X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Dublin International (YHA) Reviews

61 Mountjoy Street, Dublin, Ireland

Reviews & Ratings Explained

77%

Rating
2292 Total Reviews
  • 79%Value For Money
  • 81%Security
  • 74%Location
  • 81%Staff
  • 75%Atmosphere
  • 74%Cleanliness
  • 73%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

54%

The room was dirty, the hostel loud, the self-catering kitchen extremely run-down and dirty.

  • 9th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Mixed Group, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for your comments, We are sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay at the hostel. SHould you return to DUblib we would be happy to look after you agin to try and redeem ourselves in your eyes. Kind regards, Dublin International Hostel.

89%

Had a lovely stay in Dublin International. The staff were lovely and very helpful, the rooms were clean and the breakfast served in the converted chapel was really cool. A great base from which to explore the city and fantastic value for money!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Many thanks for your comments, We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your time here at the hostel. We would be more than happy to look after you again should you return to Dublin. KInd regards, Dublin INternational Hostel.

57%

The bathrooms were pretty dirty and gross. The wifi stopped working the first night we were there and it wasn't fixed until after we left. Some of the showers you had to hold the button for water the entire time. The water was ice cold at first and then scalding hot. We were basically sleeping on tablecloths because there was no fitted sheet. A week later we paid about the same price per night for two budget hotel rooms.

  • 4th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Mnay thanks for your comments, We are sorry to hear that you did not fully enjoy your stay at the hostel. Should you return to Dublin we would be happy to look after you agian to try and make your next stay a more enjoyable one. KInd regards, Dublin International Hostel.

83%

Very nice place and excellent staff, I only have problems with the wifi

  • 2nd Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Argentina
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Many thanks for your comments, we are glad you enjoyed your stay here with us. We were experiencing problems with our WiFi over the football world cup dates, which we think was due to a lot of people live streaming at the same time, so we apologise for this. We hope that should you return to Dublin that we can look after you again. Kindest regards, Misty Dublin International Hostel

91%

Security:Most of the lockers in the dorm (room no 300, I think) didn´t have locks on them, so one couldn´t lock ones things in there. It would be great to have that possibility. Location:The location was actually not very bad, just 11 pm in the evening The last part of the road to the hostel was a very dark road and worn out road and I wasn´t sure how long I had to walk there. Atmosphere:Fantastic!!! The livingroom in the entry, very clean, the place for breakfast(church) and that it is for free

  • 27th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Sweden
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Many thanks for your comments, The lockers in the room need a padlock to lock them, which we sell at reception if you don't have your own. It's great to hear that you enjoyed your stay at the hostel. If you return to Dubln in the future we would be happy to look after you again. Best regards, Dublin International Hostel.

51%

The showers were very dirty and absolutely no place to put your stuff, wifi not working during all my stay at the hostel. However the security was very good. Averything esle was average.

  • 27th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for your comments, We are sorry to hear that you did not fully enjoy your stay at the hostel. The bathrooms are cleaned every morning and checked regularly throughout the day, had you told reception of the problem they would have done their utmost to rectify the problem. The problem with the WIFI during your stay has since been fixed. Should you return to Dublin we would be happy to look after you again to try and make your next stay a more enjoyable one. Regards, Dublin Int. Hostel

71%

the water in the showers upstairs were pretty cold. Last winter was the same story.

  • 26th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Spain
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Many thanks for your comments, We are sorry to hear that you did not fully enjoy your stay due to the showers being cold. We will be sure to highlight this problem to our maintenance team so as to avoid future problems. Should you return to Dublin we would be happy to loook after you again to try and make your next stay a more enjoyable one. Kind regards, Dublin Interantional Hostel.

51%

The beds are extremely uncomfortable, and the rooms smelled -- I get that the rooms won't smell great as I've stayed in hostels all over Europe, but the ones here were awful. The lack of outlets in the room forced us (and other tenants) to crowd in the lobby to use the outlets there. Further, the furniture in the lobby was very worn and used. The one thing that pleasantly surprised me was the breakfast, which wasn't half bad.

  • 9th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Many thanks for your comments, We are sorry to hear that you did not fully enjoy your stay here at the hostel. Should you return to Dublin we would be happy to look after you again to try and make your next stay a more enjoyable one. Kind regards, Pamela. Dublin International Hostel.

74%

It's a nice place for the money you spend. A little outside the popular area to party in Dublin, so if you want to do a lot of that, be prepared to walk a ways or take a taxi. The showers are annoying. 5 sec push buttons. I just kept my hand on it the whole time I showered basically. The staff is helpful abd the breakfast is pretty average, but it's included so it's a definite plus. You can also store your stuff there if you are taking a couple free days out and them coming back to it.

  • 8th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Many thanks for your comments, We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your time here at the hostel. Should you return to Dublin we would be more than happy to look after you again. Kind regards, Dublin International Hostel.

