X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

33,000 properties, 170 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Dublin International (YHA) Reviews

61 Mountjoy Street, Dublin, Ireland

Reviews & Ratings Explained

80%

Rating
2839 Total Reviews
  • 82%Value For Money
  • 83%Security
  • 76%Location
  • 88%Staff
  • 79%Atmosphere
  • 75%Cleanliness
  • 73%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

86%

I slept here just for one night and everything was perfect ! I couldn't ask more :) The location is very good, it seems too far from the centre and not safety, but I can confirm that I didn't have any problem coming back alone during the night (2/3 am). I'm more than happy of my experience in this hostel

Owner Comment (Hide)
Many thanks for your comments, we ard glad that everything was perfect and that the location was adequate and that you didnt have any issues when coming back to the hostel. We hope that should you return to Dublin that we can look after you again. Kindest regards, Misty Dublin International Hostel

100%

Comfortable and pleasant stay in this top notch Dublin hostel. Comes highly recommended. Would not hesitate to stay here again.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Many thanks for your comments, we are glad that you enjoyed your time here with us and hope that we can look after you again on any future trips to Dublin. Safe travels, Kindest regards, Misty Dublin International Hostel

43%

In the dorm there was only one electric socket for 8 beds. In the toilet the temperature was cold and the shower was broken.


63%

Smelled of oily food in hallways, shower facilities are not so good and had to run shower for 10mins before getting hot water

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for taking the time to comment, am really sorry for the overpowering smell of oily food in the hallways. There is a kitchen area and it can sometimes be overpowerint. We are in the process of renovating a couple of the bathrooms and in doing so improve the efficiency of the showers. We hope that should you return to Dublin that we can redeem ourselve in your eyes. Kindest regards, Misty Dublin International Hostel

74%

Place = legit. Breakfast = simple but filling. Close to what matters. Nice atmosphere in the common area. Staff = cool. The shower/bathroom stalls needed some revamping as they were a bit 3rd world and the water was lukewarm at best. Otherwise, maybe mention should be given to guests that after 11pm (and I'm talking about the schmuck who did this at 1am) entering the room and turning the bleeding light on so that he can rummage though his locker. Also separate male/female dorms really?

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for taking the time to comment, You will be pleased to know that we are finally revamping a couple of our bathrooms, so hopefully the next time you stay with us it wont be so 3rd World. Whist we ask that guest be considerate of others in the rooms, some are just oblivious to the shared room concept. We do have mixed private rooms, just not mixed dorms. Safe travels and kindest regards Misty Dublin International Hostel

86%

Excellent staff excellent location the only room for improvement there are are the facilities, the rooms are clean and the stay was very nice

  • 28th Nov 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Croatia
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Many thanks for your comments, we are glad that you enjoyed your time here with us. We are in the process of renovating a couple of our bathrooms and a few other repair jobs. We hope that should you return to Dublin that we can look after you again, Kindest regards, Misty Dublin International Hostel

74%

The common areas and dorm room were very good. Staff were friendly and helpful. Women's showers were not clean or well-maintained. It would be helpful to have an alternative to cow's milk for breakfast, for those who are lactose-intolerant, etc.

  • 27th Nov 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


37%

I'm not a big complainer usually, but I really found this hostel substandard. The dorms were okay in terms of space, but there was only one plug in the whole dorm! (10 beds) The kitchen was really dirty. Some cooking plates were broken and it was a big mess. Then the dining room: it was filled with men, especially East-European men (with whom basically is nothing wrong of course) .. all drinking liters of beer, Vodka, smoking weed etc. Also the sanitary facilities, really decayed and crappy!

  • 27th Nov 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for taking the time to comment, with regards to the 10 bed dorm room, we often find it safer for guests to leave items charging at the reception than in the bedroom, we also offer power banks for people to charge items. The self catering kitchen is used by a lot of people, we do our best to monitor the kitchen and would have done something about the issue had it been brought to our attention. We can only try and do better Regards and safe travels Misty Dublin International Hostel

57%

THe location was PRIME! There was a loud banging/rattling in our heater all night long that was hard to sleep with. Bathrooms were gross. Breakfast was terrible.

  • 26th Nov 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for taking the time to comment, We are sorry that the banging and rattling that you heard kept you awake. The radiators hadnt been turned on since last winter so some had air inside them and had not been bled. I am happy to report that renovations have started on the bathrooms and as for the breakfast, it is a complimentary breakfast that guests can avail of or not. Safe travels Misty Dublin International Hostel

83%

lockers were provided. towels were not - had to be purchased. value for money was great considering it was extremely cheap.not much heat and bathrooms were in the basement so it was fairly cold, however we were there in the winter. i don't think the location was that good since we left the hostel with a missing hub cap ...


86%

Thanks for being so helpful all the time. The only thing that disappointed us a little was the wifi. Even in the common rooms we felt like the wifi was sometimes failing on us. This may have been because so many people were using it though?

