X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Dublin International (YHA) Reviews

61 Mountjoy Street, Dublin, Ireland

Reviews & Ratings Explained

76%

Rating
2357 Total Reviews
  • 78%Value For Money
  • 81%Security
  • 73%Location
  • 80%Staff
  • 74%Atmosphere
  • 73%Cleanliness
  • 72%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

51%

The showers were very dirty and absolutely no place to put your stuff, wifi not working during all my stay at the hostel. However the security was very good. Averything esle was average.

  • 27th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for your comments, We are sorry to hear that you did not fully enjoy your stay at the hostel. The bathrooms are cleaned every morning and checked regularly throughout the day, had you told reception of the problem they would have done their utmost to rectify the problem. The problem with the WIFI during your stay has since been fixed. Should you return to Dublin we would be happy to look after you again to try and make your next stay a more enjoyable one. Regards, Dublin Int. Hostel

71%

the water in the showers upstairs were pretty cold. Last winter was the same story.

  • 26th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Spain
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Many thanks for your comments, We are sorry to hear that you did not fully enjoy your stay due to the showers being cold. We will be sure to highlight this problem to our maintenance team so as to avoid future problems. Should you return to Dublin we would be happy to loook after you again to try and make your next stay a more enjoyable one. Kind regards, Dublin Interantional Hostel.

51%

The beds are extremely uncomfortable, and the rooms smelled -- I get that the rooms won't smell great as I've stayed in hostels all over Europe, but the ones here were awful. The lack of outlets in the room forced us (and other tenants) to crowd in the lobby to use the outlets there. Further, the furniture in the lobby was very worn and used. The one thing that pleasantly surprised me was the breakfast, which wasn't half bad.

  • 9th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Many thanks for your comments, We are sorry to hear that you did not fully enjoy your stay here at the hostel. Should you return to Dublin we would be happy to look after you again to try and make your next stay a more enjoyable one. Kind regards, Pamela. Dublin International Hostel.

74%

It's a nice place for the money you spend. A little outside the popular area to party in Dublin, so if you want to do a lot of that, be prepared to walk a ways or take a taxi. The showers are annoying. 5 sec push buttons. I just kept my hand on it the whole time I showered basically. The staff is helpful abd the breakfast is pretty average, but it's included so it's a definite plus. You can also store your stuff there if you are taking a couple free days out and them coming back to it.

  • 8th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Many thanks for your comments, We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your time here at the hostel. Should you return to Dublin we would be more than happy to look after you again. Kind regards, Dublin International Hostel.

86%

The hostel was very clean and the atmosphere was friendly and warm. We had a great time there with all the facilities like the self-catering kitchen. The only thing that was a little bit surprising was the fee we had to pay for storing our luggage at the hostel after check-out.

  • 8th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Many thanks for your comments, We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay at the hostel. Should you return to Dublin we would be happy to look after you again. Best regards, Pamela. Dublin International Hostel.

77%

I spent quite some time, along with several other gals hunting for the shower, only to find ONE shower stall for the entire floor !!!!!!! Not happy bout that one.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Many thanks for your comments, We are sorry to hear that you had trouble finding the bathrooms. If you had contacted reception they would have been able to help you find the quickest route from your room to the bathroom. Should you return to Dublin we would be happy to look after you again to try and make your next stay a more enjoyable one. Kind regards, Pamela. Dublin International Hostel.

94%

Fantastic hostel. Only drawback was the limited number of powerpoints.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Many thanks for your comments, We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay at the hostel. Should you return to Dublin we would be happy to look after you again. Kind regards, Dublin International Hostel.

86%

There was only one charter per room. Breakfast es good ando everything was clean.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Many thanks for your comments, We are happy to hear that overall you enjoyed your stay at the hostel. Should you return to Dublin we would be more than happy to look after you again. Kind regards, Pamela. Dublin International Hostel.

89%

I thought it was great. My only complaint would be that the showers were cold in the bathroom I used. On the last night i finally went to the other bathroom on my floor and found that the shower was nice and warm!

  • 31st May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Many thanks for your comments, We are sorry to hear that you did not fully enjoy your stay here at the hostel. Thank you for bringing the shower issue to our attention we will have maintenance review it immediately. Should you return to Dublin we would be happy to look after you again to try and make your next stay an even more enjoyable one. Best regards, Pamela. Dublin International Hostel.

66%

It's a huge hostel with a lot of guests, and the staff aren't very helpful. Most don't speak English very we'll. a lot of the guests were older, even some families. bathrooms were kind of grimy and minimal and you have to hold down the shower button the whole time to keep the water going. Wifi worked for me in the ro. Free breakfast was a big plus, very cool dining area and you didn't have to wash your own dishes. Location was far from city center but doable.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Many thanks for your comments, We are sorry to hear that you did not fully enjoy your stay at the hostel. Should you return to Dublin we would be happy to look after you again to try and make your second stay a better one. Best regards, Pamela. Dublin International Hostel.

69%

I was on a "male" floor so had to go down one floor to use the bathroom. Shower was cold the second day as well which is never a positive! Need to provide better shower facilities so that clothes don't get wet when showering. Breakfast was good quality and plentiful and is probably the highlight of this hostel. Laundry facilities good and quick to complete a wash and dry cycle.

  • 28th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Many thanks for your comments, We are sorry to hear that you did not fully enjoy your stay at the hostel. Should you return to Dublin we would be happy to look after you again to try and make your second stay a better one. Best regards, Pamela. Dublin International Hostel.

1 2 3 4 Next » last »
(71 results)


View all Dublin Hostels

Please give us your feedback