X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Durty Nellys Inn Reviews

Warmoesstraat 117, 1012 JA Amsterdam, Amsterdam, Netherlands

Reviews & Ratings Explained

85%

Rating
3481 Total Reviews
  • 80%Value For Money
  • 87%Security
  • 97%Location
  • 93%Staff
  • 83%Atmosphere
  • 79%Cleanliness
  • 76%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

94%

Few hairs on the beds but that's easily sorted with a shake of the sheets, perfect location for youngsters who want to enjoy themselves everything within walking distance great pub grub cheap drinks if staying in hotel, rooms bit small but only need a bed and shower while staying in Amsterdam so much to do there

  • 11th Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • All Male Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


91%

We really enjoyed our stay.


94%

Very centric hostel. In an old dutch house so the stairs are very narrow. The bedroom was really good. It has 8 beds, a private toilet and bathroom and also a sink. Each bed has a personal light and 4 plugs. The breakfast was in the irish bar under the hostel and in a separate room. I defenetelly come back again!

  • 10th Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Spain
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Cheers guys.Glad you like our new beds,thanks Jim

54%

Perfect for Bros, meatheads looking to get smashed up and be loud assholes.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi,Sorry you had a problem with your room mates.We didn''t receive any complaint about antisocial behaviour at reception from you and you haven't replied to our email request for information so all we can say is that we don't tolerate this behaviour but you do need to let us know at the time if there's a problem so we can solve it,thanks Jim

83%

The Night Shift Staff was not friendly other then that everything was ok!

  • 2nd Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Malaysia
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


97%

In genereal, everything was perfect. Comfortable beds, an amazing staff, and a perfect location. Great pub food too!

  • 23rd Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Cheers for your kind comments

100%

Overall very good experience, the loveliest staff around, rooms are average for a typical hostel but very clean and the bar downstairs offers discount on food and drink for people staying at the hostel which was very handy! The location is slap bang right in the middle of the hustle and bustle of amsterdam, lots of bars, cafes, supermarkets and shops within a stone throws walk away which was handy :)


86%

Although my friend and I only stayed at Durty Nellys for one night, we had a really great experience here! The staff are SO friendly and helpful, with lots of knowledge and tips about Amsterdam and the best things to do and avoid. The beds were comfortable and the rooms sufficient, but maybe slightly small for the number of people. The location is the absolute best, right on the first main street of the Red Light District. It is pretty noisy at night, but with a pair of earplugs you'll be right!

Owner Comment (Hide)
cheers young lady

94%

All good. Just that one needs to get used to the large sliding lockers in the dorm.


100%

Really good place can be really cheap there clean we'll presented hostle / bar. Bar and reception polite and friendly. You can't roll weed inside you room but you can in the bar witch they give you a perfect place to smoke just outside on a wooden bench. At night u can smoke there and listern to music from the really cool club few doors down. On Tuesdays they do open mic / hip hop. Would recommend this hostle/bar it's worth every penny. Food brilliant too

  • 17th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Cheers Conor,Good luck to all you Beat Boxers!

83%

It is really nice place there,but very noisy because of the party at the bar downstairs


57%

The rooms smelled like mould and were extremely small and dingy. The lighting was very poor and the whole atmosphere of the hostel was uninviting. It was like stepping into a time warp. Major renovations and updating needed.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Sorry to hear you were disappointed but you'll be glad to know we've just received our new Sleeptite beds with reading lights,power sockets and underbed lockers build in and we've painted all our dorms

89%

We stayed there 4 nights and we had no problem at all, the staff it's wonderfully kind and such and amazing people, and it's particularly good deal to have a bar just downstairs ;)


83%

They have no common room and no kitchen, so it's hard to meet other travellers without spending 5 euros per beer at their Irish pub downstairs. Other than that: great location, helpful staff, and clean.


43%

It's very noisy outside

  • 9th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Philippines
  • Mixed Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Just curious about your security rating as we have electronic swipe card doors,free lockers,free check out luggage storage,free 24 hour safe and only allow guests in hostel.Sorry but we're located in the heart of Amsterdam's party area so not much we can do to keep out street noise which is rarely a problem to be honest

91%

Fantastic! Everything I needed, perfect location and the staff where excellent. Organising my weekend was made a lot easier by everyone at Durty Nellys.


74%

Very nice people. The bar inside is also nice. The only unsaitifised thing is the room is too small

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi,we've just installed new Sleptite beds with underbed lockers[and reading lights with power sockets]to make more space in our Amsterdam rooms

100%

Durty Nellys was an awesome place to stay. Jim and the crew were really helpful and answered any questions I had. The pub was really good and the beers freezing. Couldn't recommend them any higher!

  • 4th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Cheers Luke,Safe travel,Jim

74%

Its a nice places and it was my second time in a hostel, as I hear horror stroys about them, but this is a good places just for a bed and a locker, but the staff was not every friendly,

  • 2nd Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


80%

Pretty good hostel. I was only here for one night but I found the staff really nice and helpful. You get discounts at the bar downstairs if you show your hostel card. Bathrooms look really new, rain shower was great! Bed was super comfy. Location is ideal although I was so lost getting out of the train station but that's due to my poor sense of direction!


« first « Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6
(111 results)


View all Amsterdam Hostels

Please give us your feedback