X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

33,000 properties, 170 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Dublin International (YHA) Reviews

61 Mountjoy Street, Dublin, Ireland

Reviews & Ratings Explained

80%

Rating
2840 Total Reviews
  • 82%Value For Money
  • 83%Security
  • 76%Location
  • 88%Staff
  • 79%Atmosphere
  • 75%Cleanliness
  • 73%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

57%

VERY FAR from city center NO plugs in rooms NO toilet in rooms NO wifi in rooms POOR breakfast NO free luggage storage COLD in rooms It costs the same as all the other hostels in the center and it gives lower service. It was not bad, but really far, impractical and uncomfortable for the reasons above. ABSOLUTELY NOT VALUE FOR MONEY!!!!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for taking the time to comment, We are sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay here with us. Should you return to Dublin we would be happy to look after you again to try and make your next stay a more enjoyable one. Best regards, Dublin International Hostel

74%

the hostel has more places where you need to use your card to pass through than any other place i stayed. The breakfast finishes at 10 which is early and the checkout is also very early at 10. The keycards are disabled exactly at 10. There is an announcment on loudspeaker to check out ayt 9.45 and housekeeping knock on the door to say to check out at 10

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for taking the time to comment, We do have security and room doors to ensure our guests safety. The breakfast is from 7am to 11am. Should you return to Dublin we would be happy to look after you again. Best regards, Dublin International Hostel

63%

1. It was not convenient as all male bathrooms/toilets in a floor and all female's in another. So you have a half of chance needing to climb one floor to take bath/go to toilet. 2. A few facilities in the bathroom were broken and missing. For example, you have no shelf to place soap or no hanger to place your clothes. 3. The toilets was not clean at all. 4. Yet, the decoration in the hall for breakfast was impressing.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for taking the time to comment, We are sorry to hear that your stay with us was disappointing regarding to the cleanliness of the public facilities and the issues you encountered. We apologise for that. We hope we can redeem ourselves in your eyes some day. Best regards, Dublin International Hostel

100%

It is a splendid hostel.

  • 2nd Sep 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your comment, We are glad to hear that you had a pleasant stay here with us. Should you make a return trip to Dublin we would be more than happy to welcome you to the hostel again. Best regards, Dublin International Hostel

69%

Wasn't too bad for what you are paying. The lockers in my room didn't really work, you could open it easily if your really tried and they charge you to leave a back in the luggage room. Rooms were clean enough as well as bathrooms. Staff was friendly but most didn't seem to know the area and were clearly not from the area. The only real downside was the location, pretty far from the Center and in a bit of a dodgy area. Other than that no complaints, wouldn't mind staying again

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for taking the time to comment, Should you return to Dublin we would be happy to look after you again to try and make your next stay even more enjoyable one. Best regards, Dublin International Hostel

83%

The reception staff is excellent, very helpful & friendly. However, it would be helpful to provide more detailed directions to find the hostel -- I ended up having to hire a taxi driver to lead me to it, even though I'd emailed previously to ask for directions (and was told to simply look for O'Connell St.). The security is a bit over-kill, though, in that you need to swipe a card or press a button to go through almost every (of the many) doors, which is hard with full hands.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for taking the time to comment, We are glad to hear that overall you enjoyed your stay here with us, despite the troubles you experienced to find our hostel. We apologise for the insufficient directions which you received. Should you make a return trip to Dublin we would be more than happy to welcome you to the hostel again. Best regards, Dublin International Hostel

57%

This building is well overdue a refurb with threadbare carpets and extremely basic shower rooms. Breakfast hardly worth eating and cutlery could be cleaner. Avoid rooms fronting Mountjoy St unless you don't mind the sound of traffic thundering past your window all night. On the plus side it has a secure free car park and is only a short walk from the city centre.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for taking the time to comment, We are sorry to hear that you did not fully enjoy your stay here at the hostel. In the next few months we are going to have some renovations and modernisations in our hostel. Should you return to Dublin we would be happy to look after you again to try to redeem ourselves in your eyes. Best regards, Dublin International Hostel

86%

Everything about our stay was excellent with the exception of kitchen. We are used to other guests cleaning up after themselves and keeping kitchen in good shape for everyone. I think some guests thought their Mother was going to clean up after them. My husband was worried about lint in laundry area. He wanted to let you know lint buildup is one of the main causes for household fires.

  • 31st Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


100%

Pleasant and hassle free stay once again.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your comment, We are glad to hear that you had again a pleasant stay here with us. Should you make a return trip to Dublin we would be more than happy to welcome you to the hostel again. Best regards, Dublin International Hostel

94%

Have stayed here many times and always enjoyed it. However, little things count but they never seem to get repaired and this is an ongoing problem over the years. E. g. Persistent lack of hot water in the men's showers on the 2nd floor, non-functioning lockers often with missing parts, broken and missing hooks throught the building. The carpets in the hallways and stairwells. The list of annoyances goes on and the message emerges that the hostel does not care about hostellers.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for taking the time to comment, We are glad to hear that overall you enjoyed your stay here with us. We are going to have some renovations in the hostel in the very near future. Should you return to Dublin we would be happy to look after you again to try to make your next stay a even more enjoyable one. Best regards, Dublin International Hostel

80%

This was my first time staying in a hostel and your hostel set the bar very high! The employees were so friendly and extremely helpful in planning our activities around Dublin. I would definitely come back again. My only complaint was that there was only 1 or 2 outlets in our 6 person room and there wasn't wifi throughout the hostel. Thanks for a great stay!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for taking the time to comment, We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay here with us! Yes, we need more plugs in the bedrooms, however as you are sharing a room with strangers at times it is not the most secure option. We offer all guests a safer option, by charging items in the reception or by borrowing power banks from the reception. We hope that you will visit us again in the future for a second time! Best regards, Dublin International Hostel

80%

Building could use some modernizing and refurbishment.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for taking the time to comment, We are going to have some renovations and modernizations in the next few months. Should you return to Dublin we would be happy to look after you again to try and make your next stay a more enjoyable one. Best regards, Dublin International Hostel

74%

It was sticky and hot in the room at night. The window was not really to open. Exchange of air from outside (very much needed) was only posssible by a small 10 cm gap.

  • 13th Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for taking the time to comment, We are sorry to hear that you did not fully enjoy your stay here at the hostel. The maintenance issue that happened during your stay have been rectified. Should you return to Dublin we would be happy to look after you again to try and make your next stay a more enjoyable one. Best regards, Dublin International Hostel

1 2 3 4 Next » last »
(73 results)


View all Dublin Hostels

Please give us your feedback