Hostelworld.com

Dublin International (YHA)

Prices
map
reviews
7.9
Very Good 2,925 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.1
  • Security 8.2
  • Location 7.6
  • Staff 8.6
  • Atmosphere 7.7
  • Cleanliness 7.7
  • Facilities 7.4
BOOK NOW
7.9
Very Good 2,925 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.1
  • Security 8.2
  • Location 7.6
  • Staff 8.6
  • Atmosphere 7.7
  • Cleanliness 7.7
  • Facilities 7.4
Dublin International (YHA) Located at 61 Mountjoy Street, , Dublin.
Dublin International (YHA)
Ireland
Dublin 61 Mountjoy Street
79% 2925
53.3559180 -6.2684510
Dublin International (YHA)
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
22nd Apr 2016
8.3

Great location and staff. The only downsides were the rock hard beds, ice cold showers and the emergency light staring me in the face all night.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
16th Apr 2016
3.1

I didn't even stay the night in this hostel because it was so appalling. I arrived at hostel and was initially freaked out by the location. The neighborhood didn't look remotely safe and there were questionable buildings the lined the block. Checking in, it looked like there were homeless people sleeping/laying on the couches and chairs in the lobby. Getting the sheets to my room, doors were being opened constantly and people were waltzing in without a card key. Above all else it smelled awful

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 2.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • willagrosa2282
  • USA, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
15th Apr 2016
8.3

Great hostel but the location is a little ways away from the city center. Nice clean room and bathrooms.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
9th Apr 2016
7.4

The lockers in the room didn't shut properly, so I couldn't lock my stuff in it. It was a little bit out of the way from the center of Dublin as well. The staff was friendly and helpful and the people staying there seemed friendly as well. It was cheap, though, and I only stayed there for one night, so I can't really complain.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Bulgaria, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
8th Apr 2016
3.7

There is no such thing as security there. Everybody can enter freely in the hostel without being asked a question - you ring the bell and they just open the door. Got my mobile phone stolen from the room and at the reception they couldn't tell me is somebody from my room had checked out l in the last half an hour. The hygiene is another story. Very dirty toilets, room and bed linen they provide you at the reception. Furthermore I was not able to take a shower with hot water! Awful experince

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

We are sorry to learn that your stay was not all that it could have been. There is CCTV on the front door and in the public areas of the hostel, each of the bedrooms have specific key card entry and whilst the security door into the area where the bedrooms are was not working the weekend of your stay, any other time no one can go any further without a room key card. With regards to your personal item going missing, it is unfortunate that someone took it, but they were given the opportunity to do so as you left the item unattended with people you did not know. We do not know for sure if it was the 2 people who had left that day or if perhaps it was the few guests who were staying on in the room were the ones responsible. I am certain that you would not have left the phone on a picnic table out in the open for anyone to take, which is what happened. Yes - we can improve with regards to our housekeeping. The bathrooms are cleaned once a day in the morning and again on busy afternoons over the weekends only. The reception team do try to monitor them over the day but do not always get the opportunity to check. We ask that if someone find some issue that they report it to the reception team and they will do their best to rectify. The showers have just recently been refurbished and as such the heating has been not working properly, either being too hot or too cold. Our maintenance team are still trying to fix this issue. We hope that should you return we can redeem ourselves in your eyes. Kindest regards Misty Dublin International Hostel

  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
8th Apr 2016
5.1

Very clean hostel but........ only 1 power point/outlet for an 8-bed dorm and negative unhelpful response from manager. not impressed. very very basic breakfast. compare that with mainly organic filter coffee and bagels in most north american hostels of the same chain - yha/hi. just awful. pay to have bag stored after checkout, even for just a few hours! not impressed at all.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for your comments, as the building is over 150 years old the limited power points in a lot of the bedrooms. To overcome this we do have some power banks available from the reception for use or items can be safely charged at the reception. Yes the free breakfast is basic but enough to start the day and then join the free walking tour. Yes - we charge a small fee of €1.50 for storing the luggage, down town the same luggage storage is €5+ Sorry we couldnt impress you. Safe travels Dublin International Hostel

  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 10 reviews
8th Apr 2016
6.3

This hostel was low to average. The staff were not very friendly or helpful, the wifi barely worked and there was a drunk guy throwing up/passing out in the hall to my room. Positives were good bathrooms and clean rooms.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for your comments, am appalled that some guy was throwing up outside your bedroom before passing out. I feel sorry for the staff who had to both clean it up and him with it. Perhaps he wasnt the first person that they had to clean up after and so their humor was tested. Everyone is only human. Glad that the bathrooms and room were clean. Safe travels Dublin International Hostel

  • Anonymous
  • Wales, All Female Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
2nd Apr 2016
10.0

Great experience in the hostel!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Many thanks for your comments, we are glad that you enjoyed your time here with us and hope that should you return to Dublin that we can look after you again. Kindest regards and happy travels, Misty Dublin International Hostel

  • Anonymous
  • France, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
30th Mar 2016
6.3

Very expesive, I needed to pay for everything (luggages, lockers, electrical outlet ...). This hostel is an enterprise not a friendly house. But everything was clean and the staff is perfectly sympathic

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for your comments, we hope you enjoyed your stay overall. Kindest regards Dublin International Hostel

  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
26th Mar 2016
2.6

Hard to find, no one seemed to know if there were showers or not. Staff let my wallet get stolen from my bag from behind the counter as I was waiting to check in, then we're very unsympathetic in helping me. Wish I had never heard of this hostel.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

It is unfortunate that your time here at the hostel was not a good experience. We hope that your next travels are a lot better. Safe travels and kindest regards, Dublin Hostel

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.