X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Eastwest Guesthouse Reviews

Istiklal Avenue, Eski Cicekci Street, N: 20 Beyogl, Istanbul, Istanbul, Turkey

Reviews & Ratings Explained

88%

Rating
204 Total Reviews
  • 85%Value For Money
  • 88%Security
  • 90%Location
  • 92%Staff
  • 85%Atmosphere
  • 91%Cleanliness
  • 84%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

54%

I liked the place in general, but I found it in a dangerous street, moreover at night if you are alone. On the other hand I didn´t feel really welcome by the staff nor that peope were specially friendly. Was an average place, where you can sleep for couple of nights close to the city center.

Owner Comment (Hide)
First of all, thank you so much for your comment. We're sorry for making you felt insecured because of the condition of the street. We've already requested improving the street lighting from the municipality. We hope to have an oppurtunity to accommodate you again and compensate the things you complained about. See you again!

100%

Comfortable and clean hostel! It is in the middle of Istiklal Avenue, close to everywhere. Even breakfast included to the price! Thank you each one of this amazing friendly stuff, hope to see you again on another trip:) I suggest this hostel to everyone!

  • 6th Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Spain
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


89%

Great location, helpful staff, overall great value for money!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Was a pleasure hosting you, hope to see you again, have a great day : )

86%

We stayed in a room at the 5th floor. And the rounded stairs were terrible. But the kitchen was very nice, the guy in the reception was very helpful and the location was ok (10min walk from a tram station). The bedroom was nice, and also the bathroom.


89%

It was nice just more expensive for the same quality and accommodations as nearby hostels.

Owner Comment (Hide)
It was nice meeting you, hope to host you again : )

100%

T staff was very friendly and helpful, wifi was very good. I liked the location of the hostel which is situated on the best place of taksim several meters away from istiklal street with a lot of bars, restaurants and brand shops also the tram station and metro station were pretty close. The breakfast was a real delicious turkish breakfast which was more than enough for one person I booked the hostel for 1 day but decided to stay longer because overall the impression was excellent!

  • 6th Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


97%

Nothing to complain about the location, so hide out but just a few steps away from literaly everything. Free budget Breakfast , overly helpful staff with perfect culture, nightlife event tips. Of course there were some mini problems, but took a few seconds for them to solve it. I can't complain at all

  • 8th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Russia
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

İt was a great expeience to be in the eastwest hostel, i liked everything, especially it's location.When i go back to istanbul, i will definitely stay there again

  • 29th Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


91%

Small place without much of a common area. If you're looking for a comfortable place to stay in a good location but not spend too much time in the hostel, this is it. Very clean beds and rooms, friendly staff, simple breakfast, and good location. Showers were a little weird and the wifi was very slow during waking hours, but what hostel actually has good wifi?


100%

Thanks, Eastwest I pased wery nice holiday Thanks, evrybady

  • 7th Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ukraine
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


100%

Very nice place clean stuff close to metro station and grand bazar also very nice and kind workers ı will come again and will stay here again for sure thanks

  • 1st Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Turkey
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

Really comfortable hostel, like a hotel and price's really cheap for this comfort. I love it! I wanna see again.


The reviews below do not count toward the property's recent rating.
Hide older reviews
71%

The female staff were fantastic and very helpful during my stay. Breakfast was standard Turkish fare and nice to have some protein. There isn't much of a common area so very difficult to meet people. Also, they REALLY REALLY need to put a sign up outside. It's not cool having to walk around a dark side-alley at night searching for this place. When i asked for help at a nearby cafe the response I got was, "Sure, I'll tell you where it is, but only if I can be your boyfriend while you stay there."


94%

I've been there for couple days, we had a problem first day with the hot water, then they solved it. There's some noise problems at the weekend nights because of the other places around, it can be annoying. But I liked the place, cheap and nice.

  • 31st Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Turkey
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


91%

Wonderful location in Beyoglu - very close to the main road without the constant bustling! Very nice breakfasts, helpful staff and great rooms. The shower was exquisite :)


77%

Hardly any plugs in room, breakfast is ok could be better, this feels more like a cheap hotel than a hostel, the rooms are quite small, the location is very very close to istklal av which is great but in a scary alley.


97%

The location is quite ideal, it's in the heart of Istanbul. However, it's not easy to find it at first as there's no sign on the building. Rooms were very clean and there're lockers big enough for each one so no worries about belongings. What I liked the most is the super breakfast, free coffee and tea all the time and friendly stuff to chat with.

  • 7th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Turkey
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


74%

Staid 5 days in East West and had a nice time there. The staff is helpful and friendly and will help you with any questions. Location is great in the middle of Galatasaray/Beyoglu, where the most clubs and pubs are located. Though, the atmosphere could be improved. There are only 2 rooms on each floor, so that u don't meet other people very often and the community room is rather small. The breakfast is not delicious but basic and worth the money. The rooms are quite small but ok.


100%

Thank you for everything! It was all great. I will definitely stay at Eastwest if I come one more time to Istanbul. Hope to see you:)

  • 1st Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

Staying at EastWest Hostel was a good choice. The breakfast, the 24/7 friendly and helpful staff, the clean sheets and blankets, the free wi-fi internet, the atmosphere, the good price, the international guests & the super central location... Everything was just perfect.

  • 11th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Syria
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


« first « Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7
(126 results)


View all Istanbul Hostels

Please give us your feedback