X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Dublin International (YHA) Reviews

61 Mountjoy Street, Dublin, Ireland

Reviews & Ratings Explained

76%

Rating
2349 Total Reviews
  • 79%Value For Money
  • 81%Security
  • 73%Location
  • 80%Staff
  • 74%Atmosphere
  • 74%Cleanliness
  • 72%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

71%

the water in the showers upstairs were pretty cold. Last winter was the same story.

  • 26th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Spain
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Many thanks for your comments, We are sorry to hear that you did not fully enjoy your stay due to the showers being cold. We will be sure to highlight this problem to our maintenance team so as to avoid future problems. Should you return to Dublin we would be happy to loook after you again to try and make your next stay a more enjoyable one. Kind regards, Dublin Interantional Hostel.

51%

The beds are extremely uncomfortable, and the rooms smelled -- I get that the rooms won't smell great as I've stayed in hostels all over Europe, but the ones here were awful. The lack of outlets in the room forced us (and other tenants) to crowd in the lobby to use the outlets there. Further, the furniture in the lobby was very worn and used. The one thing that pleasantly surprised me was the breakfast, which wasn't half bad.

  • 9th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Many thanks for your comments, We are sorry to hear that you did not fully enjoy your stay here at the hostel. Should you return to Dublin we would be happy to look after you again to try and make your next stay a more enjoyable one. Kind regards, Pamela. Dublin International Hostel.

74%

It's a nice place for the money you spend. A little outside the popular area to party in Dublin, so if you want to do a lot of that, be prepared to walk a ways or take a taxi. The showers are annoying. 5 sec push buttons. I just kept my hand on it the whole time I showered basically. The staff is helpful abd the breakfast is pretty average, but it's included so it's a definite plus. You can also store your stuff there if you are taking a couple free days out and them coming back to it.

  • 8th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Many thanks for your comments, We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your time here at the hostel. Should you return to Dublin we would be more than happy to look after you again. Kind regards, Dublin International Hostel.

86%

The hostel was very clean and the atmosphere was friendly and warm. We had a great time there with all the facilities like the self-catering kitchen. The only thing that was a little bit surprising was the fee we had to pay for storing our luggage at the hostel after check-out.

  • 8th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Many thanks for your comments, We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay at the hostel. Should you return to Dublin we would be happy to look after you again. Best regards, Pamela. Dublin International Hostel.

77%

I spent quite some time, along with several other gals hunting for the shower, only to find ONE shower stall for the entire floor !!!!!!! Not happy bout that one.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Many thanks for your comments, We are sorry to hear that you had trouble finding the bathrooms. If you had contacted reception they would have been able to help you find the quickest route from your room to the bathroom. Should you return to Dublin we would be happy to look after you again to try and make your next stay a more enjoyable one. Kind regards, Pamela. Dublin International Hostel.

94%

Fantastic hostel. Only drawback was the limited number of powerpoints.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Many thanks for your comments, We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay at the hostel. Should you return to Dublin we would be happy to look after you again. Kind regards, Dublin International Hostel.

86%

There was only one charter per room. Breakfast es good ando everything was clean.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Many thanks for your comments, We are happy to hear that overall you enjoyed your stay at the hostel. Should you return to Dublin we would be more than happy to look after you again. Kind regards, Pamela. Dublin International Hostel.

89%

I thought it was great. My only complaint would be that the showers were cold in the bathroom I used. On the last night i finally went to the other bathroom on my floor and found that the shower was nice and warm!

  • 31st May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Many thanks for your comments, We are sorry to hear that you did not fully enjoy your stay here at the hostel. Thank you for bringing the shower issue to our attention we will have maintenance review it immediately. Should you return to Dublin we would be happy to look after you again to try and make your next stay an even more enjoyable one. Best regards, Pamela. Dublin International Hostel.

66%

It's a huge hostel with a lot of guests, and the staff aren't very helpful. Most don't speak English very we'll. a lot of the guests were older, even some families. bathrooms were kind of grimy and minimal and you have to hold down the shower button the whole time to keep the water going. Wifi worked for me in the ro. Free breakfast was a big plus, very cool dining area and you didn't have to wash your own dishes. Location was far from city center but doable.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Many thanks for your comments, We are sorry to hear that you did not fully enjoy your stay at the hostel. Should you return to Dublin we would be happy to look after you again to try and make your second stay a better one. Best regards, Pamela. Dublin International Hostel.

69%

I was on a "male" floor so had to go down one floor to use the bathroom. Shower was cold the second day as well which is never a positive! Need to provide better shower facilities so that clothes don't get wet when showering. Breakfast was good quality and plentiful and is probably the highlight of this hostel. Laundry facilities good and quick to complete a wash and dry cycle.

