X
NOTE: 9 or more guests qualifies as a group booking, change the number of guests to return to normal search.
Enquire Now HostelBookers Logo Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Dundee Backpackers Hostel Reviews

71 High Street, Dundee, Scotland

Reviews & Ratings Explained

87%

Rating
1087 Total Reviews
  • 87%Value For Money
  • 88%Security
  • 96%Location
  • 88%Staff
  • 84%Atmosphere
  • 83%Cleanliness
  • 84%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

97%

Great hostel! A


91%

Cosy bedroom in a tastefully restored building, bang in the city centre. I recommend this place to everyone.


94%

Very nice hostel- well maintained, helpful staff and clean facilities.


77%

The bed sheets and pillow covers are too old and need replacement.


71%

Rupture of a canalisation pipe during the night, floor on the room totally wet and noises all the night. One of our bags has damages because of the water. The staff tells us to contact you hoping for a commercial gesture.

  • 13th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


83%

no complaints would recommend this hostel


80%

Dundee Backpackers was fine,i stayed two nights for a reasonable price.The room was small,but comfy,what I expected to be honest,the location smack bang in the centre on high street was excellent.i would stay again.

  • 12th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


77%

Thank you.


74%

We stayed for one night in a twin room, which was spacious & clean with an on suite bathroom. We found the hostel a bit muted in atmosphere, but completely adequate with all the necessary facilities. The location is also perfect, right down town.


97%

one of the best ever.

  • 4th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Bouvet Island
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


97%

A Breathe of fresh air a pleasure to stay look forward to staying again thank you all. Colin Paterson

  • 2nd Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


89%

Me and my girldfriend could not believe the kind of room we got at the dundee backpackers. High ceilings, a huge bed and a perfect view on the main square are just some of the positive features! All in all the hostel was tidy, had a well-equiped kitchen and simply satisfied all our needs! One of the best hostels I have been to!


100%

A great place to stay in central Dundee in a unique building full of character.


100%

Really liked staying at the back packers, the staff were nice and made you feel welcome, would defo recommend it to others, thanks very much.

  • 26th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


94%

Great comfy bed and pillows, definitely coming back next year.

  • 26th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


74%

this time was much better than first time. the personal was kind and the hotel was clean and ordered. it's a pity that there's no policy or recommendation for shared bathrooms because there are people who use the shared bathroom as their own and they can be 45 minutes in there. that doesn't work and it's unconvenient!

  • 25th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Sweden
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


80%

- very nice single room, bathroom was a bit small, and the room could be cleaner - great location in the city center - very friendly staff - overall a good value for the money

  • 17th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

Really a great experience at the hostel and I will be back there when I'll be around Dundee. Great location, great building, which has its own history, and certainly friendly and excellent staff. Only point down is the parking: if you have a car it'll be hell to park because there aren't free parking lots available (unless you want to walk from Perth road...) but a good one is in Gellantly St, £1,80 for 16 hr!

  • 17th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Italy
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

Great value for money. Helpful and friendly staff. Great central location but very quiet. Definitely stay here again if in Dundee.

  • 17th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


100%

Lovely stay. Beds were good, kitchen had everything we needed and it was a nice dinner room too. Only thing we missed was wifi in the rooms and so.


« first « Prev 1 2 3
(53 results)


View all Dundee Hostels

Please give us your feedback