X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Durty Nellys Inn Reviews

Warmoesstraat 117, 1012 JA Amsterdam, Amsterdam, Netherlands

Reviews & Ratings Explained

86%

Rating
3684 Total Reviews
  • 86%Value For Money
  • 88%Security
  • 96%Location
  • 93%Staff
  • 84%Atmosphere
  • 81%Cleanliness
  • 77%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

37%

All very very bad Very small No cleaner Breckfast pesim. Only bad bread and bad coffee No recomended for anybody

  • 21st Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Spain
  • All Male Group, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi,We are sorry you didn't enjoy Nellys.Some of our rooms are on the small size due to the nature of the building as with most central Amsterdam hostels.We clean the rooms daily but as you were sleeping we didn't want to disturb you,thanks Jim

94%

We really loved it, the staff were super friendly and the location is awesome. Right in the hustle and bustle of the red light district!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks young lady.It's easy to be friendly to lovely people like yourself,cheers Jim

97%

Absolutely brilliant place, definitely going to come back and stay again. Perfect location to get out and see Amsterdam. Phenominal staff!

  • 20th Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


91%

Had a one night stay and staff were very helpful when I advised I was running late for check in. Location is great and the free breakfast was a nice touch. Only downside was opening the lockers was very loud and my bed didn't have a ladder to access the top bunk. All in all though I wish I had stayed here the full weekend. Would consider coming back.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Cheers young fella.Sorry some cheeky chap hid your ladder but hope your wish comes true and Nellys part 2 happens real soon,thanks Jim

100%

Durty Nelly's is in a great location in the Red Light District. The hostel is connected to the pub downstairs so we received discounted rates on food and drinks while staying there. The room was clean and the bathroom was updated and clean as well. No complaints!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks Girls,Glad you guys enjoyed the Nellys experience!

60%

We booked a 6 bed dorm and we were given a 4 bed dorm with an extra bunk squeezed in the corner... There was NO space for all of us and the whole situation was just irritating and awkward... There are no lifts in the hostel and the wifi kept going down which was also very annoying... The staff was quite friendly and kind to us, but I would not come back or recommend this place.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi,Sorry you were disappointed with our hostel.Rooms in Amsterdam are alot smaller than normal and most don't have lifts due to the old building types.Your room was a 6 bed[5m by 4 m ]with a large new bathroom] but compared to other cities room size can be an issue which is why our beds have underbed lockers with reading lights and power sockets for increased comfort .We have free wifi in all the building but Apple only works in bar. We appreciate your comments about our staff,cheers Jim

89%

My friends and I (all 10 of us) stayed in Durty Nelly's on our 3 day trip to Amsterdam just earlier this week and we were surprised by how amazing the location is. The ten of us had to share one shower and the wifi was sometimes weak but overall we were satisfied with the cleanliness and security of the place:) free breakfast was simple but good enough for us all! It was quite noisy at night but the beds were so comfy we slept though the noise:)

  • 13th Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Singapore
  • Mixed Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Cheers young lady

97%

9 out of 10 because the rooms are small, therefore you end up not meeting a lot of people.

  • 12th Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Spain
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


83%

Beds were extremely firm and not for tall people (6ft+) but overall it was good. Pretty typical facilities for a hostel but the doors were all locked with a keyfob lock so no worries about people picking locks. Windows were a bit sketchy but if you`re worried they offer to store smaller items in their safe for the day. Overall a good experience and reasonable price.


63%

We appreciate the friendly and cheerful staffs who were around make our stay such a wonderful experience in Amsterdam.. keep up the happy environment !


66%

The pillow smells bad and the room is very small.I think the hostel should improve the cleaness of the hostel.


77%

Centrally located. 7 minutes walk from central station. The staf was really nice, nice bed with personal bed lamp and power sockets. clean room. good free wifi. Overall nice..

  • 6th Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Indonesia
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


77%

it is good hostel with cool irish push downstairs and located at center of red light district. minor points: no social area to hospades and small room for 4 peoples. wifi works well, but is not excelent.


97%

Great stay - inexpensive and the staff were very friendly!


83%

Great located , clean and friendly hostel. The staff couldn't have been more helpful and the bar had a great atmosphere. The free breakfast is a bonus and sets you up for the whole day. The only problem was it didn't have a hostel feel as no common room and no events etc organised so don't think it's the best place for people traveling alone to make friends. However would definitely stay again


100%

I loved this Hostel! After staying elsewhere in Amsterdam, I preferred the location of this hostel. The staff were friendly and helpful from start to finish. The breakfast was great and as a 'resident' there were discounts on drinks and food throughout the day. In the rooms the bathrooms were great. They were clean bright and looked very new. On each of the beds there were USB sockets, plug sockets a shelf and a personal light. Underneath there were lockable cages with padlocks provided.


77%

The hostel is really well located, though there isn't a common area aside from the irish pub. Sure, hostel plus pub is great, but I wished there had been a quieter area where travellers could hang out.


89%

Staff are great, always cheerful and helpful. Rooms were fairly clean, shower and toilet rooms were a bit tiny though. Heater was broken the first night, let the staff know the next morning and they had it fixed the same day! Great, great staff. I think the facilities listed a laundry room but there isn't one, just a laundromat down the street. Pub had a great atmosphere. A few minutes walk from Central Station. Overall I recommend to anyone visiting Amsterdam check them out!


100%

We stayed as a group of 8 guys on the weekend of 27th March 2015. The staff were all 1st class and the hostel is in a great location to be straight out and into the action! The attached pub is the cherry on top, great atmosphere!

  • 27th Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland
  • All Male Group, 31-40
  • (1 review)


91%

Everything was okay except the fact that the hot shower stopped working when I was underway. But in overall, it's good value for money


« first « Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6
(105 results)


View all Amsterdam Hostels

Please give us your feedback