X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Dublin International (YHA) Reviews

61 Mountjoy Street, Dublin, Ireland

Reviews & Ratings Explained

76%

Rating
2613 Total Reviews
  • 79%Value For Money
  • 81%Security
  • 75%Location
  • 82%Staff
  • 74%Atmosphere
  • 70%Cleanliness
  • 71%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

89%

Dish cloths/sponges in kitchen need to be replaced more often. Would not want to wash any dishes with these bacterial laden sponges. Large fridge next to small fridge does not work - went to retrieve my food and had to throw it all out - it was warm to the touch.

  • 25th Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for taking the time to comment, The maintenance issues that happened during your stay have been rectified. In addition we replaced the large fridge with a new fridge. Should you return to Dublin we would be more than happy to look after you again. Best regards, Dublin International Hostel

77%

We had a two pleasant stays (1 night in a twin room, a fortnight later 2 nights in dorms. Only dissapointment was the state of the male WC's in the dormitory wing. Most stalls were in a worn state with reservoirs that filled up extremely slow and then didn't flush properly, causing cleanliness problems and unpleasant odours in the lavatory and shower areas. Also the shower valves had to be continuosly pressed which is awkward! The same facilities in the southern wing was very neat in contrast.


57%

I was staying in the 10 bedroom female dorm. Upon entering there was someone in my bed, the same happened with the person I had arrived with who was staying in the male dorm. The beds were all messed up even though there wasnt supposed to be anyone staying in them. The room was a complete mess, there was garbage everywhere and people had their stuff all over the place as if they had been living there for a long time. The lockers were all used and there was junk everywhere.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your comment, We are sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay here with us. It was unfortunate at the time of your visit that the rooms you both stayed in were messy. Should you return to Dublin we would be happy to look after you again to try and make your next stay a more enjoyable one. Best regards, Dublin International Hostel

57%

To me many areas in hostel corridors, bedrooms and toilets looked somewhat shabby and dirty. breakfast a little unadventurous even for the cost.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for taking the time to comment, We are sorry to hear that you did not fully enjoy your stay here at the hostel. The breakfast is for free and is not included in the price. Should you return to Dublin we would be happy to look after you again to try and make your next stay a more enjoyable one. Best regards, Dublin International Hostel

60%

Nice welcome from the staff but the bathrooms are really dirty, old and moisty ! that's a bad point for me !

  • 11th Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


89%

Excellent hostel. No complaints. Spacious rooms, lovely breakfast, great location.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for taking the time to comment, We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay here with us. Should you make a return trip to Dublin we would be more than happy to welcome you to the hostel again. Best regards, Dublin International Hostel

100%

As per usual a pleasant and hassle free YHA stay. Highly recommended and would gladly stay again.


94%

Lovely staff, good value for money, solid all round! Would highly recommend.


89%

Absolutely value for money, even shampoo in the room and the breakfast included, great! Staff was nice, only problem were noisy people outside. Hard to get asleep. But perhaps this is normal on a summer saturday night.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your comment, We are glad to hear that overall you enjoyed your stay here with us. It was unfortunate at the time of your visit that it was quite noisy outside. We do regularly security walks to ensure that the noise level is kept low. Best regards, Dublin International Hostel

89%

Fantastic hostel, some of the most helpful and friendly staff I have ever met. Will definitely stay again!

  • 4th Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • South Africa
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your comment, We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay here with us! Should you return to Dublin we would be more than happy to look after you again. Best regards, Dublin International Hostel

74%

Overall my stay at this hostel was average. Location is about a 10 minute walk from O'Connell St (good but not great). Breakfast is fine: cereal, toast, coffee, tea. The building itself is very large and has many common areas (reception area, tv room, kitchen, garden etc). Multiple parts of the building require room card access making for good security. Atmosphere is friendly, staff are helpful, and the craft beer tasting with Peter the beer guy is an added bonus.

