X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Dublin International (YHA) Reviews

61 Mountjoy Street, Dublin, Ireland

Reviews & Ratings Explained

76%

Rating
2351 Total Reviews
  • 79%Value For Money
  • 81%Security
  • 73%Location
  • 80%Staff
  • 74%Atmosphere
  • 73%Cleanliness
  • 72%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

57%

I stayed here for 3 nights, and within that time the card to my room stopped working 5+ times, in which you have to go back to reception to get them to fix it. The Wi-fi wasn't working the first day at all, and for the rest of my stay it would stop working for hours on end. To use the water in the bathroom you have to hold it in with one hand otherwise it will stop (I'm guessing this is a water saving thing?) There is also NO leniency for check-out time, not even like an hour or so.

  • 5th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your comments. The key cards are magnetic and sometimes stop as a result of any static energy they may come in to contact with, this can include being beside credit cards or magnetic clasps or even telephones. Our WiFi issues were finally resolved 9th Sept. We had a complete overhaul of the whole system. The taps are to reduce water waste. Our check out time is 10am as we have a small window in which to clean the rooms for the next guests. This is advised on check in.

66%

Cleanliness is very poor. Especially toilets are desperately poor.

Owner Comment (Hide)
In the fine words of annonymous? "Our Aim is to keep the bathrooms clean, Your Aim will help" The bathrooms are cleaned every day and on the weekends again in the evenings. We do our best to make sure that they are checked. If there are any issues, we ask that guests come and tell us and we will rectify. We hope that you enjoyed your time here in Dublin. Safe travels Misty Dublin International Hostel

77%

This place was great, the staff wonderful. Some of the guests there were inconsiderate, dirty, etc. which just made it so hard for others, i.e. the bathroom facilities were always clean, but inconsiderate guests would leave the place sometimes-unusable, filthy-dirty! Guests need to be more considerate of others and the staff who at this place work very hard to make the place nice! I did not feel security was "tight" I believe there were non-paying guests there as well.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Many thanks for your comments and praise to our staff. Your advice to other travellers on cleaning up after themselves is also welcome. A lot of people feel that they are exempt from responsibility as there will always be someone else to clean up after them. With regards to security and non-paying guests, we do have some people visiting guests in the hostel, all of whom sign in our fire register. Safe travels and we hope to look after you again. Kindest regards Misty

77%

It is an old building, a former catholic convent school. There is need for a makeover and some paint. But what a great service: a shuttle bus to the airport! I have overnight in about 300 youth hostels in the last 45 years never seen! I had room 405, bed No. 8, but that is difficult to my age (63 years). After consultation with another guest I was allowed on bed No. 7 sleep. So down under. Good location, not far from the O'Connell Street. And I saw a concert in the St. Stephen's Green Park.


74%

생각보다 깨끗했어요 와이파이는 그저그랬고.... 아침은 편하게 잘 먹었습니다 지금 다른 호스텔도 가봤는데 비교적 좀 비싼 편에 속해요 직원분들 친절하셨어요~^^


69%

Free morning breakfast is really value for money. Hot water for bath is also good. But the internet was not working in the hostel for my entire stay. This was really annoying about the hostel and also there are no mobile /laptop charging points inside the rooms. They provide a locker without a lock. So you need to buy a lock again. These things were little annoying

  • 29th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • India
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Many thanks for your commenets, We are glad to hear that you enjoyed the free breakfast here at the hostel. During your stay we were experiencng some technical issues with our WIFI these have since been rectified. Should you return to Dublin we would be happy to look after you again to try and make your next stay a more enjoyable one. Best regards, Dublin International Hostel.

60%

Staff were fantastic. Hostel was dirty. Bathrooms were cleaned but showers gross. Push button operated, one temp and no flow when multiple people using. Kitchen was worse I've seen. No room for storing food and always dirty dishes despite having to hire and return pots and pans.

  • 27th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Many thanks for your comments, We are happy to hear that you fully appreciated our fantastic staff. The showers are eco friendly and designed to save water but they are not to everybodies liking. It is up to all guests using the kitchen to clean up after themselves unfortunately some people do not respect this. We do make sure the reception team regularly checks the kitchen and cleans up if needed. Best regards, Dublin International Hostel.

77%

I had a really nice time!

  • 27th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Many thanks for your comments, We are happy to hear that you enjoyed you stay at the hostel. We would be more than happy to lok after you again should you return to Dublin. Best regards, Dublin International Hostel.

49%

The hostel is very rundown & the rooms r not very clean when you can take a load of hair our of the basin in the room

  • 26th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Many thanks for your comments, We are sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay at the hostel. Should you return to Dublin we would be happy to look after you again to try and redeem ourselves in your eyes. Best regards, Dublin International Hostel.

