X
NOTE: 9 or more guests qualifies as a group booking, change the number of guests to return to normal search.
Enquire Now HostelBookers Logo Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Dublin International (YHA) Reviews

61 Mountjoy Street, Dublin, Ireland

Reviews & Ratings Explained

78%

Rating
2088 Total Reviews
  • 80%Value For Money
  • 83%Security
  • 72%Location
  • 83%Staff
  • 77%Atmosphere
  • 75%Cleanliness
  • 75%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

66%

No hot water,very disappointing

  • 14th Feb 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Italy
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Many thanks for your comments, We are sorry to hear that you did not fully enjoy your stay here at the hostel. Should you return to Dublin we would be happy to look after you again to try and redeem ourselves in your eyes. Kind regards, Pamela. Dublin International Hostel.

74%

Hostel is great value for money and is a 10 minute walk from the city centre but the showers don't have hot water all the time which was bad for the winter. Overall a great place to stay!

  • 13th Feb 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Many thanks for you comments, We are glad that you enjoyed your stay here at the hostel. We are sorry to hear that you had some trouble with the showers during your stay as we normally have hot water 24hrs a day. Should you return to Dublin we would be more than happy to look after you again. Best regards, Pamela. Dublin International Hostel.

100%

I was surprised and very, very pleased. Loved the church dining room, loved the friendly and patient staff, loved the quiet rooms and clean bedding. Loved the easy-access parking, loved the 15-min. walk to O'Connell statues etc etc etc. Loved everything except the grungy ladies' bathroom in the basement., until I found the nicer and bigger washroom. Thanks for everything, DIH!

  • 5th Feb 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Many thanks for your comments, We are very glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay here with us. Should you return to Dublin we would be more than happy to look after you again. Best regards, Pamela. Dublin International Hostel.

74%

One plug socket in a room for 10 people isn't enough. Range of breakfast is great.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your comments, due to the age of the building we are limited at the moment on the number of power sockets that are about. We try to encourage guests to charge your phones or computers at the reception where it is a bit more secure than in the shared dormitory rooms. We hope that you enjoyed your time here in Dublin. Kindest regards Misty Dublin International Hostel

74%

The hostel is big, clean and organized. The staff was helpful to us. The two brazilian guys from the reception were very very friendly. The breakfast area is in an old church and it´s very different and nice. It´s well located, and the area seems secure. Would stay here again!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Many thanks for your comments. We do our best to make sure your stay is an enjoyable one. We hope to see you again on any future visits to Dublin. Kindest regards Misty Dublin International Hostel

100%

This is a nice hostel near the city center, Staff is really nice, Stayed two nights and had a great time, there's a confy and spacious living room just to chill out or read a book, beds are ok, showers and toilets are basic but clean; I think is what you deserve for the money you pay.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your comments, We are glad you enjoyed your time here with us and hope that you will consider staying with us again on any future visits to Dublin. Kindest regards Misty Dublin International Hostel

74%

I had a good stay at Dublin International. It's 20 minutes walking from the city centre and night attractions. Fully equipped kitchen (open 24 hr) and comfortable living rooms. Hot water in the showers and internet connection are sometimes a bit "whimsical" but in the whole is a good hostel.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your comments, we hope you enjoyed your time here with us. We did experience a couple of problems with the gas and electricity with the block experiencing a power cut on the particular date in which you stayed and I apologize for this. We hope that you enjoyed your time here with us overall though. Kindest regards Misty Dublin International Hostel

86%

excellent breakfast, excellent and very friendly staff and low price. If i ever manage to come back to dublin, will definitely stay at your Hostel again!

  • 14th Jan 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Many thanks for your comments, We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us so much. Should you return to Dublin we would be more than happy to look after you again. Kind regards, Pamela. Dublin International Hostel.

83%

Comfortable beds staff were very helpful can get a bit noisy but not a problem with me. I have stayed here on a great number of time and would recommend it to all I know,,,,

Owner Comment (Hide)
Many thanks for your comments, We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and found our staff to be very helpful. We look forward to looking after you again in the future and many thanks for the recommendations. Best regards, Pamela. Dublin International Hostel.

