X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Dublin International (YHA) Reviews

61 Mountjoy Street, Dublin, Ireland

Reviews & Ratings Explained

77%

Rating
2326 Total Reviews
  • 79%Value For Money
  • 81%Security
  • 75%Location
  • 81%Staff
  • 75%Atmosphere
  • 74%Cleanliness
  • 72%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

60%

If this was not an AnOige / YHA identified hostel the place would struggle to attract visitors


40%

The kitchen was closed. The toilets were in poor condition and there was only cold water coming from the showers. Over all the hostel was quite worn.

  • 12th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Finland
  • All Female Group, 25-30
  • (1 review)


69%

Everything was decent except the showers and the location. The location was a bit further out than I had anticipated, but it's manageable. The bathrooms weren't particularly great. The showers especially. You have to hold a button otherwise the water turns off and you have no control over the temperature. If you're lucky, it'll be mildly warm. Otherwise, the Italian guy who worked the desk was very kind and the arrangements were above average for a hostel. Pretty good experience.

  • 10th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


51%

It was dirty and humid, and breakfast was very poor. I am aware that the price was low, but still - even the location wasn't good enough!

  • 9th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Poland
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)


66%

In an 8 man dorm there was only 1 plug! Bit of a joke really!

  • 4th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


91%

This place was absolutely amazing! It was a short walk into the center of town and my stay could not have been any nicer. Totally recommend this hostel ! It is beast !

  • 3rd Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


74%

If a hot shower's a must, this place is a bust.


94%

Clean and cozy

  • 20th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • South Korea
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Many thanks for your comments, we are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to look after you again on any other visits to Dublin. Kindest regards Misty Dublin International Hostel

94%

It was my first stay at a hostel - I was worried before hand but it was a good base for my trip to the city.

  • 18th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Many thanks for your comments, we are glad that your first stay in a hostel both was an enjoyable time and served your purpose. We hope that you will continue hostelling as it is a great way to meet and interact with fellow travellers, more so than any hotel. Safe travels to you Kindest regards Misty Dublin International Hostel

80%

Nice place, very friendly atmosphere. Howeverm I think that the luggage storing room has a bad security system: it's easy to take the backpack of another person.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your comments, we are glad that you enjoyed your time here with us and hope that should you return to Dublin that we can look after you again. With regards to the luggage storage, the room is locked and can only be opened in the presence of a member of staff. All guests are given a luggage ticket, which they need to present on retrieval of their luggage. No ticket then we ask discription of bag and what is inside. Unlike some hostels/hotel which just give you a key to a room.

91%

Very comfortable stay as always

Owner Comment (Hide)
Many thanks for your comments, we are glad that we were able to look after you again and hope to continue doing so. Safe travels to you Kindest regards Misty Dublin International Hostel

66%

It was very noisy ar night and we could hardly sleep at all. ... :(

  • 6th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your comments, whilst we can guarantee that the bedrooms will be quiet, we cannot guarantee if your room mates will be. Some times a good sharp "Be Quiet!!" is the only way to try and tell them and if that doesnt work, getting up nice and early the next morning and repaying the favour. In the fine words of Aretha Franklin.. "R.E.S.P.E.C.T. just a little bit" is what is needed. Safe Travels Kindest regards Misty

77%

This was a good hostel. It is a small walk from anything worth visiting in Dublin, but it's not horrible. It's just not in the center of things. Our room faced the road, which was very loud at night on the weekends from people yelling and cars. There is only one outlet in the room I was in, and 10 beds. We had to go to the common area to charge things. The breakfast was standard but good. The staff was very helpful in anything we needed. Lockers in the rooms were great and fit my big backpack

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your comments, we are glad you enjoyed your stay and that your backpack fit into our lockers. Whilst we are not right in the middle of the city centre it is just a 5 minute walk to the main O'Connell Street and city centre, which is twice as noisy on a busy weekend. Take care and safe travels Misty Dubin International Hostel

57%

I stayed here for 3 nights, and within that time the card to my room stopped working 5+ times, in which you have to go back to reception to get them to fix it. The Wi-fi wasn't working the first day at all, and for the rest of my stay it would stop working for hours on end. To use the water in the bathroom you have to hold it in with one hand otherwise it will stop (I'm guessing this is a water saving thing?) There is also NO leniency for check-out time, not even like an hour or so.