  • 4th Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for taking the time to comment, We are glad to hear that overall you liked your stay here with us. Should you return to Dublin we would be happy to look after you again. Best regards, Dublin International Hostel

86%

The atmosphere there is very nice, very relaxed and you meet a good mix of people. It is quiet, the place is very big with lots of space and a nice garden. The dorms are not crowded. Its an old building so they do have some plumbing issues. The staff there are friendly and helpful.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for taking the time to comment, We are glad to hear that you had a pleasant stay here with us. Should you return to Dublin we would be more than happy to look after you again. Best regards, Dublin International Hostel

71%

the overall experience was good. the bathrooms were the only thing that threw me off but I enjoyed my stay. really short walk to the city

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for taking the time to comment, We are glad to hear that overall you enjoyed your stay here with us. We hope that you will visit us again in the future. Best regards, Dublin International Hostel

100%

Clean, quiet, cheap and close to city centre :)

  • 2nd Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for taking the time to comment, We are happy to hear that you had a pleasant stay here with us. Should you make a return trip to Dublin we would be more than happy to welcome you to the hostel again. Best regards, Dublin International Hostel

97%

Awesome place, perfect localization, and great atmosphere.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for taking the time to comment, We are happy to hear that you had a pleasant stay here with us. Should you return to Dublin we would be more than happy to look after you again. Best regards, Dublin International hostel

40%

It 's old and not so cheap as expected...

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your comment, We are sorry to hear that you did not fully enjoy your stay here at the hostel. The prices can vary, in general the earlier you book the lower are the prices. Should you return to Dublin we would be glad to look after you again. Best regards, Dublin International hostel

57%

The rooms were way too hot! And as an Australian that's saying something! I understand that for the majority of the time warm rooms would be preferable, but as we were there in the middle of summer it was almost unbareable. It was also in a bit of a scary area.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your comment, We are sorry to hear that you did not fully enjoy your stay here at the hostel. It was unfortunate at the time of your visit that the heaters were apparently on in your room. Should you return to Dublin we would be happy to look after you again to try and make your next stay a more enjoyable one. Best regards, Dublin International Hostel

94%

I've stayed in over 1000 hostels world wide and this is in the top 10%. Good value for city centre location. Secure parking was a GOD SEND with us all travelling on motorcycles. Breakfast is good and plentiful and you can eat up to 11am which is AFTER checkout. Handy !! My only negative is the showers and toilets are dated and there is nowhere to put your clothes or a place to change when showing. Not even a bench or chair. SORT IT OUT . It's ridiculous

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for taking the time to comment, We are happy to hear that overall you enjoyed your stay here with us. Should you make a return trip to Dublin we would be more than happy to welcome you to the hostel again. Best regards, Dublin International hostel

66%

Generally fine. Main problem issue was having to go along corridor then downstairs and along another one to ladies toilet as our 3 rd floor only had a mens facility and vice versa Not fun at night and as there was man in there who was showering and presumably couldnt be bothered to go all the way upstairs to the gents. Silly only having loos and showers for one gender on each floor.They need splitting or making formally unisex so.people know to stay dressed in communal area of washroom.

  • 28th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • All Female Group, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your comment, We are sorry to hear that you did not fully enjoy your stay here at the hostel. Should you return to Dublin we would be happy to look after you again to try and make your next stay a more enjoyable one. Best regards, Dublin International hostel

54%

Besides the cool history of the building, this was probably the most unclean hostel I've stayed in. I was in the girl's only dorm and most of the girls must have been there for months -- clothes, old dirty dishes, makeup, etc. EVERYWHERE. The only available locker for me to use that wasn't piled with a ton of things was broken, so I worried about the security of my important items all night when I went out. Staff was very nice, breakfast was decent. Didn't even bother showering.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for taking the time to comment, We are sorry to hear that you did not experience the hostel at its best. The issue with the locker has been reported. However we offer also a second option to store your personal items into a locked luggage room. Should you return to Dublin we would be glad to look after you again to try and make your next stay a more enjoyable one. Best regards, Dublin International hostel

« first « Prev 1 2 3 4
(80 results)


View all Dublin Hostels

Please give us your feedback