X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Dublin International (YHA) Reviews

61 Mountjoy Street, Dublin, Ireland

Reviews & Ratings Explained

76%

Rating
2528 Total Reviews
  • 77%Value For Money
  • 82%Security
  • 74%Location
  • 81%Staff
  • 73%Atmosphere
  • 71%Cleanliness
  • 71%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

91%

I had a great stay here, terrific value for money, very friendly staff. I would definitely recommend to anyone staying in Dublin on a budget.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Many thanks for taking the time to comment, We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and that you would recommend us to fellow travelers to Dublin. Should you return to Dublin we would be more than happy to look after you again. Best regards, Dublin International Hostel.

74%

In general a cheap safe night's stay. I found crumbs in my bed though when I went to put on the outer sheets and wasn't sure that my room was very clean. Most of the staff were very helpful but some were not, e.g. too busy on their personal phone call to deal with reception. It was a hassle to have to go all the way from the kitchen upstairs to reception to borrow a cooking pot! There must be a bad problem with stealing as I've never done this in any other hostel.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Many thanks for your comments, We're sorry to hear that you did not fully enjoy your stay here at the hostel. Should you return to Dublin we would be more than happy to look after you again to try and redeem ourselves in your eyes. Knd regards, Dublin International Hostel.

91%

Very satisfied with everything, and would come again. Thanks, Tony.

  • 17th Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Many thanks for your comments, we are glad you enjoyed your stay here with us and hope that should you visit Dublin again that we can look after you. Kindest regards and safe travels Misty Dublin International Hostel

37%

Located in a bad area. Huge building with freezing temperatures as a result. No atmosphere whatsoever.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for taking the time to comment. The area around the hostel is very residential with a lot of families, so does not tend to get the drunk and disorderly conduct associated with the likes of Temple Bar or the Bus station. We are very quiet at the beginning of January as most people are broke after Christmas and New Years which does make for a quiet and lack of party atmosphere. We hope the next time you visit it is a bit more lively Kindest regards, Misty Dublin Hostel

89%

I only stayed one night here, I would have stayed more... very clean, great free breakfast, very helpful staff.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Many thanks for taking the time to make a comment. We are glad that you enjoyed your time here with us and hope that should you return to Dublin, we can look after you again. Kindest regards and safe travels Misty Dublin International Hostel

80%

Hearing about the petty theft that was occurring was disconcerting. However, the people, the staff, and the atmosphere made me feel at home and welcome.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Many thanks for your comments, yes it is unfortunate that there are some people who stay at different hostels in order to steal items. Which is why we encourage guests to either lock items in the lockers in the rooms, charge items at the reception or keep them on their person at all times. We are glad though we were able to make your stay a welcoming stay regardless of the theft issues. Kindest regards and safe travels Misty Dublin International Hostel

60%

I would never stay at this hostel again. The staff were lovely, the location was good - in Dublin CBD but not too noisy - and the free wifi was much appreciated. But, the kitchen is awful, half the taps didn't work in the girl's bathroom and the showers were bad - no proper hot water.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for taking the time to make a comment, it is interesting how you started your comment by saying "you will never stay here again" and followed up with yet the staff, location wifi were all good. The Kitchen and Bathrooms are communal areas which we do try to check regularly and tidy up after some messy guests. So not really our fault. We hope that should you retun to Dublin for New Years Eve that you will have a better experience. Kindest regards Misty Dublin Hostel

89%

Stayed here as needed somewhere central for New Years Eve. Excellent value for money and the FREE parking was an added bonus. No need for taxis as could walk home. Booked the private room and it was adequate. The sink in the room was also a bonus. My only complaint was that the room was too warm!!! Could not turn off the radiator and the heat seemed to be on 24/7 and could only open the window a bit! Staff friendly and nice vibe about the place.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Happy New Year, Many thanks for your comments, we are glad that you enjoyed your time here with us, although the room was a bit too warm. We hope that should you need to come to Dublin again you will let us look after your stay. Kindest regards, Misty Dublin International Hostel

100%

Would stay again.


