Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Dury House Backpackers

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
7.2
Very Good 124 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.4
  • Security 7.9
  • Location 7.6
  • Staff 8.1
  • Atmosphere 6.9
  • Cleanliness 6.4
  • Facilities 6.0
BOOK NOW
7.2
Very Good 124 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.4
  • Security 7.9
  • Location 7.6
  • Staff 8.1
  • Atmosphere 6.9
  • Cleanliness 6.4
  • Facilities 6.0
Dury House Backpackers Located at 48A Darlinghurst Rd Kings Cross NSW, , Sydney.
Dury House Backpackers
Australia
Sydney New South Wales 2011 48A Darlinghurst Rd Kings Cross NSW
72% 124
-33.8746022 151.2230300
Dury House Backpackers
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
12th Oct 2016
3.1

It was so dirty, I found a needle in my bedding. The kitchen isn't a proper kitchen, it's a makeshift stove. Its so cramped and smelly. We weren't even there for 30 minutes until we checked out and got our money back. Staff were very understanding. It wasn't his fault but it's almost as if he knew how bad it was as he didn't even ask why we wanted our money back. I wouldn't recommend this to anyone. Even if you're on a tight budget. There's better for the same price.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • France, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
10th Oct 2016
6.0

++ Location, easy access from metro station Store/Food, lots of options around Staff helpful and polite -- Cleaning of room, everyday it's swept and mop but never under the bed... Bathroom are dirty, not real attention to improve it Internet is free, but limited >> We move after 5 long nights to somewhere with unlimited and better cleaning of facilities

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Switzerland, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
1st Oct 2016
7.1

Room and the bathroom (ensuite!) are cleaned every day (though not thoroughly) the feeling of cleanliness will depend very much on how tidy your roommates are, and the lighting being a bit dim and the tiles on the floor cracked does make it feel dirtier than it actually is. Free rice and toast, can save a lot on food expenses. Wifi capped at 200 MB, quite low. Right in front of Kng Cross station, pretty cool, though the area may be a bit sketchy for some. Can get VERY loud at night on weekends.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
20th Sep 2016
9.4

Great hostel, Met some nice people here. Bedding etc is all multicoloured and rooms are painted brightly which I loved. Very friendly staff. Kitchen seems to be open all night which is cool, I guess it's because you don't get that enjoying bunch with the portable boom boxes that think the party is at wherever they go. This is also one of the cheapest hostels, but it's only because it's older and every room is not the same. It's a place of character.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • South Korea, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
12th Sep 2016
8.9

They offer free bread, jams and rices for free 24 hours and staff are so friendly. Since it's in the middle of city, you can easily get access to everything that you might need.(e.g. bank, restaurants, Mcdonald, train station, bus stop etc.). But what really makes your stay happy or not depends on who you will be with, which is beyond the control of hostel and yours. As for me, I've met a lot of nice and cool guys from different part of the world and had a nice experience with them.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • jmlauro
  • Argentina, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
10th Sep 2016
8.0

The price is really good for Sydney, more if you consider the location and the facilities (free bread, rice, tea, coffe, etc). It s a place to stay longer, and it s not a party hostel. You will meet really good people tho.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
9th Sep 2016
8.6

Great location, great staff, not much of a social atmosphere due to small kitchen/ seating area. But for the price was pretty happy. Wifi wasnt great.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Taiwan, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
9th Jul 2016
9.1

Great time! Nice people! Very friendly staff! Thank you for my time at Dury House!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Taiwan, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
24th Jun 2016
8.6

Had a great time! If you are looking for a cheap hostel with good atmosphere! People were nice and also the staff! Really liked it!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.