  • 5th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your comments. The key cards are magnetic and sometimes stop as a result of any static energy they may come in to contact with, this can include being beside credit cards or magnetic clasps or even telephones. Our WiFi issues were finally resolved 9th Sept. We had a complete overhaul of the whole system. The taps are to reduce water waste. Our check out time is 10am as we have a small window in which to clean the rooms for the next guests. This is advised on check in.

66%

Cleanliness is very poor. Especially toilets are desperately poor.

Owner Comment (Hide)
In the fine words of annonymous? "Our Aim is to keep the bathrooms clean, Your Aim will help" The bathrooms are cleaned every day and on the weekends again in the evenings. We do our best to make sure that they are checked. If there are any issues, we ask that guests come and tell us and we will rectify. We hope that you enjoyed your time here in Dublin. Safe travels Misty Dublin International Hostel

77%

This place was great, the staff wonderful. Some of the guests there were inconsiderate, dirty, etc. which just made it so hard for others, i.e. the bathroom facilities were always clean, but inconsiderate guests would leave the place sometimes-unusable, filthy-dirty! Guests need to be more considerate of others and the staff who at this place work very hard to make the place nice! I did not feel security was "tight" I believe there were non-paying guests there as well.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Many thanks for your comments and praise to our staff. Your advice to other travellers on cleaning up after themselves is also welcome. A lot of people feel that they are exempt from responsibility as there will always be someone else to clean up after them. With regards to security and non-paying guests, we do have some people visiting guests in the hostel, all of whom sign in our fire register. Safe travels and we hope to look after you again. Kindest regards Misty

77%

It is an old building, a former catholic convent school. There is need for a makeover and some paint. But what a great service: a shuttle bus to the airport! I have overnight in about 300 youth hostels in the last 45 years never seen! I had room 405, bed No. 8, but that is difficult to my age (63 years). After consultation with another guest I was allowed on bed No. 7 sleep. So down under. Good location, not far from the O'Connell Street. And I saw a concert in the St. Stephen's Green Park.


74%

생각보다 깨끗했어요 와이파이는 그저그랬고.... 아침은 편하게 잘 먹었습니다 지금 다른 호스텔도 가봤는데 비교적 좀 비싼 편에 속해요 직원분들 친절하셨어요~^^


69%

Free morning breakfast is really value for money. Hot water for bath is also good. But the internet was not working in the hostel for my entire stay. This was really annoying about the hostel and also there are no mobile /laptop charging points inside the rooms. They provide a locker without a lock. So you need to buy a lock again. These things were little annoying

  • 29th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • India
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Many thanks for your commenets, We are glad to hear that you enjoyed the free breakfast here at the hostel. During your stay we were experiencng some technical issues with our WIFI these have since been rectified. Should you return to Dublin we would be happy to look after you again to try and make your next stay a more enjoyable one. Best regards, Dublin International Hostel.

60%

Staff were fantastic. Hostel was dirty. Bathrooms were cleaned but showers gross. Push button operated, one temp and no flow when multiple people using. Kitchen was worse I've seen. No room for storing food and always dirty dishes despite having to hire and return pots and pans.

  • 27th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Many thanks for your comments, We are happy to hear that you fully appreciated our fantastic staff. The showers are eco friendly and designed to save water but they are not to everybodies liking. It is up to all guests using the kitchen to clean up after themselves unfortunately some people do not respect this. We do make sure the reception team regularly checks the kitchen and cleans up if needed. Best regards, Dublin International Hostel.

« first « Prev 1 2 3 4 5
(90 results)


View all Dublin Hostels

Please give us your feedback