X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Eco Backpackers Hostel Reviews

264 De Tham Street, Pham Ngu Lao ward, Dist.1, Ho Chi Minh, Vietnam

Reviews & Ratings Explained

88%

Rating
324 Total Reviews
  • 90%Value For Money
  • 92%Security
  • 95%Location
  • 87%Staff
  • 75%Atmosphere
  • 90%Cleanliness
  • 84%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

77%

Great location and clean facilities - staff was super helpful and friendly as well. The only thing to improve on would be a stronger aircondition and also work on the smell in the rooms (it was very stuffy). Also the fact that the bathroom is in the dorm means it's slightly noisier at night.

  • 1st Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Austria
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


89%

Literally the hardest bed I've ever slept on. It felt like I was sleeping in wooden boards. The hostel want very social when we were there, but it's located in a great area so you can meet people out and about at the bars. Good A/C, large bathroom with hot water in our private room.


89%

Though my stay did not go to plan, Eco hostel were more than accomodating. The staff gave me a couch to sleep on for a few hours, let me use the facilities, and helped me pLan my onwards journey. For the small amount of time that I was there it seemed clean, the bunks were cool little individual sections, the staff tried their best to be accomodating. Great location in Saigon!


86%

Booked 2 extra nights here, the hostel is in a great location right next to lots of eateries and bars as well as in walking distance from the markets. The dorm rooms are nice and clean and you get your own little private pod which is good but hard to socialise with other people. Clean bathroom, hot showers, good wifi and lovely views of the city from the balcony. Staff are friendly and helped us book onward travel. Enjoyed my stay and would recommend :-)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Guest, Thank you for choosing Eco Hostel for your staying. We are delighted that you loved your stay here with good location, clean bathroom, hot showers, good wifi & lovely views of HCMC city from Eco Hostel's balcony. All team says hi and looks forward to welcoming you soon! Best regards, The Eco's Team

91%

great place to stay. right next to all the bars and a really nice park. beds are cozy, definitely a good one

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear guest, Thank you for posting your review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay at Eco Hostel. We wish you safe travels and hope to welcome you in the near future. Best regards, The Eco's Team

94%

Even through they forgot to arrange the pick-up service, I waited for a while at the airport and hired a taxi by myself. But the staff is helpful and the room is clean and safe. Might book again for next time.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Guest, Thank you for writing this review. We all appreciate it. We are sorry for the missed pick-up taxi. We recieved your reservation and sent emails to confirm this service. And we didn't get your reply for some reasons. So that why we coudn't arrange a pick-up taxi for you. We were so happy that you arrived Eco Hostel safe. This is a good experience for us to improve airport pick-up service. Enjoy the rest of your trips and come back soon! Love you. The Eco's Team

91%

Excellent 2 night stay here. helpful staff. right in the centre of district 1. beds very hard like your sleeping on wood but what do you expect for such a cheap hostel. mixed dorms of 10 very private. good stay overall

  • 16th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Guest, Thank you for choosing Eco Hostel for a part of your travel. We are glad you had a good time here. We try to offer the best quality and service available to backpackers. We hope we have another chance to make your next staying perfect. We enjoyed having you around. Safe travels! Best regards, The Eco's Team

80%

Although a mix up with or room at first they fixed it after the first night. Rooms by the rooftop bar were noisy but the double queen bunk beds In the private was great! Rooftop bar was more of just a rooftop where you could drink if you brought up drinks.


80%

Nice place to stay, friendly people, clean and the location is perfect, it on the Main Street of district 1.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear guest, Thank you for choosing Eco Hostel for your recent stay. We are happy you enjoyed Eco Hostel with perfect location & cleanliness. We hope to have another chance to welcome you again! Best regards, The Eco Team

83%

Right in the city where all the action is! it's pretty easy to meet people in the lobby, they have good tours offered, and the beds are tucked away to be very private.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Guest, Thank you for your great review. We are delighted you loved Eco Hostel tours, our loation & pod style beds. Come back in your next time in Viet Nam. Kind regards, The Eco's Team

49%

I booked 2 nights and paid the deposit. I said I should arrive at around 10pm , however my flight was delayed and I turned up at just after midnight. I was told that because I was late my bed had been resold and they were full. They were apologetic but didn't really cut it. They should make it clear when you book that after just 2 hours after your expected arrival time they cancel your booking.. They offered an alternative but it wasn't as nice so I had to find a new hostel. So be warned!

