Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Dundee Backpackers Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.9
Fabulous 1,582 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.9
  • Security 9.3
  • Location 9.7
  • Staff 8.8
  • Atmosphere 8.3
  • Cleanliness 8.9
  • Facilities 8.6
BOOK NOW
8.9
Fabulous 1,582 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.9
  • Security 9.3
  • Location 9.7
  • Staff 8.8
  • Atmosphere 8.3
  • Cleanliness 8.9
  • Facilities 8.6
Dundee Backpackers Hostel Located at 71 High Street, , Dundee.
Dundee Backpackers Hostel
Scotland
Dundee DD1 1SD 71 High Street
89% 1582
56.4612693 -2.9695272
Dundee Backpackers Hostel
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Switzerland, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
25th Aug 2016
6.0

Just next to city square, in an old building. Would have a lot of potential, but unfortunately is very run down. Most of the facilities in our part of the building were out of order, room wasn't ready to check in, although we arrived after 6pm, not very motivated staff. A cheap sleep, fairly clean, but all in all a tremendous lack of mojo!

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
21st Aug 2016
8.3

We were only here for one night. Everything was very nice, only complaint was the wifi was only available in the game room. It was very loud in there and the wifi was very spotty, which was frustrating because we were booking our next place.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
20th Aug 2016
8.9

Stayed one night so didn't get to use all the facilities and can't therefore say much about that but we did have a look around and were impressed by the public areas such as the reading room, sitting room, kitchen etc which were all very clean and tidy. Our double room was nice and clean and had a very comfortable bed. The location can't be bettered as it's right in the centre of the town and everything you could want such as shops, pubs, places to eat right there on the doorstep. Will be

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 14 reviews
19th Aug 2016
9.1

Fantastic hostel! Amazing old building - there is information around the hostel about the history of the building - great for history junkies like me. The hostel is in a great location - walking distance from most of the 'sites' in Dundee, close to shops, close to the bus station, close to the train station when you can figure out the way. It's clean, the staff are helpful, there are lots of common areas to hang out in. I highly recommend this hostel, it was great!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
18th Aug 2016
10.0

Very nice and clean accommodation,the staffs are friendly and welcoming. The location was superb as well. Dundee is the best place to visit the people are welcoming and helpful we so much enjoy our stay. We will definitely visit again.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
15th Aug 2016
8.3

Nice to see a new hostel in Dundee, as there aren't a lot of accommodation options. It's also very cool that they saved historic buildings by turning them into a hostel, but the refurbishment could use a little more polish. Beds were a bit rickety and bathrooms/showers needed a little work - nice to see them divided by gender, but the stalls were tiny, awkward and tended toward flooding. Frustrating that wifi was only available in one room/floor too.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
13th Aug 2016
9.1

This hostel is in a building nearly 400 years old in centre of Dundee It has been fully refurbished, modernised, and adapted as a hostel, yet some of the original features have been incorporated in the upgrade to retain the medieval character of the building. There has not been any attempt to cram as many beds as possible into each room, leaving plenty of room for the guests. The kitchen also has sufficient space for all those using it.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland, Mixed Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
10th Aug 2016
8.0

We had a great time at Dundee Backpackers, we have used before and will use again. Good value for money and in a great location for us. The staff are very friendly and helpful. One very small issue that we came across was that we felt there were a lack of showers, we had 8 girls in the one dorm and felt like we could have been doing with a few more available showers - however the showers were very spacious and in good working order.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Northern Ireland, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
9th Aug 2016
10.0

Don't hesitate, get it booked :)

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
7th Aug 2016
10.0

I use this hostel regularly and always enjoy my stay. It's laid back with various areas to chill. I have met some cool characters from all over.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.