X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Durty Nellys Inn Reviews

Warmoesstraat 117, 1012 JA Amsterdam, Amsterdam, Netherlands

Reviews & Ratings Explained

86%

Rating
3808 Total Reviews
  • 83%Value For Money
  • 88%Security
  • 96%Location
  • 94%Staff
  • 84%Atmosphere
  • 80%Cleanliness
  • 76%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

74%

i stayed there only one night n found the place quite nice. the bar is full of pple n fun atmosphere but maybe a bit too much drunks... staff was very friendly n helpful. but i found rooms very small(6 pple dorm) and they shud really think abt arranging them with males/females only as it's a bit uncomfortable to sleep with 5 guys in one room....also i didnt find any towels...which cud b very useful. bfast was quite poor-only boiled eggs,bread and cheese plus tea/coffee.

  • 26th Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Russia
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


83%

Breakfast could be better

  • 25th Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • saracat8
  • England
  • Mixed Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


97%

Thanks Durty Nellys! I had a great weekend at Durty Nellys, with the staff very welcoming and helpful throughout our stay. The bar downstairs was great, the rooms clean and looked after and ideal for a large group like us (14 guys on a stag do!). Would highly recommend, and would definitely use them the next time I visit Amsterdam.

  • 24th Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • All Male Group, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

Great location, only a 7-10 minute walk to Amsterdam Centraal Station. Very warm, welcoming, helpful staff. My only issue was that I was the only female in a 10 bed dorm, lucky enough I had respectful roommates but if they hadn't been I;m not sure what could've been done about it. I'd just like to ask that the room assignments could be looked at closer and make sure other solo female travelers feel safe. And bring earplugs, it can get a little noisy at night.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi,Thanks for the great review.As stated on our booking page we make every effort to place males and females seperately if possible and to keep friends together but sometimes due to the bookings received this isn't possible.Anyone who does have a problem with room mates can be confident that Nellys will deal with any antisocial behaviour firmly,cheers Jim

97%

Really nice hostel in the city center :)


71%

Smelly street as it's in the red light zone. Smoke-free hostel Comfortable bed but beddings are not super clean Big bathroom inside the room. Simple breakfast Friendly staff


89%

The bedding was nice and comfy, and it was great that the rooms were air conditioned. Staff were very friendly and the bar had a good atmosphere. Wifi wasn't the fastest, but overall a nice stay.


71%

Rooms were really cramped, literally limited to your bed space. The stairs were a nightmare especially with big backpacking bags, someone could seriously get hurt. The staff member who checked us in was really unorganised and didn't really seem like she knew what she was doing. Breakfast was decent seeing as it was free. Location was great as was right in the centre to everything you would want to do in Amsterdam.


97%

The hostel was located in a great area - right at the center and very close to the main train station. I was only there for a very short time, and so I was able to spend my time there without ever using public transportation. The staff were really friendly and helpful and the rooms were a spacious and very clean.


91%

Better than what I was expecting, the staff were extremely helpful, shouout to the Aussie chick Alex for making us feel welcome and giving us the best advice on places to go! The rooms are kept very clean, a cleaner visits every day, the bedding was really good too. Only major problem I found was our room had a fan that didn't work, and the only way to get room into our mixed dorm of 10 was 1 window that opened about 20cm, onto the busy street outside, so v noisy and hot at night.

  • 13th Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Mixed Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


97%

awesome people, great bar downstairs with a really nice free breakfast. security seemed like a big priority which for some is brilliant. Bar was hard to leave as it seemed better than most other bars around and with pints for €3.80 you can't go wrong.


91%

Lovely lovely bar downstairs with great atmosphere and discounted food and drinks for residents! Only negative I have was the unexpected deposits we were told to pay on arrival. We were given a set price over the Internet and then when we got there were told we had to pay a further 30 euros each as a deposit on the room, but other than that we had a great stay. With hostel rooms you get what you pay for really!

  • 13th Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Mixed Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi ,Cheers for your kind words.The €30 security deposits only apply to males in groups of 5 or more UK\Irish male groups.This is on our booking site and we email all those groups but with bookings like yours[female]we didn't know your group contained 5 or more males.Hope this clears things up,thanks Jim

100%

We had a wonderful night stay at Durty Nellys. The staff was welcoming and helpful and also great community of people.

  • 12th Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


94%

Met a friend there who was inter-railing and stayed for two nights. Prime location, rooms are small (strayed in a 4 bed) but did have clean ensuit. Didn't matter much because we weren't there that often. If in bigger group and staying for longer, would opt for apartment. Pub downstairs was great with discounts on food and drinks. Pub crawls started right outside it. Staff were friendliest I'd met. Would 100% stay again.


74%

The six person mixed dorm was too tight, only one person could be out of bed at one time, also the window was broken off so if you stay here you'll need earplugs because it can be loud at night. However, it's in the red light district so it's expected! The ensuite bathroom was pretty nice and everything was pretty clean. The breakfast was average, bread and toast. Overall, an okay stay. Great location!

  • 8th Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


83%

We were a stag group. They accommodated us really well and were very relaxed. It was perfect having a bar downstairs. The only downside was that one of the rooms didn't have air conditioning which on a hot weekend in July made sleeping difficult.


74%

Staff are really welcoming! Breakfast was standard but couldn't complain as it was free so that was good. But the meals from the hostel weren't great and they didn't look appetising either. Location is also really good!


89%

This was our first stop in a 4 week tour round Europe and it was brilliant. The bar was definitely a bonus, brilliant atmosphere and brilliant tunes getting played all day/night.

  • 27th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland
  • All Male Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


97%

Very convenient location near the Red Light District - stayed here previously so had to come back again! I absolutely love Nelly's.


60%

Good location. That's about it. Very crammed, no common area, aging furniture, tiny bathrooms, staff not particularly friendly. Don't understand the high reviews...

  • 25th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


« first « Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6
(116 results)


View all Amsterdam Hostels

Please give us your feedback