X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Durty Nellys Inn Reviews

Warmoesstraat 117, 1012 JA Amsterdam, Amsterdam, Netherlands

Reviews & Ratings Explained

86%

Rating
3600 Total Reviews
  • 85%Value For Money
  • 88%Security
  • 96%Location
  • 93%Staff
  • 84%Atmosphere
  • 79%Cleanliness
  • 77%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

80%

Horrible wifi service...no relaxed common area, the place is a bar, which at times is cool but not when you just want to relax and work on future travel plans, etc...(which you really cant do anyways with the spotty wifi) Guests get discounts on food and beer at bar...good sized lockers...incredible location (right in the red light district)...best breakfast I have come across yet in my (6 weeks, 6 hostels) eggs, breads, cheese and cold cuts, milk, juices and cereals...great staff!!


80%

the hostel is good in general. the entrance is located in the irish pub. common room, breakfast are located in the pub itself. the staff is friendly and helpful. lockers are provided and have plenty of space. the shower is ok, not the cleanest i have seen. but acceptable and ok for amsterdam standards.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for your input.Appreciated.

100%

Perfect location, friendly staff, comfy beds, above a lovely pub with nice food. Rooms are a bit small but all of the above make up for it. Will 100% stay again

  • 20th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • All Female Group, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
A great bunch of gals.We look forward to part 2

100%

Great hostel, very helpful and knowledgable staff! Great value for money!

  • 18th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Mixed Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Cheers ,We love that you enjoyed the Nelly experience

100%

You were wonderful, guys! very kind, pleasant and funny, thanks a lot ! I had a wonderful time thanks to you !

  • 16th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Mixed Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
We really appreciate your comments,Cheers Jim

91%

We stayed in the apartment which was adjacent the hostel and it was excellent!

  • 16th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Cheers ladies

91%

Doesn't really have a common area, only the bar, but it had great atmosphere. Staff were really helpful and in an awesome location.


100%

I love this hostel! everything is perfect! the staff are really really nice, they help you with everything, the rooms are very clean and very confortable, excellent location!!! definetely I will come back! 100 % recommeded!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Cheers young man.Guests like you leave a smile on our faces.

94%

We spent the weekend in Amsterdam and when we arrived Jim told us that our room was not useable due to a guest going crazy and destroying it. He calmly said he got us an apartment for the weekend. He went above and beyond the average customer service, giving us his number in case we needed anything. He made us feel so welcomed in the city, He was a great resource for us while we were there; any questions, we found him. Nelly's is in a perfect location and I would definitely recommend it!

  • 13th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey ladies,Thanks for your understanding and kind words,All the best,Jim

91%

Totally enjoyed my stay,room was clean and there was not too much noise considering the pub downstairs where you can meet other travellers anyway.Location is absolutely excellent,just in the middle od everything, very easy to find once you arrive to central station.Would definitely stay in Nelly's again ;-)


100%

This was my second time staying in Durty Nellys and it was brilliant as always. Staff are exceptional and the location is perfect. 10/10 would recommend :)

  • 8th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


71%

The room and the bathroom were too small. But the staff were really helpful.


94%

The hostel's location is great, which is close to the red light district and the central station. Also, there are plenty of bars, restaurants and stores nearby. The staff are friendly and always willing to help. The most important thing is the price, which is reasonable and inexpensive. Great for budget travelers!


91%

Great hostel in the best location. Awesome and knowledgeable staff. Comfortable room. The only criticism I'd have is that it is impossible to take a shower in room 7 without flooding the entire bathroom.

  • 2nd Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Austria
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


94%

A proper Irish Pub with free breakfast in the heart of Amsterdam is a plus. Great staff and atmosphere often follow but Alix was simply great. Almost every bed has a personal shelf with light and electricity plug. I particularly appreciated my usb-doors. Unfortunately my luggage was too big to fit the underbed locker. Rooms are a little small toilets and showers are separated, which helps reducing the morning jams. Ah, you can't beat the location.Old Church is literally around the corner!


80%

The hostel was in an excellent location, the breakfast was good, and the staff was very helpful. The only real complaint I have is that our room was very cramped. 6 beds was too much for this little room.


97%

really enjoyed my stay! staff was always helpful, the bar downstairs quite nice, not too noisy, clean, large rooms, good lockers. didn't realize that my hostel was in RLD, but thats what i get for such a cheap price! definitely worth it.


74%

Although the hostel is above a bar it's still very quiet at night. Rooms have ensuite bathrooms and there were no shared toilets on our floor. This can be an issue in the morning when ppl are having showers/ getting ready. You have to use the bar toilets which are a fair way away and a little embarrassing if u are wearing ur pjs. Location is fantastic as is the free breakfast.


97%

The hostel is located perfectly, very short work from Centraal station, in the red light district and between 5-20 minutes of all other POI's. Staff is cheerful, friendly and really helpful. Good use of security for guests seeing as the Irish bar downstairs stays open late for all customers. The bar itself has a great size and layout with good value on food and drinks (and extra deals for hostel guests). Rooms are comfortable, clean and don't get any noise from outside. Highly recommend staying

  • 23rd Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


94%

Right in the Middle of the Red Light District, a quick walk from Central Station, Chinatown, NiewMarkt, Jordan and all main Churches. Less than 2 minutes away from the DAM. Basically you can walk to everywhere you want to. Free (basic) breakfast, electronic keys for your room, private shelf and electricity, indoor toilets and showers. Very helpful staff. Minuses? Steep and small stairs, very (very!) small rooms, wi-fi can be an issue and being it primarily a pub there is no proper common area.


« first « Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6
(102 results)


View all Amsterdam Hostels

Please give us your feedback