X
NOTE: 9 or more guests qualifies as a group booking, change the number of guests to return to normal search.
Enquire Now HostelBookers Logo Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Duo Housing DC Reviews

1223 11th St NW, Washington DC, USA

Reviews & Ratings Explained

89%

Rating
2143 Total Reviews
  • 88%Value For Money
  • 91%Security
  • 88%Location
  • 93%Staff
  • 90%Atmosphere
  • 88%Cleanliness
  • 85%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

100%

Everyone was very friendly, and the accommodations were better then I anticipated. Looking forward to staying there again in the future!


83%

Great hostel, lots of young and interesting people, staff very helpful, great rooftop!


100%

I think this hostel is the best of ever. Especially, BBQ party was the so good for me. I had a time to make friends, and also foods were so delicious. Managers were very kind and funny, and there were many shower facilities.

  • 5th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • South Korea
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


83%

Good staff. Good location. ^^


86%

If possible, it would be great to have laundry facilities in the future.

  • 3rd Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


89%

Great hostel. Some silly rules, like no drinking past 10pm, but great atmosphere and great staff!! Pedro and AZ are great and super nice with everybody and I had an amazing time during my time there!


100%

Best hostel experience, thanks to the amazing staff that made it possible with their attitudes and friendliness!

  • 3rd Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)


89%

Place was really good. Staff was really friendly. Really short walk to the green/yellow metro line. Their no shoe policy is kind of annoying but it makes sense. A whole lot of friendly people staying there though. I recommend staying there.

  • 2nd Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


91%

This hostel was an amazing place to stay for the July 4th festivities! Staff members Pedro and AZ run the place well and give the place a fun vibe. Pancakes in the morning are a nice touch, and we were spoiled with a July 4th bbq on the rooftop deck! Awesome time. The place has two keypad locked doors as well as lockable cabinets to secure belongings, so security is a non-issue. Showers always had hot water too. Great hostel in a great location!


91%

Really enjoyed my stay here. The hostel is clean, well-equipped and the staff are quite helpful. DC is easily walkable from here too.

  • 2nd Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

Feels like home but with more cool people to hang out with.


94%

Sunday night bbq ~ great way to meet new people and save a few bucks. Fairly central to everything, not just touristy places. Staff and security are superb.

  • 28th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


83%

Friendly staff and good atmosphere. Sociable people staying here and had a good time. A 30 minute walk to the Smithsonian and other tourist attractions. Really liked DC and would stay at this hostel again.


69%

Clean under the beds especially in the basement


83%

Pedro and AZ, thanks guys for the good times and the wonderfull wafels .Beds could be connected to the wall for less shaking at night. The free BBQ was delicious guys! Greetings from Holland

  • 25th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


100%

I loved my stay at duo mostly because of the people the staff and residents were so friendly and inviting. It was a real family atmosphere. Everyone was super cool amd down to earth. The beds were soft and comfortable and the blankets were warm. I slept good. I hated to get up in the morning. Lol. I like the co-op mix and the diversity of wonderful nationalities. I enjoyed my stay. It was my first time booking and staying at a hostel, but it wont be the last thanks to such a great experience.

  • 24th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Panama
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


91%

Great example of a hostel. Helpful and friendly staff, nice place for both bedrooms and communal space. Very sociable feeling in the hostel so a great place to meet people. Pretty close to the action in Washington, somewhere between the sights in the centre and the more culturally interesting area around U street & 14th St. Would definitely choose this place again and recommend to others.


60%

The staff tries very hard, but it's just not a very good building. It is much inferior to the Hosteling International facitlity 2 blocks away where I stayed earlier in the week. I would never return to DUO unless there was just nothing else available. Threadbare towels. Hot room with no fan or adequate air conditioning. No top sheet, just a duvet, which was too hot.

  • 22nd Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


83%

Good hostel in a good location. The staff were really friendly apart from one girl who has apparently since left, she was rude and disinterested in everything working in a hostel. Free pancakes for breakfast each day. Good atmosphere and a great place to meet cool travelers. The bunk beds were noisy and very unstable though. Overall I'd recommend it as a good value hostel


100%

Possibly the safest and friendliest hostel I have ever been to. No bad vibes here. The only mark against would be that the rooftop deck closes at 10pm. I completely understand why, but it would be sweet if it was open until midnight or later.

  • 19th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


(165 results)


View all Washington DC Hostels

Please give us your feedback