Hostelworld.com

Eco Backpackers Hostel

Prices
map
reviews
8.5
Fabulous 584 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.6
  • Security 9.1
  • Location 9.5
  • Staff 8.5
  • Atmosphere 7.3
  • Cleanliness 8.7
  • Facilities 8.1
BOOK NOW
8.5
Fabulous 584 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.6
  • Security 9.1
  • Location 9.5
  • Staff 8.5
  • Atmosphere 7.3
  • Cleanliness 8.7
  • Facilities 8.1
Eco Backpackers Hostel Located at 264 De Tham Street, Pham Ngu Lao ward, Dist.1, Ho Chi Minh.
Eco Backpackers Hostel
Vietnam
Ho Chi Minh 70000 264 De Tham Street, Pham Ngu Lao ward, Dist.1
85% 584
10.7683344 106.6935485
Eco Backpackers Hostel
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • TheBeardedManc84
  • England, Couple, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 10 reviews
20th May 2016
3.4

Well 1st things 1st they advertise FREE BEER between 7pm & 8pm but when you get to the hostel you're only allowed 1 free beer!! All other hostels offer FREE BEER for an hour. Had my laundry done there and they lost my bag advised them I was not paying for the hotel till my belonging were returned to which they replied ITS NOT OUR PROBLEM! Actually it is as I gave you my belongings and they were not returned! Ended up having to pay 50% of my bill as they refused to return my passport

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Mixed Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
20th May 2016
6.3

AC is only on from 8pm - 8am. It was awful hot in HCMC when we were there. There were two fans in the 10pp dorm, one of which didn't oscillate so no circulation especially since your in a box. No one on vacation wishes to wake up by 8 am and be out for 12 hours before knowing they will have a cool place to go back to. Beds were the hardest beds I have slept on, basically a box spring with a pad on the top. Other than the location and motorbike parking I don't recommend. We left after 1st night.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
17th May 2016
7.7

Good location, very small lobby/common area. Beds are nice with the pod style, but not a lot of room for backpacks or to get around the beds.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
14th May 2016
9.1

Very chill place dorms are sweet.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
13th May 2016
9.7

Great location, across the road from the Phuong Trang bus company and close to the bus station were you can get a bus to the airport. It's close to pub street if you're into that but it's on a street that is quiet at night. Beds are large, comfortable and private, pod style. Lockers and towel provided for a small deposit. The common room is pretty small but there's a nice rooftop space for hanging out. Bring your own beers.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
12th May 2016
9.4

Absolutely love this hostel. Stayed here twice now!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
5th May 2016
8.0

The location was great, right in the heart of district one. Bathrooms were a bit seedy and could be a lot cleaner, air con didn't really work in our dorm room but the 'pod style' private bedding made it more comfortable.. Even though the beds were rock hard. Not much of a vibe there either.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
1st May 2016
8.6

Beds in the dorms are like cubicles so plenty of privacy. Each dorm has two toilets and two really good showers so you aren't having to wait. The location is really good, close to all the nearby landmarks and markets. AC gets turned of during the day which is a bit of a pain as the rooms get stiflingly hot, but I suppose it is an "Eco" hostel! The staff are very helpful but most travel and tours can be booked a lot more affordably a few doors down at The Sinh Tourist.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Costa Rica, Female, 31-40
  • Globetrotter
  • 33 reviews
28th Apr 2016
8.0

PROS: the location is perfect, near everything you need within a walking distance. Staff was nice. WiFi in my case worked very well. The pods are nice. CONS: they turn off the A/C from 8 am to 8 pm, because of course, everyone who is on holidays is eager to wake up at 7 a.m. every single day and leave the dorm ASAP... Seriously! It was 37 C in HCMC when I was there and they expect you can sleep with 2 fans for 8 pods... They will turn it on if you ask them, but it is super annoying.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 14 reviews
14th Apr 2016
9.7

My third time at this hostel. Always a pleasure, doesn't require any thought. Clean and friendly and in a great central location surrounded by everything you could want. Just love the privacy of the beds and the strength of the showers too. Boss.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.