Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Dublin International (YHA)

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
7.7
Very Good 3,177 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.7
  • Security 8.3
  • Location 7.4
  • Staff 8.5
  • Atmosphere 7.4
  • Cleanliness 7.6
  • Facilities 7.1
BOOK NOW
7.7
Very Good 3,177 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.7
  • Security 8.3
  • Location 7.4
  • Staff 8.5
  • Atmosphere 7.4
  • Cleanliness 7.6
  • Facilities 7.1
Dublin International (YHA) Located at 61 Mountjoy Street, , Dublin.
Dublin International (YHA)
Ireland
Dublin 61 Mountjoy Street
77% 3177
53.3559180 -6.2684510
Dublin International (YHA)
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
24th Sep 2016
4.9

Light by bed and locker were both broken. Within a few minutes of showering the water was so insanely hot I felt like it was literally burning my skin and there was no way to adjust it...when I went to complain THEY KNEW ABOUT IT and told me to try a different floor next time. WHY ON EARTH WOULD YOU NOT WARN US??? Also there were no outlets by the bed and only two in the room that I saw (both being used). Wifi was absolutely horrendous and barely worked in room or anyone else.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Spain, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
23rd Sep 2016
8.3

Good things: Fairly good location, about 10 min walking from city centre. Friendly staff. We arrived early in the morning and they allowed us to have free breakfast even if our booking didn´'t start until after midday. Bad things: Wifi not working most of the time. Private rooms have just a bunk, no double beds, so room a bit expensive for what it is.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
23rd Sep 2016
7.1

This accommodation was very basic and I was a bit disappointed about the cleanliness, in particular the bathrooms. Not the most convenient location, about half an hour walk from the heart of the action in Dublin. But that is probably why it was very good value for money and not too expensive. Staff were very polite and friendly and the "church" area where breakfast is served is quite cool, although we didnt have time to stick around to sample the food. Best suited for young single travellers.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Taiwan, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
23rd Sep 2016
8.3

Reasonable price, location is not bad. But the wifi is only available in the public area, and unstable.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Many thanks for your comments, we are glad that you thought that the price was reasonable and that the location was OK. We restrict the Wifi to the public areas of the hostel mainly due to complaints received by other guests who were kept up all night by people checking their phones or watching movies on their computers, this is why we restrict it to the public areas. That as well as the building walls are very thick and the signal only goes so far. We hope that should you return to Dublin, that we can look after you again. Kindest regards and safe and happy travels Misty Dublin International Youth Hostel

  • Anonymous
  • Malaysia, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
14th Sep 2016
8.9

The staff are very friendly and helpful.We accidentally left our cell phone in the taxi on the way to Dublin airport. We called back to YHA Dublin and the staff helped us to contact the taxi driver. We got back our cell phone in time before boarding. Big Thank You to YHA Dublin. Will come back to stay when we make our second trip to Ireland.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Wow - that is great news that you got your phone back. We are so glad that you did. We didnt hear if you did or not. We look forward to your return stay Kindest regards, safe travels Misty Dublin International Hostel

  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
11th Sep 2016
6.6

This hostel is fine but the duvet covers should be laundered regularly. You are given clean sheets and a pillowcase on arrival but you use the same duvet as the previous person. It smelt like it needed cleaning to me and I didn't think it was hygenic. Also, there is only one plug socket in a dorm for 8 people and no lights for lower bunks. Apart from this, the location is good and so are the facilities: lots of showers and toilets, as well as a large kitchen.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Many thanks for comments, we do our best to make sure everything is clean and tidy each day as well as change bed linen in a room or 2 if possible each day. We ask that all guests use the white bed linen that we provide to them but in some cases guests don't. We dont have enough sockets in the bedroom as the building is over 150 years old and the electrics were never built for all of this. It is something that we are looking into rectifying at a cost of around €25,000.00. In the meantime, we do ask that guests charge items with the reception team as it is far more secure than leaving it in a room with strangers. We hope you enjoyed your stay in Dublin overall. Kindest regards, safe travels Misty Dublin International Hostel

10th Sep 2016
7.7

We stayed 3 nights the 2nd and 3rd in a private room for the 3 of us, but the first night in an 8 person dorm I couldn't sleep at all with someone's snoring. I was going to try and sleep at the reception sofas instead. I know it's a hostel, but the noise this guys was making was ridiculous, my 2 friends agreed.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Many thanks for your comments, unfortunately when sharing a room with others you are subject to the noises that come along with it. I hope you got a bit more sleep in the private room with your friends in the end. We hope that you enjoyed your time in Dublin and availed of the free walking tour. Kindest regards, safe travels Misty Dublin International Hostel

  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 19 reviews
10th Sep 2016
5.7

Probably the 2nd worst hostel I've been in 3 months of travelling. Only stayed one night. Why, * Cold showers (We're in Ireland) * No wifi in rooms * Bright greenlight in room on all night * 1 plug under someone's bed for 8 people * Announcements over a PA (is this a school) * Camp like shower rooms with curtains not doors * Terrible pillows * Little hostel atmosphere

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Yes we are in Ireland and the early morning cold shower is expected if not outside the front door, then possibly in the hostel, although there are hotter showers in the basement near to the boiler room. The building is over 150 years old, so the hot water does take a little bit of time to get from the basement up to the 2nd floor. The hostel use to be a convent school so not all the bedrooms have power sockets at all. But you can charge your phone, tablet or items securely with the reception team. Yes - this use to be a school, so we still use the PA system for making announcements each morning. We hope that you at least enjoyed your time here in Dublin, if not the hostel. Kindest regards, safe travels Misty Dublin International Hostel

  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
3rd Sep 2016
6.9

I had an OK stay. The only thing that bugged me was there was only 1 power socket for a room of 10!

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Many thanks for your comments, we hope you enjoyed your time here in Dublin. The building is over 150 years old and was a convent school beforehand, so electrical sockets were an after thought. For security reasons we do suggest that you see the reception team to plug in items such as phones, tablets etc behind the reception. Kindest regards, safe travels Misty Dublin International Hostel

  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
3rd Sep 2016
6.0

There is only one plug for the six-bunk dorms. Also, the towel rental price is quite high: 2.50

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Many thanks for taking the time to comment, as the hostel was once a convent school and orphanage that is over 150 years old, plugs were an afterthought in its construction. We do encourage guests to charge items at the reception especially if you are sharing in a room for security reasons. Kindest regards, Safe and happy travels Misty Dublin International Hostel

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.