X
NOTE: 9 or more guests qualifies as a group booking, change the number of guests to return to normal search.
Enquire Now HostelBookers Logo Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Duo Housing DC Reviews

1223 11th St NW, Washington DC, USA

Reviews & Ratings Explained

89%

Rating
2118 Total Reviews
  • 88%Value For Money
  • 91%Security
  • 88%Location
  • 93%Staff
  • 90%Atmosphere
  • 88%Cleanliness
  • 85%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

94%

Just stayed one night while passing through. The two decks are really cool, its true. It's also true that they run a tight ship on cleanliness, I liked this place a lot.


71%

The location was good and the staff were really friendly. It has a good vibe and is easy to meet people. Only issues I would say is that there are definitely not enough showers and toilets for everyone. They also ask you to agree to a lot of rules; one of which is no drinking past 10. If you are still drinking, they will come round and ask you to down your drink at 10. They close the roof area which leaves you with not a lot of space to hang out with friends.


91%

Thank you for wonderful brakefast every morning, and thanks for the lovely bbq, and your kind hospitality! It was amazing staying at Duo Housing


97%

Awesome staff! You cannot get any better in DC. Lockers are small, but everything else is excellent.

  • 24th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

The best hostel I've ever been: very clean bathrooms, perfect staff, friendly people and free pancakes for breakfast!


77%

The hostel was great! I'd recommend it for a clean hostel in a convenient location. I only had to take the train once. The liquor store next door sometimes warranted unwanted attention (especially as a sole female traveller) but it proved harmless. There is a Korean grocer next door which was useful when I spent too much money on meals!

  • 23rd May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Malaysia
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

Clean place, great people, great fun and unforgettable atmosphere. I'd like to come back to DC just to stay in that place!


77%

I hope they can offer different kind of food on the morning, and shampoo in bathroom.

  • 19th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


71%

Not enough bathrooms Rooms are two crowded no room for anyone to have luggage.

  • 19th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


77%

The friendly and cozy atmosphere really made you feel at home. RA Sasha was awesome.

  • 18th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • South Korea
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


97%

Duo was awesome - an extremely budget friendly option for a great location in D.C. It's a decent walk from the orange or blue line metro station, but we were able to make it each morning without much difficulty. The staff was very nice, and the BBQ dinner on Sunday and the Pancake breakfasts were great.

  • 18th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


94%

Everyone was extremely friendly and willing to talk, help, or anything else you needed.

  • 18th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Mixed Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

Sunday BBQ brings everyone together for good eats and laughs. Love the staff and how casual this hostel is. The staff and common areas make it very easy to socialize with other travelers.


89%

My first hostel experience and it felt more like a home than a hostel. The staff were lovely and friendly and always around to talk and help you out, and the size of the hostel made it easy to meet and mingle with new people and was not overwhelming in size. The free pancake breakfast every morning was great and helps save some money! The location was great, about 5-10mins to the metro of a 30min walk to the monuments!

  • 17th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


89%

Great hostel. Clean and a good atmosphere. There are lots of common areas and the opportunity to be social. Free pancakes for breakfast are delicious. I felt safe and comfortable at all times. I would stay here again and definitely recommend it.


97%

Staff was extremely friendly and helpful. The luggage room was great because we could keep our things there after we checked out. Pancake breakfast in the morning. Outdoor balcony was lovely, and they have 2 desktop computers for guest use. Cool decorations, friendly atmosphere,

  • 12th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Couple, 18-24
  • (1 review)


97%

DuoHousing DC has attentive staff, a variety of services, and the cleanest hostel accommodations I've ever encountered traveling. I highly recommend it.

  • 11th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


74%

There is usually only one staff at the front desk handling all the check-in and check-out, which makes the waiting time quite long. Another major issue for the house is there is no laundry. Not much else to complain about.

  • 10th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • China
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


91%

Staff here were great, couldn't have been more accommodating. Special shout out to Pedro who carried my beast of a bag up and down stairs and was a champ. I was only there for one night, wish I could have stayed longer, nothing to flash about the rooms or the bells and whistles (other than the great upstairs) but it was that awesome homey hostel vibe that can't be forced. The only thing I would say is the showers are confrontingly transparent but maybe I'm a prude. But yeh great place

  • 10th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


89%

Good place, good atmosphere, very clean, all facilities, free wifi.


(164 results)


View all Washington DC Hostels

Please give us your feedback