X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels!

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Duo Housing DC Reviews

1223 11th St NW, Washington DC, USA

Reviews & Ratings Explained

88%

Rating
2273 Total Reviews
  • 87%Value For Money
  • 91%Security
  • 88%Location
  • 91%Staff
  • 88%Atmosphere
  • 86%Cleanliness
  • 84%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

66%

Great Atmosphere! Average Hostel. If you are travelling alone and desperate to meet people Good to stay here! If you care about facilities at all, go to the HI nearby! Facilities are Really Below Par! Large OLD house that's been converted to a hostel. Small cramped rooms with no windows, "lockers" are an old filing cabinet, Showers have glass doors not really much privacy. Weird rules / warning signs everywhere like $25 fee for not cleaning up after yourself? Take your passport number, why?


80%

AZ and the boys are great. Big ups for telling people where the local clubs pubs and eateries are. Pancakes each morning and burger night sundays you can't go wrong.

  • 24th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


97%

A well run operation with good advice and help with seemingly any issue a temporary resident has. They really seem to care and work to make your stay pleasant. The free morning pancakes and coffee got the day off to a good start.

  • 23rd Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


91%

Good memory here!

  • 23rd Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • China
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


91%

Good hostel with super friendly staff!

  • 23rd Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

I absolutely loved staying at DUO Housing, and was actually surprised by his much I enjoyed my stay. 100% recommended.

  • 21st Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


91%

Duo Housing is a really nice place with a great location. Stuff is amazing, AZ and Eric were friendly and helpful all the time. Another great thing is barbeque on sunday and pancakes every morning! i ll definitely recommend this hostel to all my friend :)


97%

Greatly enjoyed the pancake breakfast. It would have been nice if there were some other food options at breakfast, like fruit or cereal as well. Bed was comfortable. It felt more like a big house than a hostel. Staff were very friendly and welcoming.


97%

Great staff, always willing to help, tasty morning pancakes, clean beds, showers and rooms, and always good vibe among hostel residents. Also, prime locale.


100%

Great place to stay while you visit DC. Sunday barbeques and staff are the best :-)


83%

Overall it's a great hostel is far superior to some cheap motels. There's really a sense of great atmosphere and the location next to the convention center is great. The breakfast and also the Sunday barbecue is pretty awesome. The only critiques that could have is that for the large dorms, it does get noisy for those people with beds next to the door and that they should maybe figure something out with that. And also with the shoe room, maybe they should build a giant fan that circulates better

  • 13th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

Like home only better.


94%

I loved my stay. The staff made sure everything was well-organised and well-maintained and they were always available for chatting and small talk. .There was just a really chilled atmosphere.


91%

One of the best hostel I've been to, great staff who makes sure everyone is having fun. You guys are excellent :)

  • 12th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


97%

Wonderful


100%

Pretty much the best hostel I've been to and great value for the money. On foot, location is very close to very good eateries in China town as well as public transit, and 20 mins to the national mall is great as well.


100%

My first experience staying in a hostel and I was very pleased. The accommodations served my purposes and budget well. My only regret was not having the time to stay a bit longer. I won't hesitate to reconsider Duo should I have an occasion to return to D.C..

  • 9th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


97%

make me feel like home!! staffs are really kind and pancakes are really good

  • 9th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Nell7
  • China
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


57%

Contrary to a lot of reviews on here, I found this place quite average - not bad, not great, just average. Pedro is friendly but that atmosphere is ruined by the sheet you have to immediately sign that forces you to pay $25 for any misdemeanour, including leaving towels on the floor. The toilet has a sign threatening $1000 fine to those who clog it. Room was small, lockers were tiny, my pillow was horrible and surfaces were dusty. Breakfast was average. So average hostel with a good atmosphere


66%

The night shift of the staff was something really poor. Did not gave us any kind of information about the hostel it self, did not managed to help us with any information about the city nor the area we were in. Feels safe, good location. Worst staff I have seen.


« first « Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7
(203 results)


View all Washington DC Hostels

Please give us your feedback