Hostelworld.com

Duo Housing DC

Prices
map
reviews
8.6
Fabulous 4463 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.6
  • Security 9.0
  • Location 9.0
  • Staff 8.7
  • Atmosphere 8.6
  • Cleanliness 8.3
  • Facilities 8.1
BOOK NOW
8.6
Fabulous 4463 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.6
  • Security 9.0
  • Location 9.0
  • Staff 8.7
  • Atmosphere 8.6
  • Cleanliness 8.3
  • Facilities 8.1

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
18th Feb 2017
9.1

Had a great stay at Duo housing. The basement smells a little funny, some of the toilets don't work, and they are particular about you keeping your shoes at the front door, but the staff makes up for it! Great people working there in a great location for a cheap price. If I find myself back in DC I will be returning to Duo.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Italy, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
18th Feb 2017
6.9

Weird staff, a bit awkward and not extremely friendly. It's pretty much all like "get off your shoes and those are the rules", which does not quite match the youngish style and vibe. The room (2b) was insanely hot. We checked in late and the woman at the reception walked us throughout the hostel at 1am just to show the place and its regulation. Ok atmosphere and pancakes for breakfast, which is the plus here.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
13th Feb 2017
9.7

Unbelievable value for money and really nice staff. I would say that I was surprised not to have access to large lockers to keep suitcases etc - though the hostel itself feels relatively safe (though am never 100% happy unless luggage is secured in a locker in a hostel). Slightly odd experience when I arrived and was told to wait outside the hostel (despite it being really cold outside) while another guest was being dealt with.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
10th Feb 2017
10.0

I was very happy with my stay at Duo Housing. Clean place, staff was very attentive and friendly. Owner was also a great host. Convenient location with a social atmosphere.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
8th Feb 2017
7.4

Smells like a foot.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
8th Feb 2017
9.4

Awesome, highly recommended. I wish there were more bathrooms to go around, but otherwise I had a fantastic stay!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
8th Feb 2017
4.6

Cons: They did not have ear plugs on hand and bathroom light switch was broken. Plastic dishes for plating breakfast were very dirty and should honestly be replaced. They were very scratched, had rust stains and were slippery (like grease) from bad washing jobs by guests. Water kettle was also rusty looking inside. Pros: excellent pancakes and location was very convenient to convention center and main attractions. Staff were friendly and very much couldn't beat the price.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
7th Feb 2017
6.0

None of the dishes were clean, and the sponge provided to clean dishes was old and gross and smelled disgusting. The shower handle always popped out and was difficult to put back in. Overall, those were the two main issues; the space itself was roomy for 4 people, and the lounging area was very comfortable. However, when the cleaning people came in every day to tidy up, they would leave the back door unlocked, putting our luggage at risk for the most part.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
3rd Feb 2017
6.3

The staff was rude and annoying. Definitely doesn't have the hostel feel to it and it the woman at the front desk is overbearing and honestly a little bitchy. There are much nicer hostels in the D.C. area. Don't waste your time or money here. Not worth it.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
1st Feb 2017
9.4

The downstairs female bathroom is a bit open - there are no benches in the showers so not much privacy. But the bathroom on the top level is really good - the shower there is good and it is private. The breakfast in the mornings is very handy and tasty (although maybe finishes at bit early) and the kitchen is good to be able to cook dinner. Everyone was very friendly. Thanks for the stay!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.