X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Dusky Lodge Reviews

67 Beach Rd, Kaikoura, New Zealand

Reviews & Ratings Explained

85%

Rating
131 Total Reviews
  • 89%Value For Money
  • 81%Security
  • 82%Location
  • 90%Staff
  • 82%Atmosphere
  • 83%Cleanliness
  • 87%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

80%

The hostel is so nice


89%

Thanks for t wonderful stay here,nxt time in back there for a holiday ile stay back there :-)

  • 13th Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


94%

very nice place to stay at good rooms the mattresses could be a little bit on the thicker side as we could feel the bars underneath us other than that it was great

  • 7th Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)


89%

Great hostel, average location.


71%

Lock on room door only a basic push button with no security chain. Could not leave window open at all at night as ground floor & close to street- no security fastenings on window. Staff were friendly & helpful. Room was clean. Bedding was ok. Room area was not noisy at night. If it had been really hot, room would have been very stuffy with no ventilation. Did have decent fire alarm system.

  • 2nd Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


80%

Location a bit far from town center, but close to a nice cafe. Slamming doors. There is large pool, if you have the time to use it and if the weather is warm enough.


83%

The Irish receptionist was very helpful and went the extra mile.

  • 28th Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


91%

very welcoming and helpful staff. rooms clean and spacious. Very good location, walking distance to everything in Kaikoura. Would recommend and will hopefully stay again soon!


100%

Really enjoyed staying at this hostel! Lots of different places to hang out, multiple kitchens and they even upgraded our room to a private one! Bathrooms were okay, but to be expected at a hostel! Would stay again! :)


80%

We had a very comfortable stay :)

  • 13th Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


80%

A bit too "party" place but overall ok stay for very good price. Rooms are quite small, with no lockers or cupboard, but each room has a heater. There are 3 kitchens/common rooms of which one is opened 24 hours (rooms next to it can get noisy in the night). Sauna is great, pool also, however water in hot tub was too dirty so we decided not to use it. Staff superb, no problem to change our room after first night. Wifi paid, $4 for 24h access. Bathroom and overall cleanliness average.


77%

Great staff very helpful, good location, Kaikoura is a lovely own recommend whale watching! Kitchen isn't the best but enough to make a meal, swimming and hot tub were great too


97%

We really enjoyed our stay there!! Great stuff and a good location. The warm pool and hot spa was so nice and there were 3 kitchens and other great facilities. We had an upgrade from a 8 bed room to a 4 bed room. The only thing i would improve are more cups in the kitchen :) We recommend this hostel!


80%

nice pool and hot pool, quiet when I was there so the only thing it lacked was a bit of atmosphere!


89%

It is a fun clean hostel with pool, sauna and hot tub.

  • 24th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


89%

Good hostel, private rooms a good price. Has everything you need including a spa pool.


94%

Very nice, very relaxed. Pool, Sauna + Yakuzi were also very nice.

  • 13th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Austria
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


71%

friendly staffs, good location, easy access to tourist spots; chilly rooms when heater is off (timer set), it might be of us who are originally from a warm and humid Asia country

  • 12th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Malaysia
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


94%

Great place and great staff, with 2 kitchens and the sauna / spa / pool, it can't get much better!


100%

Hi had a awesome staf at the hostel. With a warm welcome and a free upgrade. I don't usually stay in hostels, but I would def come back and staf at this one. cheers

  • 4th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


« first « Prev 1 2
(25 results)


View all Kaikoura Hostels

Please give us your feedback