Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Dury House Backpackers

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
6.2
Good 144 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 6.0
  • Security 6.7
  • Location 7.4
  • Staff 7.4
  • Atmosphere 6.4
  • Cleanliness 5.1
  • Facilities 4.6
BOOK NOW
6.2
Good 144 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 6.0
  • Security 6.7
  • Location 7.4
  • Staff 7.4
  • Atmosphere 6.4
  • Cleanliness 5.1
  • Facilities 4.6

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
26th Feb 2017
2.9

Terrible hostel, super dirty and disused. Rooms very warm over a busy noisy street. Kitchen very unfurnished and dirty. Always smelly Completely NOT recommended

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
10th Feb 2017
2.6

pretty awful, had 2 nights here. The keys don't work in the doors, had to wait ages to be let in by someone, it's dirty, no sheets on the beds, The location is good if you want strip clubs and a party all night. Loud all night. The managers don't look happy. Possibly THE worst hostel I've stayed in .

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • DanielJopp
  • England, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
3rd Feb 2017
8.9

Great hostel. Everyone was so warm and friendly to us and the owner is a very nice guy. We had an 8 bed room and the room was spacious. The shower and toilet facilities were nice and clean. Kitchen is a bit small and can get messy and the wifi only reaches to a certain point. If you're on the top two floors the wifi won't reach. No air con, but the gentleman who owns the hostel was more than happy to replace our fan when broken. Overall best hostel we've stayed at and very affordable at $25 p/n.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • kaochingwen
  • Taiwan, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
1st Jan 2017
4.3

The location is perfect,it's hard to find a hostel in such a cheap price in the centre, but the quality is very bad, it could be the worst hostel I've ever stayed.The kitchen is not even a kitchen, apparently they just put some cooking utensils in the part of living room, moreover, ppl usually stay there for long time(some of them are not very respectful) so the room is full of their stuffs,the hostel is located in red light district, it's very noisy every single night.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
1st Jan 2017
2.9

Very dirty, very hot in the rooms and the mattress were very uncomfortable. Don't recommend!

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
31st Dec 2016
6.3

Kings cross station, great location. Kitchen wasn't great, not many things to cook or eat with and always dirty dishes in the sink, but at least it never closed. The room had good amount of space, but people kept walking through it, to be honest there are better hostels for same price, I just came because NYE everything else was booked.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
29th Dec 2016
8.9

Dury House had the necessities a backpacker nerds such as a place to stay, some wifi, a kitchen, a bed to sleep on and bathroom. The kitchen usually has bread stocked with peanut butter, butter, as well as some tea and coffee. While conditions weren't luxurious, it was truly the people and Charlie who made the stay amazing. Charlie is so welcoming with open arms and the people staying there have created such a warm hearted and trusting atmosphere. I'd go back if I return to Sydney.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
12th Oct 2016
3.1

It was so dirty, I found a needle in my bedding. The kitchen isn't a proper kitchen, it's a makeshift stove. Its so cramped and smelly. We weren't even there for 30 minutes until we checked out and got our money back. Staff were very understanding. It wasn't his fault but it's almost as if he knew how bad it was as he didn't even ask why we wanted our money back. I wouldn't recommend this to anyone. Even if you're on a tight budget. There's better for the same price.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • France, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
10th Oct 2016
6.0

++ Location, easy access from metro station Store/Food, lots of options around Staff helpful and polite -- Cleaning of room, everyday it's swept and mop but never under the bed... Bathroom are dirty, not real attention to improve it Internet is free, but limited >> We move after 5 long nights to somewhere with unlimited and better cleaning of facilities

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
1st Oct 2016
7.1

Room and the bathroom (ensuite!) are cleaned every day (though not thoroughly) the feeling of cleanliness will depend very much on how tidy your roommates are, and the lighting being a bit dim and the tiles on the floor cracked does make it feel dirtier than it actually is. Free rice and toast, can save a lot on food expenses. Wifi capped at 200 MB, quite low. Right in front of Kng Cross station, pretty cool, though the area may be a bit sketchy for some. Can get VERY loud at night on weekends.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.