X
NOTE: 9 or more guests qualifies as a group booking, change the number of guests to return to normal search.
Enquire Now HostelBookers Logo Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Dublin International (YHA) Reviews

61 Mountjoy Street, Dublin, Ireland

Reviews & Ratings Explained

78%

Rating
2088 Total Reviews
  • 80%Value For Money
  • 83%Security
  • 72%Location
  • 83%Staff
  • 77%Atmosphere
  • 75%Cleanliness
  • 74%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

74%

This hostel is big and old. The atmosphere is ok but the building needs work and the bathrooms are a bit grungy. It's about a 10 minute walk north of the city center.


43%

Staff barely spoke English. Place was generally run down. The location was horrible and I had the hardest time trying to find it. It felt like we had left any safe part of the city and were likely to get mugged by a drunk on the street at any moment. The windows to the room were open, which was scary, and could not be closed - and the outside is rather noisy with people chattering and traffic zooming by. The only redeeming grace about this place is the car park.

  • 27th Sep 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • SireEby
  • USA
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


51%

Odorous halls, rooms...old carpets. Smokers crowd all outside doors. Showers erratic temperatures, filthy bathroom towel dispenser. Very quiet inside. Nice and helpful staff, though English not very well understood. Wi-fi only In lobby.

  • 27th Sep 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


97%

For guests catching the morning ferry to Holyhead from Dublin , breakfast could do with being 15 minutes earlier as it's a rush..Acheivable but a rush ; ) joe


69%

We did have a private room. No toilets and no shower on the whole floor for ladies. We had to go downstairs every time we had to go to the toilets. Men only should stay on upper Level. They have a bathroom there and ladies dont have to walk up and down with sleeping dress in the middle of the night. If you mean with facilities the bathroom: it definitly has to get renovated.

  • 26th Sep 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


74%

I've been at the hostes before, and I think that the room was much better that time.

  • 25th Sep 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Sweden
  • Mixed Group, 41+
  • (1 review)


91%

Very clean and tidy hostel. The people working there are very nice and helpful. It is not too far from the city center so that is a good point it is also a quiet hostel. There are not a lot of plugs in the rooms, on plug for 10 beds that is reallt not a lot they should put power strips in the room would be useful.


91%

friendly, helpful staff. Might be advisable to have back up person to cover for the breakfast setup guy that oversleeps for those of us that need breakfast before our early shuttle van arrives to take us to the airport!

  • 22nd Sep 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


94%

Great location very clean and friendly atmosphere men's toilets were miles away from our room which was a pain in the night!


69%

Very nice ! Except the fact that there is no hot water in all the shower facilities, I have a very great time here, and I surely recommand it to my fellows.

  • 15th Sep 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


80%

Everything I needed, thanks.


60%

Good value for money, although you have to pay if you want to leave your luggage there (1,5€, it's cheap if you compare it to other hostels in Dublin) There are only 2 sockets per room. The breakfast is not bad.


69%

The hostel location is far away from the city center and going back to the hostel at night is a bit scaring. However the hostel was clean and the staff was really nice. Be careful: There is only one plug by room..!

  • 13th Sep 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Spain
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


91%

Have stayed here many times. The facility is well maintained. Compared to many other hostels the rooms are spacious with good sized lockers. The self-catering kitchen needs some repairs.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your comments, we are glad you enjoyed your time with us again and hope that on your next trip that we can look after you again. Kindest regards Misty

91%

As a member of HI I have never stayed anywhere else in Dublin because I have been so very fond of this hostel for several years. It came as a great disappointment when it appeared that independent travellers were not permitted to book the night of September 12th due to the fact that tour operators were allowed to block and hoard all the rooms. It is a slap in the face to Independent travelers and loyal members.


40%

We were quite shocked since the bathroom was badly mould-infected. The beds were really dirty (as the facility in total). Everything was really worn out. Our door has been cracked open sometime before so it wasn't really assuring that the door look would still do its duty... We traveled from Dublin to Vienna and were there in a youth hostel and this was the complete opposite. Really really good clean and safe ! Dublin HAS TO do something about this ...

  • 9th Sep 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


77%

Location: about a 10-15min walk from O'Connell St and Temple Bar etc. there's not that many places to eat immediately around the hostel, it's more towards O'Connell St etc. The female bathroom on level 1 is clean, however shower doesn't drain too well.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your comments, we hope you enjoyed your time here with us and in Dublin and will look into issue you have brought to our attention. Kindest regards - Misty Dublin International Hostel

97%

Great hostel, staff very friendly and helpful, rooms were clean. It is just 10 minutes walk away from the main street. You can't ask more for that price.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your comments, we are glad you enjoyed your time here in Dublin and hope that you will consider letting us look after you again, on any future trips here. Kindest regards Misty - Dublin International Hostel.

94%

second stay here - perfect as usual - staff helpful, booking taxis to out of town locations, storing luggage. we stay as a family of 5 (in the same room twice so far!) and its perfect for us, we always tell family in Dublin how good it is. cant put our age group properly but we were 9 - 45!

  • 7th Sep 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Mixed Group, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your comments, we are glad you and your family enjoyed your time here with us again, and hope to see you all again on any future trips to Dublin. Kindest regards - Misty - Dublin International Hostel

49%

we were really disappointed! It seemed like everything was "out of service" (showers, toilets, stove.. ) But especially the non-existing kitchen facilities was more than inappropriate!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your comments, I am sorry to hear that your stay with us was not all that it could have been. There are a number of toilets and showers located on different levels of the hostel. The self catering kitchen is in the basement under the church, with the pots and pans available from reception for a refundable deposit. Should you return to Dublin, we hope that we can redeem ourselves in your eyes. Kindest regards - Misty Dublin International Hostel

(1343 results)


View all Dublin Hostels

Please give us your feedback