86%

The hostel was very clean and the atmosphere was friendly and warm. We had a great time there with all the facilities like the self-catering kitchen. The only thing that was a little bit surprising was the fee we had to pay for storing our luggage at the hostel after check-out.

  • 8th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Many thanks for your comments, We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay at the hostel. Should you return to Dublin we would be happy to look after you again. Best regards, Pamela. Dublin International Hostel.

77%

I spent quite some time, along with several other gals hunting for the shower, only to find ONE shower stall for the entire floor !!!!!!! Not happy bout that one.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Many thanks for your comments, We are sorry to hear that you had trouble finding the bathrooms. If you had contacted reception they would have been able to help you find the quickest route from your room to the bathroom. Should you return to Dublin we would be happy to look after you again to try and make your next stay a more enjoyable one. Kind regards, Pamela. Dublin International Hostel.

94%

Fantastic hostel. Only drawback was the limited number of powerpoints.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Many thanks for your comments, We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay at the hostel. Should you return to Dublin we would be happy to look after you again. Kind regards, Dublin International Hostel.

86%

There was only one charter per room. Breakfast es good ando everything was clean.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Many thanks for your comments, We are happy to hear that overall you enjoyed your stay at the hostel. Should you return to Dublin we would be more than happy to look after you again. Kind regards, Pamela. Dublin International Hostel.

89%

I thought it was great. My only complaint would be that the showers were cold in the bathroom I used. On the last night i finally went to the other bathroom on my floor and found that the shower was nice and warm!

  • 31st May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Many thanks for your comments, We are sorry to hear that you did not fully enjoy your stay here at the hostel. Thank you for bringing the shower issue to our attention we will have maintenance review it immediately. Should you return to Dublin we would be happy to look after you again to try and make your next stay an even more enjoyable one. Best regards, Pamela. Dublin International Hostel.

66%

It's a huge hostel with a lot of guests, and the staff aren't very helpful. Most don't speak English very we'll. a lot of the guests were older, even some families. bathrooms were kind of grimy and minimal and you have to hold down the shower button the whole time to keep the water going. Wifi worked for me in the ro. Free breakfast was a big plus, very cool dining area and you didn't have to wash your own dishes. Location was far from city center but doable.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Many thanks for your comments, We are sorry to hear that you did not fully enjoy your stay at the hostel. Should you return to Dublin we would be happy to look after you again to try and make your second stay a better one. Best regards, Pamela. Dublin International Hostel.

69%

I was on a "male" floor so had to go down one floor to use the bathroom. Shower was cold the second day as well which is never a positive! Need to provide better shower facilities so that clothes don't get wet when showering. Breakfast was good quality and plentiful and is probably the highlight of this hostel. Laundry facilities good and quick to complete a wash and dry cycle.

  • 28th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Many thanks for your comments, We are sorry to hear that you did not fully enjoy your stay at the hostel. Should you return to Dublin we would be happy to look after you again to try and make your second stay a better one. Best regards, Pamela. Dublin International Hostel.

89%

Very friendly and helpful staff.

  • 25th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Many thanks for your comments, We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay at the hostel and found our staff to be friendly. Should you travel to Dublin again we would be happy to look after you again. Best regards, Pamela. Dublin International Hostel.

60%

The hostel is located near the center of the city, but just far enough away that getting home from downtown is a long and kind of dangerous walk if you aren't careful. The other problem with the hostel is that does a poor job of encouraging interaction between tenants. If you're a family traveling cheaply, it's a quiet, safe place. But if you're backpacking and want to meet people and have fun, go elsewhere.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Many thanks for your comments, As we are situated in a residential area, just outside the city centre, it can be a bit quieter than other ares which may not be to everyone's taste. We are in the process of introducing some new initiatives to help solo travelers interact with other guests. If you return to Dublin we hope you would stay with us again to avail of these new services. Best regards, Pamela. Dublin International Hostel.

97%

The staff I interacted with were nice and very helpful whenever I had a concern or question. I didn't take a shower while here so I can't comment on water temp/pressure, but the shower room looked very clean (facilities in general are good). Bed was comfy, breakfast standard-fare... The location is not the best but it was still within walking distance to main sites south of River. You may want to take a public bus to/from Guinness Storehouse/Kilmainham Gaol since walking eats up a lot of time.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Many thanks for your comments, We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay at the hostel. Should you return to Dublin we would be happy to look after you again. Best regards, Pamela. Dublin International Hostel.

83%

Staff very helpful, order us taxis eetc and told us were places where.

  • 24th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Many thanks for your comments, We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and found our staff to be helpful. Should you return to Dublin we would be more than happy to look after you again. Best regards, Pamela. Dublin International Hostel.

(87 results)


View all Dublin Hostels

Please give us your feedback