X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

East Side Hostel Reviews

Jókai utca 38. I/2, Budapest, Hungary

Reviews & Ratings Explained

78%

Rating
575 Total Reviews
  • 83%Value For Money
  • 75%Security
  • 88%Location
  • 81%Staff
  • 74%Atmosphere
  • 71%Cleanliness
  • 74%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

77%

We booked a 4 bed apartment. We got to the hostel and were moved to an apartment elsewhere in the city. The apartment was in good condition and very good value for money, a little walk into town was not really a problem.


80%

We stayed in the 5 pbed apartment. no hot water, and the place was a bit dirty (black body hair left on the beds from previous tenants, bathroom was grimey). It was a cheap place to sleep though. Staff were very nice. Location was right next to a cafe and bar strip.

  • 18th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Mixed Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


43%

It was an apartment, not hostel. The bedroom was supposed to have bed for 3 people, but it had a bed for 2 people and a mattress on the floor. Owner slept on the couch while letting us use the bedroom. Whenever we returned to the hostel at night, we were very disturbed to find him sleeping on the couch half naked, with just the blanket to cover himself. No locks on the bedroom or toilet door, either. Wouldn't recommend this place. At all.


69%

This is NOT a hostel, and the name is very misleading. They have several apartments throughout Budapest. By the way, the flat was nice, spacious and very cheap. The guys that run it are friendly. Recommended for groups of people looking for private apartments at cheap price.


63%

Stayed during our time at sziget fest. All reviews we read before our trip about this hostel were about the hostel...not the completely separate apartment we were taken to. + in a secure complex + large apartment to be shared with one other room (though has apartment to ourselves for most of trip) + washing machine, kitchen cooker -would have felt unsafe if alone -furniture was old, ripped sofas, smelly pillows, no kettle/toaster -no lock on bedroom -no wifi!! When text owner about it, no reply.

  • 10th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)


86%

This was a brilliant hostel to stay in and contributed to my new found love of Budapest. We had a private room and thus felt had a little more security, the facilities were basic but good well maintained. Bathroom could do with a good clean a little more frequently but other than that it was perfect. George and Milan were top guys, location was brilliant. Very close to bars restaurants and walking distance to all major attractions and public transport stops for the lazy folk.


63%

On arrival we were taken to an appartment 2 tram stops away from the hostel address

  • 4th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Mixed Group, 41+
  • (1 review)


77%

Definitely worth the money, it was a really nice apartment. Only 'problem' was that our apartment was still a 15min walk from the original address of the hostel. It would've been nice if they could have warned us about this. Otherwise flawless.

  • 29th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Belgium
  • Couple, 18-24
  • (1 review)


80%

May be its a good idea to let people know that they will be accommodated in a house rather than a dorm if its done on a permanent basis. For a group of 5, staying in a house near to the city center was a very pleasant experience. Well worth the money and a very friendly staff too !


100%

We had a great time at East Side Hostel. We got an apartment, the location was perfect, and the place itself was really nice, clean and sunny, well-equipped, and furnished with Ikea.The staff was really kind and helpful, available 24/7, happily helping even with all our requests. I couldn't be more satisfied, everything was perfect, and we got more than we paid for, real value for our money. We definitely recommend this place.

  • 27th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Mixed Group, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

hostel is a centered nice place... rooms could be better but they are OK... But apart from that... Hostel Staff. Alexandra... she is such a perfect, nice person with extraordinary story... Meeting her was the best part of staying in this hostel...

  • 26th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Turkey
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


86%

We love East Side Hostel :) Firstly location is perfect. Staffs are very kind and thoughtful. If l will go to Budapest future, l can stay this hostel again.

  • 24th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Turkey
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


83%

I would call it an apartment with some bunk beds in it, rather than a hostel. The facilities are clean. Location is a little far out, but it's right next to a metro station, train station and tram stop - so it's easy to get into town. As there are only a couple of rooms, it's a pretty sociable place. Unusual set-up, but I really enjoyed my stay. Great value for money!!


37%

The entire apartment smelled like cigarette smoke. We had to choose between being overheated but being able to breathe or opening a window and choking on smoke. One bathroom for 12 people, cockroaches in our room, sheets were dirty, food on the stove stayed there for 2 full days (no one cleaned it up). In addition, the staff member was not professional- slept in the shared dorm room with guests and walked around half-naked. Positive: Location was good - we were able to walk everywhere.


43%

we were put up in an apartment which is away from the actual hostel. there is no one around to ask for any sort of help. no sheets provided for first night. the apartment was dirty. the shower door was totally broken and there was water logging problem in shower.

  • 18th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • India
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


63%

Was not aware that the private room of the hostel was going to be on the other side of the city. Also was not aware that there would not be wifi available in the private, since it was separate from the main part of the hostel. Though for a private apartment, it was a good value.


94%

Helpful and friendly hosts, great location


74%

We were transfered to an apartment perfectly located and very confortable but it was very dirty and it didnt have internet or toilet paper. Nevertheless, the apartment was huge and great foe he money we paid.

  • 15th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Spain
  • Mixed Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

The best host ever and a incredible apartment completly new. Nothing bad to say about it


94%

The place was really nice and the people who attended us too, they were really friendly and they help us a lot with everything we needed. I really recommend it !

  • 13th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Spain
  • Mixed Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


« first « Prev 1 2
(25 results)


View all Budapest Hostels

Please give us your feedback