X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Dundee Backpackers Hostel Reviews

71 High Street, Dundee, Scotland

Reviews & Ratings Explained

90%

Rating
1298 Total Reviews
  • 90%Value For Money
  • 92%Security
  • 97%Location
  • 91%Staff
  • 84%Atmosphere
  • 88%Cleanliness
  • 88%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

97%

The building itself is worth exploring once you've checked into this A1 hostel. Spotless and well maintained in the heart of the city it's well recommend. The only small niggle is the WiFi is spotty but in a 16th century rabbit warren of a building that is understandable


94%

As an older woman travelling on her own was really impressed by the welcome from young man on reception - no "raised eyebrows" Felt very secure, great location on high street

  • 24th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


100%

Nice clean big rooms


97%

The hostel is located right in the center so it is easy to get everywhere from there. It is really quiet. The facilities (kitchen, dining room, and living room) are really nice and clean as well. I would definitly recommend staying there!


80%

good hostel would use again

  • 15th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


86%

Excellent little room with character. Great stay!

  • 13th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


83%

Very good hostel and facilities however the games room needs to be looked at and renovated as much things need repaired


97%

A bit nicer and more expensive than I needed or wanted but worth the price. It's a lovely hostel with a good kitchen. The showers, though ok could do with a thorough clean


97%

Having stayed previously in January, this was my go-to when looking for accommodation in Dundee. Decent facilities, good price.

  • 11th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


100%

This is my favourite hostel and I always stay here when visiting family or on business in the area. Everyone is really friendly and you meet interesting people. A lone female traveler, I always feel really safe and a much better experience than a hotel.

  • 10th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


100%

Keep up the great work!


91%

Good location great money and would go there again


89%

Would not stay anywhere else in dundee. Love the facilities, location, building look and feel, keep it up! Only thing that would be awesome would be the option of a late check out that would seal the deal for me :)

  • 30th May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


86%

I feel a little cold in the room. if there is a heater, it would be better.

Owner Comment (Hide)
The heater in this room is beside the window and next to the bathroom door and you can adjust them manually to whatever temperature suites you.

100%

I can't recommend this hostel enough! 10/10! Mario and his team do a fantastic job and are always available to assist and make you feel at home. The place is set in a beautifully kept old historic building in a superb location. It is no wonder that many of the people stay for extended periods, it really is a home away from home and it is a great place to meet new people of all ages from all over the world. Keep up the good work! I'll be sad to leave!


57%

The bed just above mine was broken and I feared that the Person above will break through every Minute. I told the guy working at the reception and he just said he'll look after it when the room is empty... the kitchen was a Little dirty, Sofas in the common area were broken, but internet did only work there... all in all I wouldn't recommend staying there unless you don't care about those things... the location is good - in the middle of town - therefore quiet loud (day and night) as wel!

Owner Comment (Hide)
There are no broken beds as all are well maintained and checked frequently in our hostel. The kitchen is also cleaned many times a day. The internet only works in the common area as we don't want guests using laptops in dorms while other people may be trying to sleep. Kind regards Dundee Backpackers

100%

What a great place. Oozing history and intrigue. Comfortable and quiet but in the centre of the city next to all the major attractions. Great warm and friendly staff and very well priced.

  • 19th May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


89%

Great hostel in a fantastic location


83%

Enjoying this few days, nice place, nice staff 😉

  • 13th May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


100%

The hostel is perfectly located for all the city has to offer, and five minutes walk from the bus station. Inside is beautiful, clean and bursting with character, mixing the best of modern amenities with the amazing rustic charm of old stone steps and some glass walls. Absolutely loved it, and my girlfriend and I will be back soon. Thank you :-)

  • 25th Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland
  • Couple, 31-40
  • (1 review)


« first « Prev 1 2 3
(43 results)


View all Dundee Hostels

Please give us your feedback