  • 1st Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Alex Taylor, I'm so sorry to hear about that. We always confirm with all guest by email when we receive bookings. We require guest confirm their arrival time should they have a late check-in. And after 02 hours from arrival time - which is confirmed, we have to cancel the booking. In the terms it clearly says for a no show you'll pay one night. But in this situation, we didn't charge one night fee. We hope you give us another chance to welcome you in the future. Best regards,

80%

I really love the privacy of the pod dorm beds, the night roof and the movie nights were great places to meet new people, but I didn't know you had to pay an extra $2 a night to enjoy 'free' breakfast and beer.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Guest, Thank you for choosing Eco Hostel for your recent stay. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us at Eco Hostel. You save up to 8 USD/ night with only extra 2 USD/ night: Breakfast, Beer Daily, Take shower + Locker + Parking lots after check-out than one-by-one payment. So that means you get free breakfast + free beer daily with this hot-deal. We hope to seeing you again soon. Best regards, The Eco's team.

97%

Eco Backpackers was one of the best hostels I've stayed in! The staff are really friendly and helpful. I stayed in a female dorm room, where the beds are in individual pods, and there is a hairdryer as well. The cleanliness is well kept as well. I'm VERY satisfied with my stay here, and regret that I couldn't stay longer. Would def come back to stay here when I come back to HCMC!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear guest, Thank you for choosing Eco Hostel for a part of your travel. It is truly motivating to hear from our stayed guest very good feedback we sincerely extend our gratitude for your kind words. We hope to see you again in the near future. Best regards, The Eco's team

97%

We loved the hostel and the roof, the bed pods are really great and nice to have a bit of privacy in a dorm. The only problem we had was with the bus that the hostel had arranged for us. We booked for a 2 o clock bus to phnom pnem and didn't actually leave until 4 and had been moved From location to location to just wait. Then we had to change busses! Not ideal to be messed around. We could have waited in the confort of the hostel if there were issues.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear guest, Thank you for choosing Eco Hostel for your staying. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us. We have updated buses information clearly and noticed for our guests. If something happens, we will let guests know and ask them stay/ wait in our common area or change another bus. We apologize for any inconvenience you might have experienced while you were here and wish you safe travels. Best regards, The Eco's team

100%

Great location. Check out the roof terrace. Loved the pod idea and the ensuite bathrooms!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Guest, Thank you for choosing Eco Hostel for a part of your travel. It is great to know that you had a great experience here. We hope that you will continue to visit Eco Hostel in the near future. Best regards, The Eco's team

91%

This hostel is great value for money. The pods give you a real sense of personal space though the bathroom in the room is quite noisy. The staff were really friendly.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Guest, Thank you for taking your time to write this review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay here. It has been wonderful having you with us and we are look forward to welcoming you back soon. Best regards, The Eco's team

77%

We had a private room for two nights, the AC was excellent and strongly needed with the heat. There were issues with the power going however resolved quickly. The wifi was poor and broke while there, it was remedied the following morning however was weak regardless. Our room was not attended to by housekeeping once during the stay.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear guest, Thank you for choosing Eco Hostel for a part of your travel. We are happy you had a positive stay overall. Although wifi system has been fixed already, it sometime is weak when lots of guest use wifi at the same time. The housekeeper will clean your private room immediately when you require. We couldn't get inside your room without your permisson. We apologize for any inconvenience you might have experienced while you were here and wish you safe travels. Best regards, The Eco's team

63%

I choose the hostel because i could have a free shower and storage after check out. When i arrived, i had an argument with the staff to pay for a hotdeal $2 per day in order to get the "free shower etc" in my opinion thats not free then (same for breakfast). If i'd knew this before i probably choose an other hostel. easy to solve this is, is riase the hostel price a bit.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear guest, Thank you for taking your time to write this review. Yes, we provide free shower & locker after check-out for all guests who got hot-deal. You save up to 8 USD/ night with only extra 2 USD/ night: Breakfast, Beer Daily, Take shower + Locker + Parking lots after check-out than one-by-one payment. We apologize for any inconvenience you might have experienced while you were here. We hope that there will be opportunities of welcoming you back again in the nearfuture. Best regards.

100%

Super cool hostel with the friendliest staff ever. Rooms are ideal for solo/dual travellers, and the rooftop is just beautiful. Location is perfect as well, right smack in the middle of the Backpacker's District. Will definitely be coming back again if I'm in Saigon.

  • 11th May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Singapore
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Guest, Thank you for choosing Eco Hostel for your staying. We are glad you had a positive stay overall. It has been wonderful having you with us and all of us look forward to welcoming you back home again in the not too distant future. Best regards, The Eco's team

94%

Thanks so much to Eco backpackers I had a great stay. I would recommend this hostel to all, the pods are awesome, great value overall and staff were available to help 24/7

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Guest, Thank you for choosing Eco Hostel for your staying. We are delighted you enjoyed your accommodation experience. It has been wonderful having you with us and all of us look forward to welcoming you back home again in the not too distant future. Best regards, The Eco's team

« first « Prev 1 2 3 4 5
(87 results)


View all Ho Chi Minh Hostels

Please give us your feedback