X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Dublin International (YHA) Reviews

61 Mountjoy Street, Dublin, Ireland

Reviews & Ratings Explained

76%

Rating
2402 Total Reviews
  • 78%Value For Money
  • 81%Security
  • 75%Location
  • 81%Staff
  • 75%Atmosphere
  • 73%Cleanliness
  • 71%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

91%

The Youth Hostel exceeded our expectations by all points. As well as being great for money value, it was a friendly and welcoming atmosphere and breakfast was great too!

  • 2nd Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Many thanks for your comments, We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay here at the hostel and found everything to your satisfaction. Should you return to DUblin we would be more than happy to look after you again. Best regards, Dublin Interantional Hostel.

71%

Nice big room, good kitchen facilities and nice staff. Not the best place to meet people as generally people were there in big groups and didn't speak English a lot of the time. About 15 mins to city centre which was ok. Wouldn't recommend for solo travellers but fine for a group :)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Many thanks for your comments, We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay at the hostel. We would be more than happy to look after you again should you return to Dublin. Kind regards, Dublin International Hostel.

89%

On the first view from outside it Looks really bad, but inside it is great! The Dublin international hostel has got a nice athmosphere and a car-park space behind a big fence with cctv. A Continental breakfirst is included and served in an old church, thats really nice. The rooms are good, there is a locker for every bed.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Many thanks for your comments, We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay here at the hostel. Should you return to Dublin we would be more than happy to loook after you again. Kind regards, Dublin Interantional Hostel.

100%

I have stayed at your hostel several times and feel "at home". The staff is comptent and friendlig and the whole atmosphere is phantastic. The garden in the backyard and the church rom are wonderfull areas to relax. I love the place!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Many thanks for your comments, We are happy to hear that you have enjoyed your time at the hostel. We will be more than happy to look after you on future occassions should you return to Dublin. Best regards, Dublin International Hostel.

The reviews below do not count toward the property's recent rating.
Hide older reviews
86%

Bedsheets were spotlessly clean, bathrooms and showers were large and clean. The breakfast was excellent, and thecoffee was nice. Secure parking is availbale which was great! There is a big enough kitchen to cater for your needs and a nice dining area. Breakfast in the church is a nice feature. There is also a lovely garden area outside with seating which is nice and relaxed. My only complaint is the lack of power sockets in the room. Extension leads in all rooms would be a huge improvement.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Many thanks for your comments, We are delighted to hear that you enjopyed your stay here at the hostel. We are hoping to address the issue of the power points in the rooms in the near future. Should you return to Dublin we would be happy to look after you again. Kind regards, Pamela. Dublin International Hostel.

83%

Thought the staff was very friendly and helpful. Might be an idea tohave staff check floors after 10 pm . families with toddlers and young children were allowed to be running and screaming (with delight) up and down thehallways. Atabout 11pm I was going to go downand ask staffto step in but then things finally quietened down. Breakfast was simple and good. At timesit was hard to enjoy the couches in the front office area as entire classes of school kids from Europe were sleeping/resting there

Owner Comment (Hide)
Many thanks for your comments, We are happy to hear that you found the staff to be friendly and helpful. The reception staff make regular walks around the hostel during the day and night to check for security, cleanliness and noise after 10pm. Should you return to Dublin we would be happy to look after you again. Best regards, Dublin International Hostel.

80%

Very pleased with my stay. I make an annual trip to Ireland and always book here. As always I enjoy the breakfast experience here.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Many thanks for your comments, We are happy to hear that once again you have enjoyed your stay at the hostel. We hope that we can look after you on your return trips to Ireland in the future. Kind regards, Dublin International Hostel.

74%

Good value for money for accommodation in Dublin City. Needs updating wiith rooms.

  • 18th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


69%

Its a nice hostel with benches around the back it was nice staying somewhere with a bit of a garden to relax in. The staff seemed nice and quiet and didn't bother you. the location of it is around 20mins walking to centre which I didn't mind. the breakfast was ok.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Many thanks for your comments, we are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay at the hostel. Should you return to Dublin we would be happy to look after you again. Kind regards, Dublin International Hostel.

77%

The staff was friendly, but some of the things we wantet to know they did´nt, but any local citisen or just the internet knew.

  • 16th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Denmark
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Mnay thanks for your comments, We are sorry to hear that the staff were unable to help you with information, this is not a common problem we have at reception. Should you return to Dublin we would be happy to look after you again to try and redeem ourselves in your eyes. Best regards, Dublin International Hostel.

