Hostelworld.com

Dublin International (YHA)

Prices
map
reviews
7.7
Very Good 3366 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.8
  • Security 8.3
  • Location 7.6
  • Staff 8.3
  • Atmosphere 7.4
  • Cleanliness 7.4
  • Facilities 7.2
BOOK NOW
7.7
Very Good 3366 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.8
  • Security 8.3
  • Location 7.6
  • Staff 8.3
  • Atmosphere 7.4
  • Cleanliness 7.4
  • Facilities 7.2

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
10th Feb 2017
5.4

Staff where blunt, no atmosphere, cold, worse coffee I've had, long walk from city center, no facilities, pillows where so flat n pointless ended up having to use the bed linnen to boost my pillow, bins in room don't get emptied enough, shower was cold, over priced, Windows didn't shut properly so scything left on Windowsill gets damp, tiny room with no space to sort luggage, early check out times, staff would talk among themselves in different languages made me paranoid. Won't be staying again

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
5th Feb 2017
5.7

I rang and emailed to get a twin with ensuite. But we got allocated a twin with just a toilet. Had to ask to swap rooms which seemed to be an inconvenience even In winter and they were not full. Our ensuite fit out needed repairs. Level our first room was on had only male showers if we didn't change rooms. Five storey building with no lift and steps at front so none of it accessible. Breakfast from 7am which is late in a city as lots of travellers are up early to catch connecting trips.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
4th Feb 2017
8.3

Great stay, thank you.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Many thanks for taking the time to comment, we are glad that you had a great stay and hope that should you return to Dublin that we can look after you again. Kindest regards Misty Dublin International Youth Hostel

  • Anonymous
  • Northern Ireland, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
3rd Feb 2017
8.0

My friend and I took one of the private twin rooms at this hostel. Great value for money, only about 20 minutes walk from the Liffey and centre of Dublin. The shower block on our floor was good and clean. The only thing I would say is that it's in quite an old converted building, and that makes for a lot of creaky floors and echoes - I did find myself getting woken up in the small hours of the morning by people clomping about in the corridors and stairs past our room. Secure carpark at the back!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for taking the time to comment, we are glad that you enjoyed your time here with us and that it was good value for money, in easy access of Dublin City Centre and had free secure off street parking to the rear of the hostel. We hope that you will come and stay with us again. Kindest regards, Misty Dublin International Youth Hostel

  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
27th Jan 2017
9.7

The staff is amazing and can help you with booking trips and tours, and offer suggestions for things to do. It's super clean and has one of the nicest bathroom accommodations I've ever seen in a hostel. The free breakfast is great and the rooms were nice. If security is something you're worried about, fear not, because this was the best hostel I've ever stayed at in terms of security. My friend and I enjoyed our weekend staying there and we'd recommend it! (especially girls since there's girls!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Many thanks for taking the time to comment on your time here with us. We have over the last couple of years finally been able to do some much needed work on the hostel with the first project being on the nicest bathrooms. We are glad that you were able to go out and do some of the many tours available to you and hope that should you return in the future we hope we can look after you and your friend again. Safe and happy adventures Misty Dublin International Youth Hostel

  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
21st Jan 2017
4.0

As an "international hostel", they should cater to students from outside the country more. There is no wifi in any of the rooms except the common area. There are no outlets to charge phones or laptops anywhere except the common area (no matter which type of plug you use). When the wifi is over crowded because everyone is in the common area using it, the front desk was always delaying resetting the router so it could run smoother. The "free" breakfast is a piece of bread or cereal.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for taking the time to comment. There is more to life and indeed time than how bad or how good the WiFi is. Had you read previous comments about the Wifi in the hostel you would have seen, that we don't offer it in the bedrooms with the main reason being that guests complain that they did not get any sleep as a result of other guests being inconsiderate by being on line all night. Turn off the WiFi and talk with other people from other cultures, make new friends and go out and see Dublin, drink a pint, feel the rain and wind on your face. Live outside the box Misty Dublin International Youth Hostel

21st Jan 2017
2.0

Extremely disappointed with my recent stay here , when the let unsavoury clientele stay here it will inevitably have a detrimental effect on the hostels overall ratings. For a non-profit organisation they should uphold some sort of moral selection of clientele otherwise it will result in negative reviews

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 2.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

It is a shame that you rated your stay with us poorly not as a result of something that was wrong with your stay but due to the people you were sharing a room with. Perhaps the moral of the story is that you stay in a private room that is away from these "unsavory" clientele that you speak of. As a Non profit organisation any "profit" is reinvested back in to the hostel and does not line the pockets of some investors. Did you not notice the new flooring, the new bathrooms or that some of the bedrooms had been painted.

  • Anonymous
  • Belgium, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
13th Jan 2017
7.7

Staff was friendly and helpfull. The ongoing renovations were a bit tedious (but also necessairy). Showers could use an update. Did have some problems withe the temperature in de dorm. To warm, to less ventilation

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for taking the time to comment, we are sorry for the inconvenience of the renovations going on at the moment but as you have in brackets (necessary) and this being the quietest time of year is the best time for us to do them. We hope that should you return to Dublin that we can look after you again and that the ongoing renovations will be complete. Kindest regards Misty Dublin International Youth Hostel

  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
10th Jan 2017
8.9

Stayed for a longer stay two weeks and very comfortable. Rooms were clean. Could do with more sockets in each room. The free tours were lovely including a friendly and relaxed beer tasting at a friendly local bar. The location is good, away from the bars but near O Connell Street. Thanks.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for taking the time to comment, we are glad you enjoyed your time here with us and that you availed of the free walking tour and the Wednesday night free beer tasting here. We hope that should you visit again that we can look after you again. Kindest regards and safe travels Misty

  • Anonymous
  • Switzerland, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
8th Jan 2017
8.3

Dublin international hostel is close to the city center and has a very nice shuttle service to the airport. The rooms are clean and the staff is very friendly. we made a mistake with the booking and the staff helped us out really understanding. My favourite part is the breakfast in the church. The restaurant room is stunning.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Many thanks for taking the time to comment, we are glad that you enjoyed your time here and that the convenience of the location of the hostel, the airport shuttle and the friendly staff made your stay. We hope to look after you on any future stays in Dublin. Kindest regards, Misty Dublin International Youth Hostel

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.