X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Dublin International (YHA) Reviews

61 Mountjoy Street, Dublin, Ireland

Reviews & Ratings Explained

76%

Rating
2489 Total Reviews
  • 77%Value For Money
  • 82%Security
  • 74%Location
  • 81%Staff
  • 75%Atmosphere
  • 71%Cleanliness
  • 71%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

66%

The security was good. The location was average, it was about a 20 minute walk to the main city center. The facilities were not very clean and the showers were not great. They made a mistake with our booking and had to move my friend who was about to sleep to another room. One night I woke up to the sound of a girl yelling at people in the other room at around 2am. There was only 1 outlet for everyone to charge their phones in a 10 all female dorm. In the end I wouldn't book this hostel again.


80%

The rooms were nice and spacious, with adequate lockers. The showers weren't nearly warm enough for me.

  • 10th Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Many thanks for your comments, We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay here with us. Should you return to Dublin we would be more than happy to look after you again. Kind regards, Dublin International Hostel.

91%

Everything was clean; sink in the room; bathrooms a little hard to find. About 10 min walk to the spire on central street- super close. Free breakfast is minimal- fruit juice, tea/coffee, cereal

  • 3rd Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Many thanks for taking the time to comment, We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your time here at the hostel. Should you return to Dublin we would be more than happy to look after you again. Kind regards, Dublin International Hostel.

74%

After an initial small mistake from the reception, they put everything in place to make sure we had a pleasant stay.

  • 3rd Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Belgium
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Many thanks for your comments, We are glad to hear that you had a pleasant stay here with us. Should you make a return trip to Dublin we would be more than happy to welcome you to the hostel again. Kind regards, Dublin International Hostel.

86%

The rooms were very big, and the hostel itself was very big. It takes about 10 minutes to get the the Main Street so pretty good in that regard. There is only wifi downstairs though, very few outlets to charge devices which as we know is important especially when traveling all the time. Breakfast was great!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for taking the time to comment, We are happy to hear that you enjoyed most of your stay here with us. Even though there are limited outlets in the rooms we do charge devices securey at reception. Should you return to DUblin we would be happy to look after you again. Best regards, Dublin International Hostel.

40%

The room and toilett/doushes were in a bad condition. It wasn´t comftable and very loud!

  • 26th Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Many thanks for your comments, We are sorry to hear that you did not fully enjoy your stay here at the hostel. Should you return to Dublin we would be happy to look after you again to try and make your next stay a more enjoyable one. Kind regards, Dublin International Hostel.

83%

Fine but your better off paying less and staying in a 10 bed dorm rather than a six as the room is massive in comparison. Six was tiny

Owner Comment (Hide)
Many thanks for your comments, it is funny how a lot of guests prefer the smaller dorm rooms and so these tend to be full, whereas the 10 bedded rooms can be relatively empty and a lot more spacious. Each to their own, I guess. We hope you enjoyed your time here with us. Kindest regards Dublin Inernational Hostel

89%

The staff is WONDERFUL!! They will go out of their way to help with anything you may need or travel difficulties etc you may experience while their, i.e. looking things up on the internet and making phone calls.

  • 18th Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Many thanks for your comments, There is always something exciting about helping others plan their next adventure. We are really glad that we were able to help you and hope that you got to get out of Dublin and see Ireland - (The real Ireland) We hope to look after you again some time and perhaps plan the next adventure. Kindest regards Misty Dublin International Hostel

57%

The showers were quite bad, the breakfast was described as IRISH BREAKFAST in the web page but it was an ordinary jam an butter.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for taking the time to comment, our showers can be very naughty at times, especially when they have been bold. The description on the hostelworld website says "Continental Breakfast" yes you are eating it in Ireland so could be interpretted as an Irish Breakfast. We hope that you enjoyed your time here in Dubln over the Saint Patrick Period. Kindest regards - Dublin International Hostel

