X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Dublin International (YHA) Reviews

61 Mountjoy Street, Dublin, Ireland

Reviews & Ratings Explained

76%

Rating
2611 Total Reviews
  • 79%Value For Money
  • 81%Security
  • 75%Location
  • 82%Staff
  • 74%Atmosphere
  • 70%Cleanliness
  • 71%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

60%

An average hostel with a plus factor for the good location and the comparatively cheap price. The atmosphere and cleanliness were underaverage even though lots of staffs were working there. Good for non ambitious budget travellers.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for taking the time to comment, we hope that you enjoyed your time here in Dublin and the world famous Saint Patrick Day Parade that started on the steps of the hostel. We can only do better to make sure the bathrooms and bedrooms are a cleaner and be a bit more ambitious. Safe travels Dublin International Hostel

77%

For a hostel, it's ok. The beds were comfy and don't squeak when you move. And good value for money. The showers were horrible. You have to keep your hand on the button to keep the water running - trying to wash shampoo out with 1 hand is not easy. There is only 1 plug per room! The reception staff were friendly, but some of their English isn't great, so I really struggled to get answers to the simplest questions.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Many thanks for your comments, we are glad that the beds didnt squeek and that you found it was good value for money. Yes our showers (Some of them) are annoying especially holding the button to keep the water running. This is a water saving measure. The hostel was once a school so there weren't plugs in the rooms, however they can be charged securely and safely with the reception team. We hope that you enjoyed your time in Dublin over Saint Patrick Safe travels - Dublin International

31%

Most disgusting hostel I have ever stayed in. Location was extremely poor and surrounding area was unsafe. Locks in rooms were not provided. Sheets were disgustingly dirty, kitchen was gross, common areas were dirty. This was the worse night sleep I have ever had. I felt constantly dirty being in this hostel and tried to avoid it at all costs and only return when it was time to sleep. The staff was unfriendly and not helpful. Steer clear of this hostel I would never recommend this to anyone!!!!!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Many thanks for your comments, We are sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay here with us. Should you return to Dublin we would be happy to look after you again to try and redeem ourselves in your eyes. Kind regards, Dublin International Hostel.

100%

The staff was very friendly. The security to enter the hostel was excellent you had to have a key to enter each section of the hostel. If you are renting a car, parking in the car park in the back of the hostel is excellent and safe.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for taking the time to comment, We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay in the hostel and availed of our free facilities. Should you return to Dublin we would be more than happy to look after you again. Kind regards, Dublin International Hostel.

83%

Busy hostel fine as a base

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for taking the time to comment, We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. Should you return to Dublin we would be more than happy to look after you again. Kind regards and safe travels, Dublin International Hostel.

74%

Cold shower (impossíble), stranger breakfast

Owner Comment (Hide)
Many thanks for your comments, We are sorry to hear that you did not fully enjoy your stay here with us. Should you return to Dublin we would be happy to look after you again to try and redeem ourselves in your eyes. Kind regards, Dublin International Hostel.

77%

Free parking and Brekkie a bonus

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for taking the time to comment, We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. Should you return to Dublin we would be more than happy to look after you again. Kind regards and safe travels, Dublin International Hostel.

89%

Staff are very helpful and efficient

  • 2nd Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Many thanks for your comments, We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay here with us and found our staff to be helpul and efficient. Should you return to Dublin we would be more than happy to look after you again. Kind regards, Dublin International Hostel.

63%

The people were loud and bathrooms were kind of gross. Breakfast was nice though. Wifi did not work in the room and the room only had one plug

Owner Comment (Hide)
Many thanks for your comments, We are sorry to hear that you did not fully enjoy your stay here at the hostel. Should you return to Dublin we would be happy to look after you again to try and make you next stay a more enoyable one. Kind regards, Dublin Interantional Hostel.

83%

The place has a lot of atmosphere, it is a former orphanate which had its own church - now hostel refectorium. Located not far from the town center.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Many thanks for your comments, we are glad to hear that you enjoyed you stay here with us. Should you return to Dublin we would be more than happy to look after you again. Best regards, Dublin International Hostel.