71%

The faucets were a bit of a pain because you kept having to push the taps for water, especially during a shower. The building is quite old, so it looks unclean, but there were daily cleaners in to keep the facilities clean. Lots of teenagers when I was there and they were running around a lot. The location itself is great, 10 min walk to o'connell street. Love that it had parking. Price was reasonable. Some staff were enthused to help you, some were not.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Many thanks for your comments, We are sorry to hear that you did not fully enjoy your stay at the hostel. Should you return to Dublin we would be happy to look after you again to try and redeem ourselves in your eyes. Kind regards, Pamela. Dublin International Hostel.

60%

Too many people partying late into the night, so it was very loud and difficult to sleep. The neighborhood is also sketchy - not good. A bit of a walk to get anywhere.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Many thanks for your comments, We are sorry to hear that you did not fully enjoy your stay at the hostel. Should you return to Dublin we would be happy to look after you gain to try and make your next stay a more enjoyable one. Best regards, Pamela. Dublin International Hostel.

83%

Excellent, professional, well-trained staff.

  • 11th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Many thanks for your comments, We are delighted to hear you speak so highly of our staff, thanks for the compliments. Should you return to Dublin we would be more than happy to look after you again. Kind regards, Dublin International Hostel.

74%

Like many large YHAs, the hostel doesn't really have a backpacker feel to it, which can make the atmosphere a bit sterile for solo travellers. No power sockets in the dorm room was also an inconvenience. It is however very spacious and clean.

  • 11th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Many thanks for your comments, We are sorry to hear that you did not fully enjoy your stay at the hostel. Should you return to Dublin we would be happy to look after you again to try and make your next stay a more enjoyable one. Kind regards, Dublin International Hostel.

54%

The room was dirty, the hostel loud, the self-catering kitchen extremely run-down and dirty.

  • 9th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Mixed Group, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for your comments, We are sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay at the hostel. SHould you return to DUblib we would be happy to look after you agin to try and redeem ourselves in your eyes. Kind regards, Dublin International Hostel.

89%

Had a lovely stay in Dublin International. The staff were lovely and very helpful, the rooms were clean and the breakfast served in the converted chapel was really cool. A great base from which to explore the city and fantastic value for money!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Many thanks for your comments, We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your time here at the hostel. We would be more than happy to look after you again should you return to Dublin. KInd regards, Dublin INternational Hostel.

57%

The bathrooms were pretty dirty and gross. The wifi stopped working the first night we were there and it wasn't fixed until after we left. Some of the showers you had to hold the button for water the entire time. The water was ice cold at first and then scalding hot. We were basically sleeping on tablecloths because there was no fitted sheet. A week later we paid about the same price per night for two budget hotel rooms.

  • 4th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Mnay thanks for your comments, We are sorry to hear that you did not fully enjoy your stay at the hostel. Should you return to Dublin we would be happy to look after you agian to try and make your next stay a more enjoyable one. KInd regards, Dublin International Hostel.

83%

Very nice place and excellent staff, I only have problems with the wifi

  • 2nd Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Argentina
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Many thanks for your comments, we are glad you enjoyed your stay here with us. We were experiencing problems with our WiFi over the football world cup dates, which we think was due to a lot of people live streaming at the same time, so we apologise for this. We hope that should you return to Dublin that we can look after you again. Kindest regards, Misty Dublin International Hostel

91%

Security:Most of the lockers in the dorm (room no 300, I think) didn´t have locks on them, so one couldn´t lock ones things in there. It would be great to have that possibility. Location:The location was actually not very bad, just 11 pm in the evening The last part of the road to the hostel was a very dark road and worn out road and I wasn´t sure how long I had to walk there. Atmosphere:Fantastic!!! The livingroom in the entry, very clean, the place for breakfast(church) and that it is for free

  • 27th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Sweden
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Many thanks for your comments, The lockers in the room need a padlock to lock them, which we sell at reception if you don't have your own. It's great to hear that you enjoyed your stay at the hostel. If you return to Dubln in the future we would be happy to look after you again. Best regards, Dublin International Hostel.

51%

The showers were very dirty and absolutely no place to put your stuff, wifi not working during all my stay at the hostel. However the security was very good. Averything esle was average.

  • 27th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for your comments, We are sorry to hear that you did not fully enjoy your stay at the hostel. The bathrooms are cleaned every morning and checked regularly throughout the day, had you told reception of the problem they would have done their utmost to rectify the problem. The problem with the WIFI during your stay has since been fixed. Should you return to Dublin we would be happy to look after you again to try and make your next stay a more enjoyable one. Regards, Dublin Int. Hostel

(1463 results)


View all Dublin Hostels

Please give us your feedback