X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Dublin International (YHA) Reviews

61 Mountjoy Street, Dublin, Ireland

Reviews & Ratings Explained

75%

Rating
2423 Total Reviews
  • 77%Value For Money
  • 80%Security
  • 74%Location
  • 79%Staff
  • 74%Atmosphere
  • 72%Cleanliness
  • 70%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

80%

The hot water in the bathroom was more cold than hot.

  • 19th Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Many thanks for your comments, We have taken a look at the temperature guage and adjusted the temperature for the showers. We hope that should you visit Dublin again that we can redeem ourselves in your eyes. Kindest regards and safe travels, Misty Dublin International Hostel

94%

Great time, was here for two nights in an eight room all female dorm and had a great time. Staff were very very helpful.

  • 19th Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Many thanks for your comments, we are glad that you enjoyed your stay here with us and hope that should you return to Dublin, that we can look after you again. Kindest regards and safe travels, Misty Dublin International Hostel

66%

Relatively good location, nice breakfast and dining hall, relatively good facilities with wifi nearly everywhere, tv room and big shared bathrooms, friendly staff. Missing power plugs in the shared bedrooms, taps are running far too short, hard mattresses.

  • 17th Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Austria
  • All Male Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Many thanks for your comments, we are glad you had a nice stay with us and hope that you enjoyed your time here in Dublin. We hope we can look after you again on any future visits to Dublin Kindest regards and safe travels, Misty Dublin International Hostel

97%

we booked a four-bed ensuite, which was fantastic.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Many thanks for your comments, we are glad that you enjoyed your stay here at the Dublin International Hostel and hope to look after you again on any future vistis to Dublin. Kindest regards, safe travels Misty Dublin International Hostel

83%

little outside the city, quiet but lovely ;)

  • 5th Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Switzerland
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Many thanks for your comments, we hope you enjoyed your time here in Dublin and that should your return again that we can look after your stay. Kindest regards, safe travels Misty Dublin International Hostel

91%

It's necessary more plugs in the bedrooms

  • 28th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Spain
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your comments, plugs are something we are trying to work on for the bedrooms, without compromising on the safety of leaving your items, especially in a shared room. It is a lot safer to charge your items with our reception team. We hope you enjoyed your time here with us and hope to look after you again on any future visits to Dublin. Kindest regards, Dublin International Hostel

77%

Was alright. Staff was a bit weird, toilets were disgusting most of the time, but was close to city, 5 to 10 easy walk.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your comments, we do the best we can in keeping the bathrooms clean and tidy although the aim of some people would help in this scenario. Interesting comment on the "weird staff" they obviously were weird in a quirky and good way why you gave a rating of 4 out of 5. We hope you enjoyed your time here in Dublin and will continue to work on our cleanliness. Kindest regards, Dublin International Hostel

71%

The location of the hostel was great! Just a short walk, and you are downtown. The cleanliness was not so great, the toilets could have been cleaner.


71%

I stayed in a double room really basic, just a bed and desk. Toilets looks like gym toilet, big and cold. Hostel in general was good, but not worth the money for a double room 44pounds per night. You can find something better for that prize. Staff was helpful in everything. Hostel a little bit far from centre but not much, around 15 minutes. If i am back to Dublin i will try to find something better.

  • 21st Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Spain
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for your comments, yes the hostel offers very basic in accommodation for the budget concsious traveller and at €44 with free breakfast and free parking, is very cheap as oppossed to a city centre hotel which charges from €150.00 per night without breakfast. Our staff also have that bit more time to help you out with you options of what to do in the city as well, which is reflected in your comment. Safe travels Kindest regards, Dublin International Hostel

71%

It was in a great location, especially if you plan on exploring North Dublin. For what little we paid it was a great value, free breakfast in the morning was a nice bonus. The cleanliness however of the bathrooms was definitely questionable. There was blatant mold growing on the floor near the showers in giant heaps. All but one of the workers behind the desk were not at all helpful and they seemed annoyed whenever talking to them. For our eight bed room there was one plug which boggles my mind.

  • 5th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your comments, whilst we are indeed on the North Side of the city, we are just a 5 minute walk to Oconnell St and 10 minutes to the Liffey River which divides the city North from South. With over 280 guests in the hostel at any one time, cleanliness and indeed keep on top of this is a task, although I cannot find the "mould" issue you refer to. With a building that is over 150+ old plugs were an afterthought but you can charge everything safely with our reception. Safe travels

54%

- add taps that work "hands-free" - only one of the showers actually stayed on without holding down the button - water was quite cold - only one plug per room?? - fiddly lockers

  • 2nd Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Austria
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Many thanks for your comments, We are sorry to hear that you did not fully enjoy your stya here at the hostel. Should you return to Dublin we would be happy to look after you again to try and make your next stay a more enjoyable one. Best regards, Dublin International Hostel.