97%

Was only here for three hours as had to catch an early flight the next morning but as always thoroughly enjoyed my stay here. With the YHA franchise you know you're getting value for money and their Dublin branch is certainly no exception. Respect.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Many thanks for your comments, We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay here at the hostel, as you have on other occasions. Should you return to Dublin we would be more than happy to look after you again. Safe travels. Best regards, Pamela. Dublin International Hostel.

86%

I thought it was a wonderful place to stay. It was my second time I went to the Hostel.

  • 4th Jan 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • All Female Group, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Many thanks for your comments, We are very glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay here with us on both occasions. Should you return to Dublin we would be more than happy to look after you again. Best regards, Pamela. Dublin International Hostel.

74%

Dublin International was my stop in Dublin. It was a choice of budget and convenience. Just needed a descent sleep and shower. Thanks to the guy from reception who got a taxi for me at New Years Eve after i missed the driver from the first one!!!


60%

Hostel is very big. Nice to have a bit of history to the building. Needs a good renovating though and i think theres alot better hostels in Dublin. A bit of a walk from Dublin center also.


86%

Staff helpful with tours, directions and booking next hostel

  • 25th Nov 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Many thanks for your comments, We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and found our staff to be helpful. Should you return to Dublin we would be happy to look after you again. Best regards, Pamela. Dublin International Hostel.

66%

Trere's only one freezer for 200 people. A shame!

  • 20th Nov 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Italy
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Many thanks for your comments, During your stay we were in the process of carrying out repair work to our self catering kitchen so it had to be closed. Because of this we were only able to provide one fridge in a temporary area for the duration of the works. The repair work is now finished and the kitchen is reopened. Should you return to Dublin we would be happy to look after you again to try and redeem ourselves in your eyes. Best regards, Pamela. Dublin International Hostel.

89%

Wonderful room for a good price. Very comfy bed. We were very happy to have a sink in our room! We also appreciated the free parking. The only downside is that it is about a 20 minute walk to most attractions. We will definitely stay at this hostel again!

  • 17th Nov 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Couple, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Many thanks for your comments, We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay at the hostel. Should you return to Dublin we would be more than happy to look after you again. Best regards, Pamela. Dublin International Hostel.

74%

quite noisy at night and the showers are quite old, there is no way to regulate the temperature (shared bathrooms). However, the value for money is ok.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Many thanks for your comments, We are sorry to hear that you did not fully enjoy your stay here at the hostel. Our bathrooms are old but we are in the process of trying to upgrade our facilities. Should you return to Dublin we would be happy to look after you again. Best regards, Pamela. Dublin International Hostel.

66%

The hostel was not very conveniently located. It did feel very safe with key cards. But I asked for towel service in the morning and was told I would have to wait until noon, very inconvenient. Breakfast was fine. Not the friendliest hostel Ive stayed at. Over all I would say my stay was rather average.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Many thanks for your comments, We are sorry to hear that you did not fully enjoy your stay here at the hostel. On the morning you requested towels our delivery was late so I apologize that you had to wait until noon for the towel. Should you return to Dublin we would be more than happy to look after you again to try and redeem ourselves in your eyes. Best regards, Pamela. Dublin International Hostel.

91%

Great location, friendly and helpful staff, reasonably quiet. Laundry facilities were reasonably priced and easy to use.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Many thanks for your comments, We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay here at the hostel and found our staff to be helpful. Should you return to Dublin we would be more than happy to look after you again. Best regards, Pamela. Dublin International Hostel.

54%

Too noisy during the night, doors closing, people talking, etc..

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your comments, the weekends can be very busy for the hostel and indeed Dublin. We do our best to do walks around the hostel to control the noise level but cannot be everywhere. We do have ear plugs available from the reception though. We hope that on any return trip to Dublin, we may be able to redeem ourselves in your eyes. Kindest regards, Misty Dublin International Hostel

(53 results)


View all Dublin Hostels

Please give us your feedback