60%

I loved the Location, the place could use some sprucing up. The lockers in the rooms didn't lock and function well, there were lots of drafty cold spots in the bathroom and I got a cold shower. Meanwhile the dorm room was roasting hot. There also weren't a lot of outlets in the room, and stronger wifi would be nice.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Many thanks for your comments, you will be glad to know that we are sprucing up some of the areas around the hostel. Firstly by painting and and then a few other tasks. It has been a hard couple of years, so small changes and bit by bit we are getting there. With a building over 150 years old it does have its limitations, power sockets, wifi and heating are a couple to name a few. We hope that you enjoyed your time in Dubin and that we can look after you again. Misty Dublin Hostel

86%

Nice hostel,wicked breakfast room in a ex church(finally a good thing to do with places like this) .An intersting place.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Happy New Year, Many thanks for your comments, we are glad you enojyed your time here with us and hope that should you return to Dublin that we look after you again. Kindest regards, Misty Dublin International Hostel

94%

Very good location, very clean and good hot shower. In case it is raining or bad weather, you can have fun inside of the hostel, there are many things that you do there.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Many thanks for your comments, we are really glad that you enjoyed your time here with us. We hope that should you return to Dublin that we can look after you again. Kindest regards and safe travels Misty Dublin International Hostel

77%

There is no charger in living room

Owner Comment (Hide)
Many thanks for your comments, as the building is over 150 years old, 7 of the 40 rooms do not have power sockets, also for secuirty reasons, we advise guests to charge any personal electronics with the reception team especially when sharing a room. We hope that you enjoyed your time here in Dublin and wish you a safe and pleasant journey. Kindest regards and safe travels, Misty Dublin International Hostel

100%

As per usual-comes highly recommended!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Many thanks for your comments, we are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us again and look forward to your next visit. Kindest regards and safe travels, Misty Dublin International Hostel

89%

I would definately stay again and recommend to my friends.Just one thing the blue covers on the beds where really dirty on all beds.

  • 20th Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Many thanks for your comments, we are glad that you will come back and stay with us again. The blue covers on the beds are changed frequently and on check in there should have been clean fresh bed linen given. We hope we can redeem ourselves in your eyes on your next visit. Kindest regards and safe travels, Misty Dublin International Hostel

80%

The hot water in the bathroom was more cold than hot.

  • 19th Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Many thanks for your comments, We have taken a look at the temperature guage and adjusted the temperature for the showers. We hope that should you visit Dublin again that we can redeem ourselves in your eyes. Kindest regards and safe travels, Misty Dublin International Hostel

94%

Great time, was here for two nights in an eight room all female dorm and had a great time. Staff were very very helpful.

  • 19th Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Many thanks for your comments, we are glad that you enjoyed your stay here with us and hope that should you return to Dublin, that we can look after you again. Kindest regards and safe travels, Misty Dublin International Hostel

66%

Relatively good location, nice breakfast and dining hall, relatively good facilities with wifi nearly everywhere, tv room and big shared bathrooms, friendly staff. Missing power plugs in the shared bedrooms, taps are running far too short, hard mattresses.

  • 17th Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Austria
  • All Male Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Many thanks for your comments, we are glad you had a nice stay with us and hope that you enjoyed your time here in Dublin. We hope we can look after you again on any future visits to Dublin Kindest regards and safe travels, Misty Dublin International Hostel

97%

we booked a four-bed ensuite, which was fantastic.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Many thanks for your comments, we are glad that you enjoyed your stay here at the Dublin International Hostel and hope to look after you again on any future vistis to Dublin. Kindest regards, safe travels Misty Dublin International Hostel

83%

little outside the city, quiet but lovely ;)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Many thanks for your comments, we hope you enjoyed your time here in Dublin and that should your return again that we can look after your stay. Kindest regards, safe travels Misty Dublin International Hostel

1 2 3 Next » last »
(60 results)


View all Dublin Hostels

Please give us your feedback