X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Dublin International (YHA) Reviews

61 Mountjoy Street, Dublin, Ireland

Reviews & Ratings Explained

75%

Rating
2429 Total Reviews
  • 77%Value For Money
  • 80%Security
  • 74%Location
  • 79%Staff
  • 74%Atmosphere
  • 72%Cleanliness
  • 70%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

49%

The hostel is very rundown & the rooms r not very clean when you can take a load of hair our of the basin in the room

  • 26th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Many thanks for your comments, We are sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay at the hostel. Should you return to Dublin we would be happy to look after you again to try and redeem ourselves in your eyes. Best regards, Dublin International Hostel.

80%

The place is looking a bit tired. Maintenance has not been kept up. There was a problem with the flushing of toilets and it wasn't properly addressed nor has it been since it was raised. Other than this issue, I found the staff always helpful and cooperative. Provision of parking is a big bonus. The breakfast is generous and well presented

Owner Comment (Hide)
Many thanks for your comments, We are sorry to hear that your isue about the toilets was not addressed while you were here. This is not normal practice as we have maintenance staff on daily to deal with any issues. We are happy to hear that you found the staff to be helpul and enjoyed the free breakfast and parking. Best regards, Dublin International Hostel.

94%

The Self-Service Kitchen is to small. The Watercooker is not working. The rooms are great and the staff has been very helpfull. The Parking is Super.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Many thanks for your comments, We are glad to hear that overall you enjoyed your stay at the hostel. The hot water boiler is working but guests have been switching it off after use, we have now put up a sign advising them not to do this. Should you return to Dublin we would be happy to look after you agian. Best regards, Dublin International Hostel.

91%

It was wonderful, very impressed, excellent value for money, would stay again.

  • 24th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Many thanks for your comments, We are glad to hear that you fully enjoyed your stay at the hostel. We would be delighted to welcome you back to the hostel should you return to dublin. Best regards, Dublin International Hostel.

60%

Lockers in the rooms were in poor shape. Toilets were often very messy and dirty. Staff was friendly and helpful.

  • 22nd Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Many thanks for your comments, We are sorry to hear that you did not find things to your satisfaction. Our bathrooms are cleaned daily each morning and checked for cleanliness throughout the day by our reception team. If you had notified reception when you found them dirty they would have rectified the situation immediately. Should you return to Dublin we would be happy to look after you again to try and make your next stay a more enjoyable one. Best regards, Dublin International Hostel.

71%

Toiletts weren´t really clean and the Wahingrooms are very old and did have mould. The Washrooms and toiletts weren´t placed on every floor. The breakfast was not good too.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Many thanks for your comments, We are sorry to hear that you did not fully enjoy your stay here at the hostel. Should you return to Dublin we would be happy to look after you again to try and make your next stay a more enjoyable one. Best regards, Dublin International Hostel.

74%

The staff were polite, friendly and helpful. The building itself is large and, in places a bit tatty (a couple of boarded up windows) but generally clean. I didn't feel the school changing room type showers and toilets were particularly safe for children to use in such a big and busy hostel. It's not in the best area of town being near to quite a rough area but it's safe enough if you are mindful of this.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Many thanks for your comments, We are happy to hear that you found our staff to be helpful and friendly as it is our aim to give every guest a warm welcome. The design of the bathrooms are common in most hostels but we do also have en suite rooms if people do not wish to share facilities. Should you return to Dublin we would be happy to look after you again. Best regards, Dublin International Hostel.

94%

Friendly, efficient, and helpful! I'm a little tired of hostels and would like to afford a B&B. But, then I'd miss the Dublin International hostel because I always have a good experience and have come back many times in route to Donegal. Many thanks to the staff!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Many thanks for your comments, they are greatly appreciated. We are very happy to hear that even though you would prefer to stay in a B & B you always choose the Dublin International Hostel while staying in Dublin. We will be more than happy to look after you on any future visits you have. Kind regards, Dublin International Hostel.

100%

Great place. I love it. Easy walking to downtown. 3 blocks from a Catholic church. Quiet, relatively safe area.

  • 8th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Many thanks for your comments, We are happy to hear that you enoyed your stay here at the hostel. We would be happy to look after you again should you visit Dublin in the future. Kind regards, Dublin International Hostel.

43%

You'd think a hostel would greet you very friendly - nope not at this one. Felt very out of place, not in a good location either and were not helpful at all. Even to ask them on the map where we were located it was as if we were a burden to ask them. Not to mention the loud speaker to announce the check out time. Unnecessary.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Many thanks for your comments, We are sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay at the hostel. Should you return to Dublin we would be happy to look after you again to try and redeem ourselves in your eyes. Best regards, Dublin International Hostel.