91%

Toilets were a bit grotty. Has to be said this is not the hostel's fault more the bathroom habits of some of the guests. joe

Owner Comment (Hide)
Many thanks for your comments, The hostel is cleaned daily each morning. Throughout the day checks are made by the reception staff to ensure that it is still clean. It is sometimes in between these checks that it can become dirty, this is why we ask all guests to notify reception of any problems they find so we can rectify the problem as soon as possible. We hope you otherwise enjoyed your stay and return to stay with us in the future. Best regards, Dublin International Hostel.

91%

I have stayed in many hostels in Dublin and this is the best. If the duvets were washed and shower rooms upgraded it would be 100% .apart from a rude Indian male on the night desk all staff are great. FREE breakfast is a bonus .TV room and washing machines/dryers really is great when travelling. 10 mins to city centre anda great chip shop on tthe doorstep called Matasas.stay was great all in all il definitely come back to this one again. Forget Ashfield house/Abigails/Abraham. .they are dumps

Owner Comment (Hide)
Many thanks for your comments, We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay here at the hostel and were happy with the facilities we have to offer. Should you return to Dublin we would be happy to look after you again. Best regards, Dublin International Hostel.

49%

Insufficient room for full negative comments in this space; very poor breakfast; lack of internet facility; staff attitude cold - lack of knowledge, very unhelpful, not friendly; total lack of floor space to walk to bed in shared room, consideration of others- nil.(in all fairness, on this occasion,perhaps staff not aware but quite surprising behavior in a YHA Intl hostel); security - left with 2 swipe/pass cards;definitely not a happy, vibrant hostel. Only redeeming factor - it was very clean

  • 19th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Many thanks for your comments, We are very sorry to hear that you did not fully enjoy your stay here at the hostel. Should you return to Dublin we would be happy to look after you agin to try and redeem ourselves in your eyes. Best regards, Dublin International Hostel.

89%

This is a wonderful place to stay. It is a massive place with plenty of areas to lounge around. The place is very secure and the dorms include big lockers. The location is the only bad part, its not too far away from bars or the city center bit you will have to walk a good 10-15 minutes. Overall an incredible value for the money.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Many thanks for your comments, We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay here at the hostel. Should you return to Dublin we would be more than happy to look after you again. Kind regards and safe travels, Dublin International Hostel.

60%

If this was not an AnOige / YHA identified hostel the place would struggle to attract visitors

Owner Comment (Hide)
Many thanks for your comments, Over the last year we have welcomed over 60,000 guests to the hostel. Like most businesses in Dublin we have struggled in recent years but due to the fact that tourism numbers are on the up we have benefited from this and aim to do so in the future. We hope you enjoyed your stay and continue to support An Oige in the future. Best regards, Dublin Interantional Hostel.

40%

The kitchen was closed. The toilets were in poor condition and there was only cold water coming from the showers. Over all the hostel was quite worn.

  • 12th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Finland
  • All Female Group, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Many thanks for your comment, We are sorry to hear that you did not fully enjoy your stay here with us. Our self catering kitchen only closes for an hour in the morning for cleaning, during this time breakfast is available in our Church restaurant. As the building is quite big it can sometimes take a couple of minutes for the hot water to reach the showers on the upper floors, so this may have been the problem you were experiencing. Kind regards, Dublin International Hostel.

69%

Everything was decent except the showers and the location. The location was a bit further out than I had anticipated, but it's manageable. The bathrooms weren't particularly great. The showers especially. You have to hold a button otherwise the water turns off and you have no control over the temperature. If you're lucky, it'll be mildly warm. Otherwise, the Italian guy who worked the desk was very kind and the arrangements were above average for a hostel. Pretty good experience.

  • 10th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Many thanks for your comments, We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay here with us. As we are a green hostel our showers are designed to save on water, this set up is not to everybody's taste. Should you return to Dublin we would be happy to look after you again. Kind regards, Dublin International Hostel.

51%

It was dirty and humid, and breakfast was very poor. I am aware that the price was low, but still - even the location wasn't good enough!

  • 9th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Poland
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Whilst we cannot change the location of the hostel there are a number of these comments that could have been brought to our attention and we do our utmost to rectify. We provide a small and FREE continental breakfast to all of our hostel guests in the fabulouse Church setting. The hostel is cleaned top to bottom every day and the staff, do their best to help everyone. Safe and Clean Travels Regards, Dublin Internaitonal Hostel

66%

In an 8 man dorm there was only 1 plug! Bit of a joke really!

  • 4th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
The uniqueness of operating a hostel in what was once a Convent and School does come with its challenges, one of these are the plugs in the room. Whilst there is 1 plug in the room, you are sharing a room effectively with 7 strangers of whom can take a fancy to what you have plugged in. With that said, we offer at the reception, free secure charging of all devices. Convienient "NO" Secure "YES Safe and Secure travels! Regards, Dublin International Hostel

(52 results)


View all Dublin Hostels

Please give us your feedback