X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Dundee Backpackers Hostel Reviews

71 High Street, Dundee, Scotland

Reviews & Ratings Explained

88%

Rating
1269 Total Reviews
  • 87%Value For Money
  • 89%Security
  • 96%Location
  • 91%Staff
  • 81%Atmosphere
  • 85%Cleanliness
  • 85%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

100%

The hostel is perfectly located for all the city has to offer, and five minutes walk from the bus station. Inside is beautiful, clean and bursting with character, mixing the best of modern amenities with the amazing rustic charm of old stone steps and some glass walls. Absolutely loved it, and my girlfriend and I will be back soon. Thank you :-)

  • 25th Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland
  • Couple, 31-40
  • (1 review)


100%

Incredible hostel in a beautiful building! Amazing leisure room! Staff were really friendly, helpful and nice!


89%

I was only staying for one night & it did the job perfectly 👍👏👏👏

  • 18th Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


94%

Excellent staff, top location, kitchen well equipped, beautiful hot showers, would stay again.


71%

Great location in centre of dundee, only drawback no working lift 8 sets of stairs to get to room do not recommend for any one over 50 unlees fit

  • 10th Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland
  • Couple, 41+
  • (1 review)


91%

Really nice hostel. It was mid-week so was a bit quiet. The common areas were quality and it's in a very central location. The only issue is lack of wifi in the rooms but it works excellently in the common areas.


97%

Excellent hostel! It's absolutely massive and the rooms are very nice- as nice as a hotel! The kitchen and community rooms are very nice and spacious, everything is very well furnished and the beds were unbelievably comfortable. Definitely would recommend it. The only downside would be that the wifi doesn't reach to the rooms but when you connect to it in the community rooms it is very fast. Great place to stay.


97%

Really enjoyed it. Will visit again.

  • 7th Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


97%

This hostel is just in the high street of Dundee, very convenient, few minutes walk to pubs, shopping malls and church. Wonderful view and walking street in frond. Large room and clear bathroom. You don't have TV in here compare with a hotel but you can have a very nice kitchen and games room and friendly people. Only litter thing is you can hardly find a cheap car park during the day around this location.


83%

The lockers in the dorms are very small but big enough to leave valuables in. Take ear plugs as it is in the city centre so you get some noise from outside if you are in one of the rooms at the front. The location is very convenient.

  • 4th Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


89%

I was very impressed by the location. It is very close to railway station. Very pleased with late night reception hours and very polite receptionist. My room and shared toilet / shower facilities were very clean. It certainly ticked all my boxes. Hoping to book again here in the summer. Kind regards. Nigel.


94%

Great location, friendly staff, table tennis ps2 and a lot of space for evening fun. Good job guys!

  • 28th Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Slovakia
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)


91%

awesome reading room with Guitar and antique furniture but absolutely NO PARKING in the proximity; closest overnight parking is 7£


100%

The room was a very nice size, plenty of space, bed was very comfortable, and en suite was excellent. Very satisfied.

  • 21st Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


69%

A bit of a creepy feel as it's located in an old building. But the key card system works well and it felt safe, generally.


100%

Neat, clean, tidy and welcoming staff. Good central location with secure entry system. I would use this backpackers again.

  • 13th Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


100%

good games room

  • 7th Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


71%

This is one of the best Backpacker hostels in the UK. Fabulous building oozing history and great facilities and competitive pricing. For me it was let down by the member of staff on duty that weekend who was polite but indifferent. Also I was charged for using a Visa Debit card which is NOT a credit card and should not incur any charges at all.

  • 6th Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


100%

Mario couldn't have been more friendly and helpful. It's a lovely place to stay and i would certainly recommend it to anyone visiting Dundee.

  • 24th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


89%

I had an excellent time in Dundee. Most part due to the ease of the hostel. Excellent price for a single room and two nights as well.

  • 21st Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


« first « Prev 1 2
(33 results)


View all Dundee Hostels

Please give us your feedback