X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Dublin International (YHA) Reviews

61 Mountjoy Street, Dublin, Ireland

Reviews & Ratings Explained

77%

Rating
2652 Total Reviews
  • 80%Value For Money
  • 82%Security
  • 75%Location
  • 84%Staff
  • 75%Atmosphere
  • 70%Cleanliness
  • 72%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

94%

Have stayed here many times and always enjoyed it. However, little things count but they never seem to get repaired and this is an ongoing problem over the years. E. g. Persistent lack of hot water in the men's showers on the 2nd floor, non-functioning lockers often with missing parts, broken and missing hooks throught the building. The carpets in the hallways and stairwells. The list of annoyances goes on and the message emerges that the hostel does not care about hostellers.


80%

This was my first time staying in a hostel and your hostel set the bar very high! The employees were so friendly and extremely helpful in planning our activities around Dublin. I would definitely come back again. My only complaint was that there was only 1 or 2 outlets in our 6 person room and there wasn't wifi throughout the hostel. Thanks for a great stay!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for taking the time to comment, We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay here with us! Yes, we need more plugs in the bedrooms, however as you are sharing a room with strangers at times it is not the most secure option. We offer all guests a safer option, by charging items in the reception or by borrowing power banks from the reception. We hope that you will visit us again in the future for a second time! Best regards, Dublin International Hostel

74%

It was sticky and hot in the room at night. The window was not really to open. Exchange of air from outside (very much needed) was only posssible by a small 10 cm gap.

  • 13th Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for taking the time to comment, We are sorry to hear that you did not fully enjoy your stay here at the hostel. The maintenance issue that happened during your stay have been rectified. Should you return to Dublin we would be happy to look after you again to try and make your next stay a more enjoyable one. Best regards, Dublin International Hostel

94%

Awesome hostel! Staff is excellent: they were so kind and helped me organising my whole trip through Ireland; and that took quite a while! You also get free breakfast. I can recommend it to anyone visiting Dublin!

  • 10th Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for taking the time to comment, We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay in our hostel and that we could help you organising your trip! We hope you had a nice trip around Ireland. Should you return to Dublin we would be happy to look after you again. Best regards, Dublin International Hostel

69%

Staff were very friendly and helpful and hostel was clean and secure. only concern was walking back to the hostel at night at area seemed unsafe.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your comment, We are glad to hear that overall you had a pleasant stay here with us. The area is quite safe also at night time. Should you make a return trip to Dublin we would be more than happy to welcome you to the hostel again. Best regards, Dublin International Hostel

100%

The hostel was great! Very clean and well organized. The staff were very friendly and helpful. I would stay here again anytime!

  • 8th Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your comment, We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay here with us! Should you return to Dublin we would be more than happy to look after you again. Best regards, Dublin International Hostel

80%

Decent hostel in an ok location close to all of the main sights. Staff were friendly and quite helpful. Lot's of families staying which means it is definitely not a party hostel. The breakfast was great!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for taking the time to comment, We are glad to hear that overall you enjoyed your stay here with us. As the majority of our guests stay for one or two day s, the demographic changes on a daily basis. We hope that you will visit us again in the future. Best regards, Dublin International Hostel

94%

Staff extremely helpful and kind. Enjoyed our stay.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for taking the time to comment, Should you make a return trip to Dublin we would be more than happy to welcome you to the hostel again. Best regards, Dublin International Hostel

97%

Great hostel, with an amazing staff!!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for taking the time to comment, We are glad to hear that you had enjoyed your stay here with us!! Should you return to Dublin we would be more than happy to look after you again. Best regards, Dublin International Hostel

86%

It was a very nice stay, it would be nicer if the water taps and shower's water would stay on for such a long time that you actually would be able to use it, before it turns off right away again. And the showers are dirty....

