X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Dusky Lodge Reviews

67 Beach Rd, Kaikoura, New Zealand

Reviews & Ratings Explained

83%

Rating
154 Total Reviews
  • 87%Value For Money
  • 80%Security
  • 81%Location
  • 89%Staff
  • 81%Atmosphere
  • 81%Cleanliness
  • 86%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

97%

very friendly staff and place, sauna and spa excellent, will come back

  • 24th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


74%

Nice hostel, rooms were spacious and clean. Only downside was the en suite bathroom smelt really damp and as soon as someone had a shower whole floor was really wet.


71%

Good value for the money, we were there for the whale watching the accommodation was fine for a short stay

  • 14th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Couple, 41+
  • (1 review)


54%

Really awful mattresses..so thin I woke up with a stiff back. Really noisy from corridor doors that shudder when left to shut by themselves.WiFi is extra..not what I expect from a backpacker hostel

  • 8th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


83%

We really enjoyed our stay. The only thing was the very noisy fan in the bathroom. If your neighbours use their bathroom light, the fan is on in your own bedroom.

  • 6th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)


91%

This is a big hostel with lots of good facilities. We had a double room which was fine but it is on the road side of the building so is pretty noisy as traffic goes by and it is a busy road. The wifi was good but it is annoying that you have to pay extra for it. Its a decent location which isn't too far from the town centre.


80%

Lovely atmosphere, a bit noisy though but we had a good time.

  • 25th Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


94%

I only stayed for one night. The staff is nice and helpful. The Hostel is also close to New World supermarket (5 min).


80%

The hostel is so nice


86%

This was a lovely hostel, and our room was great. As it was a big hostel it did have 3 kitchens which was good as it meant that lots of people could cook at the same time, although it did mean that the atmosphere wasn't ad good as at some other hostels we've stayed in. The location was a bit out of the main town (walking distance but a bit of a long walk), the staff were friendly and we'd stay here again if we were ever in Kaikoura again.


83%

Big, nice and sturdy hotel with spa and pool for free, a bit far from the city though.


86%

Friendly staff who gave a great recommendation for fish and chips. Room was clean and location was not bad especially if you have car. Plenty of street parking. Bakery next door was convenient for breakfast.


89%

Thanks for t wonderful stay here,nxt time in back there for a holiday ile stay back there :-)

  • 13th Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


94%

very nice place to stay at good rooms the mattresses could be a little bit on the thicker side as we could feel the bars underneath us other than that it was great

  • 7th Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)


89%

Great hostel, average location.


71%

Lock on room door only a basic push button with no security chain. Could not leave window open at all at night as ground floor & close to street- no security fastenings on window. Staff were friendly & helpful. Room was clean. Bedding was ok. Room area was not noisy at night. If it had been really hot, room would have been very stuffy with no ventilation. Did have decent fire alarm system.

  • 2nd Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


80%

Location a bit far from town center, but close to a nice cafe. Slamming doors. There is large pool, if you have the time to use it and if the weather is warm enough.


83%

The Irish receptionist was very helpful and went the extra mile.

  • 28th Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


91%

very welcoming and helpful staff. rooms clean and spacious. Very good location, walking distance to everything in Kaikoura. Would recommend and will hopefully stay again soon!


100%

Really enjoyed staying at this hostel! Lots of different places to hang out, multiple kitchens and they even upgraded our room to a private one! Bathrooms were okay, but to be expected at a hostel! Would stay again! :)


« first « Prev 1 2
(36 results)


View all Kaikoura Hostels

Please give us your feedback