X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Dublin International (YHA) Reviews

61 Mountjoy Street, Dublin, Ireland

Reviews & Ratings Explained

76%

Rating
2348 Total Reviews
  • 78%Value For Money
  • 81%Security
  • 73%Location
  • 80%Staff
  • 74%Atmosphere
  • 73%Cleanliness
  • 72%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

71%

It was in a great location, especially if you plan on exploring North Dublin. For what little we paid it was a great value, free breakfast in the morning was a nice bonus. The cleanliness however of the bathrooms was definitely questionable. There was blatant mold growing on the floor near the showers in giant heaps. All but one of the workers behind the desk were not at all helpful and they seemed annoyed whenever talking to them. For our eight bed room there was one plug which boggles my mind.

  • 5th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


54%

- add taps that work "hands-free" - only one of the showers actually stayed on without holding down the button - water was quite cold - only one plug per room?? - fiddly lockers

  • 2nd Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Austria
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Many thanks for your comments, We are sorry to hear that you did not fully enjoy your stya here at the hostel. Should you return to Dublin we would be happy to look after you again to try and make your next stay a more enjoyable one. Best regards, Dublin International Hostel.

91%

Toilets were a bit grotty. Has to be said this is not the hostel's fault more the bathroom habits of some of the guests. joe

Owner Comment (Hide)
Many thanks for your comments, The hostel is cleaned daily each morning. Throughout the day checks are made by the reception staff to ensure that it is still clean. It is sometimes in between these checks that it can become dirty, this is why we ask all guests to notify reception of any problems they find so we can rectify the problem as soon as possible. We hope you otherwise enjoyed your stay and return to stay with us in the future. Best regards, Dublin International Hostel.

91%

I have stayed in many hostels in Dublin and this is the best. If the duvets were washed and shower rooms upgraded it would be 100% .apart from a rude Indian male on the night desk all staff are great. FREE breakfast is a bonus .TV room and washing machines/dryers really is great when travelling. 10 mins to city centre anda great chip shop on tthe doorstep called Matasas.stay was great all in all il definitely come back to this one again. Forget Ashfield house/Abigails/Abraham. .they are dumps

Owner Comment (Hide)
Many thanks for your comments, We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay here at the hostel and were happy with the facilities we have to offer. Should you return to Dublin we would be happy to look after you again. Best regards, Dublin International Hostel.

49%

Insufficient room for full negative comments in this space; very poor breakfast; lack of internet facility; staff attitude cold - lack of knowledge, very unhelpful, not friendly; total lack of floor space to walk to bed in shared room, consideration of others- nil.(in all fairness, on this occasion,perhaps staff not aware but quite surprising behavior in a YHA Intl hostel); security - left with 2 swipe/pass cards;definitely not a happy, vibrant hostel. Only redeeming factor - it was very clean

  • 19th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Many thanks for your comments, We are very sorry to hear that you did not fully enjoy your stay here at the hostel. Should you return to Dublin we would be happy to look after you agin to try and redeem ourselves in your eyes. Best regards, Dublin International Hostel.

89%

This is a wonderful place to stay. It is a massive place with plenty of areas to lounge around. The place is very secure and the dorms include big lockers. The location is the only bad part, its not too far away from bars or the city center bit you will have to walk a good 10-15 minutes. Overall an incredible value for the money.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Many thanks for your comments, We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay here at the hostel. Should you return to Dublin we would be more than happy to look after you again. Kind regards and safe travels, Dublin International Hostel.

60%

If this was not an AnOige / YHA identified hostel the place would struggle to attract visitors

Owner Comment (Hide)
Many thanks for your comments, Over the last year we have welcomed over 60,000 guests to the hostel. Like most businesses in Dublin we have struggled in recent years but due to the fact that tourism numbers are on the up we have benefited from this and aim to do so in the future. We hope you enjoyed your stay and continue to support An Oige in the future. Best regards, Dublin Interantional Hostel.

40%

The kitchen was closed. The toilets were in poor condition and there was only cold water coming from the showers. Over all the hostel was quite worn.

  • 12th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Finland
  • All Female Group, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Many thanks for your comment, We are sorry to hear that you did not fully enjoy your stay here with us. Our self catering kitchen only closes for an hour in the morning for cleaning, during this time breakfast is available in our Church restaurant. As the building is quite big it can sometimes take a couple of minutes for the hot water to reach the showers on the upper floors, so this may have been the problem you were experiencing. Kind regards, Dublin International Hostel.

69%

Everything was decent except the showers and the location. The location was a bit further out than I had anticipated, but it's manageable. The bathrooms weren't particularly great. The showers especially. You have to hold a button otherwise the water turns off and you have no control over the temperature. If you're lucky, it'll be mildly warm. Otherwise, the Italian guy who worked the desk was very kind and the arrangements were above average for a hostel. Pretty good experience.

  • 10th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Many thanks for your comments, We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay here with us. As we are a green hostel our showers are designed to save on water, this set up is not to everybody's taste. Should you return to Dublin we would be happy to look after you again. Kind regards, Dublin International Hostel.

