X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

33,000 properties, 170 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Duo Housing DC Reviews

1223 11th St NW, Washington DC, USA

Reviews & Ratings Explained

88%

Rating
3499 Total Reviews
  • 89%Value For Money
  • 89%Security
  • 89%Location
  • 90%Staff
  • 88%Atmosphere
  • 88%Cleanliness
  • 85%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

97%

awesome experience the staff was helpful and inviting

  • 9th Jan 2016
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


71%

The staff are very very friendly! Spent one night here only before leaving DC the next morning and stayed in a 12 beed room. Could not really take a good rest. People were talking noisily in the room at night (this is not the hostels fault) and you could hear the door bell rang anytime whenever a person came to check in (at 2am!). 24 hour check in is good but it could be done in a way that does not wake up people asleep at night I guess.


100%

Fantastic hostel, I could not have enjoyed it more. The staff made sure that everyone was enjoying their stay and gave advice on local restaurants and bars. The free dinner on Sunday night brought all travelers together and made it easy to make new friends. I cannot think of one complaint! Duo Housing is definitely on my list for best hostels.

  • 7th Jan 2016
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

Couldn't recommend this hostel enough. Staff were all super lovely!! Free pancakes are always a bonus. We were so sad to leave!!


97%

Super nice. Hella secure. They've pretty much thought through everything to make the community run smoothly.

  • 6th Jan 2016
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


80%

Not a bad hostel, not a fan of the no drinking past 10pm rule. They made us change rooms half way through our stay which was annoying, but the staff were nice about it. No real atmosphere, but the common room is a nice place to chill and chat to people.


77%

Rooms need to be ventilated!!

  • 4th Jan 2016
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


94%

Brilliant atmosphere, very easy to meet the other guests in the common room. The alcohol curfew at 10:30 is a little harsh, particularly if it's just beers on the couch, but that wasn't a turn off. Great facilities all in all. Very secure, too.

  • 4th Jan 2016
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


94%

Nice experience in DUO housing during my trip in DC.


89%

Good value for the money!!!


80%

Just stayed here for one night. The staff were super friendly and helpful! It's in a good location with easy walking to most places. I really liked this hostel! Only negative was though it was so hard to sleep as it was VERY hot!


97%

The staff were great and made the stay awesome

  • 2nd Jan 2016
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


91%

Great hostel, good atmosphere and a great location walking distance from everything

  • 1st Jan 2016
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Israel
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


83%

24-hour reception staff and cleaning staff keep the building orderly, safe and clean: no loud partying or drinking after 10. Some rules are excessive and silly: have to check out and leave building by 11 am, bags stored for free only until 3 pm, retrograde "ladies first" policy at Sunday dinner (seriously!). But Sunday dinner is free, which is cool. Downsides are lack of lounge & eating space, nowhere near enough electrical outlets, and privacy-free showers with glass doors.


97%

This was my first experience at a hostel and I definitely enjoyed it. The staff was very friendly and helpful! The security was excellent and reassuring. Overall a great experience.

  • 31st Dec 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


97%

Had a blast at Duo Housing. Neat location in Shaw and staff worked to make everyone comfortable. The environment was great and very social with all the guests.


97%

I spend 4 days there. Everybody was really helpful with me. The second building is new but there is not enough bathrooms for everybody.

  • 30th Dec 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


31%

Had a very unpleasant experience with their staff. One of their managers is ver disrespectful. I will never stay their again an will never recommend them to anyone!! If I can figure out who to report them to I will!!

  • 30th Dec 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


80%

The hostel was super clean, and two of the guys from the reception were super nice, being interested, helpful and knowledgeable of the area. However, it was a bit much to have people sign the house rules, and check every 15 minutes after 10pm whether we were drinking alcohol or not, and when I asked if I could stay in the common room for one more hour after check out before going to the airport I was told No. Also no common activities and the 'what's happening' board was not updated.


71%

Decent hostel with a friendly atmosphere with free breakfast. Lots of international students staying here. Good value and would definitely recommend.

  • 28th Dec 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


(220 results)


View all Washington DC Hostels

Please give us your feedback