Hostelworld.com

Duke Hostel

Prices
map
reviews
8.8
Fabulous 263 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.9
  • Security 8.6
  • Location 9.2
  • Staff 9.7
  • Atmosphere 8.3
  • Cleanliness 8.5
  • Facilities 8.4
BOOK NOW
8.8
Fabulous 263 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.9
  • Security 8.6
  • Location 9.2
  • Staff 9.7
  • Atmosphere 8.3
  • Cleanliness 8.5
  • Facilities 8.4
Duke Hostel Located at 27 Guinness Street, , Greymouth.
Duke Hostel
New Zealand
Greymouth 7805 27 Guinness Street
88% 263
-42.4497922 171.2094569
Duke Hostel
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 11 reviews
18th Apr 2016
10.0

Amazing hostel! The staff were as welcoming and bubbly as the colourful decor! Even remembered our names straight away & even when we returned for another night. Rooms are big and super clean and your never out of choice for bathrooms, there's loads! Free soup , free breakfast & free wifi. What more can I say! Home away from home x

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
10th Mar 2016
7.7

Nice staff, but the hostel is just average. Nothing special, but the internet was quite good!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
10th Mar 2016
7.4

Old hotel, deadbolts on doors where fairly worn. Soup offered was mostly broth, tasted good. Kitchen was very clean. Atmosphere was great, nice people staying there.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
8th Mar 2016
6.3

A lot of equipment seemed pretty ancient. Showers were also far away from most of the bedrooms. Beds were very comfortable and staff were really friendly and helpful.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
22nd Feb 2016
8.6

Manager was really friendly and helpful, would recommend of staying in Greymouth.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for choosing to stay with us and for taking the time to write the review. I'm happy you found me friendly and helpful, it is really easy with guests like you. We look forward to having you stay with us again in the future. Cheers, Dory

21st Feb 2016
10.0

Charming hostel right in down town. Staff was the most hospitable I have ever seen in a hostel. Great place to stay.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for staying with us and for taking the time to write this excellent review, most appreciated. I'm happy to read that you found Duke Hostel charming, our staff the most hospitable and our hostel as a great place to stay. It is guests like you who make me love my job so much. Cheers, Dory

  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Mixed Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
21st Feb 2016
8.9

Excellent dorm rooms with outlets and reading lights at every bed (at least in the four bed dorm up stairs). I found the bed quite comfortable and the linens clean and new. Kitchen was a little understocked - only two pots being shared amongst many people. The bowl of soup at dinner time was great. The WiFi worked well, even in the dorm room, not just in common areas. Staff were helpful and nice for the little interaction I had with them.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi, Thanks for staying with us and for writing the excellent review. I'm happy that you found the bed comfortable and the linen clean and new, they actually are. Our kitchen is well equipped, we have much more than 2 pots, probably about 10, but maybe they were used by other people. I'm happy that you appreciate the free soup in the evening and that you found our WiFi excellent all around the hostel, we have upgraded the WiFi and all the guests appreciate it. Cheers, Dory

  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
20th Feb 2016
8.6

Great hostel really clean and nice staff. Very welcoming. only downer was not allowed music in the common room. Even early eve. Best bed I've slept in yet.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks, for staying with us and for the wonderful review. I'm happy to read that you found Duke Hostel really clean and welcoming. I'm also happy that you found our bed the best you've slept in and our staff nice. We do ask to stop the music in the common room after 10:00pm because we are trying to find the balance between having great atmosphere to let people have a quiet night in bed. Cheers, Dory

  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
19th Feb 2016
10.0

Made to feel like part of the family.Nice to be welcomed by all the young travellers. will be sure to pass this way again.......Many thanks

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks, it was a pleasure to have you here. Thanks for taking the time to write such beautiful review and we look forward to having stay with us again in the future. Cheers, Dory

10th Feb 2016
10.0

Amazing hostel with a beautiful atmosphere! The manager was the best ever! :D

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks, for staying with us and for the excellent review, it is guests like you who make all the hard work so enjoyable. It is most appreciated and we look forward to your next visit. Cheers, Dory

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.