Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Dundee Backpackers Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.8
Fabulous 1756 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.8
  • Security 8.9
  • Location 9.6
  • Staff 8.8
  • Atmosphere 8.2
  • Cleanliness 8.9
  • Facilities 8.6
BOOK NOW
8.8
Fabulous 1756 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.8
  • Security 8.9
  • Location 9.6
  • Staff 8.8
  • Atmosphere 8.2
  • Cleanliness 8.9
  • Facilities 8.6

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
17th Jun 2017
9.7

Perfect for my needs

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
9th Jun 2017
9.1

Great location and atmosphere. Good kitchen and common areas. Would recommend.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
8th Jun 2017
9.4

Great location in centre of Dundee the staff where friendly and helpful. Clean and a good size games room.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
5th Jun 2017
5.4

Floor was super nasty, pillows smelled like body odor. The doors were nailed open. Plus side, decent location,

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for your review, we are currently working on doing the flooring in every room and have most of them done at this stage...unfortunately this is one we have not got to yet. No doors are not nailed open in the hostel and are fit with a security lock.

31st May 2017
6.0

The location is great in the city center. The hostel is an interesting structure and has plenty of space to cook, read, relax, etc. The staff, however, are useless and do not seem to know what they are doing nor seem to know the area very well. They could not help me with where I needed to go. They also charge a high key deposit that they did not give back to me. I would not go back unless they hired more professional staff.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Here at the backpackers we do are best for trying to help people where they need to go even by doing a search online, it is not often we can not find where someone needs to go.

  • Anonymous
  • Nepal, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
27th May 2017
9.4

Excellent place to be in Dundee, definitely the best one, for location price and cleanliness. It is right in the centre of dundee everything is an easy walk. The reception staff was really friendly and there was no hassle in the check-in or check-out. Stayed in a private. Highly recommended for dundee.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for your review. We hope you come back again.

  • Anonymous
  • India, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
27th May 2017
8.6

I would say it's really good for the price. It's around 10 mins walk from the Bus station and located in the City center. The only problem I could think of was the lack of a locker and the availability of wifi in the rooms (available only in living room). However it wasn't really a problem. You could keep any valuables at the reception. You can get the towels from them for 1 pound. I'm not sure if they provide toothbrush​, paste, shower gel etc... May be carry it. Recommended

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
23rd May 2017
10.0

Awesome hostel with a reading room, games room, lounge, and full kitchen. I only stayed one night but would have been happy to stay longer.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
20th May 2017
9.4

Price was great! Rooms were basic but clean, comfy bed. Mario at reception was very friendly n helpful. Couldn't ask for a better location! There was 8 of us, 1st we've stayed at a hostel.... but would definitely again! Oh & the games room was an added bonus!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • pollydoggy
  • Scotland, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
20th May 2017
9.4

My group of 6 stayed here for one night as we were going to a gig at Slessor gardens. Great location for us as so close to our gig venue. We had 3 private double ensuite rooms and they were great. All the facilities worked fine, no issues. Staff were helpful and friendly! I would stay here again.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.