X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels!

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Duo Housing DC Reviews

1223 11th St NW, Washington DC, USA

Reviews & Ratings Explained

88%

Rating
2279 Total Reviews
  • 87%Value For Money
  • 91%Security
  • 88%Location
  • 91%Staff
  • 88%Atmosphere
  • 86%Cleanliness
  • 84%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

69%

Living in the cellar with a dirty bathroom and cheap and old ikea sheets was bad. The staff was great though! Facilities where mostly clean however not so much downstairs and the secure room for luggage was horrible!!! Everyone could have taken something if he wanted... luckily most guest are cool I guess :) Oh and i didn't like that I had to give my passportnumber to google via a spreadsheet. Not a bit! Verrrrry bad! I like my Date stored save!!!!


97%

Very good, staff good but one was much nicer than the other.. very welcoming, might want to invest in some spray for the entrance as the stench of smelly shoes isn't the most welcoming entrance! but nice idea having no shoes allowed. rooms and bathrooms very nice, and the communal areas really sociable. nice hostel wish we could have stayed for both nights. book early!

  • 20th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

recommended strongly

  • 17th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • China
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


86%

Overall a great hostel, more of a "home" type of feeling. The staff is pretty helpful--they could do something about the show room being the first thing (and smell) that greets you. Overwhelming smells like Febreeze in the living room/third floor

  • 17th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


80%

loved free bbq and pancake breakfast


86%

Reasonably good hostel. walking distance to everything. Comfortable bed. Supper staffs, Easy to talk to, can resolve n desolve situations especially the manager. breakfast could be better.


94%

As someone who was travelling alone, Duo was a good hostel to stay at. There was a reasonable social atmosphere and after staying there for a couple of nights you felt as though you were part of a big family. The staff were always happy to give advice on what to do, where to go etc. Pedro, the hostel manager, was really friendly and went above and beyond to make sure people staying at the hostel were having a good time. If I was to return to DC, I would definitely stay at Duo again.


91%

2 words: pancake breakfast ;) Staff was very friendly, the atmosphere was great. Also within walking distance from National Mall etc


100%

As always my first choice when visiting Washington D.C. Everyone at the hostel is always friendly and knowledgable. Will stay here again when visiting D.C.


94%

This is a great hostel overall. The staff is helpful, the hostel is clean and the neighborhood outside is quiet so you're able to get a good night's sleep. Pancakes every morning, but that's it. So you don't necessarily get a great breakfast, but you can get all you want so that's good. The upstairs shower is horrible, but if you want the hostel experience, use it once. Upon entering the hostel, you have to remove your shoes, and it smells cuz everyone else's shoes are there, so that sucked.


94%

very good atmosphere and good person!


100%

Easily the best hostel in the US. Definitely one of the best hostels I've ever stayed at. The staff are so welcoming and make you feel at home and speak a billion languages. The location is great, right near the metro. The rooftop is fantastic! No complaints. Would come back any time.

  • 8th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


83%

Pretty chilled out place. Everyone was quite social and helpful with various queries. Really good location, probably 10-15 mins from the White House and you're close to everything at that point! The immediate area was safe although just like any city be very wary during the evenings!


69%

The general atmosphere is good, and the location is close to different places of interests, and also close to convention center. However, the shoes-off policy needs to be improved a bit, especially the room in which the shoes are stored. Most people travel all day and get back to take off the shoes and store it in that room, isn't a better ventilation system needed?


80%

Overall good. Cant give a proper review since we only stayed for a night, but have a solid feeling that I'll stay here on the next visit. From first impressions I'd definitely recommend it


91%

As it was my first time staying at a hostel, I wasn't sure what to expect. As soon as I arrived, I was greeted by the friendly staff and shown all the facilities around the hostel. Even though it was a short 3 night stay, I never felt unsafe or violated in any way. Duo is closely located to many museums, monuments, bars and metro stations. If I ever find myself in DC again, I will definitely be staying at Duo Housing; hopefully soon!

  • 4th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


97%

Really nice staffs and parties once a week. Whitehall, monuments and Smithonian museums are just 15 minutes walk.

  • 2nd Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • South Korea
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


91%

Great place staff were amazing and location is perfect 10min walk to white house/ Smithsonian etc and 10minutes to the U street bar area, only downside you can't drink at the hostel after 10pm but with the bars a short walk away its not to bad

  • 2nd Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • gbrewer8050
  • Australia
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


66%

Weird "No Shoes" policy inside the hostel. Showers and bathroom are good. Room doors are open even during the night and can't be locked. Nice lockers insider each rooms, anyway. There's a nice rooftop for breakfast and hanging out. Generally, there's a friendly and juvenile mood, which many would appreciate(I did not, at all, but many would). Staff is friendly, but the guy at the reception was everything but nice.


97%

I loved that breakfast!

  • 1st Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


(208 results)


View all Washington DC Hostels

Please give us your feedback