X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Durty Nellys Inn Reviews

Warmoesstraat 117, 1012 JA Amsterdam, Amsterdam, Netherlands

Reviews & Ratings Explained

85%

Rating
3546 Total Reviews
  • 82%Value For Money
  • 87%Security
  • 96%Location
  • 92%Staff
  • 83%Atmosphere
  • 78%Cleanliness
  • 75%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

74%

Although the hostel is above a bar it's still very quiet at night. Rooms have ensuite bathrooms and there were no shared toilets on our floor. This can be an issue in the morning when ppl are having showers/ getting ready. You have to use the bar toilets which are a fair way away and a little embarrassing if u are wearing ur pjs. Location is fantastic as is the free breakfast.


83%

Perfect location, friendly and helpful staff, good price - Breakfast could be better. The dorm which i stayed was really small. There was no space to move.


77%

A little bit cramped but a nice hostel. As it was so cold it was really nice to have a nice warm dorm room. But, at night it almost got too stuffy. The front desk staff were really nice and informed me of the different attractions for the day! (The Dutch guy on reception was super cute!) The breakfast is basic but if you can get there early as if you get there at about 10 most of the stuff will be gone. I often had to ask for spare cutlery which was a bit annoying!


91%

Easily the best hostel I have ever stayed in. Massive individual lockers, electronic room keys - very secure. Right in the middle of Amsterdam aswell so everything is close by. The breakfast is good enough on a budget, Facilities were brilliant, clean rooms and really comfy beds. Its not so much of a party hostel but you could easily have a good time if you wanted to. The best bit is a couple of the bartenders and the Dutch guy are hot! Definitely recommend Durty Nellys to anyone.

  • 19th Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


91%

A great hostel with friendly staff. The room was clean and warm, which is comfortable in january. The irish pub is perfect to enjoy the evening before going to bed. We definitely would recommend it to everyone.

  • 19th Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Switzerland
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


71%

It was an average experience. There was little encouragement for guests to interact and most just did their own thing. The door also slams shut. Every time that someone would come in or out of the room I would wake up.

  • 18th Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


94%

It was a wonderful hostel . You should definitely stay here if you come to amsterdam . Location and security were perfect and the staff was very kind.


83%

its in an irish pub near the red light district. definitely a party hostel. not good if you want to sleep. perfect for groups looking to have a good time in Amsterdam.

  • 16th Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


74%

Nice staff. Rooms were a bit cramped though. Pub downstairs is a nice added bonus


86%

Best hostess ever! No one has been sweeter in all my travels. Nice atmosphere for those who like Irish pubs. Too bad you can't get high inside, though.


74%

It's a well located hostel (next to Red Light District and Central Station) and also has a friendly staff, but its rooms aren't so good. My room were too tiny for 6 persons and also had a bathroom inside. So, you can imagine there wasn't enough space to stay in. Bathroom is also too tiny, leading to an almost non-possible shower in it. For their price, rooms should be better.


97%

Rooms are VERY small...couldn't barely fit with my own lugagge!!! The place is very noisy with load of drunk people walking on the street til' late night and early morning lots of trucks carrying the litter away. Couldn't sleep properly all 4 nights..breakfast is very bad as well. Although, staff is friendly and locations is close to Centraal station.


89%

Nice staff who was very helpful, and It had a great location. Would definetly recommend it.

  • 2nd Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Sweden
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


94%

Rooms are a bit small but fine for a few days. We had a private 4 ppl room and bathroom was clean and ok to use. Location is excellent. The staff is also great, everyone is helpfull and tries to make you feel at home. You can get free breakfast in the morning, you can "rent" a hair dryer and you can get great ribs in the pub. Also, there's a little bench in the front for smokers - nice. Would def. recommend for a safe base to explore Amsterdam. Thanx :)

  • 28th Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • NikaG
  • Croatia
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)


83%

The staff are really kind

  • 25th Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


71%

The staff did everything to make customers happy and I appreciated it. But the roommates of 10-bed-shared were too loud and impolite so I could only slept 4 hours per day

  • 22nd Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Vietnam
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi,Thanks for your kind comments.At Nellys we try our best to ensure guests take care not to disturb roommates but we do need our reception to be notified so we can take action,cheers Jim

94%

Myself and 5 friends came to visit amsterdam before Christmas. Upon our arrival we were upgraded to Durty Nellys apartment. This was a great space, own kitchen and lounge. I would definitely recommend. Only down side was done of the rooms were slightly noisy from the streets below, but that was to be expected.

  • 15th Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Wales
  • Mixed Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


97%

Very nice staff, especially Alex from Australia, made our visit a lot more fun than it would have been without her.

  • 15th Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Sweden
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


97%

Excellent hostel, very good location, staff and atmosphere


94%

Few hairs on the beds but that's easily sorted with a shake of the sheets, perfect location for youngsters who want to enjoy themselves everything within walking distance great pub grub cheap drinks if staying in hotel, rooms bit small but only need a bed and shower while staying in Amsterdam so much to do there

  • 11th Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • All Male Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


« first « Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6
(106 results)


View all Amsterdam Hostels

Please give us your feedback