91%

I loved this place a lot and I recommend it. Very lovely, you can always find a comfy sofa to read a book! Unfortunately, the Internet never worked. The staff kept promising from day to day that it is going to work soon. What I also did not like was the fact that you had to press all the time to make the water run, in the showers, at the sinks. Once you let go, the water would stops running at once! The beds are very comfy! But they use tap water to make the breakfast tea ..

Owner Comment (Hide)
Many thanks for your comments, We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay at the hostel. During your stay we were experiencing technical issues with our WIFI connection which was beyond our control, this has since been rectified. Should you return to DUblin we would be happy to look after you again. Best regards, Pamela. Dublin International Hostel.

94%

great hostel, nice friendly staff , great location and lovely breakfast

Owner Comment (Hide)
Many thanks for your comments, We are happy to hear that you fully enjoyed your stay at the hostel and availed of the facilites that we hve to offer. Our staff really appreciate the feedback as it helps us to improve in any areas that we can. Should you return to Dubln we would be happy to look after you again. Kind regards, Dublin Interantional Hostel.

74%

More info at time of arrival 're facilities available at the accommodation.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Many thanks for your comments, Here at the hostel we try and provide as much information as possible at check in. Should you find that you did not receive sufficient information our reception is open 24 hours where our reception team are on hand to help with any queries you may have. Should you return to Dublin we would be happy to look after you again. Kind regards, Dublin International Hostel.

91%

The Youth Hostel exceeded our expectations by all points. As well as being great for money value, it was a friendly and welcoming atmosphere and breakfast was great too!

  • 2nd Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Many thanks for your comments, We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay here at the hostel and found everything to your satisfaction. Should you return to DUblin we would be more than happy to look after you again. Best regards, Dublin Interantional Hostel.

71%

Nice big room, good kitchen facilities and nice staff. Not the best place to meet people as generally people were there in big groups and didn't speak English a lot of the time. About 15 mins to city centre which was ok. Wouldn't recommend for solo travellers but fine for a group :)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Many thanks for your comments, We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay at the hostel. We would be more than happy to look after you again should you return to Dublin. Kind regards, Dublin International Hostel.

89%

On the first view from outside it Looks really bad, but inside it is great! The Dublin international hostel has got a nice athmosphere and a car-park space behind a big fence with cctv. A Continental breakfirst is included and served in an old church, thats really nice. The rooms are good, there is a locker for every bed.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Many thanks for your comments, We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay here at the hostel. Should you return to Dublin we would be more than happy to loook after you again. Kind regards, Dublin Interantional Hostel.

100%

I have stayed at your hostel several times and feel "at home". The staff is comptent and friendlig and the whole atmosphere is phantastic. The garden in the backyard and the church rom are wonderfull areas to relax. I love the place!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Many thanks for your comments, We are happy to hear that you have enjoyed your time at the hostel. We will be more than happy to look after you on future occassions should you return to Dublin. Best regards, Dublin International Hostel.

86%

Bedsheets were spotlessly clean, bathrooms and showers were large and clean. The breakfast was excellent, and thecoffee was nice. Secure parking is availbale which was great! There is a big enough kitchen to cater for your needs and a nice dining area. Breakfast in the church is a nice feature. There is also a lovely garden area outside with seating which is nice and relaxed. My only complaint is the lack of power sockets in the room. Extension leads in all rooms would be a huge improvement.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Many thanks for your comments, We are delighted to hear that you enjopyed your stay here at the hostel. We are hoping to address the issue of the power points in the rooms in the near future. Should you return to Dublin we would be happy to look after you again. Kind regards, Pamela. Dublin International Hostel.

83%

Thought the staff was very friendly and helpful. Might be an idea tohave staff check floors after 10 pm . families with toddlers and young children were allowed to be running and screaming (with delight) up and down thehallways. Atabout 11pm I was going to go downand ask staffto step in but then things finally quietened down. Breakfast was simple and good. At timesit was hard to enjoy the couches in the front office area as entire classes of school kids from Europe were sleeping/resting there

Owner Comment (Hide)
Many thanks for your comments, We are happy to hear that you found the staff to be friendly and helpful. The reception staff make regular walks around the hostel during the day and night to check for security, cleanliness and noise after 10pm. Should you return to Dublin we would be happy to look after you again. Best regards, Dublin International Hostel.

80%

Very pleased with my stay. I make an annual trip to Ireland and always book here. As always I enjoy the breakfast experience here.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Many thanks for your comments, We are happy to hear that once again you have enjoyed your stay at the hostel. We hope that we can look after you on your return trips to Ireland in the future. Kind regards, Dublin International Hostel.

(1476 results)


View all Dublin Hostels

Please give us your feedback