60%

An average hostel with a plus factor for the good location and the comparatively cheap price. The atmosphere and cleanliness were underaverage even though lots of staffs were working there. Good for non ambitious budget travellers.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for taking the time to comment, we hope that you enjoyed your time here in Dublin and the world famous Saint Patrick Day Parade that started on the steps of the hostel. We can only do better to make sure the bathrooms and bedrooms are a cleaner and be a bit more ambitious. Safe travels Dublin International Hostel

77%

For a hostel, it's ok. The beds were comfy and don't squeak when you move. And good value for money. The showers were horrible. You have to keep your hand on the button to keep the water running - trying to wash shampoo out with 1 hand is not easy. There is only 1 plug per room! The reception staff were friendly, but some of their English isn't great, so I really struggled to get answers to the simplest questions.

  • 16th Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Many thanks for your comments, we are glad that the beds didnt squeek and that you found it was good value for money. Yes our showers (Some of them) are annoying especially holding the button to keep the water running. This is a water saving measure. The hostel was once a school so there weren't plugs in the rooms, however they can be charged securely and safely with the reception team. We hope that you enjoyed your time in Dublin over Saint Patrick Safe travels - Dublin International

31%

Most disgusting hostel I have ever stayed in. Location was extremely poor and surrounding area was unsafe. Locks in rooms were not provided. Sheets were disgustingly dirty, kitchen was gross, common areas were dirty. This was the worse night sleep I have ever had. I felt constantly dirty being in this hostel and tried to avoid it at all costs and only return when it was time to sleep. The staff was unfriendly and not helpful. Steer clear of this hostel I would never recommend this to anyone!!!!!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Many thanks for your comments, We are sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay here with us. Should you return to Dublin we would be happy to look after you again to try and redeem ourselves in your eyes. Kind regards, Dublin International Hostel.

100%

The staff was very friendly. The security to enter the hostel was excellent you had to have a key to enter each section of the hostel. If you are renting a car, parking in the car park in the back of the hostel is excellent and safe.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for taking the time to comment, We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay in the hostel and availed of our free facilities. Should you return to Dublin we would be more than happy to look after you again. Kind regards, Dublin International Hostel.

83%

Busy hostel fine as a base

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for taking the time to comment, We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. Should you return to Dublin we would be more than happy to look after you again. Kind regards and safe travels, Dublin International Hostel.

74%

Cold shower (impossíble), stranger breakfast

Owner Comment (Hide)
Many thanks for your comments, We are sorry to hear that you did not fully enjoy your stay here with us. Should you return to Dublin we would be happy to look after you again to try and redeem ourselves in your eyes. Kind regards, Dublin International Hostel.

77%

Free parking and Brekkie a bonus

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for taking the time to comment, We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. Should you return to Dublin we would be more than happy to look after you again. Kind regards and safe travels, Dublin International Hostel.

89%

Staff are very helpful and efficient

  • 2nd Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Many thanks for your comments, We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay here with us and found our staff to be helpul and efficient. Should you return to Dublin we would be more than happy to look after you again. Kind regards, Dublin International Hostel.

63%

The people were loud and bathrooms were kind of gross. Breakfast was nice though. Wifi did not work in the room and the room only had one plug

  • 27th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Many thanks for your comments, We are sorry to hear that you did not fully enjoy your stay here at the hostel. Should you return to Dublin we would be happy to look after you again to try and make you next stay a more enoyable one. Kind regards, Dublin Interantional Hostel.

83%

The place has a lot of atmosphere, it is a former orphanate which had its own church - now hostel refectorium. Located not far from the town center.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Many thanks for your comments, we are glad to hear that you enjoyed you stay here with us. Should you return to Dublin we would be more than happy to look after you again. Best regards, Dublin International Hostel.

80%

The YHA in Dublin is good value for money. It is a little far out of the central part of the city, but the price certainly makes up for it. I would recommend friends to stay, if they were looking for a cheap hostel!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for taking the time to comment, We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and would recommend us to friends. Should you return to Dublin we would be more than happy to look after you again. Kind regards, Dublin International Hostel.

« first « Prev 1 2 3
(54 results)


View all Dublin Hostels

Please give us your feedback