Hostelworld.com

Dundee Backpackers Hostel

Prices
map
reviews
8.7
Fabulous 1,472 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.7
  • Security 9.1
  • Location 9.7
  • Staff 8.8
  • Atmosphere 8.0
  • Cleanliness 8.5
  • Facilities 8.4
BOOK NOW
8.7
Fabulous 1,472 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.7
  • Security 9.1
  • Location 9.7
  • Staff 8.8
  • Atmosphere 8.0
  • Cleanliness 8.5
  • Facilities 8.4
Dundee Backpackers Hostel Located at 71 High Street, , Dundee.
Dundee Backpackers Hostel
Scotland
Dundee DD1 1SD 71 High Street
87% 1472
56.4612693 -2.9695272
Dundee Backpackers Hostel
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
1st May 2016
10.0

Great hostel, really, really central, and well run. Clean, tidy etc. Great value.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
18th Apr 2016
8.9

I've not given it such a high mark for atmosphere or staff because I compared it to the Oban Backpackers Hostel where I stayed 5 years ago and had a very nice time indeed.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
15th Apr 2016
9.4

I would definitely recommend...

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
9th Apr 2016
9.7

Everything about this hostel was perfect considering how cheap it was. The building itself was interesting, the rooms were lovely, the beds were so comfy. The staff were wonderful, and the place felt very secure. The communal areas looked nice, but we didn't spend any time in them. It's very noisy, but that honestly didn't bother us. The entire atmosphere was very relaxed and friendly. I would stay here again in a heartbeat. I wish there were places like this everywhere!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Wales, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
8th Apr 2016
9.7

The property is in the city centre High Street close restaurants/ cafes and shopping centres in the town. Very convient for traveller. It's also easy on the pocket. Very secure for personal safety and belongings; the reception is manned 24h/ 7days a week and people in & out of the property in in view of staff in receptiom. Internet/wi-fi is constantly available though only in the Common Room (Activity room). And would be an improvent if it were available in the rooms. That may be an issue.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
7th Apr 2016
9.7

It was a great stay and I was pleasantly surprised to see the quality of the private double room, it was comparable to a hotel room. Very clean and well-maintained. All the guests were respectful and there was zero noise at night. The staff are extremely helpful and nice. The location is perfect, right in the heart of Dundee.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
2nd Apr 2016
8.9

Great location in an interesting building with a history in Dundee.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Estonia, All Male Group, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
2nd Apr 2016
8.0

Very average and typical hostel, in an excellent location though. Beds were a bit wobbly and the duvets were tiny- literally like a meter wide the most! When we first stepped into our room it was freezing, the heating was turned down. I appreciate that they probably save a fortune by not heating unoccupied rooms, but it would have been nice to switch it on before our arrival.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
26th Mar 2016
10.0

I was enjoyed a lot. People were amazing too!. Ah! Go to War Memorial in top the hill that amazing view.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
25th Mar 2016
8.3

The bottoms bunks were super low. Also some rooms were warm but the game room where wifi was is freezing. Otherwise it was fine for a place to sleep.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.