X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Durty Nellys Inn Reviews

Warmoesstraat 117, 1012 JA Amsterdam, Amsterdam, Netherlands

Reviews & Ratings Explained

85%

Rating
3853 Total Reviews
  • 80%Value For Money
  • 87%Security
  • 96%Location
  • 93%Staff
  • 82%Atmosphere
  • 79%Cleanliness
  • 76%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

100%

Highly recommended !! It's non smoking so has a Great bar atmosphere, cheap drinks, clean facilities and very helpful staff. It's right in the heart of the red light district. Short walk from central train station. Defintely do again next time I'm in Amsterdam.

  • 23rd Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


97%

It's a pub with a hostel above, if you are looking for a place calm and quiet this place is not for you! The good party atmosphere, the pub, the Amstel Pint, the nachos with cheese and chilli are some very good things that you should try! The staffs are very good persons and easygoing, was singing and very quick to serve! The hostel is located in 10min from Centraal Station, near the Red Light District, Coffee Shops. Very good location! It's a good place to "warm up" before a night tour.


94%

great hostel. 1 bathroom per room, clean, free breakfast, near the centre city, you don't need take any bus or rail-train. only 5 min from Amsterdam Centraal Station. Also they run a pub so you get discount there. enjoy your stay.


91%

Amsterdam is not the best city in the world as far as hostels go, so considering, I think Durty Nelly's is a great place and would definitely stay there again. Rooms are understandably cramped (space is at a premium) but you won't be spending much time there - there is a great bar literally downstairs. Definitely a hostel for outgoing people who don't mind to party, although I'm sure if you weren't keen on the whole party scene you could avoid it pretty easily. Thanks for the stay!


83%

Staff were very welcoming- very flexible about when you can arrive or leave. Bar was lots of fun with discounts. Location is AMAZING, you couldn't be closer to it all. Would recommend.

  • 12th Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Mixed Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


77%

Was great but would be better if there was a common room other than the bar

  • 10th Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi,You'll be glad to know we've summited plans for a common room to the council so once it's approved[fingers crossed]we'll begin,thanks Jim

91%

Durty Nellys inn is located in the perfect spot! Super close to central station, red light district, short walk to museums! The free breakfast was pretty good ham, cheese, toast, cereal and hard boiled eggs can't complain about that : ) staff was super friendly and helpful! Only downside was the rooms were small and got super hot (it's August) and there was only one shower per room and they were small and a little smelly but not awful! For 3 girls it just wasn't ideal! But we had a great time!


91%

A warm welcome. Staff very helpful. Breakfast included, brilliant. Walking distance from Central Station. Right in the heart of the city. Beds comfortable and dorms clean. Stayed here years ago standard has remained high. Nice big bar, good atmosphere at night.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for returning and your kind words,Cheers Jim

69%

This hostel is fine. It seemed a bit expensive for what you get, but that's probably true for ALL Amsterdam hostels. The 10-bed dorm has only one shower, which could be a problem. I have a very new macbook Pro, and the wifi didn't work AT ALL. No wifi, anywhere in the hostel or bar. I don't know why. Apple users, be warned. The hostel is on a busy street, which is super loud during the night and trashed in the morning. Next time I'll probably stay a bit farther outside the city center.

  • 9th Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi,We're working hard with the Apple guys to ensure it works in all the building.Android works everywhere so we hope they can figure it out,thanks Jim

83%

Pros: Jim and his staff are amazing and are certainly there for you and are able to make great suggestions about where to go and what to do. The hostel itself is safe and its close to every attraction that you can think of - about a 5-20 minute walk to just about anywhere. Simple breakfast included. Cons: the hostel is about two streets west of the Red Light District and a busy party area so dont plan on sleeping before 3am. Internet is spotty at best regardless of what room you're in.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Cheers young lady.

94%

Liked it. Place was clean, owner was really nice, staff friendly. Breakfast included cereal, ham and cheese sandwich stuff which was great. Not overly loud at night considering the location, which by the way is great. Right in the middle of it all.


46%

The room was very small, I could touch the person I slept next to. Walking into a pub was intimidating and the breakfast was very basic for such a high price per night- the most expensive hostel we stayed at. The staff were friendly however. It is located very near the Red Light District so it depends if you are ok with that.


60%

Hostel was fine, location great and beds comfortable However upon arrival we had to pay extra 40 euros each for deposit due to their policy for a group of 5 UK males or more have to pay an additional deposit. I am dutch and I made the booking so they assumed we were all dutch, which was not the case but should not be our responsibility to tell them. We just cycled 210 miles and to arrive to what is essentially racial discrimination is very very dissapointing and left a sour taste in our mouths.

  • 2nd Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi,Glad you enjoyed our comfortable beds.Regarding our UK\Irish male group policy this is clearly stated on our site.I'm Irish myself but without this policy [which works to ensure these groups behave and don't disrupt other guests stay] and it wouldn't be possible to prevent the behaviour that a lot of these groups engage in.Most other Amsterdam hostels refuse this group type based on reality not race etc and to be honest most accept the need for it including your group,thanks Jim

89%

Great location and excellent staffs! The toilet and the shower in the dorm however, smelled a little. The dorm was small, but hey if you're staying in the red light district to have a great time, you wouldn't care about the size of the dorm too much. Overall, it's a very fun and friendly environment. They offer pub crawls, which is a great way to meet people too!


83%

It was a good hostel. Some things could have been improved but I know that amsterdam has a limited aunt of space so they make do.

  • 29th Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Venezuela
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

Thanks a lot for the stay, really enjoyable, and right in the centre of Amsterdam. The discounts on food and drink were a huge bonus, would definitely recommend the Inn.

  • 26th Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


91%

Great hostel! Highly recommend. Rooms were very clean and quite nice, the staff were lovely and very friendly and helpful. Free breakfast is always great too. The bar has cheap drinks and meals for hostel guests too which was very good for a traveler on a budget. The location was perfect too, close to central station and on the edge of red light district. I cant fault it.


83%

A reasonable hostel with good bar deals for guests. Be warned this hostel is above a bar, and it does not have a common room, so is not one for meeting travellers. As a place to stay with a friend it is quiet decent, apart form the annoying Irish music at breakfast.


74%

i stayed there only one night n found the place quite nice. the bar is full of pple n fun atmosphere but maybe a bit too much drunks... staff was very friendly n helpful. but i found rooms very small(6 pple dorm) and they shud really think abt arranging them with males/females only as it's a bit uncomfortable to sleep with 5 guys in one room....also i didnt find any towels...which cud b very useful. bfast was quite poor-only boiled eggs,bread and cheese plus tea/coffee.

  • 26th Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Russia
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


83%

Breakfast could be better

  • 25th Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • saracat8
  • England
  • Mixed Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


« first « Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6
(116 results)


View all Amsterdam Hostels

Please give us your feedback