X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Eco Backpackers Hostel Reviews

264 De Tham Street, Pham Ngu Lao ward, Dist.1, Ho Chi Minh, Vietnam

Reviews & Ratings Explained

88%

Rating
293 Total Reviews
  • 90%Value For Money
  • 93%Security
  • 95%Location
  • 87%Staff
  • 74%Atmosphere
  • 90%Cleanliness
  • 84%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

97%

Eco Backpackers was one of the best hostels I've stayed in! The staff are really friendly and helpful. I stayed in a female dorm room, where the beds are in individual pods, and there is a hairdryer as well. The cleanliness is well kept as well. I'm VERY satisfied with my stay here, and regret that I couldn't stay longer. Would def come back to stay here when I come back to HCMC!


97%

We loved the hostel and the roof, the bed pods are really great and nice to have a bit of privacy in a dorm. The only problem we had was with the bus that the hostel had arranged for us. We booked for a 2 o clock bus to phnom pnem and didn't actually leave until 4 and had been moved From location to location to just wait. Then we had to change busses! Not ideal to be messed around. We could have waited in the confort of the hostel if there were issues.


100%

Great location. Check out the roof terrace. Loved the pod idea and the ensuite bathrooms!


91%

This hostel is great value for money. The pods give you a real sense of personal space though the bathroom in the room is quite noisy. The staff were really friendly.

  • 20th May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


77%

We had a private room for two nights, the AC was excellent and strongly needed with the heat. There were issues with the power going however resolved quickly. The wifi was poor and broke while there, it was remedied the following morning however was weak regardless. Our room was not attended to by housekeeping once during the stay.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear guest, Thank you for choosing Eco Hostel for a part of your travel. We are happy you had a positive stay overall. Although wifi system has been fixed already, it sometime is weak when lots of guest use wifi at the same time. The housekeeper will clean your private room immediately when you require. We couldn't get inside your room without your permisson. We apologize for any inconvenience you might have experienced while you were here and wish you safe travels. Best regards, The Eco's team

63%

I choose the hostel because i could have a free shower and storage after check out. When i arrived, i had an argument with the staff to pay for a hotdeal $2 per day in order to get the "free shower etc" in my opinion thats not free then (same for breakfast). If i'd knew this before i probably choose an other hostel. easy to solve this is, is riase the hostel price a bit.


100%

Super cool hostel with the friendliest staff ever. Rooms are ideal for solo/dual travellers, and the rooftop is just beautiful. Location is perfect as well, right smack in the middle of the Backpacker's District. Will definitely be coming back again if I'm in Saigon.

  • 11th May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Singapore
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Guest, Thank you for choosing Eco Hostel for your staying. We are glad you had a positive stay overall. It has been wonderful having you with us and all of us look forward to welcoming you back home again in the not too distant future. Best regards, The Eco's team

94%

Thanks so much to Eco backpackers I had a great stay. I would recommend this hostel to all, the pods are awesome, great value overall and staff were available to help 24/7

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Guest, Thank you for choosing Eco Hostel for your staying. We are delighted you enjoyed your accommodation experience. It has been wonderful having you with us and all of us look forward to welcoming you back home again in the not too distant future. Best regards, The Eco's team

91%

Great location and awesome staff... The girl at the front desk was really good at math and very understanding when we booked the wrong day (issued refund without question). Only con- the fans were on but it didn't really seem like the a/c was.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Guest, Thank you for taking your time to write this review. We are delighted you had a pleasant stay at the hotel. We have already checked the AC in your room and refeshed it. :) Hope next time you can back again and get good experience to our hostel. Best regards, The Eco's team

89%

This hostel was perfect for us. We stayed two nights and booked a tour to the Cu Chi tunnels through them. It was in a really good location in the middle of the backpacker area. The pods in the dorms were really cool, really private. Although we had some selfish roommates that were being incredibly loud in the middle of the night but that was just unfortunate ! Fab hostel.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Guest, We are delighted thank you for taking time to write this detailed review. We are glad you enjoyed your accommodation experience. We are looking forward to welcoming you soon. Best regards, The Eco's team

91%

Cold in the evening


97%

The hostel was very well located, easy to find, clean, stuff was helpful (I had a dirty bedsheet so I asked them to change it, once I returnd after all day tour it was done). Beers and other drinks were a bit overpriced (better to buy on the street or in near markets). Overall very pleasant stay and the sleeping arrangement is very clever and give you a lot of privacy. And yep- plenty of storage for your stuff.