  • 21st Nov 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Many thanks for taking the time to comment, we hope you enjoyed your stay here with us overall. The WiFi can run slowly especially when a lot of people are on it OR if people have decided to download or stream films/sports etc. Should you return to Dublin, we hope that we can look after you. Kindest regards, Misty Dublin International Hostel

80%

Great hostel, although power points in bathrooms as well as more power points in the room would've been benter!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Many thanks for taking the time to comment, we are glad that you enjoyed your stay here with us. Although not having power points in the bathrooms we do have them in the hallways with a mirror above as due to Irish law we were not allowed to put an electrical points inside wet areas. Sorry for the inconvenience. We hope that should you return to Dublin that we can look after you again. Kindest regards, Misty Dublin International Hostel

69%

The location was handy enough but felt unsafe at night. Beds were great, but the showers were awful, leaky, and cold.

  • 20th Nov 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Many thanks for taking the time to comment, we are glad that the location was handy to your needs and sorry that you felt unsafe at night, was it the streets getting too and from town? We are in the process of renovating one of our bathrooms, which I hope that should you return to Dublin that you may see the improvements. We hope that we can look after your next stay to Dublin. Kindest regards Misty Dublin International Hostel

86%

All facilities were very clean, the staff was very helpful and friendly. It was a good value for my money. The only bad thing I have to say about it is that the shower rooms were cold and you had to keep pressing the shower button to get it running, which made showers very unpleasant.

  • 13th Nov 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Spain
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Many thanks for taking the time to comment. We are glad that overall you enjoyed your stay with us, we are hoping to get our showers refurbished in the next coming months to address the issues of both the taps and temperature as well as preasure. We hope that we can look after you on any future visits to Dublin. Kindest regards and safe travels Misty Dublin International Hostel

77%

Only one plug in a room of 8 was not good enough, and there were no extension leads to borrow. Also the wifi only worked in the recpetion area, would have been much better to have it extended up to the rooms as well

  • 8th Nov 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your comments, as the hostel is over 150 years old and was once a school and convent before hand, the electrical outlets were an after thought back then. We still have some rooms without power points, however we do offer guests to charge any items safely and securely at the reception and have just introduced power banks to borrow for a deposit. The Wifi is only offered in the public areas in to stop complaints by other guests trying to sleep, but being kept awake by browsers.

77%

The hostel is in a good location just 10min walk from centre, staff were very friendly and helpful. Everything was clean throughout the hostel. Breakfast served in the church provided great start to the day. Rooms are rather basic, had problems with the keys (plastic cards) but a washing basin in the room was very welcomed. Chose this hostel for this trip because it has a car park which is rare. Overall good value for money.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Many thanks for your comments, we are glad you enjoyed your time here. We do our best in keeping the hostel clean and tidy. Being the only hostel in Dublin to have our own off street parking, is definitely a bonus as is our friendly and helpful staff. Should you return to Dublin, I hope that we can look after you again. Kindest regards, Misty Dublin International Hostel

86%

Been to Dublin numerous times but it was my first time in this hostel. Really impressed. Great value for money and within walking distance to many sites as well as close to transport links. I will recommend this place to friends and will stay there on my next trip to Dublin. Great value for money


66%

conventional youth hostel charm, good value, unfortunately wifi only in the lobby, party rooms without socket outlets (!), friendly staff, a 15 minute walk from O Connell Street, great pizza and fish and chips across the street, free breakfast (toast and cornflakes)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Many thanks for your comments, the Wifi is available in just the public areas and not in the bedrooms. We are working on increasing power sockets to the rooms, but it is safer to give items to the reception to charge personal items, or ask about our power banks. We are glad that you enjoyed your time here with us overall. We hope that should you visit Dublin again, that you will let us look after you. Safe travels and kindest regards, Misty Dublin International Hostel

80%

It's got pretty much everything you need. Free breakfast, kitchen, vending machines, towels/toiletries can be bought/hired, airport shuttle bus, tours, lots of friendly staff (at least 2-3 at front desk at one time), it's clean and not too expensive. I'd stay here again.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Many thanks for your comments, we are glad that you enjoyed your time here in Dublin and that we were able to look after your needs. We hope that should you visit Dublin again, that you will let us look after you. Safe travels and kindest regards, Misty Dublin International Hostel

97%

Myself and my girlfriend had a nice stay in a twin private room here. There was a sink in the room which was nice. The beds were fine. The shared bathrooms were just outside and fine. The free breakfast was a great start to the day. The staff were very helpful with everything. The location was just a short walk from the city centre and all the other guests were friendly. Overall it was a decent hostel, I would stay again and recommend it.

  • 5th Nov 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Many thanks for taking the time to comment, We are glad that you enjoyed your time here with us and that everything was to your needs. We hope that should you visit Dublin again, that you will let us look after you. Safe travels and kindest regards, Misty Dublin International Hostel

(74 results)


View all Dublin Hostels

Please give us your feedback