Hostelworld.com

Dundee Backpackers Hostel

Prices
map
reviews
8.8
Fabulous 1674 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.8
  • Security 8.9
  • Location 9.7
  • Staff 8.8
  • Atmosphere 8.3
  • Cleanliness 8.8
  • Facilities 8.4
BOOK NOW
8.8
Fabulous 1674 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.8
  • Security 8.9
  • Location 9.7
  • Staff 8.8
  • Atmosphere 8.3
  • Cleanliness 8.8
  • Facilities 8.4

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
12th Feb 2017
7.4

They have no lockers, so you must take your valuables with you or leave them at your own cost. I was in an 8 bed room and was the only one in there for two nights...slightly lonely. The entirety of the hostel is cleaned everyday, so that was nice. However, with the exception of a few, the staff was really rude. Of course they lived there, but they looked down on the guests, so I felt really uncomfortable staying in any space except my room. Really cool building though!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Bangladesh, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
8th Feb 2017
10.0

It was my fantastic 2 BD night staying in Dundee

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
4th Feb 2017
9.4

We stayed in room 22. Very clean. Beds were extremely comfortable. Great nights sleep. Shame there is a charge for paying by a debit card when paying for the room. I have stayed in many hostels over the world and unfortunately there was no tv in the room. However there is a TV room. The shared kitchen was extremely clean and tidy with loads of space to cook in. I certainly recommend staying at this hostel and will use again. 5 star

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
3rd Feb 2017
10.0

Excellent place, highly recommend!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
3rd Feb 2017
10.0

Nice clean accommodation.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
1st Feb 2017
4.0

No protocol for protecting guests from 1am until 8am. Highly intoxicated roomate urinating and peering over me while I slept and there was no one to help, no emergency line to call, nothing. I called the hostel the next day to explain how unsafe I felt and I was told that guests should deal with issues on there own. Never been to a hostel where there is no protocol for emergencies. Highly disappointed.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi, we're extremely sorry that something like this happened, however you made no effort to inform us about this situation. The first time we heard about this unpleasant experience was two days after your departure when you've called us requesting a refund for your last night out of four you've spent at the hostel. Sadly after this much time we're not able to offer you a refund or verify what exactly happened as the guest in question - a customer who has stayed with us prior and never caused any problems - has departed the same early morning you did without showing any signs of intoxication the night before. Moreover we didn't find any evidence of urine in the room when cleaning it after you left. We can only apologise that you've had an unpleasant stay and hope to make up for it if you ever decide to stay with us again.

  • Anonymous
  • Bangladesh, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
31st Jan 2017
10.0

It was fantastic second night stay

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Northern Ireland, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
21st Jan 2017
9.4

Great for a night in Dundee. Room and bed were comfortable, clean and warm. Was very impressed with shower facilities. Kitchen facilities were also good. Will stay again

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
21st Jan 2017
9.1

Great place to stay. Perfect for what was required.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
16th Jan 2017
8.9

As a regular stayer, Dundee Backpackers offers a great location for a great price. Keep it up!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.