  • 7th May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


63%

During our stay there was construction in our room (private). They requested 6 hours of us being out of the room two days in a row and the workers who were working on the bathroom not only left piles of dirt and dust in the bathroom and all over the floor but they also smoked a cigarette in the room making all of our stuff smell of cigarettes. The other three mornings that there was no construction we woke up to them doing work on the outside of our room at 7-8am. No discount was given.

  • 7th May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Couple, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Guest, We are so sorry that you were not full happy during your stay here. When we received your comment from receptionist, we took immediate action. We cleaned and deodorized your whole room. We had a meeting with workers about construction. Once again, we are so sorry about this problems and we will do our best to make all guest's staying enjoyable. Hope next time you can back again and get good experience to our hostel. Best regards, The Eco's team

77%

I thought the hostel was nice, comfortable and clean. Friendly staff.

  • 4th May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Barbados
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


89%

Really nice place to stay. Good security, amazing location, friendly and helpful staff, clean rooms & showers. They've got a projector to watch movies on too which was a bonus.


100%

I loved staying at this hostel! Everything was very clean, the staff were helpful and friendly, and the location was within walking distance of tour groups, great restaurants, a couple of lovely parks, and most of Saigon's main attractions. Best of all, the dorm beds were actually "pods" with walls and a roof, so there was plenty of privacy. They also each had a reading light, so you could still do stuff at night without disturbing everyone else. Overall, one of the best hostels I've stayed at.

  • 24th Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear guest, Thank you for your positive comments and sharing your experience with so much appreciation. We hope to see you again soon at Eco Hostel. Kind regards, The Eco's team

86%

Very clean, quiet, pubcrawl on friday is fun, really nice and helpful staff

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Guest, Thank you for choosing Eco Hostel on your recent stay. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope next time you will have the chance to spend more time with us! Kind regards, The Eco's team

89%

Good hostel. The capsule style makes sleeping more private which is great! Plenty of secure space for your belongings although remember to bring your own padlocks. The dorm was a little noisy although this is just down to the people staying at the time. It's not a party hostel.

  • 22nd Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear guest, Thank you for taking time to post this review and sharing your pleasant stay experience. We also provide free padlocks and free towels for all our guests. You can get them at our 24/7 reception. Enjoy the rest of your trip and we hope to see you soon! Kind regards, The Eco's team

83%

The beds are large and have good storage, dorms and bathrooms get cleaned every day, air con works and wifi is pretty good. Definitely a good place to stay - very comfortable and clean, and one of the cheaper options in Saigon. Would totally stay here again! Con for us was the location in the middle of the backpacker ghetto but it's not hard to walk elsewhere, so it didn't matter ultimately. Just don't eat anywhere near here; the market is 10 minutes away and has better food.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear guest, Thank you for writing us a good review! It’s very rewarding to read that you liked our room and find the hostel location convenient. We hope you will come back in the future for another excellent stay. Sincerely, The Eco's team

91%

Cool bed designs, very professional management, quite good location with so many travel agencies around. I was in the upper bed and the fan blows directly so it was a bit cold with a very thin blanket. Will be even better if padlocks are given at check-in (they provide but i never remember to ask). Need hooks in the shower rooms!


« first « Prev 1 2 3 4 5
(97 results)


View all Ho Chi Minh Hostels

Please give us your feedback