X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Duo Housing DC Reviews

1223 11th St NW, Washington DC, USA

Reviews & Ratings Explained

87%

Rating
2827 Total Reviews
  • 84%Value For Money
  • 91%Security
  • 89%Location
  • 91%Staff
  • 87%Atmosphere
  • 85%Cleanliness
  • 83%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

91%

Great location, friendly staff - 24/7 available to help and happy community. Free pancakes in the mornings and awesome rooftop accessible day and night (by 10pm). Definitely the place to stay if you are a traveller visiting DC. There is no space for privacy though, I would not recommend the place if you are in town for business and don't want to be bothered by the presence of others.


97%

I was not sure about the status of the bedding?


89%

Great place!

  • 17th May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Colombia
  • Mixed Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


71%

The Hostel is very well located, and the security is very good. The problem is that not all the people in the staff have the "Hostel" friendship that I am used to see in Europe or South America.


66%

It was extremely hot.

  • 15th May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


94%

Staff is super helpful. Very clean hostel, and the people there and location are great!

  • 15th May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


80%

Clean and comfort hostel but atmosphere is not really hot


63%

The location was great and the staff were very nice, but there were some problems with facilities. The handle on the toilet was broken for several days, then there was no toilet paper. Kitchen didn't have napkins, paper towels, or pot holders. There was rotten food in the fridge, it looked like it hadn't been cleaned in weeks. There were 12 people sharing 1 bathroom, which made for a very long wait to use the shower.


89%

If you're doing the touristy stuff then no better location than this hostel, 10-15 min walk to White House and a little further to the Mall etc. Rooms a little cramped and towels available about 6pm every day if you get in quick (they always seemed to be gone by late evening). General warning: we found (midweek) virtually no bars / restaurants are open in this district past 10pm (amazingly?!); if we went again we would 100% find a place in Georgetown (fun late night college / student district)


100%

Loved the one night stay. Wfi was spotty. Free pancakes made up for it completely.

  • 12th May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


89%

Fantastic location easy to get anywhere notable, great staff, I could tell they really made an effort. Really clean, I felt dirty. However The bathrooms need better fans and my room was too hot. I would use duohousing again


94%

Very helpful and well informed staff. Always ready to help a guest.

  • 10th May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


100%

Really friendly, great location, definitely staying here again

  • 6th May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

The staff here are incredible and are so willing to help you in anyway. Great location; super market 2 doors away and a short 15 minute walk into the CBD. Highlight is pancakes email every morning and free Sunday BBQ. Thanks Duo Housing!

  • 4th May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


94%

Awesome, I recommend !


91%

Superb hostel. Sociable, excellent kitchen facilities and very close to The Mall. Staff extremely friendly and layout makes for very social atmosphere. Roof terrace and BBQ on the Sunday was a big plus. Supermarket, liquor store and laundrette essentially next to the hostel.


100%

Perfect location and security! The staff is very kind. Really worth the money.

  • 30th Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • China
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


71%

The beds were very uncomfortable! The matrasses seem to very old.

  • 29th Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • South Africa
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)


94%

Good staff, always in a good mood ! Good place not so far from most of monuments by walking and secure. It's clean and everyone was really friendly in the Hostel ! I recommend.


100%

this is nachoo the mexican !!!! haha best time ever!!!


« first « Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7
(208 results)


View all Washington DC Hostels

Please give us your feedback