80%

The place is looking a bit tired. Maintenance has not been kept up. There was a problem with the flushing of toilets and it wasn't properly addressed nor has it been since it was raised. Other than this issue, I found the staff always helpful and cooperative. Provision of parking is a big bonus. The breakfast is generous and well presented

Owner Comment (Hide)
Many thanks for your comments, We are sorry to hear that your isue about the toilets was not addressed while you were here. This is not normal practice as we have maintenance staff on daily to deal with any issues. We are happy to hear that you found the staff to be helpul and enjoyed the free breakfast and parking. Best regards, Dublin International Hostel.

94%

The Self-Service Kitchen is to small. The Watercooker is not working. The rooms are great and the staff has been very helpfull. The Parking is Super.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Many thanks for your comments, We are glad to hear that overall you enjoyed your stay at the hostel. The hot water boiler is working but guests have been switching it off after use, we have now put up a sign advising them not to do this. Should you return to Dublin we would be happy to look after you agian. Best regards, Dublin International Hostel.

91%

It was wonderful, very impressed, excellent value for money, would stay again.

  • 24th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Many thanks for your comments, We are glad to hear that you fully enjoyed your stay at the hostel. We would be delighted to welcome you back to the hostel should you return to dublin. Best regards, Dublin International Hostel.

60%

Lockers in the rooms were in poor shape. Toilets were often very messy and dirty. Staff was friendly and helpful.

  • 22nd Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Many thanks for your comments, We are sorry to hear that you did not find things to your satisfaction. Our bathrooms are cleaned daily each morning and checked for cleanliness throughout the day by our reception team. If you had notified reception when you found them dirty they would have rectified the situation immediately. Should you return to Dublin we would be happy to look after you again to try and make your next stay a more enjoyable one. Best regards, Dublin International Hostel.

71%

Toiletts weren´t really clean and the Wahingrooms are very old and did have mould. The Washrooms and toiletts weren´t placed on every floor. The breakfast was not good too.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Many thanks for your comments, We are sorry to hear that you did not fully enjoy your stay here at the hostel. Should you return to Dublin we would be happy to look after you again to try and make your next stay a more enjoyable one. Best regards, Dublin International Hostel.

74%

The staff were polite, friendly and helpful. The building itself is large and, in places a bit tatty (a couple of boarded up windows) but generally clean. I didn't feel the school changing room type showers and toilets were particularly safe for children to use in such a big and busy hostel. It's not in the best area of town being near to quite a rough area but it's safe enough if you are mindful of this.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Many thanks for your comments, We are happy to hear that you found our staff to be helpful and friendly as it is our aim to give every guest a warm welcome. The design of the bathrooms are common in most hostels but we do also have en suite rooms if people do not wish to share facilities. Should you return to Dublin we would be happy to look after you again. Best regards, Dublin International Hostel.

94%

Friendly, efficient, and helpful! I'm a little tired of hostels and would like to afford a B&B. But, then I'd miss the Dublin International hostel because I always have a good experience and have come back many times in route to Donegal. Many thanks to the staff!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Many thanks for your comments, they are greatly appreciated. We are very happy to hear that even though you would prefer to stay in a B & B you always choose the Dublin International Hostel while staying in Dublin. We will be more than happy to look after you on any future visits you have. Kind regards, Dublin International Hostel.

100%

Great place. I love it. Easy walking to downtown. 3 blocks from a Catholic church. Quiet, relatively safe area.

  • 8th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Many thanks for your comments, We are happy to hear that you enoyed your stay here at the hostel. We would be happy to look after you again should you visit Dublin in the future. Kind regards, Dublin International Hostel.

43%

You'd think a hostel would greet you very friendly - nope not at this one. Felt very out of place, not in a good location either and were not helpful at all. Even to ask them on the map where we were located it was as if we were a burden to ask them. Not to mention the loud speaker to announce the check out time. Unnecessary.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Many thanks for your comments, We are sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay at the hostel. Should you return to Dublin we would be happy to look after you again to try and redeem ourselves in your eyes. Best regards, Dublin International Hostel.

91%

I loved this place a lot and I recommend it. Very lovely, you can always find a comfy sofa to read a book! Unfortunately, the Internet never worked. The staff kept promising from day to day that it is going to work soon. What I also did not like was the fact that you had to press all the time to make the water run, in the showers, at the sinks. Once you let go, the water would stops running at once! The beds are very comfy! But they use tap water to make the breakfast tea ..

Owner Comment (Hide)
Many thanks for your comments, We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay at the hostel. During your stay we were experiencing technical issues with our WIFI connection which was beyond our control, this has since been rectified. Should you return to DUblin we would be happy to look after you again. Best regards, Pamela. Dublin International Hostel.

94%

great hostel, nice friendly staff , great location and lovely breakfast

Owner Comment (Hide)
Many thanks for your comments, We are happy to hear that you fully enjoyed your stay at the hostel and availed of the facilites that we hve to offer. Our staff really appreciate the feedback as it helps us to improve in any areas that we can. Should you return to Dubln we would be happy to look after you again. Kind regards, Dublin Interantional Hostel.

(71 results)


View all Dublin Hostels

Please give us your feedback