80%

The YHA in Dublin is good value for money. It is a little far out of the central part of the city, but the price certainly makes up for it. I would recommend friends to stay, if they were looking for a cheap hostel!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for taking the time to comment, We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and would recommend us to friends. Should you return to Dublin we would be more than happy to look after you again. Kind regards, Dublin International Hostel.

40%

We stayed forone night in the YHA and were really disappointed about the cleaniness of our room (ripped open bedding). Further,the bathrooms were in a bad condition. The shower either didn't provide a shower curtain or no rack. No warm water was available even after letting it run for a while.The bathrooms in generally were really dirty. Also the breakfast was not satisfying. Although stating to be a green hostel, the YHA files the juice in plastic cups. The food range was not satisfying either.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for taking the time to comment. We are sorry that your stay wasnt all that it could be. The bathrooms are very old we are desperately trying to secure funding to get new ones. They are scrubbed clean every day which is as much as we can do. We had a group of over 190 people staying at the time so the plastic cups were used as we didnt have enough for everyone. The complimentary breakfast is very basic, but enough to start the day. We can only do better Dublin International

69%

The main problem is that there are no lockers for luggage, you have to pay 3 euros more for it.

  • 14th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Italy
  • Couple, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your comments, there is a free locker available for all guests in each of their rooms. If you have your own padlock you can lock it, if you do not have a padlock we do sell them at the reception for €3. You can then use it any other hostel around Ireland or the rest of the world. Safe and Happy travels to you, Misty Dublin Interantional Hostel

77%

Nice staff, they are very helping. It is about 15 minuts to walk to tempel bar, so that is a nice distance. And it is easy to walk. The breakfastroom is a bite sticky, it could be cleant a bit better. Overal is it clean in the hostel. Some of the showers are broken so you have to push on te bottun te get soms wather. But overal een nice hostel for a nice price at a good location.

  • 14th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands
  • All Female Group, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for taking the time to comment, We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay at the hostel. Should you return to Dublin we would be more than happy to look after you again. Kind regards and safe travels, Dublin International Hostel.

66%

It was very noisy until late at night because there are sofas in the staircase right next to some of the rooms; and because it's an old building you can more or less hear every word through the walls.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Many thanks for your comments, We are sorry to hear that you found the hostel to be noisy late at night. The reception team make regular checks to ensure the noise level is kept to an acceptable level after 10pm. If you had made reception aware of the problem during your stay I'm sure they would have tried to rectify the problem. Should you return to Dublin we would be more than happy to look after you and t try to make your next stay a more enjoyable one. Dublin International Hostel.

89%

i was very good in this hostel and people who work there are very nice and help you every time.

  • 13th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Spain
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for taking the time to comment, We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay at the hostel. Should you return to Dublin we would be more than happy to look after you again. Best regards and safe travels, Dublin International Hostel.

40%

Dublin International Hostel was absolutely disgusting. I have not scene a hostel so dirty and unkept. There are black stains on the carpets throughout the building, the beds were extremely uncomfortable - with dirty bed linens. The atmosphere of the entire place was unsettling. Do not recommend.

  • 12th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for taking the time to comment, We are very sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay here at the hostel. Should you return to Dublin we would be more than happy to look after you again to try and redem ourselves in your eyes. Best regards, Dublin International Hostel.

91%

I had a great stay here, terrific value for money, very friendly staff. I would definitely recommend to anyone staying in Dublin on a budget.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Many thanks for taking the time to comment, We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and that you would recommend us to fellow travelers to Dublin. Should you return to Dublin we would be more than happy to look after you again. Best regards, Dublin International Hostel.

74%

In general a cheap safe night's stay. I found crumbs in my bed though when I went to put on the outer sheets and wasn't sure that my room was very clean. Most of the staff were very helpful but some were not, e.g. too busy on their personal phone call to deal with reception. It was a hassle to have to go all the way from the kitchen upstairs to reception to borrow a cooking pot! There must be a bad problem with stealing as I've never done this in any other hostel.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Many thanks for your comments, We're sorry to hear that you did not fully enjoy your stay here at the hostel. Should you return to Dublin we would be more than happy to look after you again to try and redeem ourselves in your eyes. Knd regards, Dublin International Hostel.

1 2 3 4 Next » last »
(79 results)


View all Dublin Hostels

Please give us your feedback