X
NOTE: 9 or more guests qualifies as a group booking, change the number of guests to return to normal search.
Enquire Now HostelBookers Logo Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Duo Housing DC Reviews

Reviews & Ratings Explained

90%

Rating
1897 Total Reviews
  • 90%Value For Money
  • 92%Security
  • 88%Location
  • 95%Staff
  • 90%Atmosphere
  • 89%Cleanliness
  • 85%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

94%

The staff at Duo Housing was extremely nice and helpful. The location is within walking distance to Chinatown. There are also lots of great local eateries in the neigborhood. I had a great stay thanks to the wonderful staff at Duo Housing for the warm welcome. I would definitely come back to Duo Housing and would also recommend it to my friends.

  • 10th Jan 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Vietnam
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


91%

Upon arrival, I checked in and immediately received a confirmation email saying that everything was paid. I thought it was a mistake because I had only paid for the 10% deposit. Apparently, upon check-in the girl at the counter charged my credit card for the other 90%. You should tell people you will charge them and have them sign some sort of agreement, you can't just go ahead and charge people's credit card without notice AND acceptance (for the customer but also for your own liability!).

  • 10th Jan 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Belgium
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


86%

Great social atmosphere and fantastic location - the hostel has some weird rules such as the no drinking past 10 pm which is strictly enforced, but otherwise good!

  • 9th Jan 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

it`s clean and comfortable

  • 8th Jan 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • South Korea
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


86%

Friendly, home style hostel. Staff were lovely, rooms are a little cramped and the bathrooms aren't very private but good atmosphere and value for money. Free pancake breakfast :-) and social, would definitely stay again.


89%

Closed of every museum and monuments, 20 minutes from white house and closed from bus and subway. The staff (and the dog) is so nice and help you if you need. i had a very good moment in this hostel. Thanks again for all.


100%

Best Hostel in DC!


100%

Staff went above and beyond to be helpful with all questions. They were helpful and full of great idea's.


86%

Very friendly staff. One of the friendliest I ever met in a hostel. Pedro, Marvin and all the gang are very nice and helpful. The New Year's Eve party was real fun. A bit disapointed by the lack of washing machines inside, or locks on the room doors, but on the whole, an truly amazing experience.


100%

Had a great time in this hostel. Great staff with breakfast in the morning even if I took it only once(prefer to sleep). Very clean and very home like atmosphere. The best hostel so far, recommend it 100% to people. One thing though is that Im pretty sensitive so need a dead silence to sleep and had quite a time with what I call symphony n9 with snores in the room :) but at the end I had a big laugh with a roomate because of that so you will get used to it . Anyway, go ahead, book and enjoy !

  • 28th Dec 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


86%

Thanks for a great (albeit short) stay! Great staff and nice atmosphere made our short stay very agreeable. Awesome that you had that luggage-area too! That made this place the perfect place for us!

  • 27th Dec 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Sweden
  • Couple, 18-24
  • (1 review)


83%

Had a really nice stay at Duo Housing DC. The location is really good and you can reach all sights walking. Even if there is no free parking in front of the hostel there is a parking lot near by where you can leaf your car for $ 12 a day. Or if you are lucky like I was you can park it for free three blocks down the road. This tip I got from the really friendly and helpfull stuff. They also made really helpfull recommendation what you have to see in the city and where to get good food.


86%

Really a nice place to stay for a weekend or even a complete week. 20min to walk in order to go to all the top city attraction. Staff is great! I really had a good time in this hostel.


60%

The Christmas dinner the owner or manager personally prepared and cooked was fantastic. I had fun.

  • 24th Dec 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


74%

That hostel didn't have breakfast and isn't at the best location but is fine... Just think that have a better one...


97%

One of the best hostel I've ever stayed. Staff was very friendly, facilities were clean, they even offered free towels, free BBQ on Sunday evening, free pancakes&coffee for breakfast every morning. If you are looking for a party hostel, it can be a wrong choice, because they forbid drinking any kind of alcohol after 10 pm. Overall, highly recommended.


100%

Great hostel, lovely people. Safe and secure. Wouldn't even look elsewhere if I was back in DC, thanks guys!


100%

I have just one thing to say If you are coming to Washington. STAY AT DUO Absolutely fab place. Fab staff. Great location. Wonderful atmosphere. Love Love Loved it.

  • 15th Dec 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


97%

This is the first time I stayed in the hostel, and it was just amazing. Staff is absolutly warm and helpful, top floor lounge is the best place for socializing. Meet bunch of amazingly interesting people. Bathroom is clean, bed is a clean. But the basement could get bit suffocating if you leave the door shut.


94%

It's more like shared housing than a hostel. You enter the living room and feel like being part of a family. It's amazing.


(140 results)


View all Washington DC Hostels

Please give us your feedback