X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Duo Housing DC Reviews

1223 11th St NW, Washington DC, USA

Reviews & Ratings Explained

87%

Rating
2417 Total Reviews
  • 87%Value For Money
  • 91%Security
  • 88%Location
  • 90%Staff
  • 87%Atmosphere
  • 85%Cleanliness
  • 83%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

71%

It's a real nice hostel. Comfortable beds and it's cleaned daily. It could do with another few showers and power outlets though. The manager is a good guy but some of the staff aren't very helpful or friendly - greeting and/or acknowledging guests is a rather important part of customer service. The hostel has a 'no shoes inside' policy - which is fine - but the whiff from the shelves of shoes left at the front of house hits you like a train upon first entering! Could be an improvement there.


94%

The guy taking the night-shift at the front desk wasn't very helpful. I lost my watch in the shower there. I came asking if it was handed over to the staff. He simply said no, haven't seen it. Not pointing me to where lost&found was or being helpful in any other way. While the lost&found was right there on his desk (I found this out later) and my watch was actually there. All other staff I have met was very friendly and helpful, so I'm sure it's just this one guy and not the general policy.

  • 29th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


89%

great staff, awesome sunday barbecues, pcs wit stable internet connection, free wifi, nice balcony, close to everything you might want to see, cheap.

  • 28th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Romania
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

Loved my whole time there!


66%

Great Atmosphere! Average Hostel. If you are travelling alone and desperate to meet people Good to stay here! If you care about facilities at all, go to the HI nearby! Facilities are Really Below Par! Large OLD house that's been converted to a hostel. Small cramped rooms with no windows, "lockers" are an old filing cabinet, Showers have glass doors not really much privacy. Weird rules / warning signs everywhere like $25 fee for not cleaning up after yourself? Take your passport number, why?


89%

Very enjoyable stay


69%

just i can tell staff are perfect and location is good.thank you .

  • 24th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


80%

AZ and the boys are great. Big ups for telling people where the local clubs pubs and eateries are. Pancakes each morning and burger night sundays you can't go wrong.

  • 24th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


97%

A well run operation with good advice and help with seemingly any issue a temporary resident has. They really seem to care and work to make your stay pleasant. The free morning pancakes and coffee got the day off to a good start.

  • 23rd Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


91%

Good memory here!


91%

Good hostel with super friendly staff!

  • 23rd Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


83%

I was a the Hostel for 3 nights and it was a really good experience. The staff were really helpful and the free pancakes in the morning a great plus! It is well located to go and visit the city, within walking distance of most of the main sites...the only thing maybe it is needed is an extra bathroom on the first floor... Rooms are shared with 6 or 8 people but of course you know this in advance at the time of booking the place...they are spacious for everyone to have their own space.


86%

Was a nice hostel in a good area. Was easy to walk to the national mall. The staff were very nice


100%

I absolutely loved staying at DUO Housing, and was actually surprised by his much I enjoyed my stay. 100% recommended.

  • 21st Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


91%

Duo Housing is a really nice place with a great location. Stuff is amazing, AZ and Eric were friendly and helpful all the time. Another great thing is barbeque on sunday and pancakes every morning! i ll definitely recommend this hostel to all my friend :)


97%

Greatly enjoyed the pancake breakfast. It would have been nice if there were some other food options at breakfast, like fruit or cereal as well. Bed was comfortable. It felt more like a big house than a hostel. Staff were very friendly and welcoming.


100%

Great hostel, really nice, would definitely recommend staying here if you're in DC.

  • 18th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


91%

A solid hostel to stay at. Breakfast is pancakes. Sunday nights has an AMAZING barbecue. There is a supermarket next door which was very useful, and the hostel has a decent kitchen to use. The communal areas are good, there is a nice rooftop area and patio, as well as a TV room. Only downside is that there is not consumption of alcohol after 10 pm which is a bit too early for my liking. Hostel is in a good location close to U street (where you go out) and then all the sites in DC too.


97%

Great staff, always willing to help, tasty morning pancakes, clean beds, showers and rooms, and always good vibe among hostel residents. Also, prime locale.


74%

Good hostel with great staff but bedrooms and bathrooms a little bit cramped compared to other places I have stayed.


(219 results)


View all Washington DC Hostels

Please give us your feedback