room. It is a lot safer to charge your items with our reception team. We hope you enjoyed your time here with us and hope to look after you again on any future visits to Dublin. Kindest regards, Dublin International Hostel

77%

Was alright. Staff was a bit weird, toilets were disgusting most of the time, but was close to city, 5 to 10 easy walk.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your comments, we do the best we can in keeping the bathrooms clean and tidy although the aim of some people would help in this scenario. Interesting comment on the "weird staff" they obviously were weird in a quirky and good way why you gave a rating of 4 out of 5. We hope you enjoyed your time here in Dublin and will continue to work on our cleanliness. Kindest regards, Dublin International Hostel

71%

The location of the hostel was great! Just a short walk, and you are downtown. The cleanliness was not so great, the toilets could have been cleaner.


71%

I stayed in a double room really basic, just a bed and desk. Toilets looks like gym toilet, big and cold. Hostel in general was good, but not worth the money for a double room 44pounds per night. You can find something better for that prize. Staff was helpful in everything. Hostel a little bit far from centre but not much, around 15 minutes. If i am back to Dublin i will try to find something better.

  • 21st Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Spain
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for your comments, yes the hostel offers very basic in accommodation for the budget concsious traveller and at €44 with free breakfast and free parking, is very cheap as oppossed to a city centre hotel which charges from €150.00 per night without breakfast. Our staff also have that bit more time to help you out with you options of what to do in the city as well, which is reflected in your comment. Safe travels Kindest regards, Dublin International Hostel

« first « Prev 1 2 3 4
(65 results)


View all Dublin Hostels

Please give us your feedback