  • 28th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Many thanks for your comments, We are sorry to hear that you did not fully enjoy your stay at the hostel. Should you return to Dublin we would be happy to look after you again to try and make your second stay a better one. Best regards, Pamela. Dublin International Hostel.

89%

Very friendly and helpful staff.

  • 25th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Many thanks for your comments, We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay at the hostel and found our staff to be friendly. Should you travel to Dublin again we would be happy to look after you again. Best regards, Pamela. Dublin International Hostel.

60%

The hostel is located near the center of the city, but just far enough away that getting home from downtown is a long and kind of dangerous walk if you aren't careful. The other problem with the hostel is that does a poor job of encouraging interaction between tenants. If you're a family traveling cheaply, it's a quiet, safe place. But if you're backpacking and want to meet people and have fun, go elsewhere.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Many thanks for your comments, As we are situated in a residential area, just outside the city centre, it can be a bit quieter than other ares which may not be to everyone's taste. We are in the process of introducing some new initiatives to help solo travelers interact with other guests. If you return to Dublin we hope you would stay with us again to avail of these new services. Best regards, Pamela. Dublin International Hostel.

97%

The staff I interacted with were nice and very helpful whenever I had a concern or question. I didn't take a shower while here so I can't comment on water temp/pressure, but the shower room looked very clean (facilities in general are good). Bed was comfy, breakfast standard-fare... The location is not the best but it was still within walking distance to main sites south of River. You may want to take a public bus to/from Guinness Storehouse/Kilmainham Gaol since walking eats up a lot of time.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Many thanks for your comments, We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay at the hostel. Should you return to Dublin we would be happy to look after you again. Best regards, Pamela. Dublin International Hostel.

83%

Staff very helpful, order us taxis eetc and told us were places where.

  • 24th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Many thanks for your comments, We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and found our staff to be helpful. Should you return to Dublin we would be more than happy to look after you again. Best regards, Pamela. Dublin International Hostel.

86%

Check out was at 10am but a cleaner came in to our room at 8:55am while we were getting up. She knocked but did not wait till we answered and just walked in! Also the noise level were loud when we were trying to sleep at 11:30pm and the running on stairs early in the morning unnerved the children we had staying with us.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Many thanks for your comments, We are very sorry that a member of our housekeeping team entered your room before check out, this is not a regular occurrence at the hostel. Should you return to Dublin we would be happy to look after you again to try and redeem ourselves in your eyes. Kind regards, Pamela. Dublin International Hostel.

The reviews below do not count toward the property's recent rating.
Hide older reviews
77%

Poor breakfast

Owner Comment (Hide)
Many thanks for your comments, We are sorry to hear that you did not enjoy our free breakfast. As it is provided free of charge we are limited in what we can offer but we think there is enough provided to give you a good start to the day. Should you return to Dublin we would be happy to look after you again. Kind regards, Pamela. Dublin International hostel.

69%

No way to charge your celphone on the bedroom. Have to go downstairs to reception to do this is a pain in the ass.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Many thanks for your comments, We are sorry that you were inconvenienced during your stay. Should you return to Dublin we would be happy to look after you again. Best regards, Pamela. Dublin International Hostel.

43%

For the money it was horrible, you have twin bunks and then all we wanted after a busy day was a warm shower and couldn`t even have that . The showers were filthy and there was absolutely NO hot water at all so had a cold shower .. The room was noisy and all in all one of the worst hostels I have ever stayed in.. Huge waste of money!

  • 22nd May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Many thanks for your comments, We are very sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay here with us. The showers and the hostel are cleaned daily and checked throughout the day so I'm sorry to hear that you thought they were filthy. Should you return to Dublin we would be happy to look after you again to try and redeem ourselves in your eyes. Best regards, Pamela. Dublin International Hostel.

69%

The reason for the average rating on cleanliness was mainly due to those visiting the hostel causing problems rather than the staff efforts. On my later visit I was able to appreciate the efforts staff were making to keep the hostel clean and respectable. For pedal cycles I would have like a locked up shed, as I know others had equipment stolen. Staff were very helpful

  • 20th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Wales
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Many thanks for your comments, Here at the hostel the staff make great efforts to keep the hostel clean throughout the day, unfortunately not all guests respect these efforts. We have a bicycle shed in our secure car park which can be used by guests. Should you return to Dublin we would be happy to look after you again. Kind regards, Pamela. Dublin International Hostel.

60%

Very large bed number. I stay here for 1 reason, it's cheap. Often leaving early for airport, I can't get the breakfast which is generous. The basement self-service kitchen is good place to hang out and get talking to people. The showers, toilets can be up to 2 floors away, so don{t get caught short. Staff are mostly non-Irish and enthusiastic, but not as relaxed as Irish staff might be as mostly they move on quickly. Essentially it does the job and no more.


(1443 results)


View all Dublin Hostels

Please give us your feedback