Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Dundee Backpackers Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
9.0
Superb 1816 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.0
  • Security 9.0
  • Location 9.7
  • Staff 9.1
  • Atmosphere 8.6
  • Cleanliness 8.9
  • Facilities 8.7
BOOK NOW
9.0
Superb 1816 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.0
  • Security 9.0
  • Location 9.7
  • Staff 9.1
  • Atmosphere 8.6
  • Cleanliness 8.9
  • Facilities 8.7

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Italy, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
16th Aug 2017
10.0

I really enjoyed the staying in this hostel. It was clean, with clean toilets and showers, I stayed in the room for 4 people. This is a wifi connection only in the common room, the real kitchen where you can cook whatever you want and the dining room. The place is near the station and in the very center of Dundee with a lot of shops, pubs, supermarkets and so on... the laundry service it's not for public so the staff can wash your clothes but I prefer to do it by myself.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
12th Aug 2017
9.7

Booked a double room. Amazing value - the room was Really large and extremely comfortable. Bathroom shared but as it was right next door felt like en suite. This is an absolute bargain of a place to stay.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
11th Aug 2017
10.0

Great the 5 of us enjoyed it will be back

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
11th Aug 2017
7.4

Great location but very noisy at night if windows are facing high street. Thought it was strange that a single room cost £22 and an 8 bed dorm was only £3 less.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
4th Aug 2017
7.1

More could be done to make the facility more morden. The prices should be competitive especially in the summer. The location is fabulous and it accessible to all amenities around the area.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi there, This is the oldest residential building in Dundee and a historic building; that's what makes the atmosphere unique. The prices are very competitive considering the rest of Scotland (Dundee included). Have a nice day, Management

  • Anonymous
  • Scotland, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
2nd Aug 2017
10.0

Excellent accommodation, this was a god send as we were close to sleeping in the car at Ninewells Hospital. Thanks to my daughter she found possibly the second last room in Dundee for us to stay in. Having never used hostel accommodation before I was very pleasantly surprised at the high standards provided. Highly recommend this hostel.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi there! Thanks for your lovely review. Please come again, we look forward to it! Management

2nd Aug 2017
9.1

Really central, room was one if two on the top floor and really private and quiet. Also a nice reading room and immaculate bathroom on same floor. Facilities were really good, though a bit disappointing that wifi only available in Games Room. A small quibble as overall this hostel is great value for money.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi there, Thanks for your positive review! We are happy you enjoyed your stay, we are working on the WiFi to make it accessible everywhere in the building. Management

31st Jul 2017
6.9

Price is reasonable and staff is very friendly! I only mark it down because I found the hostel itself very isolating and the social atmosphere was lacking. Could be improved by changing the intense "rule signs" everywhere and re-writing then to sound more inviting and friendly. Rooms itself are very clean but I didn't like how there are no lockers.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi there, We are sorry to hear that. The rules signs, believe me, are necessary; even with them "everywhere", we still have a good few people who need to bring their mothers travelling with them. You're right about the lockers, we're working on it. Have a nice day, Management

  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
29th Jul 2017
8.9

Staff were very friendly and helpful. The room was clean. Great value for such a central location

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for your review! Hope to see you again soon! Management

  • Anonymous
  • Switzerland, Male, 31-40
  • Avid Traveller
  • 10 reviews
29th Jul 2017
8.6

Very nice hostel. So far the only one who has hand towels and towels to put on the floor in the bathroom. Big plus. My room had a chest of drawers, so plenty of space to store things. Location is super central. Gathering of seagulls on the roof of oposite building every morning.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi there, thanks for your review! Seagulls are a big thing in Dundee, especially during nesting season! :) We're happy you enjoyed your stay! Management

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.