51%

It was dirty and humid, and breakfast was very poor. I am aware that the price was low, but still - even the location wasn't good enough!

  • 9th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Poland
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Whilst we cannot change the location of the hostel there are a number of these comments that could have been brought to our attention and we do our utmost to rectify. We provide a small and FREE continental breakfast to all of our hostel guests in the fabulouse Church setting. The hostel is cleaned top to bottom every day and the staff, do their best to help everyone. Safe and Clean Travels Regards, Dublin Internaitonal Hostel

66%

In an 8 man dorm there was only 1 plug! Bit of a joke really!

  • 4th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
The uniqueness of operating a hostel in what was once a Convent and School does come with its challenges, one of these are the plugs in the room. Whilst there is 1 plug in the room, you are sharing a room effectively with 7 strangers of whom can take a fancy to what you have plugged in. With that said, we offer at the reception, free secure charging of all devices. Convienient "NO" Secure "YES Safe and Secure travels! Regards, Dublin International Hostel

91%

This place was absolutely amazing! It was a short walk into the center of town and my stay could not have been any nicer. Totally recommend this hostel ! It is beast !

  • 3rd Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Many thanks for your review. We are glad that you enjoyed your time here in Dublin. We are indeed just a few minutes walk to the city centre, although for some people, even this is a few minutes too far, We hope that you enjoyed your time here in Dublin and that you got to experience all of what Dublin has to offer and not just sit on the Wifi.. Safe travels and exploring.. Regards, Dublin International Hostel

74%

If a hot shower's a must, this place is a bust.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your comments, depending on the time of day you took your shower, would dictate if there is a lot of hot water or not. The hot water even if it was reduced, usually only takes about 20 minutes to heat up. I hope you found you hot shower, somewhere. Safe travels Regards, Dublin International Hostel

94%

Clean and cozy

  • 20th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • South Korea
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Many thanks for your comments, we are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to look after you again on any other visits to Dublin. Kindest regards Misty Dublin International Hostel

94%

It was my first stay at a hostel - I was worried before hand but it was a good base for my trip to the city.

  • 18th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Many thanks for your comments, we are glad that your first stay in a hostel both was an enjoyable time and served your purpose. We hope that you will continue hostelling as it is a great way to meet and interact with fellow travellers, more so than any hotel. Safe travels to you Kindest regards Misty Dublin International Hostel

80%

Nice place, very friendly atmosphere. Howeverm I think that the luggage storing room has a bad security system: it's easy to take the backpack of another person.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your comments, we are glad that you enjoyed your time here with us and hope that should you return to Dublin that we can look after you again. With regards to the luggage storage, the room is locked and can only be opened in the presence of a member of staff. All guests are given a luggage ticket, which they need to present on retrieval of their luggage. No ticket then we ask discription of bag and what is inside. Unlike some hostels/hotel which just give you a key to a room.

91%

Very comfortable stay as always

Owner Comment (Hide)
Many thanks for your comments, we are glad that we were able to look after you again and hope to continue doing so. Safe travels to you Kindest regards Misty Dublin International Hostel

66%

It was very noisy ar night and we could hardly sleep at all. ... :(

  • 6th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your comments, whilst we can guarantee that the bedrooms will be quiet, we cannot guarantee if your room mates will be. Some times a good sharp "Be Quiet!!" is the only way to try and tell them and if that doesnt work, getting up nice and early the next morning and repaying the favour. In the fine words of Aretha Franklin.. "R.E.S.P.E.C.T. just a little bit" is what is needed. Safe Travels Kindest regards Misty

77%

This was a good hostel. It is a small walk from anything worth visiting in Dublin, but it's not horrible. It's just not in the center of things. Our room faced the road, which was very loud at night on the weekends from people yelling and cars. There is only one outlet in the room I was in, and 10 beds. We had to go to the common area to charge things. The breakfast was standard but good. The staff was very helpful in anything we needed. Lockers in the rooms were great and fit my big backpack

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your comments, we are glad you enjoyed your stay and that your backpack fit into our lockers. Whilst we are not right in the middle of the city centre it is just a 5 minute walk to the main O'Connell Street and city centre, which is twice as noisy on a busy weekend. Take care and safe travels Misty Dubin International Hostel

57%

I stayed here for 3 nights, and within that time the card to my room stopped working 5+ times, in which you have to go back to reception to get them to fix it. The Wi-fi wasn't working the first day at all, and for the rest of my stay it would stop working for hours on end. To use the water in the bathroom you have to hold it in with one hand otherwise it will stop (I'm guessing this is a water saving thing?) There is also NO leniency for check-out time, not even like an hour or so.

  • 5th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your comments. The key cards are magnetic and sometimes stop as a result of any static energy they may come in to contact with, this can include being beside credit cards or magnetic clasps or even telephones. Our WiFi issues were finally resolved 9th Sept. We had a complete overhaul of the whole system. The taps are to reduce water waste. Our check out time is 10am as we have a small window in which to clean the rooms for the next guests. This is advised on check in.

« first « Prev 1 2 3 4
(79 results)


View all Dublin Hostels

Please give us your feedback