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your comment, We are glad to hear that overall you enjoyed your stay here with us and apologize for the shower inconvenience you experienced. We will try to rectify this mainenance issue as soon as possible. Best regards, Dublin International Hostel

100%

Special thanks to Peter who ran the craft beer tasting. It made me spend €50 at Kavanagh the next day :-) The Free Tour guys are a really a good add on to the hostel!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your comment, We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay in our hostel and the free craft beer tasting! We hope that you will visit us again in the future. PS: Peter also organises a Pub Crawl! ;) Best regards, Dublin International Hostel

97%

We enjoyed our stay very much, Thank you from all of us.


94%

I stayed in Dublin hostel for 3 nights and had a great time. The reception counters were open 24hrs and very very helpful people to guide and give the best routes. They were quick to help and very energetic. Reception desk was full of information. Kitchen was the area which required some cleaning because of multiple people using it all the time. A little more organization of plates, pans, pots, cutlery would surely help. All in all wonderful stay. Kuddos to all the volunteers too.

  • 29th Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • India
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


46%

The first day I found out a big pee spot on my bed, something not very nice. It was replaced by the staff after my complaint. The restrooms were dirty too: everytime I went to the WC I found a "surprise", if you know what I mean. Moreover, the room lockers were all broken and didn't work. The breakfast wasn't enough and they weren't responsible for stolen luggage room stuff. Moreover, the hostel was 30 mins away from the city centre. I was very disappointed. Never gonna come back again.

  • 28th Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Spain
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


60%

The only parts of this hostel that are not dirty are the breakfast area "the Church" and the foyer/entrance lounge. My room had a strong musty smell to it, stains in the sink and condensation always on the windows. The floor was dirty and the room was in a constant mess. The duvet and pillow also had a musty smell to them. The showers and toilets were the worst. On the first day there was a used condom in one of the showers. They had dirt ingrained in them, a couple had broken shower curtains a

  • 27th Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for taking the time to comment, We are sorry to hear that your stay with us was disappointing especially with regards to the cleanliness of the public facilities and the issues you encountered. We apologise for that. We hope we can redeem ourselves in your eyes some day. Best regards, Dublin International Hostel

86%

It's huge, the dinning area is beautiful, but it's quite far from the center of Dublin. They were a lot more of children and families that near by the center though.


89%

Dish cloths/sponges in kitchen need to be replaced more often. Would not want to wash any dishes with these bacterial laden sponges. Large fridge next to small fridge does not work - went to retrieve my food and had to throw it all out - it was warm to the touch.

  • 25th Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for taking the time to comment, The maintenance issues that happened during your stay have been rectified. In addition we replaced the large fridge with a new fridge. Should you return to Dublin we would be more than happy to look after you again. Best regards, Dublin International Hostel

77%

We had a two pleasant stays (1 night in a twin room, a fortnight later 2 nights in dorms. Only dissapointment was the state of the male WC's in the dormitory wing. Most stalls were in a worn state with reservoirs that filled up extremely slow and then didn't flush properly, causing cleanliness problems and unpleasant odours in the lavatory and shower areas. Also the shower valves had to be continuosly pressed which is awkward! The same facilities in the southern wing was very neat in contrast.


57%

I was staying in the 10 bedroom female dorm. Upon entering there was someone in my bed, the same happened with the person I had arrived with who was staying in the male dorm. The beds were all messed up even though there wasnt supposed to be anyone staying in them. The room was a complete mess, there was garbage everywhere and people had their stuff all over the place as if they had been living there for a long time. The lockers were all used and there was junk everywhere.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your comment, We are sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay here with us. It was unfortunate at the time of your visit that the rooms you both stayed in were messy. Should you return to Dublin we would be happy to look after you again to try and make your next stay a more enjoyable one. Best regards, Dublin International Hostel

57%

To me many areas in hostel corridors, bedrooms and toilets looked somewhat shabby and dirty. breakfast a little unadventurous even for the cost.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for taking the time to comment, We are sorry to hear that you did not fully enjoy your stay here at the hostel. The breakfast is for free and is not included in the price. Should you return to Dublin we would be happy to look after you again to try and make your next stay a more enjoyable one. Best regards, Dublin International Hostel

« first « Prev 1 2 3 4 5
(89 results)


View all Dublin Hostels

Please give us your feedback